DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the microwave emission module connected to the Rydberg Atom Antenna must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez (U.S. Patent No. 11808910) in view of Zhang (WO2022120903). Alvarez teaches a mineral exploration system, comprising a microwave emission module (fig. 7, element 720), an Antenna (680, PWG tool), and a signal extraction module (fig. 7, 725/730), wherein both the microwave emission module and the signal extraction module are connected to the Antenna (both are connected to 680); the microwave emission module is used to emit probing microwaves into the subsurface (see fig. 6), where the probing microwaves interact with underground structures to generate reflected microwaves (see fig. 6); the Antenna is used to receive the reflected microwaves and generate a reflected signal based on the reflected microwaves (fig. 6); the signal extraction module is used to extract fingerprint signals of the underground structure from the reflected signals. (fig. 7, 735). Alvarez teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the antenna is not disclosed as a Rydberg Atom Antenna. Zhang teaches that it was known to use a Rydberg Atom Antenna to display a radar signal according to the converted reflection signal. See the abstract and figures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Zhang for the purpose of improving signal accuracy.
Italicized claim language is considered an intended use and is not being given patentable weight but the office action still shows where the intended use items are taught by the reference.
Regarding claim 2, Alvarez teaches in col. 8, lines 9-11 the frequency range of the probing microwaves is from 300 MHz to 40 GHz.
Regarding claim 3, the signal extraction module is used to perform full-spectrum analysis on the reflected signals to extract fingerprint signals of the underground structures. is considered an intended use. Alvarez teaches a surface control system that performs analysis on the received signals. Additionally, Rydberg atom antenna provide the ability to perform full spectrum analysis.
Regarding claim 4, the Rydberg Atom Antenna is connected to the signal processing module at least through the signal extraction module which is inherently connected to the signal processing module. signal processing module is used to amplify and filter the reflected signals to obtain processed signals; the signal extraction module is used to extract fingerprint signals of the underground structure from the processed signals. The italicized claim language is considered an intended use.
Regarding claim 9, Alvarez teaches a database module 136 connected to the signal extraction module; the database module stores various mineral information; the signal extraction module is also used to compare the fingerprint signal with the mineral information to obtain the accuracy of the fingerprint signal.
Regarding claim 10. Alvarez teaches emitting probing microwaves into the underground (fig. 6 as well as 720 in fig. 7), where the probing microwaves interact with underground structures to generate reflected microwaves (fig. 6); receiving the reflected microwaves based on the Rydberg Atom Antenna and generating a reflected signal based on the reflected microwaves (725, fig 7); extracting fingerprint signals of the underground structures from the reflected signal (735, fig. 7). Alvarez teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the antenna is not disclosed as a Rydberg Atom Antenna. Zhang teaches that it was known to use a Rydberg Atom Antenna to display a radar signal according to the converted reflection signal. See the abstract and figures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Zhang for the purpose of improving signal accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (CN121069503) teaches a target entity detection method including using a quantum identification forming module may be used to generate an electromagnetic signal (i.e., an initial signal) having characteristics of a particular quantum state (e.g., a coherent state, an angular momentum state, a Rydberg excited state, etc.) to effect quantum modulation or information coding of the signal.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852