DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities.
In step S37 of Figure 15, it appears that the inequality X ≥ Wafer Yend should be revised to Y ≥ Wafer Yend because, as described in lines 18-19 of page 23 of the specification, step S37 is used to determine if the Y-axis position exceeds an end portion of the Y-axis direction of the wafer WF.
In reference to Figure 18, lines 20-22 of page 23 of the specification indicate that a horizontal axis represents a frequency and a vertical axis represents an absorption amount. However, a vertical axis is not shown in Figure 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guisan et al. (US 2018/0267128 – hereinafter “Guisan”).
Per claim 1, Guisan teaches a device for measuring magnetic characteristics (¶58), comprising:
a first magnetic field generator (Fig. 3; magnetic field pole 83; ¶36) configured to generate a gradient magnetic field having a different magnetic field depending on a position (A movable magnetic field pole 83 is configured to generate a static magnetic field (Fig. 3; ¶17 and 36));
a second magnetic field generator (Fig. 3; waveguide transmission line (WGTL) 45; ¶36) configured to generate a high-frequency magnetic field that is time-varying (A movable WGTL 45 is configured to transmit a series of microwave frequencies to a wafer under test 43 (Fig. 3; ¶17 and 36));
a first actuator configured to move the second magnetic field generator (A controller 40 is configured to manage the movement of the WGTL 45 (Fig. 3; ¶36));
a mount (Fig. 3; wafer chuck 42; ¶36) configured to support a test object (Fig. 3; wafter under test 43; ¶36) mounted thereon;
a second actuator configured to move the mount (The wafer chuck 42 may move in a programmed manner (Fig. 3; ¶36)); and
a measuring unit (Fig. 3; computer 40; ¶58) configured to measure magnetic characteristics of the test object moving in the gradient magnetic field (The controller 40 is capable of determining magnetic properties in a magnetic film 43f on the wafer under test 43 (Fig. 3; ¶58)).
Per claim 9, Guisan teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the gradient magnetic field is a static magnetic field (¶17).
Per claim 10, Guisan teaches the device of claim 1, wherein measurement of the magnetic characteristics is performed under atmospheric conditions (The measurement is performed without temperature control).
Per claim 12, Guisan teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising: a third actuator configured to move the first magnetic field generator (The magnetic field pole 83 may be moved by the controller 40 (¶36)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guisan in view of Tyszka et al. (US 2008/0284430 – hereinafter “Tyszka”).
Per claim 11, Guisan does not explicitly teach the device of claim 1, further comprising: a temperature controller configured to control a temperature of the test object.
In contrast, Tyszka teaches a magnetic resonance stage microscope comprising an air manifold 180 configured to provide temperature control for a sample 125 by actively dissipating heat generated by a magnetic field gradient module 100 (Figs. 2 and 4; ¶34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Guisan such that a temperature controller is provided and configured to control a temperature of the wafer under test 43. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of dissipating heat generated from a magnetic field gradient module (Tyszka; ¶34).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 13-20 are deemed allowable.
Per independent claim 13, the prior art of record is silent on, in particular the following feature: a measuring unit configured to sequentially execute: a preliminary measurement measuring a relationship between a frequency and a magnetic field, in a state in which a sample is disposed at a standard position defined on a stage surface, which is an upper surface of the stage, and a main measurement measuring the magnetic characteristics of the test object at a frequency in a predetermined range selected in the preliminary measurement. Claims 14-16 are consequently allowable due to their dependence on claim 13.
Per independent claim 17, the prior art of record is silent on, in particular, the following feature: an optical system installed on the frame and configured to radiate incident light to the test object through the slit and collect reflected light reflected from the test object through the slit. Claims 18-20 are consequently allowable due to their dependence on claim 17.
Claim Objections
10. Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 2, the prior art of record is silent on the device of claim 1, further comprising: a light source configured to generate light; a polarizer configured to convert the generated light into linearly polarized light; an objective lens configured to focus the light on the test object; a non-polarizing beam splitter configured to separate the light; an analyzer configured to detect a rotational component in the linearly polarized light of the light; and a line sensor configured to acquire a scanned image in which the light is scanned on the test object, wherein the device is configured to measure the magnetic characteristics according to a polarization state of the light. Claims 3-4 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 2.
Per claim 5, the prior art of record is silent on the device of claim 1, wherein the device executes: preliminary measurement measuring, in advance, a relationship between a frequency and characteristics of the magnetic field for a sample for preliminary measurement; and main measurement selecting a predetermined range of the frequency based on the relationship obtained from the preliminary measurement, and measuring the magnetic characteristics of the test object in the predetermined range of the frequency.
Per claim 6, the prior art of record is silent on device of claim 1, further comprising: a controller configured to control the first magnetic field generator, the second magnetic field generator, the first actuator, and the second actuator, wherein the controller is configured to execute: a first measurement mode in which the magnetic characteristics of the test object are measured by the measuring unit while moving the second magnetic field generator with the first actuator, and moving the mount with the second actuator; and a second measurement mode in which the magnetic characteristics of the test object are measured by the measuring unit while fixing a position of the second magnetic field generator, and moving the mount with the second actuator. Claims 7-8 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 6.
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852