DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on {DATE}. The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn. The 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the nonfinal action on 6/16/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al (US 20230364980) as further in view of Yang et al (US 20240092145).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches a thermal management system (1), comprising: a refrigerant circuit (10) provided with a liquid refrigerant (41) and comprising a corresponding circuit (fig. 1) formed through a plurality of components among a compressor (42), a first heat exchanger (49), a condenser (43), a first evaporator (48) a first expansion valve (41c), a second expansion valve (47), and a third expansion valve (41a) according to needs; and a water circuit (60, 70, 80) provided with a cooling liquid (61, 62, 71, 72, 81, 82) and comprising a corresponding circuit formed through a plurality of components among the first heat exchanger (49), a first water pump (63), a first four-way valve (91), a second four-way valve (92), a battery assembly (84), a second water pump (87), a three-way valve (86) according to needs.
Kawaguchi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a refrigerant circuit provided with a second evaporator, a second heat exchanger and a water circuit provided with a drive assembly and the second heat exchanger.
However Yang teaches a refrigerant circuit provided with a second evaporator (131), a second heat exchanger (50) and a water circuit (20, 30, 40) provided with a drive assembly (41) and the second heat exchanger (50) to efficiently cool the engine module, the electric assembly module, and the battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the thermal management system of Kawaguchi to include a refrigerant circuit provided with a second evaporator, a second heat exchanger and a water circuit provided with a drive assembly and the second heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Yang to efficiently cool the engine module, the electric assembly module, and the battery module.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach a vehicle (paragraph 0028).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al (US 20230364980) and Yang et al (US 20240092145) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Lee et (US 20220055454).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a first liquid storage apparatus communicated with the refrigerant circuit to replenish the refrigerant circuit; and/or a second liquid storage apparatus communicated with the water circuit to replenish the water circuit.
However, Lee teaches a second liquid storage apparatus (530) communicated with the water circuit to replenish the water circuit (paragraph 0057) to replenish insufficient cooling water on the cooling water line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the thermal management system of the combined teachings to include a second liquid storage apparatus communicated with the water circuit to replenish the water circuit in view of the teachings of Lee to efficiently cool the engine module, the electric assembly module, and the battery module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach an air conditioner main unit comprising a first heat exchange air duct, a second heat exchange air duct and a circulating air duct, wherein: the first heat exchange air duct is provided with a condenser, a first air inlet end and a first air outlet end, the first air inlet end comprises a first air inlet communicated with a circulating air inlet and a second air inlet communicated with an outside of a vehicle, and the first air outlet end is respectively communicated with a first air outlet communicated with an inside of the vehicle and a second air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle; the second heat exchange air duct is provided with the first evaporator, a second air inlet end and a second air outlet end, the second air inlet end comprises a third air inlet communicated with the circulating air inlet and a fourth air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle, and the second air outlet end is respectively communicated with a third air outlet communicated with the inside of the vehicle and the fourth air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle; and the circulating air duct is configured to recycle an air after heat exchange through the first heat exchange air duct and circulate the air to the first air inlet.
However, Frykberg teaches an air conditioner main unit (1) comprising a first heat exchange air duct (arrow into 22b), a second heat exchange air duct (arrow into 22a) and a circulating air duct (19), wherein: the first heat exchange air duct is provided with the condenser (4b), a first air inlet end and a first air outlet end (arrows, fig 1a-1c), the first air inlet end comprises a first air inlet (arrow into 4b) communicated with a circulating air inlet (from 19 into 4b) and a second air inlet (arrow into 22b) communicated with an outside of a vehicle (E), and the first air outlet end is respectively communicated with a first air outlet (fig. 1a-1c) communicated with an inside of the vehicle; the second heat exchange air duct is provided with the first evaporator (4a), a second air inlet end and a second air outlet end (arrows, fig. 1a-1c), the second air inlet end comprises a third air inlet (from 19 to 4a) communicated with the circulating air inlet and the circulating air duct is configured to recycle an air after heat exchange through the first heat exchange air duct and circulate the air to the first air inlet (fig. 1a-1c) in contrast to the claimed features of a second air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle; a fourth air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle, and the second air outlet end is respectively communicated with a third air outlet communicated with the inside of the vehicle and the fourth air outlet communicated with the outside of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed the reply have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger of the present application are physically isolated and free from mutual interference, the second heat exchanger of the present application is connected to the high- pressure branch of high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant at the compressor outlet and the second heat exchanger of the present application is only connected to a single battery coolant circuit without being fluidly coupled to any of a motor coolant path, an engine coolant path or a radiator coolant path) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763