DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/24/26 . Examiner acknowledged that claims 1-2, 6-10 and 14-15 are amended; claims 16-17 are new. Currently, claims 1-17 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14-15, applicant argues (see p.8 or the Remarks) that Casey does not teach/suggest “while the physical space is lighted in the first manner [based on detection of a presence of a user], detecting a change in user activity in the physical space; and in response to detecting the change in user activity in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a second manner.” This argument is not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees because Casey in [0093] teaches “the visible light sensor 180 may determine that user 192 is occupying the room 102 and that the user 192 is typing or writing on a task area (e.g., desk 106). The visible light sensor 180 may adjust the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 to provide a desired amount of lighting to the desk 106 according to the identified activity. For example, the visible light sensor 180 may be configured to provide more lighting to the desk 106 when the user 192 is writing or typing at the desk 106 than when the user 192 is not occupying the room 102 or when the user 192 is performing another activity at the desk 106.” Thus, Casey teaches detecting a change in user activity and in response to the detecting adjust the lighting. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1 and 14-15 in view of Casey is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey (US 2018/0167547).
Regarding Claim 1, Casey teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system (Fig. 1: 110, [0218] “a control circuit 310, for example, a microprocessor) that is in communication ([0060] “system controller 110, which may be configured to determine the location of the mobile device 190 using the unique identifier (e.g., using data stored in memory or retrieved via the Internet). An example of a load control system for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to the position of a mobile device and/or occupant inside of a building”) with a light source (Fig. 1: 174, 172, 178, 176; Fig. 4B: 402 communicating with 406): detecting a presence of a user in the physical space; in response to detecting the presence of the user in the physical space, lighting via the light source, the physical space in a first manner ([0093] “light sensor 180 may be configured to adjust (e.g., via control instructions) one or more light sources (e.g., lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) during the occupancy”); while detecting the user in the physical space and while the physical space is lighted in the first manner, detecting a change in user activity in the physical space; and in response to detecting the change in user activity in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a second manner ([0093] “determine that user 192 is occupying the room 102 and that the user 192 is typing or writing on a task area (e.g., desk 106). The visible light sensor 180 may adjust the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 to provide a desired amount of lighting to the desk 106 according to the identified activity”) while the user continues to be detected in the physical space wherein the second manner is different from the first manner ([0093] “the visible light sensor 180 may be configured to provide more lighting to the desk 106 when the user 192 is writing or typing at the desk 106 than when the user 192 is not occupying the room 102 or when the user 192 is performing another activity at the desk 106”).
Regarding Claim 2, Casey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change in user activity in the physical space includes detecting a change in sleep state of the user ([0090] “visible light sensor 180 may maintain the occupancy condition even if the movement of the occupant comprises fine movements (e.g., if the occupant is sitting still or reading in the chair 226) or no movements (e.g., if the occupant is sleeping in a bed)”).
Regarding Claim 3, Casey teaches he method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change in tuser activity in the physical space includes detecting that a first number of users detected in the physical space has changed from a first number to a second number different from the first number ([0091] “the visible light sensor 180 may be configured count the number of occupants entering and exiting a bounded area.).
Regarding Claim 4, Casey teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the second number is greater than the first number ([0108] “system controller 110 may be configured to control one or more of the load control devices of the load control system 100 in response to the number of occupants in the space exceeding an occupancy number threshold.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Casey teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the second number is less than the first number ([0092] “system controller 110 may be configured to turn the lighting loads (e.g., lighting loads in lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 and/or the lighting load in the floor lamp 142) on and off in response to receiving an occupied command and a vacant command).
Regarding Claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein lighting the physical space in the second manner while the user continues to be detected in the physical space includes changing an extent of lighting within the physical space ([0136] “if the user 192 is exhibiting a sleep condition (e.g., lack of movement for a predetermined amount of time and/or eyes closed for a predetermined amount of time), the visible light sensor 180 may identify that the user 192 is in a sleep condition and the visible light sensor 180 may transmit a digital message (e.g., including control instructions) to the lighting control devices to reduce the dimming level or turn off the lights”).
Regarding Claim 13, Casey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the light source is a single light emitting device ([0047] “lighting load (e.g., a light-emitting diode (LED) light source)).
Regarding Claim 14, Casey teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 3: 312) storing one or more programs ([0218] “312 for storage of control parameters of the visible light sensor 300) configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system (Fig. 1: 110, [0218] “a control circuit 310, for example, a microprocessor) that is in communication ([0060] “system controller 110, which may be configured to determine the location of the mobile device 190 using the unique identifier (e.g., using data stored in memory or retrieved via the Internet). An example of a load control system for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to the position of a mobile device and/or occupant inside of a building”) with a light source (Fig. 1: 174, 172, 178, 176; Fig. 4B: 402 communicating with 406), the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting a presence of a user (Fig. 1; 192) in a physical space (Fig. 1: 100); in response to detecting the presence of the user in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a first manner ([0093] “light sensor 180 may be configured to adjust (e.g., via control instructions) one or more light sources (e.g., lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) during the occupancy”); while detecting the user in the physical space and while the physical space is lighted in the first manner, detecting a change in user activity in the physical space; and in response to detecting the change in user activity in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a second manner ([0093] “determine that user 192 is occupying the room 102 and that the user 192 is typing or writing on a task area (e.g., desk 106). The visible light sensor 180 may adjust the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 to provide a desired amount of lighting to the desk 106 according to the identified activity”) while the user continues to be detected in the physical space, wherein the second manner is different from the first manner ([0093] “the visible light sensor 180 may be configured to provide more lighting to the desk 106 when the user 192 is writing or typing at the desk 106 than when the user 192 is not occupying the room 102 or when the user 192 is performing another activity at the desk 106”).
Regarding Claim 15, Casey teaches a computer system (Fig. 1: 110, [0218] “a control circuit 310, for example, a microprocessor) that is in communication ([0060] “system controller 110, which may be configured to determine the location of the mobile device 190 using the unique identifier (e.g., using data stored in memory or retrieved via the Internet). An example of a load control system for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to the position of a mobile device and/or occupant inside of a building”) with a light source (Fig. 1: 174, 172, 178, 176; Fig. 4B: 402 communicating with 406), comprising: one or more processors ([0218] “a control circuit 310, for example, a microprocessor); and memory (Fig. 3: 312) storing one or more programs ([0218] “312 for storage of control parameters of the visible light sensor 300) configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: detecting a presence of a user (Fig. 1; 192) in a physical space (Fig. 1: 100); in response to detecting the presence of the user in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a first manner ([0093] “light sensor 180 may be configured to adjust (e.g., via control instructions) one or more light sources (e.g., lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) during the occupancy”); while detecting the user in the physical space and while the physical space is lighted in the first manner, detecting a change in user activity in the physical space; and in response to detecting the change in user activity in the physical space, lighting, via the light source, the physical space in a second manner ([0093] “determine that user 192 is occupying the room 102 and that the user 192 is typing or writing on a task area (e.g., desk 106). The visible light sensor 180 may adjust the lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178 to provide a desired amount of lighting to the desk 106 according to the identified activity”) while the user continues to be detected in the physical space, wherein the second manner is different from the first manner ([0093] “the visible light sensor 180 may be configured to provide more lighting to the desk 106 when the user 192 is writing or typing at the desk 106 than when the user 192 is not occupying the room 102 or when the user 192 is performing another activity at the desk 106”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casey.
Regarding Claim 6, Casey teaches the method of claim 1except wherein detecting the change in user activity in the physical space includes detecting that a plurality of users detected in the physical space are performing an activity. However, [0128] teaches “visible light sensor 180 may increase the light intensities provided by the lighting fixtures in response to a user moving in the direction of one of the regions of interest defined in the zone”; [0135] “the visible light sensor 180 may identify movement of a patient from a bed to a bathroom and may configure the lighting fixtures along the path in the same zone for lighting control”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order for lighting to be available for the bed room as well as the bathroom because both places are being occupied by control lighting in different area since occupancy has been detected in the different locations.
Regarding Claim 7, The method of claim 1 except wherein lighting the physical space in the second manner while the user continues to be detected in the physical space includes turning on or turning off at least a portion of lighting of the physical space. However, [0150] “Baseline intervals (e.g., 10%, 20%, 30%, etc., intensities) of artificial light within the room 102 may be provided using one or more combinations of on states of lighting loads within room 102…when the covering material 152 of the motorized window treatments 150 are in a closed state and/or an open state”; [0147] “the visible lighting sensor 180 and/or the system controller 110 may change the dimming level of the lighting fixtures 174, 178 by 25% when the portion of the room 102 that includes the sunlight 196 is determined to be 25% brighter”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order to turn On/Off a portion of lighting since the lighting system is able to adjust the artificial lighting according to the amount of daylight determined in the room.
Regarding Claim 9, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 except wherein detecting the change in user activity in the physical space includes detecting that the user is within a predetermined distance of a location within the physical space. However, [0128] teaches “visible light sensor 180 may increase the light intensities provided by the lighting fixtures in response to a user moving in the direction of one of the regions of interest defined in the zone”; [0135] “the visible light sensor 180 may identify movement of a patient from a bed to a bathroom and may configure the lighting fixtures along the path in the same zone for lighting control”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order for lighting to be available for the bed room as well as the bathroom when both places are being occupied by control lighting in different area since occupancy has been detected in the different locations.
Regarding Claim 10, Casey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein lighting the physical space in the second manner while the user continues to be detected in the physical space includes changing a region of the physical space that is illuminated from a first region of the physical space to a second region of the physical space different from the first region of the physical space. However, [0128] teaches “visible light sensor 180 may increase the light intensities provided by the lighting fixtures in response to a user moving in the direction of one of the regions of interest defined in the zone”; [0135] “the visible light sensor 180 may identify movement of a patient from a bed to a bathroom and may configure the lighting fixtures along the path in the same zone for lighting control”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order for lighting to be available for the bed room as well as the bathroom by control lighting in different area since occupancy has been detected in the different locations.
Regarding Claim 11, The method of claim 10 except wherein the first region and the second region are illuminated by the same light source. However, Fig. 2E shows region of a desk 262 and another region of interest 272 being illuminated by the light source directly above it as shown in 174. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order illuminated the different regions for adjusting the color temperature of the room [0100].
Regarding Claim 12, Casey teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first region is illuminated via a first light source, and wherein the second region is illuminated via a second light source different from the first light source. However, [0128] teaches “visible light sensor 180 may increase the light intensities provided by the lighting fixtures in response to a user moving in the direction of one of the regions of interest defined in the zone”; [0135] “the visible light sensor 180 may identify movement of a patient from a bed to a bathroom and may configure the lighting fixtures along the path in the same zone for lighting control”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Casey in order for lighting to be available for the bed room as well as the bathroom because both places are being occupied by control lighting in different area since occupancy has been detected in the different locations.
Regarding Claim 16, Casey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the presence of the user is detected via a first sensor ([0004] “occupancy sensors”; Fig. 1 shows sensor 180 from ceiling for detecting occupancy); the change in user activity is detected via a second sensor ([0202] “light sensor 180 may be configured to record an image of the room 102, which may capture one or more objects and/or activities within the room; Fig. 1 shows second sensor 180 along the wall for additional sensing); and the second sensor is separate from the first sensor.
Regarding Claim 17, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 wherein: detecting the change in the user activity in the physical space ([0093] “light sensor 180 may be configured to adjust (e.g., via control instructions) one or more light sources (e.g., lighting fixtures 172, 174, 176, 178) during the occupancy”) includes detecting that the user is performing an activity; lighting the physical space in the second manner includes: in accordance with a determination that the activity has a first property, lighting the physical space based on the first property; and in accordance with a determination that the activity has a second property, lighting the physical space based on the second property; lighting the physical space based on the second property is different from lighting the physical space based on the first property; and the second property is different from the first property ([0093] “the visible light sensor 180 may be configured to provide more lighting to the desk 106 when the user 192 is writing or typing at the desk 106 than when the user 192 is not occupying the room 102 or when the user 192 is performing another activity at the desk 106”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Henry Luong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845