DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Chang et al. does not disclose a structure corresponding to the flat lower edge or semi-arc edge required by the claimed invention to form a closed boundary. Applicant additionally states that “amended claim 1 explicitly defines the joining surface as a surface with a defined boundary structurally constituting a two-dimensional planar region with a specific area”, “the "semi-arc joining surface" of the present invention is formed by specific closed boundaries”, and “These edges jointly enclose a defined, closed geometric block”. Examiner wishes to point out that no language about a defined boundary, a specific area, specific closed boundaries or a defined, closed geometric block is found in amended claim 1. Amended claim 1 only requires “each of the at least two semi-arc joining surfaces having a semi-arc edge curved toward the upper surface and a flat lower edge connected to the joining line”.
Because there is no mention of any type of closed or defined shape or boundary, the following interpretation of Chang et al. is applied.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Chang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2022/0265058 (Chang et al. hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Chang et al. discloses an air cell (310), comprising:
two cell walls, opposing each other, each cell wall comprising a top edge, a bottom edge, and two side edges (310R and 310L) (Fig.’s 2 and 4),
wherein when the air cell (310) is inflated, an upper surface is formed along the top edges of the two cell walls;
the air cell (310) further comprises a joining line (311, 312) extending along the top edges, which is formed by directly joining the cell walls;
the joining line (311, 312) includes at least two semi-arc joining surfaces (3111) each of the at least two semi-arc joining surfaces (3111) having a semi-arc edge curved toward the upper surface and a flat lower edge connected to the joining line (311, 312). This is true in Fig.’s 15 and 16 when the arcs face in the other direction.
With regard to claim 2, Chang et al. discloses the air cell (310) according to claim 1, further comprising a first air chamber and a second air chamber that are adjacent to each other and separated by the joining line (311, 312), wherein a maximum inflation volume of the first air chamber is less than a maximum inflation volume of the second air chamber;
the first air chamber is a space defined by the upper surface, the joining line (311, 312), and the two side edges (310R and 310L); and
the second air chamber is a space defined by the joining line (311, 312), the bottom edge, and the two side edges (310R and 310L). Fig. 6 and paragraph [0059] anticipate that the arcs in the joining line(s) can be pointed upwards and Fig.’s 15 and 16 and paragraph [0046] show that the joining lines can be uninterrupted and have three arcs (two semi-arc joining surfaces and one central arc). This results in a first air chamber on the top with three arcs pushing into it and a larger chamber on the bottom.
With regard to claim 3, Chang et al. discloses the air cell (310) according to claim 1, wherein the joining line (311, 312) comprises a central arc segment, and the central arc segment comprises a central apex; and
a distance between the central apex and the upper surface is less than a distance between the central apex and the bottom edge. This is true in Fig.’s 15 and 16 when the arcs face in the other direction.
With regard to claim 4, Chang et al. discloses the air cell (310) according to claim 3, wherein the at least two semi-arc joining surfaces (3111) are respectively arranged at two ends of the central arc segment.
With regard to claim 5, Chang et al. discloses the air cell (310) according to claim 3, wherein the joining line (311, 312) further comprises two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) and two transverse flat segments (third connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]);
one end of each of the two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) is connected to two ends of the central arc segment respectively, and a distance between the two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) increases toward the upper surface; and
one end of each of the two transverse flat segments (third connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) is respectively connected to the other ends of the two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]), and the other ends of the two transverse flat segments (third connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) extends toward the two side edges (310R and 310L). Chang et al. discloses in paragraph [0063] that the first connection subsegment is parallel to the height sides and in paragraph [0048] that the upper and lower long sides (L) are of unequal length, creating a trapezoidal shape. Taken in combination, this would result in two longitudinal inclined segments that are so inclined because they are parallel to the height sides such that the space between the two longitudinal inclined segments gradually widens toward the upper surface
With regard to claim 6, insofar as claim 6 is definite, Chang et al. discloses the air cell (310) according to claim 5, wherein the joining line (311, 312) further comprises a plurality of arcuate bending segments, which are respectively located between the two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) and the central arc segment, and between the two longitudinal inclined segments (first connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]) and the two transverse flat segments (third connection subsegment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0063]).
With regard to claim 7, Chang et al. discloses the air cell according to claim 1, wherein each of the two cell walls is trapezoidal, and a length of the top edges is greater than a length of the bottom edge (paragraph [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. in view of USPAP 2004/0107503 (Tu hereinafter).
With regard to claim 8, Chang et al. discloses the air cell according to claim 1.
Chang et al. does not disclose wherein two side ends of the upper surface each comprise a folded corner part, bending from a longitudinal direction of the upper surface and towards the bottom edge and the folded corner parts each comprise a folded corner joining line, which extends in a width direction of the upper surface.
Tu teaches a plurality of air cells (14) substantially similar to that of Chang et al., each air cell having two separate chambers (29, 30) separated by a joining line (37, 38) wherein two side ends of an upper surface each comprise a folded corner part, bending from a longitudinal direction of the upper surface and towards a bottom edge and the folded corner parts each comprise a folded corner joining line (41), which extends in a width direction of the upper surface as a result of the method of making the air cells (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Chang et al. by producing the air cell wherein two side ends of the upper surface each comprise a folded corner part, bending from a longitudinal direction of the upper surface and towards the bottom edge and the folded corner parts each comprise a folded corner joining line, which extends in a width direction of the upper surface as taught by Tu for the purposes of providing a method of making the air cell considering Chang et al. does not provide one.
With regard to claim 9, Chang et al. discloses all of the limitations except for a fluid generator, in fluid communication with the air cells; and a control system, electrically connected to the fluid generator, wherein the control system is configured to control the fluid generator to regulate inflation or deflation of the air cells during use of the air mattress.
Tu teaches a fluid generator (34), in fluid communication with the air cells (14); and a control system (31, 32), electrically connected to the fluid generator (34), wherein the control system is configured to control the fluid generator (34) to regulate inflation or deflation of the air cells (14) during use of the air mattress (paragraphs [0004], [0019], and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Chang et al. by providing a fluid generator, in fluid communication with the air cells; and a control system, electrically connected to the fluid generator, wherein the control system is configured to control the fluid generator to regulate inflation or deflation of the air cells during use of the air mattress as taught by Tu for the purposes of providing a way to inflate and deflate the mattress for the comfort of the user (Abstract of Tu).
With regard to claim 10, the Chang et al. modification with regard to claim 10 discloses the air mattress according to claim 9, wherein the air cells comprise at least one first air cell and at least one second air cell; two ends of the joining line of each first air cell are respectively connected to the two side edges of the two cell walls; and two ends of the joining line of each second air cell are respectively at a specific distance from the two side edges of the two cell walls. Paragraph [0046] of Chang et al. discloses that the air compartments can be in fluid communication or not which anticipates both a joining line connected to the two side edges of the two cell walls and a joining line at a specific distance from the two side edges of the two cell walls.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R EASTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673