DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 19/011,866 originally filed 01/07/2025. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 04/28/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1 and 10 and claim 7 and 16 are cancelled is hereby acknowledged.
Currently claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-18 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, and 17-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0262307 A1 hereinafter Pyun in view Furukawa et al. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0021178 A1 hereinafter Furukawa.
Consider Claim 1:
Pyun discloses a display control circuit comprising: (Pyun, See Abstract.)
a light emitting module comprising one or more light emitting elements; (Pyun, [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”)
a temperature detection device configured to detect an operating temperature of the light emitting module; and (Pyun, [0085], “The temperature sensor 600 may sense the ambient temperature of the display panel 100 to the generate temperature data TD. The temperature sensor 600 may provide the temperature data TD to the scale factor provider 700.”)
a control circuit coupled to the light emitting module and the temperature detection device, and configured to output driving signals, (Pyun, [0146], “According to an embodiment of the present application, the scale factor provider 700 includes a load calculator 710, a maximum grayscale calculator 711, a life data calculator 713, a temperature calculator 720, a target current calculator 730, a current measurer 740, a unit target current generator 741, a scale factor generator 750, and first to fourth memories M1 to M4. In this case, for convenience of description, the first to fourth memories M1 to M4 are shown as separate and independent configurations, but the first to fourth memories M1 to M4 may be one integrated configuration.”)
wherein the driving signals are configured to drive the light emitting module to emit light; (Pyun, [0070-0074], [0072], “The data driver 400 may receive the image data DATA and the second control signal DCS from the timing controller 200, and supply data signals (or data voltages) corresponding to the image data DATA to data lines DL1 to DLm (where m is a natural number) in response to the second control signal DCS. The data signals supplied to the data lines DL1 to DLm may be supplied to the pixels PX selected by the scan signals. To this end, the data driver 400 may supply the data signals to the data lines DL1 to DLm to be synchronized with the scan signal.”)
the control circuit is further configured to adjust the driving signals according to the operating temperature detected by the temperature detection device (Pyun, [0082], “Accordingly, when the display device 1000 (or the scale factor provider 700) performs a GCM operation without considering the current characteristic of the driving transistor according to the ambient temperature of the display panel 100 and the efficiency of the pixels PX according to the ambient temperature of the display panel 100, an appropriate current may not be supplied to the pixels PX, and thus the pixels PX may emit light with a luminance different from a target luminance.”)
when the operating temperature is greater than a preset temperature, a current of the driving signals is positively correlated with the operating temperature, and (Pyun, [0169-0172], [0175], [0171], “The current amount of the display panel 100 (or the current amount flowing through the first transistor TR1) may increase identically to an increase rate between the first temperature T1 and the second temperature T2 even between 0° C. and the first temperature T1, and after the second temperature T2, the current amount of the display panel 100 (or the current amount flowing through the first transistor TR1) may be maintained as the second current amount I2 of the predetermined size.”)
each of the one or more light emitting elements comprises a blue light chip, a green light chip, or a blue-green light chip. (Pyun, [0139-0141], [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”)
Pyun however does not expressly state that the control circuit adjust[s] the driving signals according to the operating temperature detected by the temperature detection device to reduce a color coordinate offset of the light emitted by the light emitting module.
Furukawa however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art adjust[s] the driving signals according to the operating temperature detected by the temperature detection device to reduce a color coordinate offset of the light emitted by the light emitting module. (Furukawa, [0011-0020], [0060-0064], [0093-0095], [0115-0117], [0128], [0081], “The CPU 50 serves to adjust current quantities flowing in the groups of light emitting diodes 30, on the basis of both detection signals of the temperature sensor or sensors 32 and the light quantity or chromaticity sensors 33 (33 R, 33 G, 33 B), so that color tone (color temperature and chromaticity) and luminance of white light emitted from the backlight unit 20 become constant.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the known technique of providing drive signal adjustment based on environmental temperature detection that is positively correlated to the environmental temperature thereby making it possible to eliminate display unevenness by temperature distribution of the display. (Furukawa, [0128])
Consider Claim 2:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises a preset temperature-current mapping table, the control circuit is further configured to adjust the driving signals based on a preset temperature-current mapping table; and the preset temperature-current mapping table comprises different currents of the driving signals corresponding to different operating temperatures. (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0155-0156], [0144], “FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the scale factor provider shown in FIG. 1, FIG. 5A is an exemplary graph corresponding to a life-luminance function of a block (or pixel), FIG. 5B is an embodiment of a lookup table created based on the life-luminance function of FIG. 5A, FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating blocks included in the display panel of FIG. 1, FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating a reference block set on the display panel of FIG. 6, FIG. 8 is a graph illustrating a current characteristic of pixels for each temperature of the display panel, FIGS. 9A to 9C are graphs illustrating an efficiency characteristic of each of sub pixels according to the temperature of the display panel, FIG. 10 is a graph illustrating a first weight according to the current characteristic of the pixels, and FIGS. 11A to 11C are graphs illustrating a second weight according to the efficiency characteristic of each of the sub pixels for each temperature of the display panel.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 1, wherein the display control circuit comprises at least one light emitting module. (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0012], “The first sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a first wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the first color, the second sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a second wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the second color, and the third sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a light transmission pattern that allows the light of the third color to transmit.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 3, wherein the display control circuit comprises a plurality of light emitting modules, each of the plurality of light emitting modules comprises one or more light emitting elements; (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0012], “The first sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a first wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the first color, the second sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a second wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the second color, and the third sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a light transmission pattern that allows the light of the third color to transmit.”)
the plurality of light emitting modules are coupled to the control circuit; the control circuit is configured to output multiple-channel driving signals, each of the multiple-channel driving signals is configured to drive a corresponding light emitting module of the plurality of light emitting modules to emit light. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0060], “Referring to FIG. 1, the display device 1000 includes a display panel 100, a timing controller 200 (e.g., a control circuit), a scan driver 300 (e.g., a driver circuit), a data driver 400 (e.g., a data driver circuit), a current measurer 500 (e.g., a measuring circuit), a temperature sensor 600, and a scale factor provider 700 (e.g., a logic circuit), and a sensing unit 800 (e.g., a sensor circuit).”)
Consider Claim 5:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 3, wherein the display control circuit comprises a plurality of light emitting modules, each of the plurality of light emitting modules comprises one or more light emitting elements; the plurality of light emitting modules are coupled to the control circuit; the control circuit is configured to output single-channel driving signals, the single-channel driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of light emitting modules to emit light. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0061] The display panel 100 include pixels PX. Each of the pixels PX may be connected to corresponding data line among a plurality of lines DL1 to DLm and a corresponding scan line among a plurality of scan lines SL1 to SLn. Here, a pixel PXij (where i and j are natural numbers) may mean a pixel in which a scan transistor is connected to an i-th scan line SLi and a j-th data line DLj, a pixel PXi(j+1) may mean a pixel in which the scan transistor is connected to the i-th scan line SLi and a (j+1)-th data line DL(j+1), and the pixel PX(i+1)j may mean a pixel in which the scan transistor is connected to an (i+1)-th scan line SL(i+1) and the j-th data line DLj.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 1, wherein the light emitting module comprises a plurality of first light emitting elements and a plurality of second light emitting elements; a type of the plurality of first light emitting elements is different from a type of the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is coupled to the plurality of first light emitting elements and the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is further configured to output first driving signals and second driving signals; the first driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of first light emitting elements, and the second driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is further configured to adjust the first driving signals and the second driving signals according to the operating temperature; and each of a current of the first driving signals and a current of the second driving signals is positively correlated with the operating temperature. (Pyun, [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”, Furukawa, [0055], “In the arrangement example shown in FIG. 3, the unit cell 4-1 and the unit cell 4-2 have entirely the same configuration, and are connected at the central both end portions indicated by arrow. Moreover, FIG. 4 shows the example in which the form where the unit cell 4-1 and the unit cell 4-2 are connected is illustrated by diode mark of the electric circuit diagram symbol. In the case of this example, respective light emitting diodes, i.e., light emitting diodes 1 of red, light emitting diodes 2 of green and light emitting diodes 3 of blue are connected in series in the state where they have polarities conforming to a direction where current flows from the left to the right.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 1, further comprising a driving circuit coupled to the light emitting module and the control circuit, wherein the driving circuit is configured to output the driving signals according to control signals outputted by the control circuit. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0060], “Referring to FIG. 1, the display device 1000 includes a display panel 100, a timing controller 200 (e.g., a control circuit), a scan driver 300 (e.g., a driver circuit), a data driver 400 (e.g., a data driver circuit), a current measurer 500 (e.g., a measuring circuit), a temperature sensor 600, and a scale factor provider 700 (e.g., a logic circuit), and a sensing unit 800 (e.g., a sensor circuit).”)
Consider Claim 10:
Pyun discloses a display device comprising a display control circuit, the display control circuit comprising: (Pyun, See Abstract.)
a light emitting module; (Pyun, [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”)
a temperature detection device, configured to detect an operating temperature of the light emitting module; and (Pyun, [0085], “The temperature sensor 600 may sense the ambient temperature of the display panel 100 to the generate temperature data TD. The temperature sensor 600 may provide the temperature data TD to the scale factor provider 700.”)
a control circuit, coupled to the light emitting module and the temperature detection device, and configured to output driving signals; (Pyun, [0146], “According to an embodiment of the present application, the scale factor provider 700 includes a load calculator 710, a maximum grayscale calculator 711, a life data calculator 713, a temperature calculator 720, a target current calculator 730, a current measurer 740, a unit target current generator 741, a scale factor generator 750, and first to fourth memories M1 to M4. In this case, for convenience of description, the first to fourth memories M1 to M4 are shown as separate and independent configurations, but the first to fourth memories M1 to M4 may be one integrated configuration.”)
wherein the driving signals are configured to drive the light emitting module to emit light; (Pyun, [0070-0074], [0072], “The data driver 400 may receive the image data DATA and the second control signal DCS from the timing controller 200, and supply data signals (or data voltages) corresponding to the image data DATA to data lines DL1 to DLm (where m is a natural number) in response to the second control signal DCS. The data signals supplied to the data lines DL1 to DLm may be supplied to the pixels PX selected by the scan signals. To this end, the data driver 400 may supply the data signals to the data lines DL1 to DLm to be synchronized with the scan signal.”)
the control circuit is further configured to adjust the driving signals ..; and (Pyun, [0082], “Accordingly, when the display device 1000 (or the scale factor provider 700) performs a GCM operation without considering the current characteristic of the driving transistor according to the ambient temperature of the display panel 100 and the efficiency of the pixels PX according to the ambient temperature of the display panel 100, an appropriate current may not be supplied to the pixels PX, and thus the pixels PX may emit light with a luminance different from a target luminance.”)
when the operating temperature is greater than a preset temperature, a current of the driving signals is positively correlated with the operating temperature, and (Pyun, [0169-0172], [0175], [0171], “The current amount of the display panel 100 (or the current amount flowing through the first transistor TR1) may increase identically to an increase rate between the first temperature T1 and the second temperature T2 even between 0° C. and the first temperature T1, and after the second temperature T2, the current amount of the display panel 100 (or the current amount flowing through the first transistor TR1) may be maintained as the second current amount I2 of the predetermined size.”)
each of the one or more light emitting elements comprises a blue light chip, a green light chip, or a blue-green light chip. (Pyun, [0139-0141], [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”)
Pyun however does not expressly state that the control circuit adjust[s] driving signals according to the operating temperature to reduce a color coordinate offset of the light emitted by the light emitting module.
Furukawa however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art adjust[s] driving signals according to the operating temperature to reduce a color coordinate offset of the light emitted by the light emitting module. (Furukawa, [0011-0020], [0060-0064], [0093-0095], [0115-0117], [0128], [0081], “The CPU 50 serves to adjust current quantities flowing in the groups of light emitting diodes 30, on the basis of both detection signals of the temperature sensor or sensors 32 and the light quantity or chromaticity sensors 33 (33 R, 33 G, 33 B), so that color tone (color temperature and chromaticity) and luminance of white light emitted from the backlight unit 20 become constant.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the known technique of providing drive signal adjustment based on environmental temperature detection that is positively correlated to the environmental temperature thereby making it possible to eliminate display unevenness by temperature distribution of the display. (Furukawa, [0128])
Consider Claim 11:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein the control circuit comprises a preset temperature-current mapping table, the control circuit is configured to adjust the driving signals based on a preset temperature-current mapping table; and the preset temperature-current mapping table comprises different currents of the driving signals corresponding to different operating temperatures. (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0155-0156], [0144], “FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the scale factor provider shown in FIG. 1, FIG. 5A is an exemplary graph corresponding to a life-luminance function of a block (or pixel), FIG. 5B is an embodiment of a lookup table created based on the life-luminance function of FIG. 5A, FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating blocks included in the display panel of FIG. 1, FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating a reference block set on the display panel of FIG. 6, FIG. 8 is a graph illustrating a current characteristic of pixels for each temperature of the display panel, FIGS. 9A to 9C are graphs illustrating an efficiency characteristic of each of sub pixels according to the temperature of the display panel, FIG. 10 is a graph illustrating a first weight according to the current characteristic of the pixels, and FIGS. 11A to 11C are graphs illustrating a second weight according to the efficiency characteristic of each of the sub pixels for each temperature of the display panel.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein the display control circuit comprises one or more light emitting modules. (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0012], “The first sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a first wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the first color, the second sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a second wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the second color, and the third sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a light transmission pattern that allows the light of the third color to transmit.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the display control circuit comprises a plurality of light emitting modules, each of the plurality of light emitting modules comprises one or more light emitting elements; (Furukawa, [0064], Pyun, [0012], “The first sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a first wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the first color, the second sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a second wavelength conversion pattern that converts the light of the third color into the light of the second color, and the third sub pixel may include a light emitting diode emitting light in the third color, and a light transmission pattern that allows the light of the third color to transmit.”)
the plurality of light emitting modules are coupled to the control circuit; the control circuit is configured to output multiple-channel driving signals, each of the multiple-channel driving signals is configured to drive one of the plurality of light emitting modules to emit light. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0060], “Referring to FIG. 1, the display device 1000 includes a display panel 100, a timing controller 200 (e.g., a control circuit), a scan driver 300 (e.g., a driver circuit), a data driver 400 (e.g., a data driver circuit), a current measurer 500 (e.g., a measuring circuit), a temperature sensor 600, and a scale factor provider 700 (e.g., a logic circuit), and a sensing unit 800 (e.g., a sensor circuit).”)
Consider Claim 14:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the display control circuit comprises a plurality of light emitting modules, each of the plurality of light emitting modules comprises one or more light emitting elements; the plurality of light emitting modules are coupled to the control circuit; the control circuit is configured to output single-channel driving signals, the single-channel driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of light emitting modules to emit light. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0061] The display panel 100 include pixels PX. Each of the pixels PX may be connected to corresponding data line among a plurality of lines DL1 to DLm and a corresponding scan line among a plurality of scan lines SL1 to SLn. Here, a pixel PXij (where i and j are natural numbers) may mean a pixel in which a scan transistor is connected to an i-th scan line SLi and a j-th data line DLj, a pixel PXi(j+1) may mean a pixel in which the scan transistor is connected to the i-th scan line SLi and a (j+1)-th data line DL(j+1), and the pixel PX(i+1)j may mean a pixel in which the scan transistor is connected to an (i+1)-th scan line SL(i+1) and the j-th data line DLj.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein the light emitting module comprises a plurality of first light emitting elements and a plurality of second light emitting elements; a type of the plurality of first light emitting elements is different from a type of the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is coupled to the plurality of first light emitting elements and the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is configured to output first driving signals and second driving signals; the first driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of first light emitting elements, and the second driving signals are configured to drive the plurality of second light emitting elements; the control circuit is further configured to adjust the first driving signals and the second driving signals according to the operating temperature; and each of a current of the first driving signals and a current of the second driving signals is positively correlated with the operating temperature. (Pyun, [0106], “Referring to FIG. 3A, according to an embodiment, a plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in a matrix form. Each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a first sub pixel SPX1 displaying a first color, a second sub pixel SPX2 displaying a second color, and a third sub pixel SPX3 displaying a third color. For example, the first sub pixel SPX1 may be a red pixel that emits red light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second sub pixel SPX2 may be green pixel that emits green light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third sub pixel SPX3 may be a blue pixel that emits blue light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 470 nm, but embodiments of the disclosure are not limited thereto.”, Furukawa, [0055], “In the arrangement example shown in FIG. 3, the unit cell 4-1 and the unit cell 4-2 have entirely the same configuration, and are connected at the central both end portions indicated by arrow. Moreover, FIG. 4 shows the example in which the form where the unit cell 4-1 and the unit cell 4-2 are connected is illustrated by diode mark of the electric circuit diagram symbol. In the case of this example, respective light emitting diodes, i.e., light emitting diodes 1 of red, light emitting diodes 2 of green and light emitting diodes 3 of blue are connected in series in the state where they have polarities conforming to a direction where current flows from the left to the right.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein the display control circuit further comprises a driving circuit; the driving circuit is coupled to the light emitting module and the control circuit, and the driving circuit is configured to output the driving signals according to control signals outputted by the control circuit. (Furukawa, [0048-0051], Pyun, [0060], “Referring to FIG. 1, the display device 1000 includes a display panel 100, a timing controller 200 (e.g., a control circuit), a scan driver 300 (e.g., a driver circuit), a data driver 400 (e.g., a data driver circuit), a current measurer 500 (e.g., a measuring circuit), a temperature sensor 600, and a scale factor provider 700 (e.g., a logic circuit), and a sensing unit 800 (e.g., a sensor circuit).”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0262307 A1 in view Furukawa et al. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0021178 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 10, respectively, above and further in view of Takahara U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0102963 A1 hereinafter Takahara.
Consider Claim 9:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display control circuit of claim 1, however does not specify further comprising a filter circuit coupled to the temperature detection device and the control circuit, wherein the filter circuit is configured to filter detection signals outputted by the temperature detection device and output filtered detection signals to the control circuit.
Takahara however teaches that it was known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a filter on the sensing input and thus teaches further comprising a filter circuit coupled to the temperature detection device and the control circuit, wherein the filter circuit is configured to filter detection signals outputted by the temperature detection device and output filtered detection signals to the control circuit. (Takahara, [0082-0086], [0074], “The filter 81 is a filter circuit that removes noise from the output signal obtained at the output Vout of the switch SW1 coupled to the filter through the multiplexer MP. The amplification circuit 82 amplifies the output signal obtained by noise processing by the filter 81. The A/D conversion circuit 83 converts the analog output signal obtained by amplification performed by the amplification circuit 82 into a digital signal.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a filter on input of the temperature sensing as this was known technique to those of skill in the art as taught by Takahara and recognized by those of skill in the art to be used for the purpose of removing noise from the obtained output signal. (Takahara, [0074])
Consider Claim 18:
Pyun in view of Furukawa disclose the display device of claim 10, however does not specify wherein the display control circuit further comprises a filter circuit; the filter circuit is coupled to the temperature detection device and the control circuit, and the filter circuit is configured to filter detection signals outputted by the temperature detection device and output filtered detection signals to the control circuit.
Takahara however teaches that it was known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a filter on the sensing input and thus teaches wherein the display control circuit further comprises a filter circuit; the filter circuit is coupled to the temperature detection device and the control circuit, and the filter circuit is configured to filter detection signals outputted by the temperature detection device and output filtered detection signals to the control circuit. (Takahara, [0082-0086], [0074], “The filter 81 is a filter circuit that removes noise from the output signal obtained at the output Vout of the switch SW1 coupled to the filter through the multiplexer MP. The amplification circuit 82 amplifies the output signal obtained by noise processing by the filter 81. The A/D conversion circuit 83 converts the analog output signal obtained by amplification performed by the amplification circuit 82 into a digital signal.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a filter on input of the temperature sensing as this was known technique to those of skill in the art as taught by Takahara and recognized by those of skill in the art to be used for the purpose of removing noise from the obtained output signal. (Takahara, [0074])
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626