The instant application having Application No. 19/011,791 filed on 1/7/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, specifically Figures 4, 5, and 6, are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 13-15, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liang (CN 116279125 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a vehicular vision system, in at least Figures 1-3, the vehicular vision system comprising:
an interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1) comprising a mirror head (50 "rearview mirror", Figure 1) and a mounting base (51 "mounting base", Figure 1), wherein the mounting base (51 "mounting base") is configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figure 1, page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom");
wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”), the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") is adjustable relative to the mounting base (51 "mounting base", page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "The rear viewing direction (posture) of the rearview mirror 50 is adjusted so that the rear of the vehicle is sufficiently visible when the driver is seated on the seat");
wherein the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") accommodates a mirror reflective element (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “as in the case of visually recognizing the mirror image of the rear field of view reflected on the room mirror 50, the rear field of view can be viewed as a mirror image”);
a video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device", Figures 1, 3) disposed within the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) remote from the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1 shows that 40 "rear confirmation display device" and 30 "rear seat display device" are remote from 50 "rearview mirror"), wherein the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") is operable to display rearview video images (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states "The rear confirmation video obtained by photographing with the rear photographing camera 60 is displayed on the rear confirmation display device 40 as a non-mirror image", page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "The rear confirmation display device 40 operating in the illumination mode displays an image captured by the rear photographing camera 60 when the ceiling-mounted display device 20 is manually operated from the lying down state to the standing state, that is, from the storage position to the use position") derived from image data captured by a rearward-viewing camera (60 "rear photographing camera", Figures 1, 3) disposed at the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figures 1, 3) and viewing rearward of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) to provide a rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle"); and
wherein, the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") operates to display the rearview video images to provide the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle").
However, Yoshioka does not disclose wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, and determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position.
Liang teaches wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (20 "rear-view mirror", 70 “telescopic link mechanism”, Figure 3) mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (Figure 3), the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (final paragraph of page 5 of translation states "when the user by setting the control key of the vehicle sends the first control instruction, can be provided with a control key, the user first time according to the control key, if the inner rear-view mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle 30, then can control the inner rear-view mirror 20 retracted into the vehicle interior 30. the user again according to the control key, the inner rearview mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle interior 30, then can control the inner rearview mirror 20 extends out of the interior of the vehicle 30") and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding"), and determination that the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is in the stowed position (final paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, and determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position, as taught by Liang, in order to provide better road condition observation and a higher degree of freedom in the design of the interior of the vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein an actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position.
Liang teaches wherein an actuator (40 "motor module", Figure 3) is electrically operable to move the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") between the deployed position and the stowed position (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein an actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position, as taught by Liang, in order to provide better road condition observation and a higher degree of freedom in the design of the interior of the vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the actuator is electrically operated to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position responsive to a user input.
Liang teaches wherein the actuator (40 "motor module") is electrically operated to move the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") between the deployed position and the stowed position responsive to a user input (page 5, paragraph 9 of translation states "the obtaining module 11 is used for obtaining the first control instruction of the user; the response module 12 is used for responding to the first control instruction control inner rear-view mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle interior 30 telescopic movement", page 5, paragraph 10 of translation states "The first control instruction is a telescopic instruction for controlling the telescopic link mechanism 70 connected with the inner rearview mirror and the motor module 40 to extend and retract by the user", final paragraph of page 5 of translation states "when the user by setting the control key of the vehicle sends the first control instruction, can be provided with a control key, the user first time according to the control key, if the inner rear-view mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle 30, then can control the inner rear-view mirror 20 retracted into the vehicle interior 30. the user again according to the control key, the inner rearview mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle interior 30, then can control the inner rearview mirror 20 extends out of the interior of the vehicle 30").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the actuator is electrically operated to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position responsive to a user input, as taught by Liang, in order to give the user control over which position the mirror head is in (final paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 5 and Yoshioka further discloses wherein the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") being electrically operated to display the rearview video images to provide the rearward view to the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle"). However, Yoshioka does not disclose the actuator electrically operates to move the mirror head from the deployed position to the stowed position.
Liang teaches the actuator (40 "motor module") electrically operates to move the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") from the deployed position to the stowed position (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by the actuator electrically operates to move the mirror head from the deployed position to the stowed position, as taught by Liang, in order to provide better road condition observation and a higher degree of freedom in the design of the interior of the vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises an overhead console module of the vehicle.
Liang teaches wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises an overhead console module (see examiner's amendment of Figure 3) of the vehicle (“vehicle”).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 3 of Liang pointing out an overhead console module.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises an overhead console module of the vehicle, as taught by Liang, in order to provide a cavity for the mirror head to be stowed in.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises a headliner of the vehicle.
Liang teaches wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises a headliner (30 "interior", Figure 3) of the vehicle (“vehicle”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises a headliner of the vehicle, as taught by Liang, in order to provide a cavity for the mirror head to be stowed in.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yoshioka further discloses wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a”), and with the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") in the deployed position (Figure 1), the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") is adjustable relative to the mounting base (51 “mounting base”) to adjust the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "The rear viewing direction (posture) of the rearview mirror 50 is adjusted so that the rear of the vehicle is sufficiently visible when the driver is seated on the seat", page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom").
Regarding claim 27, Yoshioka discloses a vehicular vision system, in at least Figures 1-3, the vehicular vision system comprising:
an interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1) comprising a mirror head (50 "rearview mirror", Figure 1) and a mounting base (51 "mounting base", Figure 1), wherein the mounting base (51 "mounting base") is configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figure 1, page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom");
wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”), the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") is adjustable relative to the mounting base (51 "mounting base", page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "The rear viewing direction (posture) of the rearview mirror 50 is adjusted so that the rear of the vehicle is sufficiently visible when the driver is seated on the seat");
wherein the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") accommodates a mirror reflective element (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “as in the case of visually recognizing the mirror image of the rear field of view reflected on the room mirror 50, the rear field of view can be viewed as a mirror image”);
a video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device", Figures 1, 3) disposed within the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) remote from the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1 shows that 40 "rear confirmation display device" and 30 "rear seat display device" are remote from 50 "rearview mirror"), wherein the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") is operable to display rearview video images (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states "The rear confirmation video obtained by photographing with the rear photographing camera 60 is displayed on the rear confirmation display device 40 as a non-mirror image", page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "The rear confirmation display device 40 operating in the illumination mode displays an image captured by the rear photographing camera 60 when the ceiling-mounted display device 20 is manually operated from the lying down state to the standing state, that is, from the storage position to the use position") derived from image data captured by a rearward-viewing camera (60 "rear photographing camera", Figures 1, 3) disposed at the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figures 1, 3) and viewing rearward of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) to provide a rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle");
wherein, the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") operates to display the rearview video images to provide the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle"); and
wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a”, Figure 1), the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") operates to display the rearview video images based at least in part on processing by an image processor (83 “video decoder”, 91 “video signal processing unit”, page 6, paragraph 3 of translation states “The vehicle rear video signal obtained by being imaged by the rear photographing camera 60 is output to the video decoder 83 via the external input terminal. The vehicle rear video signal is converted into a display video signal by the video decoder 83, and the vehicle rear video is displayed on the rear confirmation display device 40 through the video signal processing unit 91”) of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (60 "rear photographing camera", last paragraph of page 2 of translation states "The rear confirmation video obtained by photographing with the rear photographing camera 60 is displayed on the rear confirmation display device 40 as a non-mirror image", page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "The rear confirmation display device 40 operating in the illumination mode displays an image captured by the rear photographing camera 60 when the ceiling-mounted display device 20 is manually operated from the lying down state to the standing state, that is, from the storage position to the use position").
However, Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) an overhead console module of the vehicle, a headliner of the vehicle and (iii) a windshield electronics module of the vehicle; wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position
Liang teaches wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises an overhead console module (see examiner's amendment of Figure 3) of the vehicle (“vehicle”), wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises a headliner (30 "interior", Figure 3) of the vehicle (“vehicle”), wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (20 "rear-view mirror", 70 “telescopic link mechanism”, Figure 3) mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (Figure 3), the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (final paragraph of page 5 of translation states "when the user by setting the control key of the vehicle sends the first control instruction, can be provided with a control key, the user first time according to the control key, if the inner rear-view mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle 30, then can control the inner rear-view mirror 20 retracted into the vehicle interior 30. the user again according to the control key, the inner rearview mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle interior 30, then can control the inner rearview mirror 20 extends out of the interior of the vehicle 30") and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding"), and determination that the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is in the stowed position (final paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 3 of Liang pointing out an overhead console module.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the interior portion of the interior cabin comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) an overhead console module of the vehicle, a headliner of the vehicle and (iii) a windshield electronics module of the vehicle, wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, and determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position, as taught by Liang, in order to in order to provide a cavity for the mirror head to be stowed in and in order to provide better road condition observation and a higher degree of freedom in the design of the interior of the vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 27 and Yoshioka further discloses wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a”), and with the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") in the deployed position (Figure 1), the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") is adjustable relative to the mounting base (51 “mounting base”) to adjust the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "The rear viewing direction (posture) of the rearview mirror 50 is adjusted so that the rear of the vehicle is sufficiently visible when the driver is seated on the seat", page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom").
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liang (CN 116279125 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Yoshioka further discloses wherein the mirror head (50 “rearview mirror”) is pivotable relative to the mounting base (51 “mounting base”, page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom"). However, Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the mirror head is pivotable relative to the mounting base between the deployed position and the stowed position.
Kuntze teaches wherein the mirror head (3 “mirror element”, Figures 1-3) is pivotable relative to the mounting base (11 “central hollow wall”, Figures 1, 2) between the deployed position and the stowed position (page 6, paragraph 6 of translation states "The mirror element 3 is present as tiltable about a tilt axis A", last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “The head-up display device also has a tiltable between a use position and a stowage position mirror element, which includes, for example, a deflection mirror. The tiltable mirror element can be designed, for example, as a foldable or rotatable mirror element, which can be tilted about a rotation and / or folding axis”, Figures 1, 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the mirror head is pivotable relative to the mounting base between the deployed position and the stowed position, as taught by Kuntze, in order to efficiently move the mirror head and prevent dust accumulation when in the stowed position (first paragraph of page 3 of translation).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the stowed position, an outer surface of the mirror head is flush with an outer surface of the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle at or near the mounting base.
Kuntze teaches wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (3 "mirror element", 11 “central hollow wall”, Figure 3) mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (22 “motor vehicle”, Figure 4), and with the mirror head (3 "mirror element") in the stowed position (Figure 1), an outer surface of the mirror head (3 "mirror element") is flush with an outer surface of the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle at or near the mounting base (11 "central hollow wall", Figure 1 shows that 3 "mirror element" is flush with an outer surface of the interior portion of the interior cabin near 11 “central hollow wall”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the stowed position, an outer surface of the mirror head is flush with an outer surface of the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle at or near the mounting base, as taught by Kuntze, in order to allow the vehicular vision system to be more dustproof (page 7, paragraph 2 of translation).
Claims 7 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liang (CN 116279125 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 6, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the user input comprises an input at a touchscreen of the video display screen.
Stephan teaches wherein the user input comprises an input at a touchscreen of the video display screen (12 "display screen", Figure 1, page 11, paragraph 2 states "Enlargement of the rear view may be triggered by shifting into reverse gear, or by proximity of the camera 22 to a rearward object, or by the driver touching the screen").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the user input comprises an input at a touchscreen of the video display screen, as taught by Stephan, in order to prevent the user from being too distracted while driving the vehicle.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 27, however Yoshioka does not disclose
Stephan teaches wherein the video display screen (12 "display screen", Figure 1) operates to display the rearview video images responsive at least in part to detection of an object rearward of the vehicle via processing by the image processor of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (22 "rear view video camera", page 11, paragraph 2 states "Enlargement of the rear view may be triggered by shifting into reverse gear, or by proximity of the camera 22 to a rearward object").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the video display screen operates to display the rearview video images responsive at least in part to detection of an object rearward of the vehicle via processing by the image processor of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, as taught by Stephan, in order to provide a visual indication that an object is behind the vehicle to avoid a potential collision.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liang (CN 116279125 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of DeWind (US 20060164230 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the actuator includes a stepper motor.
DeWind teaches wherein the actuator includes a stepper motor (paragraph 0099 states “the motor may comprise a stepper motor or the like, to move the display screen and to preferably provide a smooth transition during starting and stopping of the movement of the display screen in either direction”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the actuator includes a stepper motor, as taught by DeWind, in order to provide a smooth transition during starting and stopping of the movement (paragraph 0099).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Liang (CN 116279125 A)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Peterson (US 20220371513 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein an electronic control unit (ECU) is disposed at the vehicle, and wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software, and wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises an image processor operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera and transferred to the ECU.
Peterson discloses wherein an electronic control unit (ECU) is disposed at the vehicle (paragraph 0019 states "The vision system 12 includes a control or electronic control unit (ECU) 18 having electronic circuitry and associated software, with the electronic circuitry including a data processor or image processor that is operable to process image data captured by the cameras, whereby the ECU may detect or determine presence of objects or the like and/or the system may provide video images or video image data or outputs or signals to a display device of the interior rearview mirror assembly 20 of the vehicle for displaying video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle and/or to a display device 22 at the center console or stack of the vehicle"), and wherein the ECU (18 “ECU”) comprises electronic circuitry and associated software (paragraph 0019), and wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU (18 “ECU”) comprises an image processor (paragraph 0019) operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (paragraph 0019) and transferred to the ECU ()18 “ECU”, paragraph 0019.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein an electronic control unit (ECU) is disposed at the vehicle, and wherein the ECU comprises electronic circuitry and associated software, and wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises an image processor operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera and transferred to the ECU, as taught by Peterson, in order to provide video image signals or outputs to the display (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 16, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen operates to display the rearview video images based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
Peterson teaches wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (20 “interior rearview mirror assembly”) mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (10 “vehicle”, Figure 1), the video display screen (22 “video display”) operates to display the rearview video images based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen operates to display the rearview video images based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, as taught by Peterson, in order to provide video image signals or outputs to the display (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 17, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the video display screen operates to display the rearview video images responsive at least in part to detection of an object rearward of the vehicle via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward- viewing camera.
Peterson teaches wherein the video display screen (22 “video display”) operates to display the rearview video images responsive at least in part to detection of an object rearward of the vehicle via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward- viewing camera (paragraphs 0019 – 0022).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein the video display screen operates to display the rearview video images responsive at least in part to detection of an object rearward of the vehicle via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward- viewing camera, as taught by Peterson, in order to provide video image signals or outputs to the display (paragraph 0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 8, 11, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position.
DeWind (US 20060164230 A1), Peterson (US 20220371513 A1), Schofield (US 20020003571 A1), Liang (CN 116279125 A), Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1), Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A), and Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position, among other claim limitations.
Claim 3 depends on claim 2, so it is allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 5, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the actuator is electrically operated to move the mirror head from the stowed position to the deployed position responsive at least in part to determination that the rearview video images fail to provide the rearward view to the driver of the vehicle.
DeWind (US 20060164230 A1), Peterson (US 20220371513 A1), Schofield (US 20020003571 A1), Liang (CN 116279125 A), Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1), Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A), and Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the actuator is electrically operated to move the mirror head from the stowed position to the deployed position responsive at least in part to determination that the rearview video images fail to provide the rearward view to the driver of the vehicle, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the deployed position and the video display screen not operating to display the rearview video images, the mirror head is locked in the deployed position and not movable to the stowed position.
DeWind (US 20060164230 A1), Peterson (US 20220371513 A1), Schofield (US 20020003571 A1), Liang (CN 116279125 A), Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1), Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A), and Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the deployed position and the video display screen not operating to display the rearview video images, the mirror head is locked in the deployed position and not movable to the stowed position, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Yoshioka and Liang disclose all the limitations of claim 27, however Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position.
DeWind (US 20060164230 A1), Peterson (US 20220371513 A1), Schofield (US 20020003571 A1), Liang (CN 116279125 A), Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1), Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A), and Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 19, Yoshioka discloses a vehicular vision system, in at least Figures 1-3, the vehicular vision system comprising:
an interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1) comprising a mirror head (50 "rearview mirror", Figure 1) and a mounting base (51 "mounting base", Figure 1), wherein the mounting base (51 "mounting base") is configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figure 1, page 2, paragraph 9 of translation states "the rearview mirror 50 is attached via an arm 56 to a mounting base 51 provided on the front side of the roof 1a. The room mirror 50 is pivotally supported by the arm 56 so as to be rotatable in three dimensions, front and rear, left and right, and top and bottom");
wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm") mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”), the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") is adjustable relative to the mounting base (51 "mounting base", page 3, paragraph 10 of translation states "The rear viewing direction (posture) of the rearview mirror 50 is adjusted so that the rear of the vehicle is sufficiently visible when the driver is seated on the seat");
wherein the mirror head (50 "rearview mirror") accommodates a mirror reflective element (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states “as in the case of visually recognizing the mirror image of the rear field of view reflected on the room mirror 50, the rear field of view can be viewed as a mirror image”);
a video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device", Figures 1, 3) disposed within the interior cabin of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) remote from the interior rearview mirror assembly (50 "rearview mirror", 51 "mounting base", 56 "arm", Figure 1 shows that 40 "rear confirmation display device" and 30 "rear seat display device" are remote from 50 "rearview mirror"), wherein the video display screen (40 "rear confirmation display device", 30 "rear seat display device") is operable to display rearview video images (last paragraph of page 2 of translation states "The rear confirmation video obtained by photographing with the rear photographing camera 60 is displayed on the rear confirmation display device 40 as a non-mirror image", page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states "The rear confirmation display device 40 operating in the illumination mode displays an image captured by the rear photographing camera 60 when the ceiling-mounted display device 20 is manually operated from the lying down state to the standing state, that is, from the storage position to the use position") derived from image data captured by a rearward-viewing camera (60 "rear photographing camera", Figures 1, 3) disposed at the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, Figures 1, 3) and viewing rearward of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”) to provide a rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (1 “vehicle”, page 2, paragraph 7 of translation states "The display screen 40a of the rear confirmation display device 40 faces the room mirror 50, and the display screen 40a can be visually recognized when the driver turns around the rear of the vehicle");
However, Yoshioka does not disclose wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, wherein an actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position; determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position; and wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position.
Liang teaches wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly (20 "rear-view mirror", 70 “telescopic link mechanism”, Figure 3) mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle (Figure 3), the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (final paragraph of page 5 of translation states "when the user by setting the control key of the vehicle sends the first control instruction, can be provided with a control key, the user first time according to the control key, if the inner rear-view mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle 30, then can control the inner rear-view mirror 20 retracted into the vehicle interior 30. the user again according to the control key, the inner rearview mirror 20 in the interior of the vehicle interior 30, then can control the inner rearview mirror 20 extends out of the interior of the vehicle 30") and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding"), determination that the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") is in the stowed position (final paragraph of page 5 of translation), and wherein an actuator (40 "motor module", Figure 3) is electrically operable to move the mirror head (20 "rear-view mirror") between the deployed position and the stowed position (page 6, paragraph 2 of translation states "the first control instruction sent by the user is a retraction instruction, for example, the retraction instruction is user voice sending " hidden in rearview mirror ", then the motor control module 60 under the condition of obtaining the retraction instruction, the retraction instruction is transmitted to the motor module 40, the motor module 40 in response to the retraction instruction control rear-view mirror 20 moves to the interior 30 of the vehicle for hiding").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicular vision system of Yoshioka modified by wherein, with the interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable between (i) a deployed position where the mirror reflective element is viewable by a driver of the vehicle and the mirror head is positioned to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle and (ii) a stowed position where the mirror head is moved from the deployed position and toward the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle to conceal the mirror reflective element, determination that the mirror head is in the stowed position, and wherein an actuator is electrically operable to move the mirror head between the deployed position and the stowed position, as taught by Liang, in order to provide better road condition observation and a higher degree of freedom in the design of the interior of the vehicle (page 4, paragraph 4 of translation).
DeWind (US 20060164230 A1), Peterson (US 20220371513 A1), Schofield (US 20020003571 A1), Liang (CN 116279125 A), Kuntze (DE 102016118455 A1), Yoshioka (JP 2013166414 A), and Stephan (WO 2011014903 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the video display screen stops operating to display the rearview video images responsive to determination that the mirror head is moved from the stowed position to the deployed position, among other claim limitations.
Claims 20-26 depend on claim 19, so they are allowed for the same reasons.
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Schofield (US 20020003571 A1) discloses a vehicular video mirror system which includes an interior rearview mirror assembly and a video display assembly, wherein the video display assembly is not attached to the interior rearview mirror assembly.
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872