DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12284353 in view of US 2012/0177107 A1 (hereinafter Fu).
An example comparison is shown below.
US Patent 12284353
Instant invention
2. A decoding circuit comprising:
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a computer program, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations including:
context arithmetic decoding circuitry that
performs context arithmetic decoding to decode (i) first information indicating whether or not to use, in sample adaptive offset (SAO) processing for a first region of an image, information on SAO processing for a region other than the first region and (ii) second information indicating whether or not to perform the SAO processing for the first region, the context arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a variable probability, the SAO processing being offset processing on a pixel value; and bypass arithmetic decoding circuitry that performs bypass arithmetic decoding to decode other information, the other information being information on the SAO processing for the first region and different from the first information and the second information, the other information being decoded after the first information and the second information are decoded, the bypass arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a fixed probability, wherein the other information includes (i) third information indicating whether the SAO processing for the first region is edge offset processing or band offset processing and (ii) fourth information indicating an absolute value of an offset value, the edge offset processing being performed according to an edge, the band offset processing being performed according to a pixel value, and wherein when the SAO processing for the first region is the band offset processing, the other information includes (i) fifth information indicating whether the offset value is positive or negative and (ii) sixth information indicating a scope of application of the offset value.
performing context arithmetic decoding to decode (i) first information indicating whether or not to use, in sample adaptive offset (SAO) processing for a first region of an image, information on SAO processing for a region other than the first region and (ii) second information indicating whether or not to perform the SAO processing for the first region, the context arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a variable probability, the SAO processing being offset processing on a pixel value; and performing bypass arithmetic decoding to decode other information, the other information being information on the SAO processing for the first region and different from the first information and the second information, the other information being decoded after the first information and the second information are decoded, the bypass arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a fixed probability,wherein the other information includes (i) third information indicating whether the SAO processing for the first region is edge offset processing or band offset processing and (ii) fourth information indicating an absolute value of an offset value, the edge offset processing being performed according to an edge, the band offset processing being performed according to a pixel value, and wherein when the SAO processing for the first region is the band offset processing, the other information includes (i) fifth information indicating whether the offset value is positive or negative and (ii) sixth information indicating a scope of application of the offset value
Fu discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig. 4, e.g., element 122) storing therein a computer program ([0046], e.g., software code), which when executed by a processor ([0046], e.g., processor), causes the processor to perform operations.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of US Patent 12284353 and Fu before him/her to modify ARITHMETIC CODING FOR INFORMATION RELATED TO SAMPLE ADAPTIVE OFFSET PROCESSING of US Patent 12284353 with the teaching of Apparatus And Method Of Sample Adaptive Offset For Video Coding of Fu with a motivation to preserve a program for use by a computer by providing a non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a computer program.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11849116 in view of Fu.
An example comparison is shown below.
US Patent 11849116
Instant invention
2. An image decoding apparatus comprising:control circuitry; and storage accessible from the control circuitry, wherein the control circuitry:
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a computer program, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations including:
performs context arithmetic decoding to decode (i) first information indicating whether or not to use, in sample adaptive offset (SAO) processing for a first region of an image, information on SAO processing for a region other than the first region and (ii) second information indicating whether or not to perform the SAO processing for the first region, the context arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a variable probability, the SAO processing being offset processing on a pixel value; and performs bypass arithmetic decoding to decode other information, the other information being information on the SAO processing for the first region and different from the first information and the second information, the other information being decoded after the first information and the second information are decoded, the bypass arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a fixed probability, wherein the other information includes (i) third information indicating whether the SAO processing for the first region is edge offset processing or band offset processing and (ii) fourth information indicating an absolute value of an offset value, the edge offset processing being performed according to an edge, the band offset processing being performed according to a pixel value, and wherein when the SAO processing for the first region is the band offset processing, the other information includes (i) fifth information indicating whether the offset value is positive or negative and (ii) sixth information indicating a scope of application of the offset value.
performing context arithmetic decoding to decode (i) first information indicating whether or not to use, in sample adaptive offset (SAO) processing for a first region of an image, information on SAO processing for a region other than the first region and (ii) second information indicating whether or not to perform the SAO processing for the first region, the context arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a variable probability, the SAO processing being offset processing on a pixel value; and performing bypass arithmetic decoding to decode other information, the other information being information on the SAO processing for the first region and different from the first information and the second information, the other information being decoded after the first information and the second information are decoded, the bypass arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a fixed probability,wherein the other information includes (i) third information indicating whether the SAO processing for the first region is edge offset processing or band offset processing and (ii) fourth information indicating an absolute value of an offset value, the edge offset processing being performed according to an edge, the band offset processing being performed according to a pixel value, andwherein when the SAO processing for the first region is the band offset processing, the other information includes (i) fifth information indicating whether the offset value is positive or negative and (ii) sixth information indicating a scope of application of the offset value.
Fu discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig. 4, e.g., element 122) storing therein a computer program ([0046], e.g., software code), which when executed by a processor ([0046], e.g., processor), causes the processor to perform operations.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of US Patent 11849116 and Fu before him/her to modify ARITHMETIC CODING FOR INFORMATION RELATED TO SAMPLE ADAPTIVE OFFSET PROCESSING of US Patent 11849116 with the teaching of Apparatus And Method Of Sample Adaptive Offset For Video Coding of Fu with a motivation to preserve a program for use by a computer by providing a non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a computer program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
1. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Raber, US 2005/0206741 A1 (hereinafter Raber).
As for claim 2, Raber discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0051], e.g., CD) storing a bitstream (the medium is utilized merely as a support for the bitstream, thus, the bitstream has no patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05.), the bitstream comprising: first information …
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record, US 2012/0177107 A1 to Fu et al. (hereinafter "Fu") and US 2013/0114686 A1 to Misra et al. (hereinafter "Misra") do not disclose the other information being different from the first information, the other information being coded after the first information and the second information are coded.
Rather, Fu discloses non-transitory computer readable medium storing therein a computer program, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations including: performing context arithmetic decoding to decode (i) first information indicating whether or not to use, in sample adaptive offset (SAO) processing for a first region of an image, information on SAO processing for a region other than the first region and (ii) second information indicating whether or not to perform the SAO processing for the first region, the context arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a variable probability, the SAO processing being offset processing on a pixel value; and performing bypass arithmetic decoding to decode other information, the other information being information on the SAO processing for the first region, the bypass arithmetic decoding being arithmetic decoding using a fixed probability, wherein the other information includes (i) third information indicating whether the SAO processing for the first region is edge offset processing or band offset processing and (ii) fourth information indicating an absolute value of an offset value, the edge offset processing being performed according to an edge, the band offset processing being performed according to a pixel value, and wherein when the SAO processing for the first region is the band offset processing, the other information includes (i) fifth information indicating whether the offset value is positive or negative and (ii) sixth information indicating a scope of application of the offset value.
Similar reasoning applies to claim(s) 2 mutatis mutandis. Accordingly, claims 1-2 are allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 2 are allowable if rejections indicated above are overcome.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485