Detailed Action
Summary
1. This office action is in response to the application filed on January 07, 2025.
2. Claims 1-15 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), which the certified copy has been placed in the record of the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings submitted on 01/07/2025 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sashita “JP2020202644” in a view of Jang “KR 102102924”
In regards to claim 1, Sashita discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1,5 and 9 shows a converter ) comprising: a first converter (10) including a first transformer and a second transformer of which a primary winding (T1-1) is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the first transformer (see Fig. 1, 5 and 9);; and
a second converter ( 20) of which a primary input end (drain or Q3 and source of Q4 is coupled to Vin) is connected in parallel with the first converter (10) , and the first converter (10) is connected in series with a secondary winding included in the second converter (see prag. 0027 to 0029 and Fig.1) but fails to discloses a first converter including a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer.
Whereas, Jang discloses a first converter including a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer (Fig. 3: a resonant converter comprises a transformer unit (130) and the transformer unit (130) includes a plurality of transformers (132) in which primary windings are connected in parallel to each other (see parag 0056 and 0064 and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the converter of Sashita to include a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer as taught by Jang in order to improve the waveform of the resonant current to reduce conduction loss and switching loss, improve efficiency, and simultaneously perform voltage balancing of the included multi-structure transformer. It's about a type converter, see parag.0001.
In regards to 2 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) discloses wherein a secondary winding (T1-2) of the first transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding (T2-2) of one of the third transformer or the fourth transformer, and a secondary winding of the second transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of the other one of the third transformer or the fourth transformer (T1-2 and T2-2 are connected in series).
In regards to 3 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) discloses wherein the first converter (10) further includes: a first switch (Q1) controlled by a first gate signal (gate signal of Q1) , and a second switch (Q2) controlled by a second gate signal (gate signal of Q2) , and the second converter (20) further includes: a third switch (Q3) controlled by the first gate signal (gate signal of Q3.Examiner noted the Q1 and Q3 turn ON and Off on the same signal ), and a fourth switch (Q4) controlled by the second gate signal (gate signal of Q4. Examiner noted the Q2 and Q4 turn ON and Off on the same signal, see prag. 0027-0028).
In regards to claim 12, Sashita discloses a method for manufacturing an electronic device (Figs. 1,5 and 9 shows a converter ), the method comprising: forming a first converter (10) including a first transformer and a second transformer of which a primary winding (T1-1) is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the first transformer (see Fig. 1, 5 and 9); and
forming a second converter (20) of which a primary input end is connected in parallel with the first converter (drain or Q3 and source of Q4 is coupled to Vin), and wherein a secondary winding included in the first converter is connected in series with a secondary winding included in the second converter (see prag. 0027 to 0029 and Fig.1) but fails to discloses a first converter including a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer.
Whereas, Jang discloses a first converter including a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer (Fig. 3: a resonant converter comprises a transformer unit (130) and the transformer unit (130) includes a plurality of transformers (132) in which primary windings are connected in parallel to each other (see parag 0056 and 0064 and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the converter of Sashita to include a first transformer and second transformer having a primary winding connected in parallel to primary winding of the transformer, an as second converter includes a third transformer and a fourth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the third transformer as taught by Jang in order to improve the waveform of the resonant current to reduce conduction loss and switching loss, improve efficiency, and simultaneously perform voltage balancing of the included multi-structure transformer. It's about a type converter, see parag.0001.
In regards to 13 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) of wherein a secondary winding (T1-2) of the first transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of one of the third transformer (T2-2) or the fourth transformer, and a secondary winding of the second transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of the other one of the third transformer or the fourth transformer (T1-2 and T2-2 are connected in series, see Fig. 1).
In regards to 14 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) wherein the forming the first converter (10) further includes: forming a first switch (Q1) controlled by a first gate signal (gate signal of Q1), and forming a second switch (Q2) controlled by a second gate signal (gate signal of Q2), and the forming the second converter (20) further includes: forming a third switch (Q3) controlled by the first gate signal (gate signal of Q3.Examiner noted the Q1 and Q3 turn ON and Off on the same signal, see prag. 0027-0028), ; and forming a fourth switch (Q4) controlled by the second gate signal (gate signal of Q4. Examiner noted the Q2 and Q4 turn ON and Off on the same signal, see prag. 0027-0028).
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sashita “JP2020202644” and Jang “KR 102102924” further in a view of Cheng “10432093”.
In regards to 9 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) wherein the first converter (10) and the second converter (20) but fails to discloses the first and second converter are implemented on a printed circuit board (PCB).
Whereas, Cheng discloses DC-DC converter (Fig. 1) the first and second converter (110 and 120) converter are implemented on a printed circuit board (PCB) (drivers 115, 125, and power transistors 111, 112, 121, 122 are generally provided by a separate IC see col 4, lines 63-67) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the converter of Sashita to include a first and second converter implement in PCB as taught by Cheng in order to minimized space, eliminated loose connections, mass-production capabilities, and built-in electrical protection, this leads to prevent oxidation, short circuit and moisture damage, thus improve reliability of the converter.
8. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sashita “JP2020202644” and Jang “KR 102102924” further in a view of Hitachi LTD“JP6776038”.
In regards to 10 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9) wherein the first converter (10) and the second converter (20) but fail to discloses as module types that are detachable from the electronic device.
Whereas, Hitachi LTD disclose (see parag. 0016-0018, and 0020-0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the converter of Sashita to include as module types that are detachable from the electronic device
as taught by Hitachi LTD because If the circuit fails or shorts, you can swap out the standalone converter module instead of replacing the entire motherboard or attempting delicate soldering, thus easy for maintained maintain and cheaper to replace.
In regards to 11 claim , Sashita as modified (Figs. 1,5 and 9), wherein the first converter (10) and the second converter (20) have a same structure, and have a same capacity (Examiner noted that the prior art shows first and second converter and having the same structure and same capacity based upon a design needs / intended purpose for specific reason or goal for acquiring a desired outcome . Therefore, any skilled person designing the circuit of “Fig. 1” would have to exercise to obtain the first and second converter to have a same structure, and have a same capacity , thereby arriving to the subject matter of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4-8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “based on the second converter not being detected, provide an output voltage from one end of a secondary winding of the first transformer and one end of a secondary winding of the second transformer, and based on the second converter being detected, provide an output voltage from one end of a secondary winding of the third transformer and one end of a secondary winding of the fourth transformer.”
Claim 5 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “ a third converter of which a primary input end is connected in parallel with the first converter and the second converter, and which includes a fifth transformer and a sixth transformer of which a primary winding is connected in parallel with a primary winding of the fifth transformer, wherein a secondary winding of the first transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of the third transformer, a secondary winding of the second transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of the sixth transformer, and a secondary winding of the fourth transformer is connected in series with a secondary winding of the fifth transformer. ”.
Claim 6 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “ a first diode of which an anode is grounded; a second diode of which an anode is grounded; a third diode of which an anode is grounded; a fourth diode of which an anode is grounded; and an output capacitor of which one end is grounded, wherein a secondary winding of the first transformer includes a secondary first winding of the first transformer of which one end is connected to a cathode of the first diode and a secondary second winding of the first transformer of which one end is connected to a cathode of the second diode, a secondary winding of the second transformer includes a secondary first winding of the second transformer of which one end is connected to a cathode of the third diode and a secondary second winding of the second transformer of which one end is connected to a cathode of the fourth diode, a secondary winding of the third transformer includes a secondary first winding of the third transformer of which one end is connected to the other end of the secondary first winding of the first transformer and of which other end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor, and a secondary second winding of the third transformer of which one end is connected to the other end of the secondary second winding of the first transformer and of which other end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor, and a secondary winding of the fourth transformer includes a secondary first winding of the fourth transformer of which one end is connected to the other end of the secondary first winding of the second transformer and of which other end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor, and a secondary second winding of the fourth transformer of which one end is connected to the other end of the secondary second winding of the second transformer and of which other end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor. ”.
Claim 7 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “ a first diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a second diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the first diode, and of which an anode is grounded; a third diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a fourth diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the third diode, and of which an anode is grounded; a fifth diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a sixth diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the fifth diode, and of which an anode is grounded; a seventh diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; and an eighth diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the seventh diode, and of which an anode is grounded, wherein one end of a secondary winding of the first transformer is connected to the anode of the first diode, one end of a secondary winding of the second transformer is connected to the anode of the fifth diode, one end of a secondary winding of the third transformer is connected to the other end of the secondary winding of the first transformer, and the other end is connected to the anode of the third diode, and one end of a secondary winding of the fourth transformer is connected to the other end of the secondary winding of the second transformer, and the other end is connected to the anode of the seventh diode. ”.
Claim 8 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “a first diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a second diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the first diode, and of which an anode is grounded; a first capacitor of which one end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a second capacitor of which one end is connected to the other end of the first capacitor, and of which other end is grounded; a third diode of which a cathode is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; a fourth diode of which a cathode is connected to an anode of the third diode, and of which an anode is grounded; a third capacitor of which one end is connected to the other end of the output capacitor; and a fourth capacitor of which one end is connected to the other end of the third capacitor,3 and of which other end is grounded; wherein one end of a secondary winding of the first transformer is connected to the anode of the first diode, one end of a secondary winding of the second transformer is connected to the anode of the third diode, one end of a secondary winding of the third transformer is connected to the other end of the secondary winding of the first transformer, and the other end is connected to the other end of the first capacitor, and one end of a secondary winding of the fourth transformer is connected to the other end of the secondary winding of the second transformer, and the other end is connected to the other end of the third capacitor. ”
Claim 15 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest electronic device including the limitation of “based on the second converter not being detected, provide an output voltage from one end of a secondary winding of the first transformer and one end of a secondary winding of the second transformer, and based on the second converter being detected, provide an output voltage from one end of a secondary winding of the third transformer and one end of a secondary winding of the fourth transformer.”
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dehem “10804812” the present invention relates generally to an AC-DC converter and, more specifically, to an AC-DC converter incorporating interleaved LLC resonant tank circuits.
Tsurya “20070047273” The present invention relates to a switching power supply apparatus including a step-down DC/DC converter, and more particularly, to a miniaturization technique.
Tohya “5172308” The present invention relates to DC-DC converters, and more particularly to a DC-DC converter for low-voltage high-current applications.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838