DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 7, 2025; May 1, 2025; and July 22, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it fails to accurately describe the claimed invention. The abstract includes conditional expressions and details for the first lens, third lens and fourth lens which are not claimed features of the instant invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 as being anticipated by Tsai et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0300316).
With regard to independent claim 1, Tsai et al teaches a lens imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 9A) comprising: a first lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 9-10 and Figure 9A, element 910) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 10); a second lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 14 and Figure 9A, element 920) having a convex object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 15-16 and Figure 9A, element 921); a third lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 18 and Figure 9A, element 930) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 18-19); a fourth lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 22 and Figure 9A, element 940) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 22); and a fifth lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 25-26 and Figure 9A, element 950) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 26), wherein the first to fifth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 9A), wherein a thickness of the fourth lens along an optical axis (page 17, Table 27, Thickness data for Surface 8 = 0.788) is greater than a thickness of the second lens along the optical axis (page 17, Table 27, Thickness data for Surface 4 = 0.258, wherein 0.788 > 0.258), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 11 = 9.345800) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 2 = 1.537140, wherein 9.345800 > 1.537140), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 7 = -3.206100) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 8 = -16.603400, wherein -3.206100 > -16.603400), and wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 11 = 9.345800) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 10 = -1.008210, wherein 9.345800 > -1.008210).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 10-11 and Figure 9A, element 911).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex image-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 11 and Figure 9A, element 921).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 21 and Figure 9A, element 941).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a concave image-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 25 and Figure 9A, element 952).
With regard to independent claim 8, Tsai et al teaches a lens imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 9A) comprising: a first lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 9-10 and Figure 9A, element 910) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 10); a second lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 14 and Figure 9A, element 920) having a convex object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 15-16 and Figure 9A, element 921); a third lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 18 and Figure 9A, element 930) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 18-19); a fourth lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 22 and Figure 9A, element 940) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 22); and a fifth lens (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 25-26 and Figure 9A, element 950) having a refractive power (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 26), wherein the first to fifth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 9A), wherein a thickness of the fourth lens along an optical axis (page 17, Table 27, Thickness data for Surface 8 = 0.788) is greater than a thickness of the third lens along the optical axis (page 17, Table 27, Thickness data for Surface 6 = 0.732, wherein 0.788 > 0.732), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 11 = 9.345800) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 2 = 1.537140, wherein 9.345800 > 1.537140), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 7 = -3.206100) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 8 = -16.603400, wherein -3.206100 > -16.603400), and wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 11 = 9.345800) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (page 17, Table 27, Curvature Radius data for Surface 10 = -1.008210, wherein 9.345800 > -1.008210).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 10-11 and Figure 9A, element 911).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 21 and Figure 9A, element 941).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], lines 24-25 and Figure 9A, element 951).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Tsai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a concave image-side surface (page 17, paragraph [0094], line 25 and Figure 9A, element 952).
Claims 1, 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 as being anticipated by Chang et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0351064).
With regard to independent claim 1, Chang et al teaches a lens imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 26) comprising: a first lens (Figure 26, element 3) having a refractive power (Figure 28, Focal length data for First lens element 3); a second lens (Figure 26, element 4) having a convex object-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Second lens element 4, Object-side surface 41); a third lens (Figure 26, element 5) having a refractive power (Figure 28, Focal length data for Third lens element 5); a fourth lens (Figure 26, element 6) having a refractive power (Figure 28, Focal length data for Fourt lens element 6); and a fifth lens (Figure 26, element 7) having a refractive power (Figure 28, Focal length data for Fifth lens element 7), wherein the first to fifth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 26), wherein a thickness of the fourth lens along an optical axis (Figure 28, Thickness data for Object-side surface 61 = 0.273) is greater than a thickness of the second lens along the optical axis (Figure 28, Thickness data for Object-side surface 41 = 0.233, wherein 0.273 > 0.233), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Image-side surface 71 = 31.837) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Figure 28, Thickness data for Object-side surface 31 = 2.147, wherein 31.837 > 2.147), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Image-side surface 52 = 6.733) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Object-side surface 61 = -33.333, wherein 6.733 > -33.333), and wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Image-side surface 72 = 31.837) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Object-side surface 71 = -50.125, wherein 31.837 > -50.125).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Chang et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Object-side surface 31 has a positive value).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Chang et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Object-side surface 51 has a positive value).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Chang et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Image-side surface 52 has a positive value).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Chang et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Object-side surface 61 has a negative value).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Chang et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 28, Radius of curvature data for Image-side surface 72 has a positive value).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0180847) .
With regard to independent claim 8, Yoo teaches a lens imaging system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 11) comprising: a first lens (Figure 11, element 310) having a refractive power (page 7, paragraph [0142], line 1); a second lens (Figure 11, element 320) having a convex object-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0143], line 2); a third lens (Figure 11, element 330) having a refractive power (page 7, paragraph [0144], line 1); a fourth lens (Figure 11, element 340) having a refractive power (page 7, paragraph [0145], lines 1-2); and a fifth lens (Figure 11, element 350) having a refractive power (page 7, paragraph [0146], line 1), wherein the first to fifth lens are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 11), wherein a thickness of the fourth lens along an optical axis (Figure 14, Thickness or Distance data for Surface 7 = 0.710) is greater than a thickness of the third lens along the optical axis (Figure 14, Thickness or Distance data for Surface 5 = 0.340, wherein 0.710 > 0.340), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 10 = 6.5362604) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 1 = 3.4283554, wherein 6.5362604 > 3.4283554), wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 6 = 4.3003475) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 7 = -2.4, wherein 4.3003475 > -2.4), and wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 10 = 6.5362604) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens (Figure 14, Radius of Curvature data for Surface 9 = 3.5698787, wherein 6.5362604 > 3.5698787).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0142], lines 2-3).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0144], line 2).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the third lens has a concave image-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0144], line 3).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0145], line 2).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0146], line 2).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Yoo teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such a lens imaging system wherein the fifth lens has a concave image-side surface (page 7, paragraph [0146], line 3)).
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
26 August 2026