DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the support supportable a distance detector at a position facing the head in the discharge direction” unclear due to its very poor grammar that precludes a clear understanding of the meets and bounds of the claim. As such it is indefinite.
Regarding claim 3 the phrase “wherein the conveyer is placeable a plate on the conveyance surface” is unclear due to its very poor grammar that precludes a clear understanding of the meets and bounds of the claim. As such it is indefinite.
For the purpose of examination, the claims are being interpreted as follows;
Regarding claim 1, “the support able to support a distance detector at a position facing the head in the discharge direction”
Regarding claim 3, “Wherein the conveyor isable to have a plate placed on the conveyance surface,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulacia et al. (WO 2019199302 A1) in view of Terai (US 20230150282 A1).
Regarding claim 1, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Ulacia et al. teaches a head (Fig. 1 element 150 and paragraph [0009]) having a nozzle surface having nozzles to discharge a liquid onto a medium in a discharge direction (Fig. 1 element 165 and paragraph [0009]), a conveyor to convey the medium to the head along a conveyance surface in a conveyance direction (Fig. 1 element 140 and paragraph [0001]), a lifter to move the head in the discharge direction (Fig. 1 element 100 and paragraph [0011]) and the distance detector to detect a distance (Fig. 2 element 205 and paragraph [0013]).
Ulacia et al. fails to teach the conveyor including a pair of conveyance guides on an upstream side and a downstream side of the head in the conveyance direction, a support between the pair of conveyance guides in the conveyance direction, the support is able to support a distance detector at a position facing the head in the discharge direction.
Terai teaches the conveyor (Fig. 4 element 17) including a pair of conveyance guides on an upstream side and a downstream side of the head in the conveyance direction (Fig. 4 elements 17e and 17d), a support between the pair of conveyance guides in the conveyance direction (Fig. 7 element 22 ), the support supportable a distance detector at a position facing the head in the discharge direction (Fig. 7 element 30, Fig. 4 and paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the apparatus of Ulacia et al. with the position of rollers in Terai as it is well known in the art of printers to position rollers in such fashion.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the apparatus of Ulacia et al. with the sensor position and supports of Terai as a simple substitution of one sensor location for another to allow the sensor to be permanently in the printer instead of it temporarily replacing a head as is taught by Ulacia et al. (paragraph [0010]).
The examiner notes that the limitations that the distance detector detects a first and second distance and the lifter moving the head according to the first distance from the distance detector to the conveyance surface of the conveyor; and the second distance from the distance detector to the nozzle surface of the head are intended use according to MPEP 2114 II. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” and “A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”. Since the combination of Ulacia et al. and Terai teach all the structural elements of the claim as stated above they anticipate the claim.
Regarding claim 2, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Ulacia et al and Terai teach all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and Terrai teaches the distance detector supported by the support (Fig. 7 elements 22 and 30 and paragraph [0072])
Regarding claim 3, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Ulacia et al. and Terai teach all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and the examiner notes that the limitations that the conveyor is able to have a plate placed on the conveyance surface and the plate having a strength in which a deflection of the plate by weight of the plate is equal to or smaller than a resolution of measurement by the distance detector are intended use and hold no patentable weight according to MPEP 2115 “”[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”. As such since Ulacia et al. and Terai teach all the structural elements of the claim it also anticipates this claim. Furthermore, the examiner notes that Ulacia does teach the use of a metal plate (Fig. 3 element 345 and paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Ulacia et al. and Terai teach all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and Terai teaches wherein the distance detector is at a position corresponding to any one of the lifter; both ends of the head; or a center of the head (Fig. 7 and 4 element 30 wherein the sensor appears to correspond to the center of the print head in a width direction).
Regarding claim 5, to the extent the claim is clear in scope, Ulacia et al. and Terai teach all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and Ulacia et al teaches a head unit (Fig. 3 element 130 and paragraph [0009]) including multiple heads including the head of the liquid discharge apparatus (Fig. 1 element 150 and paragraph [0009]) and the head unit discharges the liquid from the heads onto the medium to form an image on the medium (paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all the method steps as claimed alone or in combination with particularly including installing a plate on the pair of conveyance guides on an upstream side and a downstream side of the head in the conveyance direction; measuring a first distance from a distance detector to the plate; removing the plate from on the pair of conveyance guides; measuring a second distance from the distance detector to a nozzle surface of the head; and moving the head in the discharge direction according to the first distance and the second distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Niiyama (US 20210078340 A1) and Goda et al. (US 20220169016 A1) are cited for having a similar structure and method to the claimed apparatus and method.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853