DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 01/07/2025. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 7-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al (US 12,615,616), hereinafter “Pezeshki“, in view of Eagleman et al (US 2021/0208684), hereinafter “Eagleman“.
Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki teaches a user equipment (UE) (fig. 4) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive a wireless signal (fig. 4, a transceiver 487);
a communication processor configured to generate a value of at least one indicator based on the wireless signal (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach the channel quality indicators (CQIs); and
a neural processor configured to receive the value of the at least one indicator from the communication processor (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach a processor configured to receive the RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RSSI, CQI), and generate a movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the value of the at least one indicator by using a neural network model (col. 18, line 1 to col. 19, line 67),
Pezeshki does not explicitly teach wherein the communication processor is further configured to receive the movement determination value from the neural processor and set an operation mode of the UE based on the movement determination value.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication processor is further configured to receive the movement determination value from the neural processor and set an operation mode of the UE based on the movement determination value (pars [0040] [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claim 1, Pezeshki further teaches wherein the at least one indicator comprises at least one of: a global cell identifier (ID), a physical cell ID, a frequency band, a bandwidth, received signal received power (RSRP) (col. 12, lines 39-55), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), a number of resource blocks, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a modulation order, a block error rate (BLER), transmission power, a Doppler frequency, or a delay spread.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claims 1, 11, Pezeshki does not clearly teach comprising an application processor configured to generate at least one sensing value using at least one sensor, wherein the neural processor is further configured to: receive the at least one sensing value from the application processor, and generate the movement determination value based on the value of the at least one indicator and the at least one sensing value, by using the neural network model.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising an application processor configured to generate at least one sensing value using at least one sensor (pars [0016] [0026], and [0037]), wherein the neural processor is further configured to: receive the at least one sensing value from the application processor (pars [0016] [0026], [0037), and generate the movement determination value based on the value of the at least one indicator and the at least one sensing value (pars [0026] [0156]), by using the neural network model (pars [0026] [0037], and [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claim 3, Pezeshki does not clearly teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of: a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, a linear acceleration sensor, or a geomagnetic sensor.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of: a gyro sensor (par [0037]), an acceleration sensor, a linear acceleration sensor, or a geomagnetic sensor (pars [0016] [0026], and [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of
Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claims 1, 11, Pezeshki does not clearly teach wherein the communication processor is further configured to: when the movement determination value indicates that the UE is moving, set the operation mode of the UE to a first operation mode, and when the movement determination value indicates that the UE does not move, set the operation mode of the UE to a second operation mode.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication processor is further configured to: when the movement determination value indicates that the UE is moving (par [0156]), set the operation mode of the UE to a first operation mode, and when the movement determination value indicates that the UE does not move, set the operation mode of the UE to a second operation mode (pars [0040] [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claims 8, 11, Pezeshki does not clearly teach wherein the communication processor is further configured to: periodically perform a cell search operation, when the operation mode of the UE is the first operation mode, and maintain a preset cell, when the operation mode of the UE is the second operation mode.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication processor is further configured to: periodically perform a cell search operation, when the operation mode of the UE is the first operation mode (pars [0040] [0156]), and maintain a preset cell, when the operation mode of the UE is the second operation mode (pars [0040] [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claims 8, 11, Pezeshki does not clearly teach wherein the communication processor is further configured to: update a beam by periodically performing a beam sweeping operation, when the operation mode of the UE is the first operation mode, and maintain a preset beam, when the operation mode of the UE is the second operation mode.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication processor is further configured to: update a beam by periodically performing a beam sweeping operation, when the operation mode of the UE is the first operation mode, and maintain a preset beam, when the operation mode of the UE is the second operation mode (pars [0040] [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 11, Pezeshki teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive a wireless signal (fig. 4, a transceiver 487); and a communication processor configured to generate a value of at least one indicator based on the wireless signal (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach the channel quality indicators (CQIs),
wherein the communication processor is further configured to (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67):
generate a movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the value of the at least one indicator, by using a neural network model (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach a processor configured to receive the RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RSSI, CQI), and
Pezeshki does not explicitly teach set an operation mode of the UE based on the movement determination value.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches set an operation mode of the UE based on the movement determination value (pars [0040] [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Pezeshki and Eagleman teach the UE of claim 12, Pezeshki does not clearly teach comprising a buffer configured to receive and store the at least one sensing value from the application processor, wherein the communication processor is further configured to receive the at least one sensing value from the buffer.
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a buffer configured to receive and store the at least one sensing value from the application processor, wherein the communication processor is further configured to receive the at least one sensing value from the buffer (par [0106])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 20, Pezeshki teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive a wireless signal (fig. 4, a transceiver 487);
a communication processor configured to generate a value of at least one indicator based on the wireless signal (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach the channel quality indicators (CQIs);
an application processor configured to generate at least one sensing value using at least one sensor (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67 teach a processor configured to receive the RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, RSSI, CQI); and
a neural processor configured to receive the value of the at least one indicator from the communication processor (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67), receive the at least one sensing value from the application processor (fig. 4, col. 11, line 52 to col. 12, line 67), and
Pezeshki does not clearly teach generate a movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the value of the at least one indicator and the at least one sensing value (pars [0040] [0156]).
Eagleman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generate a movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the value of the at least one indicator and the at least one sensing value Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Pezeshki to Eagleman, in order to provide suitable parameters that to determine a set of aggregated parameters such as average frequency, median frequency, minimum frequency, maximum frequency, average energy, median energy, minimum energy, maximum energy to control the power based on the operation mode of the device (as suggested by Eagleman in paragraph [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4-6, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 4, 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the neural processor is further configured to generate a first determination value by determining whether the UE is moving, based on the value of the at least one indicator, by using a first neural network model, generate a second determination value by determining whether the UE is moving, based on the at least one sensing value, by using a second neural network model, and generate the movement determination value based on the first determination value and the second determination value, using a decision circuit as specified in the claims.
As to claims 5, 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the neural processor is further configured to: generate a first determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the value of the at least one indicator, by using a first neural network model, and generate the movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the first determination value and the at least one sensing value, by using a second neural network model as specified in the claims.
As to claims 6, 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the neural processor is further configured to: generate a second determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the at least one sensing value, by using a second neural network model, and generate the movement determination value by determining whether the UE is moving based on the second determination value and the value of the at least one indicator, by using a first neural network model as specified in the claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alawieh et al (US 2025/0056488) teaches the user equipment configured to receive information from a network node of the wireless communication system comprising information on at least one of the following that AI/ML support for the area in which the user equipment is located is provided (pars [0070-0071]).
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641