DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “Disclosed are/is,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: the unit of pressure (kP) is unknown, should be changed to –kPa--. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/887,258 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps and the dependent claims of the reference application recite the missing limitation(s) of the independent claim, e.g., the impregnation with alkaline peroxide (see claim 7 for example), the cleaning (see claim 8) etc., and the addition of the alkaline peroxide in several stages is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and known1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/988,999 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps and the dependent claims of the reference application recite the missing limitation(s) of the independent claim, e.g., the impregnation with alkaline peroxide (see claim 5 for example), the cleaning (see claim 12) etc., and the addition of the alkaline peroxide in several stages is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and known2. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps. Note that the process steps of the current application are broader than that of the reference application and thus the claims of the reference application could be used to reject the claims of the current application. Note also that the dependent claims of reference application are the same or at the very least in eth scope than eth dependent claims of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklund et al., (hereafter Eklund), US Patent 3,620,911 in view of Hurter et al., (hereafter Hurter), US patent No. 6,302,997 and further in view of Xu, WO 2005/042830 Al (all of them cited in the IDS filed on January 16, 2025).
With regard to claims 1, 3-4 and 8, Eklund teaches a method of making a non-woody pulp including the steps of, (see column 1, lines 60-75 and column 4, lines 4-9 for the optional bleaching ):
a) providing a non-wood material;
b) cutting the non-wood material; (the material is pre-cut before being employed in the process. The material is manually cut; see example 1 on column 4, lines 40-42);
c) compressing and macerating the cut material; (the shredding of the wet non-woody material);
d) impregnation of the bagasse with a caustic solution; (the dewatering and impregnation with an alkali metal hydroxide);
e) Cooking the impregnated bagasse to extract the fibers;
f) Optionally Bleaching the fiber/pulp.
The primary reference fails to explicitly teach the use of Asparagaceae family of the non-woody plants, but teaches that other non-wood can be used; see column 2, lines 1-5. However, Hurter teaches that pulps can be made using sugar cane (bagasse) and other non-wood plants including Hesperaloe; see table on column 1, lines 25 through 33 and column 5, lines 31-36. Therefore, using Hesperaloe in the process taught by Eklund would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if such non-wood plan were used to make papermaking pulps as suggested by Hurter. The other difference is the mechanical pulping step of the impregnated bagasse, since Eklund uses a chemical process. However, the use of mechanical processing steps instead of a chemical cooking to obtain the pulp is considered an obvious design choice, since such processes are known in the art as evidenced by Hurter; column 3, lines 39-52 and Xu that teaches a chemical-mechanical pulping with a refiner flown line treatment as the ones claimed; see abstract and the Summary of the invention expanding from page 2 through page 3. Xu also teaches the multiple addition of alkaline peroxide, which includes sodium hydroxide, hydrogen peroxide and a stabilizer, such as a silicate, DTPA, EDTA, NTA, etc.; see abstract, figure 1, paragraphs 1-3 of the “Detailed Description of the Invention” on page 6 and paragraph bridging pages 12 and 13, which teaches chelating agents and silicates as stabilizers.
Regarding to claim 2, Xu teaches the addition of alkaline peroxide at multiple stages, see above, and teaches different compositions, e.g., different amounts of the compounds that comprises the alkaline peroxide, in each stage; see claims 11 and 12. However, optimizing the amounts/concentration of the different materials/compounds in a composition is within the level of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results.
With regard to claim 5, Xu teaches the use of screw presses; see for example page 9, second full paragraph, and teaches compression ratio of 4:1 that falls within the claimed ratio; see 2nd full paragraph on page 14 “Chemical Impregnation” section.
With regard to claims 6-7, Xu teaches temperature and pressure within the claimed range, i.e., at least 80 ºC; see page 7, end of the first full paragraph and teaches the use of a refiner operating at pressure falling within the claimed range, since Xu teaches that the refiner operates at pressure higher that 45 psi (310 kPa) at the high pressure refiner and lower than 45 psi (310 kPa) at the low pressure refiner; see page 8, lines 1-9.
Regarding to claim 9, Xu teaches 45 minutes or more of impregnation time before the start of the refining; see 2nd and 3rd full paragraphs on page 14, which teaches 30 minutes in the chemical impregnation and 15 minutes or more of impregnation in the refining. Therefore, increasing the impregnation dwell time is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 10, the washing, thickening and bleaching are common operations in pulping, as disclosed by Hurter on column 2, lines 13-37, column 9, line 45 through column 10, line 44. Therefore, washing/thickening after bleaching and adding another alkaline peroxide to the bleached pulp would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since it is well-known in the art and also suggested by Xu; see the background of the invention on page 1, which teaches that “When compared to a peroxide post-bleaching process, applying alkaline peroxide before refining has a tendency to give a higher bulk at a given tensile strength for some hardwood species, such as North American aspen.” This statement evidences that it is well-known to apply peroxide to a bleached pulp, i.e., post treated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Method of Making Non-Wood Pulp a Dispersible Non-Wood Pulp.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 See for example Xu, WO 2005/042830 Al, shown below.
2 See for example Xu, WO 2005/042830 Al, shown below.