DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-X is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Celo (Publication No.: US 2016/0334590 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 15, Celo teaches A method for optically aligning an optical fiber (reference numeral 202, 206, 210 in Figure 2) coupled to a mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2) to an optical or optoelectrical element (reference numeral 216, 218 in Figure 2) on a substrate (reference numeral 214 in Figure 2), the method comprising forming a first optical component (reference numeral 220A, 220B, 222, 224, 226 in Figure 2) on the substrate at a first distance to the optical or optoelectrical element (reference numeral 216, 218 in Figure 2), wherein the first distance is related to a second distance between the optical fiber (reference numeral 202, 206, 210 in Figure 2) and a second optical component (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) on the mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2), wherein the first and second distances are related in such a way to enable an optical alignment of the optical fiber to the optical or optoelectrical element by optically aligning the first optical component to the second optical component (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout).
Regarding claim 2, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, further comprising coupling the mounting component to the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2), optically aligning the first optical component (reference numeral 220A, 220B, 222, 224, 226 in Figure 2) to the second optical component (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) using an optical signal transmitting between the first and second optical components (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout).
Regarding claim 3, 6, 7, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1 wherein the first optical component is configured to direct the optical signal between a first direction perpendicular to a lateral surface of the substrate and a second direction parallel to the lateral surface (e.g. through use of “Surface grating couplers 226” “configured to receive light from an external light source and to guide the light to alignment couplers” as in paragraph [0032] and/or “vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs)” that “send the light to alignment couplers” as in paragraph [0031] and/or by virtue of the orthogonal turns illustrated between reference numeral 220B and 222 in Figure 2) .
Regarding claim 4, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein at least one of the first optical component or the second optical component comprises an upturn mirror or a grating element (reference numeral 226 in Figure 2), wherein the upturn mirror or the grating element is configured to direct the optical signal between a first direction perpendicular to a lateral surface of the substrate and a second direction parallel to the lateral surface (e.g. through use of “Surface grating couplers 226” “configured to receive light from an external light source and to guide the light to alignment couplers” as in paragraph [0032] and/or “vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs)” that “send the light to alignment couplers” as in paragraph [0031] and/or by virtue of the orthogonal turns illustrated between reference numeral 220B and 222 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein optically aligning the first optical component to the second optical component comprises determining at least a characteristic of the optical signal sent or received between the first and second optical components to be greater than a threshold value (e.g. “light from the waveguide loop is detected” and “a photodetector generates an electrical signal” wherefrom the controller processes “the electrical signal to determine that the light from the waveguide loop is detected at the second alignment coupler” as in paragraph [0035], then “determines that the photonic devices are aligned” as in paragraph [0036] based on a current “current between about 1 microamp (μA) and about 10 μA in response to the received light” as in paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein the second optical component comprises a second optical fiber (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) disposed in the mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein the first optical component comprises a multimode (e.g. “multi-mode waveguide elements” as in paragraph [0023]) or multicore optical fiber.
Regarding claim 10, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein the second optical component comprises multiple optical elements (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) positioned at two distal ends of the mounting component, wherein the multiple optical elements are configured to assist in rotationally aligning the mounting component to the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout; “Monitoring the edge coupling alignment may include detecting drift, warping (e.g., lateral, vertical, or horizontal), roll, and positional misalignments” as in paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein the second optical component comprises multiple optical elements positioned at different heights on the mounting component (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 where loops 212 appear at different heights from the lowermost to the uppermost portions of surface 250), wherein the multiple optical elements are configured to assist in rotationally aligning the mounting component to the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout; “Monitoring the edge coupling alignment may include detecting drift, warping (e.g., lateral, vertical, or horizontal), roll, and positional misalignments” as in paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, further comprising securing a bottom portion (e.g. the lowermost portion of reference numeral 208 in Figure 2) of the mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2) to the substrate (reference numeral 214 at surface 250 in Figure 2), adjusting a top portion of the mounting component (e.g. the uppermost portion of reference numeral 208 in Figure 2) to optically align the first optical component with the second optical component (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout).
Regarding claim 13, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, wherein the optical or optoelectrical element comprises an optoelectrical device, a waveguide, a lens, or a spot size converter (e.g. “photonic devices 218 may be semiconductor circuits or chips that integrate multiple optical or opto-electrical components” as in paragraph [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Celo in view of Bovington (Patent No.: US 10,547,156 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Celo teaches A method as in claim 1, further comprising forming an electrical interconnect layer (e.g. “redistribution layer” as in paragraph [0019]) on the substrate, forming the optical or optoelectrical element (reference numeral 218 in Figure 2), wherein the electrical interconnect layer comprises at least an electrical interconnection line (e.g. dashed lines illustrated in Figure 2), with the electrical interconnection layer connected to the optical or optoelectrical element (e.g. by virtue of the “redistribution layer” as in paragraph [0019]). Celo differs from the claimed invention in that it fails to specifically teach that the electrical interconnect layer is formed under and before forming the optical or optoelectrical element. However, Celo suggests as much via disclosure of the redistribution layer and the illustration of optical or optoelectrical element formed at the top layer of substrate. Furthermore, Bovington teaches that this concept is well known in the art (reference numeral 205-245 in Figure 2). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to form the electrical interconnect layer under and before forming the optical or optoelectrical element in order to take advantage of an etch and deposition system with a variety of different substrates in order to meet design, budget, or performance requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to form the electrical interconnect layer under and before forming the optical or optoelectrical element in Celo as taught by Bovington.
Regarding claim 16, Celo A substrate (reference numeral 214 in Figure 2) comprising an optical or optoelectrical element (reference numeral 216, 218 in Figure 2), a first optical component (reference numeral 220A, 220B, 222, 224, 226 in Figure 2) at a first distance to the optical or optoelectrical element (reference numeral 216, 218 in Figure 2), wherein the first optical component (reference numeral 220A, 220B, 222, 224, 226 in Figure 2) is configured to send or to receive an optical signal between in a first direction not parallel to a lateral surface of the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 where optical signals are sent and received via curvilinear waveguides to/from reference numerals 222, 224), a mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2), wherein the mounting component (reference numeral 204, 208 in Figure 2) comprises a second optical component (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) and an optical fiber (reference numeral 202, 206, 210 in Figure 2), wherein the second optical component (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2) is disposed at a second distance to the optical fiber (reference numeral 202, 206, 210 in Figure 2), wherein the second distance is related to the first distance in such a way to enable an optical alignment of the optical fiber to the optical or optoelectrical element by optically aligning the first optical component to the second optical component when the mounting component is coupled to the substrate (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2 and “detect the first light when the waveguide loop is aligned with the first alignment coupler and the second alignment coupler” as in abstract and throughout). Celo differs from the claimed invention in that it fails to specifically teach that the mounting component is accepted at a recess at the substrate. However, Bovington teaches that this concept is well known in the art (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8A, Figure 8B). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to accept the mounting component at a recess of the substrate in order to allow different portions of the submount assembly to be constructed in different stages (e.g. column 11 lines 44-54 of Bovington). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to accept the mounting component at a recess of the substrate as taught by Bovington in Celo.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of references and Celo in particular teaches A substrate as in claim 16, wherein the first optical component comprises an upturn mirror or a grating element (reference numeral 226 in Figure 2; e.g. “Surface grating couplers 226” as in paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of references and Celo in particular teaches A substrate as in claim 16, wherein the second optical component comprises an upturn mirror, a grating element (reference numeral 226 in Figure 2; e.g. “Surface grating couplers 226” as in paragraph [0032]), or a second optical fiber (reference numeral 212 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Celo and Bovington teaches A substrate as in claim 16, further comprising an electrical interconnect layer formed on the substrate under the optical or optoelectrical element (e.g. “redistribution layer” as in paragraph [0019] in Celo; reference numeral 355, 335A, 335B in Figure 3C in Bovington), wherein the electrical interconnect layer comprises at least an electrical interconnection line (e.g. dashed lines illustrated in Figure 2 in Celo; e.g. “conductive traces” as in column 9 lines 4-20 in Bovington), with the electrical interconnection layer disposed under the optical or optoelectrical element (e.g. by virtue of the “redistribution layer” as in paragraph [0019] in Celo; reference numeral 355, 335A, 335B in Figure 3C in Bovington).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Celo and Bovington teaches An assembly comprising the substrate of claim 16, wherein the assembly further comprises the mounting component mounted on the recess (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8A, Figure 8B of Bovington), with the first and second optical components optically aligned to each other (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8A, Figure 8B of Bovington and Figure 2 of Celo).
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635