DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 filed on 01/07/2025 are pending and being examined. Claims 1, 11, and 19 are independent form.
Priority
3. This application is a continuation of US patent application 17/418,562, filed on Jun 25, 2021, now US Patent 12,229,220.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,220. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the respective claims between the instant application and U.S. Patent No.12,229,220 describe the same invention. The examiner shall not detail the minor difference and the mapping between each of the instant application claims and its corresponding patented claims in U.S. Patent No.12,229,220. However, should applicant request such a detailed breakdown, the examiner will be happy to oblige in subsequent Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-2, 9-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (“Cross-Media Image-Text Retrieval Combined with Global Similarity and Local Similarity”, IEEE, Oct. 2019, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a data similarity determination method (the cross-media two-level network” (and the method) for exploring better semantic matching between images and text; see fig.1 and Abstract), comprising:
acquiring first data of a first object, wherein the first data comprises first sub-data of a first modality or a second modality (acquiring N instances
i
n
,
t
n
n
=
1
N
, each of which is an image-text {
i
n
,
t
n
}
pair obtained from the two modalities. See Sec. III, para.2. Also see the upper/global part in fig.1, i.e., the “image” and “Sentence” pair of an instance);
mapping the first sub-data as a first semantic representation in a semantic comparison space, wherein the semantic comparison space enables a similarity between a semantic representation obtained by mapping data of the first modality to the semantic comparison space and a semantic representation obtained by mapping data of the second modality to the semantic comparison space to be computed (the Char-CNN generates the “sentence feature” from the sentence while the CNN generates the “image feature” from the image; wherein both the sentence feature and the image feature are mapped/transformed into 1024-dimensional “common subspaces” to compute cross-media similarity between images and text. See the “common subspace” of fig.1 and the last paragraph of Sec. III-A);
acquiring second data of a second object, wherein the second data comprises second sub-data of the first modality or the second modality; mapping the second sub-data as a second semantic representation in the semantic comparison space (wherein the input data includes the positive sample pairs, such as
{
i
+
n
,
t
+
n
}
,
n
=
1
,
…
,
N
, and the negative sample pairs, such as
{
i
+
n
,
t
-
n
}
a
n
d
{
i
-
n
,
t
+
n
}
,
n
=
1
,
…
,
N
. See Eq (9) and Sec. III-C, para.1—par.2, on the left column, on page 149; wherein the features extracted from each sample pair are mapped in the common subspace for calculating their similarities. It should be noticed that: where
{
i
+
n
,
t
+
n
}
can be interpreted to represent “a second object” while
{
i
+
n
,
t
-
n
}
can be interpreted to represent “a first object”); and
calculating a similarity between the first data and the second data based on at least the first semantic representation and the second semantic representation (calculating the similarities
d
g
i
+
n
,
g
t
-
n
a
n
d
d
g
i
+
n
,
g
t
+
n
; see Eq(9). Also see the sentence right up the Eq(11): “Finally, we designed a cross-media synthesis similarity between image im and text tk. We calculate the similarity in the 1024-dimensional common subspace”).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the data similarity determination method according to claim 1, wherein the first modality is a text, and the second modality is an image (see the “image” and “sentence” pair in fig.1).
Regarding claims 9-12, 16-18, each of them is an inherent variation of claim 1, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the training method according to claim 11, further comprising: performing data preprocessing on original data before acquiring the first training data of the training object (see sec.III-A, para.1: “each input image is adjusted to 256x256...”).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the training method according to claim 11, wherein the similarity between the first training semantic representation and the second training semantic representation of the training object is maximized by minimizing the loss function (see loss functions Lglobal and Llocal defined by Eq(9) and Eq(10)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Takata et al (US 20130311502, hereinafter “Takata”).
Regarding claim 19 Li discloses the claimed invention. The mere difference is Li does not explicitly disclose the object in an image is “a patient” in “medical image data” as recited in claim 19. However, Takata discloses apparatus which includes: an image similarity degree determining unit which calculates an image similarity degree between a first interpretation target image data item obtained by an interpretation target obtaining unit and a second interpretation target image data item registered in a case database; a text similarity degree determining unit which calculates the text similarity degree between a first image interpretation information item obtained by the interpretation target obtaining unit and the second image interpretation information item registered in the case database; and a different-text case searching unit which preferentially search out one or more case data items included in the case data items stored in the case database in a descending order of image similarity degrees determined by the image similarity degree determining unit and an ascending order of text similarity degrees determined by the text similarity degree determining unit. Specifically, Takata discloses wherein the images include medical images and the text data includes the image interpretation made by a doctor. See fig.2, para. 76-77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Li and the teachings of Takata and apply the method of Li to medical image search as taught by Takata. Suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to search out such a similar case having different diagnostic details in images by key words. See Taketa, para.5—para.7. Therefore, claim 19 is unpatentable over Li in view of Taketa.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is an inherent variation of claim 19, thus it is interpreted and rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Subject Matter Not Found in Prior Art
11. The subject matter of claims 3-8 and 13, in combination with the base claim and intervening claims, were not found in the prior art. Allowability is not indicated currently due to the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al, “Visual and Semantic Knowledge Transfer for Large Scale Semi-Supervised Object Detection”, 2018.
/RUIPING LI/Primary Examiner, Ph.D., Art Unit 2676