Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: electric vehicle charging fee station feel collection system that accepts the coupon, parking feel collection system that accepts the coupon,
in claims 1, 3, 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed towards a system, thus meeting the Step 1 eligibility criterion. Claim 1 does recite the abstract concept of a commercial interaction/fundamental economic practice, which has been identified as an abstract idea by the MPEP. The relevant claimed limitations include: for customer payment for goods at the store / generates a coupon based on purchases at the store / accepts the coupon as payment for electric vehicle charging / accepts the coupon for parking at the store, wherein the coupon is a dual function coupon that is accepted at the electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system and the parking fee collection system / the store is a member store in an enterprise of a plurality of stores, wherein the coupon is an enterprise coupon that is accepted for payment of electric vehicle charging fee and parking fees at any store and any electric vehicle charging fee collection system and parking fee collection system in the enterprise / the coupon is sent. Applicant’s Spec. further describes the context of the claimed invention as pertaining to the commercial interaction realm: “It streamlines the billing process by allowing customers to offset their charging and parking expenses through a coupon generated by the system. The coupon can be a bar code printed on their grocery store receipt, or an electronic coupon set to their phone. The coupon is used to pay for parking and electric vehicle charging. “, “It streamlines the billing process by allowing users such as grocery store customers to offset their EV charging and parking expenses through a coupon generated by the system. The coupon can be a bar code printed on their grocery store receipt, and an electronic coupon set to their phone. The coupon is recognized by a parking fee collections system and an electric vehicle charging fee collection system and used to pay for parking and electric vehicle charging. The coupon is good at any store in an enterprise of multiple stores.”, “Thus a use can buy groceries at one store, receive a coupon, bar code or electronic, and can be redeemed by the user for parking and EV charging at any store in the enterprise of stores. Dual-Functionality: The coupon serves a dual purpose. It not only facilitates EV charging payment but also used to pay parking fees.” Claim 1 also recites the abstract concept of a mental concept – I.e. mental process that can be performed in the human mind or using pen/paper, including an observation/evaluation/judgment, which has been identified as an abstract idea by the MPEP: Generates a coupon based on purchases at the store. This claimed limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computing elements – see below, thus still being in the mental process category.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 includes the additional elements of a store payment system / processor connected to the store payment system / coupon generator run by the processor / a computer readable medium connected to the store payment system / electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system / parking fee collection system/ a network/ a database stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium accessible by all stores connected to the network, which represents generic computing elements. The additional elements do not , alone or in combination, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as noted above, the claimed computing elements represent generic computing elements; they are recited at a high level of generality. The additional elements do not , alone or in combination, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, nor do they apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, Claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 7 is directed to a method, for performing similar claimed limitations to those of claim 1; the claim recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Claim 7 performs the claimed limitations using only generic components of a networked computer system. Therefore, claim 7 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more for the reasons given in the discussion of claim 1.
Remaining dependent claims 3 , 4, 9, 11 further recite and narrow the abstract ideas of independent claims 1 / 7. The claims further recite the additional elements of printing the coupon bar code on a payment receipt / user cell phone. The cell phone represents a generic computing element that is recited at a high level of generality. Printing a coupon bar code does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The additional elements do not, alone or in combination with the other additional elements, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims above do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Johnson (20140143055) in further view of Hafner (20090313104) in even further view of Bruner (20060053437).
As per Claims 1, 7, Johnson teaches a system and method comprising:
A store payment system for customer payment for goods at the store; (the station represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitation. at least: para 36, 38)
A processor connected to the store payment system; (the processor represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitation. at least fig 1 and related/associated text – application server)
A coupon generator run by the processor and stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium connected to the store payment system that generates a coupon based on purchases at the store (the generator represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitation. at least: para 61 )
Johnson teaches the claimed limitations noted above, and Hafner further teaches:
An electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system that accepts the coupon as payment for electric vehicle charging (the system represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitation. at least para 65)
It would have been obvious for someone skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Johnson’s existing features, with Hafner’s feature of an electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system that accepts the coupon as payment for electric vehicle charging, to allow for the use of coupons that can be redeemed on current charging transactions – Hafner, para 65, 79.
Furthermore, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Johnson in view of Hafner further teach:
a parking fee collection system that accepts the coupon for parking at the store (the system represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitation. Hafner, at least: para 61, 72)
wherein the coupon is a dual function coupon that is accepted at the electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system and the parking fee collection system; (the systems represent generic computing elements that perform the claimed limitations. Hafner, at least: para 61, 72 – coupon accepted at a parking fee collection system; coupon that is accepted at an electric vehicle charging station fee collection system – Hafner, at least para 65)
Johnson in view of Hafner teach a store, creating a coupon that is accepted for payment at stores and at electric vehicle charging fees, as noted above. Bruner further teaches:
in the store is a member store in an enterprise of a plurality of stores, wherein the coupon is an enterprise coupon that is accepted … at any store and any … collection system … in the enterprise,
the coupon payment system further comprising a network wherein the coupon is sent over the network to a data base stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium accessible by all stores in the enterprise connected to the network. (the network/database represent generic computing elements that perform the claimed limitations. At least: para 123 ,fig5 and associated/related text and para 33 – 34 : accessible database to network members)
It would have been obvious for someone skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Johnson’s existing features, combined with Hafner’s existing features, with Bruner’s features above, to create, supply, track, and clear user discount coupons issued to users – Bruner, abstract and para 12. Furthermore, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; furthermore, coupons may then be redeemed by users at a participating merchant or retailer location, to receive the authorized discount – Bruner, para 16.
As per Claim 3, Johnson in view of Hafner in further view of Bruner teach:
The coupon is a coupon bar code printed on a receipt for payment for goods at the store payment system. (Hafner, at least: para 80 – coupon bar code that is printed; at least para 108: “ The description of the present invention has been presented for purposes of illustration and description, and is not intended to be exhaustive or limited to the invention in the form disclosed. Many modifications and variations will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art. The embodiment was chosen and described in order to best explain the principles of the invention, the practical application, and to enable others of ordinary skill in the art to understand the invention for various embodiments with various modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated”, thus teaching a coupon bar code printed on a receipt.)
As per Claim 4, Johnson in view of Hafner in further view of Bruner teach:
The coupon is an electronic coupon sent to a user cell phone by the coupon generator. (Johnson, at least para 17)
As per Claim 9, Johnson in view of Hafner in further view of Bruner teach:
The coupon is an electronic coupon sent to a user cell phone. (Johnson, at least para 17)
As per Claim 11, Johnson in view of Hafner in further view of Bruner teach:
The coupon is a coupon bar code printed on a receipt for payment for goods. (Hafner, at least: para 80 – coupon bar code that is printed; at least para 108: “ The description of the present invention has been presented for purposes of illustration and description, and is not intended to be exhaustive or limited to the invention in the form disclosed. Many modifications and variations will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art. The embodiment was chosen and described in order to best explain the principles of the invention, the practical application, and to enable others of ordinary skill in the art to understand the invention for various embodiments with various modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated”, thus teaching a coupon bar code printed on a receipt.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered; Applicant argues with substance:
A. The Amended Claims Recite a Specific Technological Arrangement, Not Merely a Business Concept
As amended, claim 1 does not merely recite the concept of "generating a coupon." It recites a coordinated arrangement of distinct, physically separate systems - a store payment system, a processor and coupon generator, an electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system, and a parking fee collection system - interconnected through an enterprise network and a shared database, such that a single coupon generated at one store's payment system is recognized and redeemed as payment across independently-operated EV charging and parking fee collection systems at any store in the enterprise. Claim 7 recites the corresponding method. This is an arrangement of interoperating machine components solving a concrete technical problem: enabling a payment credential generated at one type of point-of-sale system to be recognized and honored by other, independently administered fee-collection systems that were not designed to communicate with it. That is a technological integration problem, not merely a business preference about when or how to grant a discount.
B. The Claims Do Not Merelv Recite a Mental Process
The Office Action reasons that "generates a coupon based on purchases at the store" can be performed in the human mind. As amended, however, claim 1 requires that the coupon generator
(i) run on a processor, (ii) be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium, (iii) transmit the coupon over a network to a database accessible to multiple stores in an enterprise, and (iv) be recognized and accepted as payment by separately-administered EV charging and parking fee collection systems, potentially located at a different store than the one where the coupon was generated. Claim 7 requires the analogous machine-implemented steps. None of these steps - networked transmission to a shared database, and machine-to-machine recognition of a payment credential across independently operated collection systems - can be performed by a human using only pen and paper or mental steps; they require coordinated operation of distributed computing infrastructure. The claims therefore fall outside the mental-process category of abstract idea.
C. The Claims Integrate Any Alleged Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application (Step 2A, Prong Two)
Even if some concept underlying the claims is characterized as abstract, the additional elements
- considered as an ordered combination - integrate that concept into a practical application. The claims recite a specific technical mechanism (network transmission of the coupon to an enterprise-accessible database, and cross-system recognition of the coupon at physically and administratively distinct EV charging and parking fee collection systems) that goes beyond "generally linking" an abstract idea to a technological environment. The claimed arrangement enables interoperability between systems - retail point-of-sale, EV charging infrastructure, and parking infrastructure - that are not otherwise designed to recognize a common payment credential. This is analogous to claims found eligible where a generic component is arranged in a specific, non-conventional way to solve a problem rooted in computer or networked technology. See, e.g., BASCOM Global Internet Services, Inc. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims eligible where a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional components provided a technical improvement); DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (claims eligible where they addressed a problem specifically arising in networked computer systems with a solution rooted in that technology).
D. The Claims Recite Significantly More Than Any Alleged Abstract Idea (Step 2B)
The Office Action characterizes the claimed elements as "generic computing elements" recited at a high level of generality. Even accepting that each individual hardware component (a processor, a database, a network) is conventional in isolation, the claims are not directed to those components performing their well-understood, routine functions independently. Rather, the inventive concept lies in the specific, non-conventional combination - a coupon generated at a retail store payment system, propagated over an enterprise network to a shared database, and thereafter recognized as a valid payment instrument by separately-administered EV charging and parking fee collection systems that have no inherent reason to trust or recognize a retail- generated credential. The Office Action does not identify this specific ordered combination - as opposed to its individual components - in the prior art or in common knowledge, and it is this combination, not any individual generic component, that supplies the inventive concept under Alice step two. For at least the foregoing reasons, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, and 11 are patent-eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101, and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
The pending claims do recite an abstract idea, and the additional elements do not, alone or in combination, integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application nor do they represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself, as noted above. Generating a coupon based on criteria/contextual data and accepting the coupon as payment ( including as payment for electric vehicle charging) represents a business practice/goal, not other technology/technical field; thus, improving this practice relates to a business practice optimization, not to an improvement to other technology/technical field. The claimed computing elements represent generic computing elements that are recited at a high level of generality, as noted above. Applicant’s Spec. further describes the context of the claimed invention as pertaining to the commercial interaction realm, and describes the claimed invention as seeking to, when implemented, at best optimize a business practice/goal: “It streamlines the billing process by allowing customers to offset their charging and parking expenses through a coupon generated by the system. The coupon can be a bar code printed on their grocery store receipt, or an electronic coupon set to their phone. The coupon is used to pay for parking and electric vehicle charging. “, “It streamlines the billing process by allowing users such as grocery store customers to offset their EV charging and parking expenses through a coupon generated by the system. The coupon can be a bar code printed on their grocery store receipt, and an electronic coupon set to their phone. The coupon is recognized by a parking fee collections system and an electric vehicle charging fee collection system and used to pay for parking and electric vehicle charging. The coupon is good at any store in an enterprise of multiple stores.”, “Thus a use can buy groceries at one store, receive a coupon, bar code or electronic, and can be redeemed by the user for parking and EV charging at any store in the enterprise of stores. Dual-Functionality: The coupon serves a dual purpose. It not only facilitates EV charging payment but also used to pay parking fees.”
The subject claim considered by the DDR Court pertained to a visitor of a host's website clicking on an advertisement for a third-party product displayed on the host's website, whereby the visitor is no longer being transported to the third party's website. In DDR, instead of losing visitors to the third-party's website, the host website can send its visitors to a web page on an outsource provider's server that incorporates "look and feel" elements from the host website, and provides visitors with the opportunity to purchase products from the third-party merchant without actually entering that merchant's website. Id. at 1257-58. Here, in contrast to the claims of DDR Holdings, the present claims are not necessarily rooted in computer technology to solve Internet-centric problems. See DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1257. Unlike DDR Holdings, Applicant’s device is not claimed as solving or otherwise addressing an Internet-centric problem, but rather is directed to an abstract idea as discussed supra.
The instant claimed invention and Bascom have different claim sets and different fact patterns, and therefore the two are not analogous. Furthermore, in Bascom, the Courts concluded that the claim limitation takes as an “ordered combination” under step two are an inventive concept, sufficient for patent eligibility under 35 USC 101. When considered as an ordered combination, the Federal Circuit concluded the claims provided "an inventive concept can be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces." Id. Because of the ordered combination elements, the claims in Bascom were considered to improve the functionality of the computer, and thus amounted to significantly more under step two of the Alice analysis. Contrary to Bascom, the instant claimed invention, when implemented, does not improve the functionality of the computer nor does it improve a technology/technical field. The present claims recite an abstract idea using additional elements that are generic computing components as discussed supra, or at best, improving an abstract idea - not an inventive concept. There is no technical evidence/technical support in the Applicant's Specification of technical improvements or of a technical solution to a technical problem.
There is no technical support/technical evidence in the Spec., including the paras noted by the Applicant, that the pending claims, when implemented, improve the functioning of the computing device itself or other technology/technical field. See Office Action above for the detailed, reasoned 35 USC 101 analysis.
II. Claim Construction Under 35 U.S.C. & 112(f)
The Office Action treats "electric vehicle charging fee station fee collection system that accepts the coupon" and "parking fee collection system that accepts the coupon" (as recited in claims 1- 6 as they stood prior to this Amendment) as invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), reasoning that these are generic placeholders coupled with functional language and unmodified by sufficient structure. Applicant respectfully disagrees and requests withdrawal of this claim construction. A limitation avoids treatment under § 112(f) where it recites a term having a reasonably well-understood meaning in the art as a name for structure, even without the word "means." Here, "fee collection system" - modified by "electric vehicle charging fee station" or "parking" - names a recognized class of structure in this field: a point-of-sale, kiosk, or gate-based payment- collection apparatus associated with EV charging stations or parking facilities, respectively. These terms are not generic placeholders like "module for" or "mechanism for"; they identify the specific physical apparatus that performs the recited function, in the same way that "filtering circuit" or "braking system" names structure without reciting internal detail. Because the claim limitations are modified by a structural term rather than a bare nonce word, the presumption against § 112(f) treatment is not rebutted, and these limitations should not be limited to the specific structure (and equivalents) disclosed in the specification. To the extent the Office maintains this construction, Applicant notes that the amendments to claims 1 and 7 discussed below independently render the claims patentable over the cited art and eligible under § 101 regardless of how this construction issue is resolved.
The instant Office Action includes a 35 USC 112 f) claim interpretation. See Office Action above for the detailed, reasoned 35 USC 112 f) claim interpretation.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11 stood rejected as obvious over Johnson (US 2014/0143055) in view of Hafner (US 2009/0313104), and claims 6 and 10 stood further rejected in view of Bruner (US 2006/0053437). Because amended claims 1 and 7 now include the subject matter formerly recited in claims 5, 6, 8, and 10, all three references are addressed together below as applied to amended claims 1 and 7. Applicant respectfully traverses.
A. The Cited References Do Not Teach or Suggest the Claimed Dual-Function, Cross- System Coupon
As the Office Action's own mapping reflects, Johnson is relied upon only for a store payment system, a processor, and a coupon generator that generates a coupon based on store purchases, while Hafner is relied upon solely for an EV charging fee collection system that accepts a coupon as payment. Neither reference, individually or in combination, is shown to teach a single coupon that is generated by a retail store's payment system and is thereafter recognized and accepted as a dual-function payment instrument by both an EV charging fee collection system and a parking fee collection system, as now required by amended claims 1 and 7. The Office Action's rationale - that it would have been obvious to "modify Johnson's existing features with Hafner's feature... to allow for the use of coupons that can be redeemed on current charging transactions" - addresses only the redemption of a coupon at an EV charger; it does not address, and the cited passages of Hafner (paragraphs 65 and 79) do not disclose, redemption of the same coupon at a parking fee collection system as well. The combination as articulated therefore does not render obvious the dual-function limitation as claimed.
B. The Rejection Does Not Articulate a Sufficient, Non-Hindsight Rationale for Combining References From Unrelated Fields
Johnson is directed to retail coupon generation; Hafner is directed to EV charging-station payment; Bruner is directed to enterprise coupon distribution across a network of stores. The Office Action's stated rationale for combining Johnson and Hafner - that "the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and... each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately" - is a conclusory statement of predictability rather than an articulated reason why a person of ordinary skill, starting from a retail coupon system, would have looked to an EV-charging reference to modify that system so that its coupons function as a payment instrument for charging fees. A proper obviousness rationale must explain why the prior art itself, or the knowledge of one of ordinary skill, would have suggested this particular cross- domain combination - not merely that the resulting combination, once assembled, would have worked as expected. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (obviousness analysis should be explicit as to the reasoning supporting a conclusion of obviousness); In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 1075 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (particular findings must support a conclusion that the invention as a whole would have been obvious).
C. Bruner Does Not Remedy the Deficiencies of Johnson and Hafner
Bruner is cited only for the proposition that an enterprise coupon may be redeemed at any store in a network, using an accessible database (Bruner, paragraphs 33-34, 123, Fig. 5). Bruner is not shown to disclose, and the Office Action does not contend that it discloses, redemption of a store-generated coupon at an EV charging fee collection system or a parking fee collection system at all - only that an enterprise coupon may be redeemed at a participating merchant location for "the authorized discount" (Bruner, para. 16). Combining Bruner's generic enterprise- network coupon distribution with Johnson and Hafner accordingly still does not teach or suggest the specific claimed arrangement in which the same coupon, generated at one store's payment system, is transmitted over an enterprise network to a shared database and is thereafter honored as payment by both an EV charging fee collection system and a parking fee collection system anywhere in the enterprise. The rejection reconstructs this arrangement only with the benefit of hindsight drawn from Applicant's own disclosure.
D. Claims 3, 4, 9, and 11 Are Allowable for at Least the Reasons Given Above
Because claims 3, 4, 9, and 11 depend from amended independent claims 1 and 7, they are allowable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to their base claims, in addition to the further limitations they separately recite. For at least the foregoing reasons, claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, and 11 are not rendered obvious by the cited combination of Johnson, Hafner, and/or Bruner, and withdrawal of the § 103 rejections is respectfully requested.
Pending claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11 are taught by the cited prior art, as noted above. In response to applicant's argument that the pending claims are not rendered obvious, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, pending claims 1-11 are taught by the cited prior art and the motivations needed to combine the cited prior art references has been provided by the Examiner, as noted above. See Office Action above for the detailed, reasoned prior art analysis.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alexandru Cirnu whose telephone number is (571) 272-7775. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Alexandru Cirnu/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622
9/4/2026