DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheldon et al. (US 2016/0135431) in view of Koplin (US 2015/0122199), and further in view of Kelly et al. (US 2015/0373951).
Regarding claim 1, Sheldon teaches an animal collar system for monitoring an animal, the animal collar system comprising: a mobile device associated with a user (Paragraph [0029]);
a base station (Paragraph [0123]); and
an animal collar device comprising at least one circuit board, at least one sensing component carried by the at least one circuit board and configured to collect data about the animal (See abstract), a processor carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the at least one sensing component (Paragraphs [0062-0063]), but does not specifically teach a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board, a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Koplin teaches a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and the first elongate patch antenna (Paragraphs [0045 and 0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koplin’s teaching about a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and the first elongate patch antenna with Sheldon’s invention in order to support a plurality of frequency bands.
The combination of Sheldon and Koplin fail to teach a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Kelly teaches a haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) carried by the at least one circuit board (See Fig. 3, item 105-h), and the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355), the processor 340 configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station 115-a and the mobile device 125-c (Paragraph [0052]), and cause the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kelly’s teaching about a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal with Sheldon’s and Koplin’s invention for monitoring and communicating with an animal by, for example, generating reports, developing training or feeding schedules, or conveying relevant information to animal owners.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Kelly teaches the animal collar system of claim 1 wherein the animal collar device comprises an audio indicator carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the processor is configured to cause the audio indicator to generate an audio feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Kelly teaches the animal collar system of claim 1 wherein the animal collar device comprises a visual indicator carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the processor is configured to cause the visual indicator to generate a visual feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraphs [0060, 0064, 0120, 0124]), especially paragraph [0060]…….. The feedback module 355 may be configured to provide audible, visual, or mechanical feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h. For instance, the feedback module 355, in conjunction with the processor module 340, may provide feedback to a dog (e.g., sounds, vibration, etc.) to encourage or discourage behavior. Paragraph [0064]….. In some cases, modules of the controller module 305 may utilize the illumination module 415 to provide visual feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Sheldon teaches the animal collar system of claim 1 wherein the animal collar device comprises a housing carrying the at least one circuit board (Paragraphs [0014-0015, 0062, 0111-0113]), the at least one sensing component (See abstract; Paragraphs [0011, 0014, and 0031]) and the processor (Paragraphs [0014 and 0062-0066]), but does not specifically teach the first elongate patch antenna, the haptic feedback motor.
However, in related art, Koplin teaches the first elongate patch antenna (Paragraphs [0045 and 0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koplin’s teaching about the first elongate patch antenna with Sheldon’s invention in order to support a plurality of frequency bands.
The combination of Sheldon and Koplin fail to teach the haptic feedback motor.
However, in related art, Kelly teaches the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) (Paragraphs [0052 and 0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kelly’s teaching about the haptic feedback motor with Sheldon’s and Koplin’s invention for monitoring and communicating with an animal by, for example, generating reports, developing training or feeding schedules, or conveying relevant information to animal owners.
Regarding claim 10, Sheldon teaches an animal collar device for monitoring an animal and in communication with a mobile device associated with a user (Paragraph [0029]) and a base station (Paragraph [0123]),
the animal collar device comprising: at least one circuit board; at least one sensing component carried by the at least one circuit board and configured to collect data about the animal (See abstract);
a processor carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the at least one sensing component (Paragraphs [0062-0063]), but does not specifically teach
a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board; and the first elongate patch antenna, and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Koplin teaches the first elongate patch antenna (Paragraphs [0045 and 0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koplin’s teaching about the first elongate patch antenna with Sheldon’s invention in order to support a plurality of frequency bands.
The combination of Sheldon and Koplin fail to teach a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board; and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Kelly teaches a haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) carried by the at least one circuit board (See Fig. 3, item 105-h); and
the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355), the processor 340 configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station 115-a and the mobile device 125-c (Paragraph [0052]), and cause the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kelly’s teaching about a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board; and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal with Sheldon’s and Koplin’s invention for monitoring and communicating with an animal by, for example, generating reports, developing training or feeding schedules, or conveying relevant information to animal owners.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 10. In addition, Kelly teaches the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising an audio indicator carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the processor is configured to cause the audio indicator to generate an audio feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 10. In addition, Kelly teaches the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising a visual indicator carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the processor is configured to cause the visual indicator to generate a visual feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraphs [0060, 0064, 0120, 0124]), especially paragraph [0060]…….. The feedback module 355 may be configured to provide audible, visual, or mechanical feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h. For instance, the feedback module 355, in conjunction with the processor module 340, may provide feedback to a dog (e.g., sounds, vibration, etc.) to encourage or discourage behavior. Paragraph [0064]….. In some cases, modules of the controller module 305 may utilize the illumination module 415 to provide visual feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 10. In addition, Sheldon teaches the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising a housing carrying the at least one circuit board (Paragraphs [0014-0015, 0062, 0111-0113]), the at least one sensing component (See abstract; Paragraphs [0011, 0014, and 0031]), and the processor (Paragraphs [0014 and 0062-0066]), but does not specifically teach the first elongate patch antenna and the haptic feedback motor,
However, in related art, Koplin teaches the first elongate patch antenna (Paragraphs [0045 and 0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koplin’s teaching about the first elongate patch antenna with Sheldon’s invention in order to support a plurality of frequency bands.
The combination of Sheldon and Koplin fail to teach the haptic feedback motor.
However, in related art, Kelly teaches the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) (Paragraphs [0052 and 0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kelly’s teaching about the haptic feedback motor with Sheldon’s and Koplin’s invention for monitoring and communicating with an animal by, for example, generating reports, developing training or feeding schedules, or conveying relevant information to animal owners.
Regarding claim 18, Sheldon teaches a method for operating an animal collar device monitoring an animal and in communication with a mobile device associated with a user (Paragraph [0029]) and a base station (Paragraph [0123]),
the animal collar device comprising at least one circuit board, at least one sensing component carried by the at least one circuit board and configured to collect data about the animal (See abstract),
operating a processor to be carried by the circuit board and to be coupled to the at least one sensing component (Paragraphs [0062-0063]), but does not specifically teach a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board, and a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, the method comprising:, the first elongate patch antenna, and the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Koplin teaches a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and the first elongate patch antenna (Paragraphs [0045 and 0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koplin’s teaching about a first elongate patch antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and the first elongate patch antenna with Sheldon’s invention in order to support a plurality of frequency bands.
The combination of Sheldon and Koplin fail to teach a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, the method comprising: the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal.
However, in related art, Kelly teaches a haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) carried by the at least one circuit board (See Fig. 3, item 105-h), the method comprising: the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355), the processor 340 configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station 115-a and the mobile device 125-c (Paragraph [0052]), and cause the haptic feedback motor (Fig. 3, Feedback Module 355) to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal. (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kelly’s teaching about a haptic feedback motor carried by the at least one circuit board, the method comprising: the haptic feedback motor, the processor configured to communicate the data about the animal to the base station and the mobile device, and cause the haptic feedback motor to generate a feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal with Sheldon’s and Koplin’s invention for monitoring and communicating with an animal by, for example, generating reports, developing training or feeding schedules, or conveying relevant information to animal owners.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 18. In addition, Kelly teaches the method of claim 18 further comprising operating the processor to cause an audio indicator to generate an audio feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraph [0062]…... The microphone module 405 may be configured with one or several microphones. In some examples, several microphones are configured about the collar 105-h—some configured to receive sounds (e.g., barking, whining, etc.) from the animal wearing the collar 105-h, and some configured to receive sounds (e.g., traffic noise, other animals, etc.) from sources remote from the collar 105-h. Components of the controller module 305 (FIG. 3) may use signals received by the microphone module to generate and report data; and the controller module 305 may use these signals to generate feedback for an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly teach all the claimed elements in claim 18. In addition, Kelly teaches the method of claim 18 further comprising operating the processor to cause a visual indicator to generate a visual feedback indication to the animal based upon the data about the animal (Paragraphs [0060, 0064, 0120, 0124]), especially paragraph [0060]…….. The feedback module 355 may be configured to provide audible, visual, or mechanical feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h. For instance, the feedback module 355, in conjunction with the processor module 340, may provide feedback to a dog (e.g., sounds, vibration, etc.) to encourage or discourage behavior. Paragraph [0064]….. In some cases, modules of the controller module 305 may utilize the illumination module 415 to provide visual feedback to an animal wearing the collar 105-h).
Claims 2-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheldon et al. (US 2016/0135431) in view of Koplin (US 2015/0122199) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2015/0373951), and further in view of Sciarra (US Patent #6,970,090).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly fail to teach the animal collar system of claim 1 wherein the animal collar device comprises a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor.
However, in related art, Sciarra teaches the animal collar system of claim 1 wherein the animal collar device comprises a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor (Col 5, line 59-Col 6, line 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Sciarra’s teaching about wherein the animal collar device comprises a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor with Sheldon’s, Koplin’s, and Kelly’s invention in order to send data out to a receiving device.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, Kelly, and Sciarra teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Sciarra teaches the animal collar system of claim 2 wherein the second coil antenna comprises an elongate coil segment (Col 6, lines 5-8……Other antennas of the type employed in AM radios or LORAN navigation systems which rely on the directionality of ferrite coil antennas (obviously has an elongate coil segment) may be used for locating the direction of a transmitter), and a feed arm coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor (Col 6, lines 8-15…... In using separate directional antennas 82a-d, the antenna closest to the source will receive the stronger of the signals from the transmitter location. After processing the received signals for signal strength, microprocessor 72 provides direction information to the user through an LED display 74 comprised of four LEDs, each corresponding to one of the antennas. That means feed arm (end of coil arm) coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor or microprocessor).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sheldon, Koplin, and Kelly fail to teach the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the second coil antenna comprises an elongate coil segment, and a feed arm coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor.
However, in related art, Sciarra teaches the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor (Col 5, line 59-Col 6, line 25); and wherein the second coil antenna comprises an elongate coil segment (Col 6, lines 5-8……Other antennas of the type employed in AM radios or LORAN navigation systems which rely on the directionality of ferrite coil antennas (obviously has an elongate coil segment) may be used for locating the direction of a transmitter), and a feed arm coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor (Col 6, lines 8-15…... In using separate directional antennas 82a-d, the antenna closest to the source will receive the stronger of the signals from the transmitter location. After processing the received signals for signal strength, microprocessor 72 provides direction information to the user through an LED display 74 comprised of four LEDs, each corresponding to one of the antennas. That means feed arm (end of coil arm) coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor or microprocessor).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Sciarra’s teaching about the animal collar device of claim 10 further comprising a second coil antenna carried by the at least one circuit board and coupled to the processor; and wherein the second coil antenna comprises an elongate coil segment, and a feed arm coupled between the elongate coil segment and the processor with Sheldon’s, Koplin’s, and Kelly’s invention in order to send data out to a receiving device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach the animal collar system of claim 3 wherein the second coil antenna comprises a mount comprising a retention arm coupled to the at least one circuit board, and an inner antenna arm extending from the retention arm and within the elongate coil segment.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach the animal collar device of claim 11 wherein the second coil antenna comprises a mount comprising a retention arm coupled to the at least one circuit board, and an inner antenna arm extending from the retention arm and within the elongate coil segment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deliou et al. (US 2017/0280688), Konanur et al. (US Patent #9,660,704), Sinnett (US 2013/0153669), Lopez et al. (US 2012/0252486), Hardi et al. (US 2011/0061605), Sinnett et al. (US 2011/0032174), Kell (US Patent #7,343,261), Gerig (US 2006/0169222), Tanaka (US 2003/0116634), Westrick et al. (US Patent #5,559,498), and Janning (US Patent #5,241,923).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132