Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Status of the Claims
This is a Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendment of 05 June 2026. Claims 1-9 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Amendment and/or Argument
Applicant’s amendment and/arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 (similarly claim 5), the newly recited limitation “a security unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the security unit including a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor, the security unit detecting intruders and abnormality with the camera, the infrared camera, the ranging sensor, the optical sensor, the thermal sensor, and the smoke sensor” is indefinite. The recited limitation “a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor” is unclear and ambiguous as to whether the recited sensor limitations require separate and distinct sensor structures or whether a single sensor may satisfy multiple recited limitation (for example, an infrared camera is a type of camera, a camera may constitute an optical sensor, and certain infrared cameras may function as thermal sensors). Neither the claim language nor the specification provides objective boundaries for distinguishing the recited sensor limitations or determining whether overlapping sensor technologies satisfy one or more of the recited limitations. Further, it is unclear whether the claim requires that each of the recited sensors individually participate in detecting both intruders and abnormalities, whether all of the recited sensors must be used collectively for each detection event, or whether different sensors may be used for different types of detections, for example, a smoke sensor is understood as detecting smoke/fire rather than detecting intruder, however, the claim recites detecting intruders and abnormalities with the smoke sensor without clarifying its required role. The specification does not provide any guidance because it merely restates the claim language without explaining how the recited sensors cooperate to perform the claimed detection functionality. Accordingly, this claim limitation renders the claim to be indefinite.
The dependent claims that dependent upon independent claims are also rejected under 112 second paragraph by the fact that they are dependent upon the rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy et al. (US 2019/0248007 A1 hereinafter Duffy) in view of Deyle et al. (US 2017/0225336 A1) and Sohn (US 2021/0365046 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (similarly claim 5) , A management system (see at least Abstract Fig. 11-14) comprising:
an autonomous mobile robot; (see at least Abstract Fig. 1A1 5A, 11-14 [0253-0280]: The master robotic device can autonomously connect to a slave or minion device configured to carry out the desired task. FIGS. 13 and 14 are exemplary illustrations of a main robot 102 and a plurality of modular attachments operable by the main robot 102)
a transport unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the transport unit including a wagon or a cart with wheels; (see at least Fig. 11-14 [0253-0280]: As shown in FIG. 14, a ground module may be attached to the drive unit for mowing, yard vacuuming, blowing, hard surface scrubbing, and/or sweeping. Other modules may include modules for edging of lawns, hedge trimming, debris pick-up and the like. A rolling accessory trailer module may comprise a utility cart.)
a cleaning unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the cleaning unit including at least one of a brush, a pad for wiping the floor, and a mop; (see at least Fig. 11-14 [0253-0280]: As shown in FIG. 13, a floor cleaning module may be attached to the drive unit for vacuuming, scrubbing, mopping, clean-up and/or grout scrubbing. A detail cleaning module is a module that for example cleans the corner and baseboards by vacuuming or wiping with microfiber cloth. It may also comprise a tethered vacuum for cleaning in tight spots or under or around furniture. Also, as shown in FIG. 14, a ground module may be attached to the drive unit for mowing, yard vacuuming, blowing, hard surface scrubbing, and/or sweeping.)
a security unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, (see at least Fig. 11-15, 33 [0253-0280]: Fig. 13 shows modular accessories and task generally related to security. Examiner notes that Duffy discloses a security module attached to the autonomous mobile robot but does not disclose the specific hardware/components of the security module, therefore, prior art Deyle is introduced for teaching necessary hardware components for a security module used with an autonomous mobile robot.)
a first processor (see at least Fig. 11) configured to:
acquire respective unit information on the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit to be used in combination with the autonomous mobile robot; (see at least Fig. 9, 11-44B [0209-0214, 0245-0280]: A main robot comprises a connection interface to connect to a plurality of different modular attachments to accomplish a plurality of corresponding sets of tasks. The set of task may include one or more tasks such as mopping a floor, picking up items off a floor, taking images or video, assisting humans, and/or any task to be accomplished by a main robot using a modular attachment. Main robot may effectuate the control of the first modular attachment by sending power out, electrical data signal, and/or mechanical output to the first modular attachment via the connection interface. The robotic device comprises a base unit comprising a drive unit and a control module wherein the base unit is configured to operationally connect to a plurality of accessories such as backpack accessories, trailer accessories and ground accessories to perform multiple yard maintenance tasks as shown in various figures 13-44b.)
acquire a set of control parameters for each of the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit based on the unit information corresponding to each of the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit; (see at least Fig. 9, 11 [0209-0214, 0245-0280]: The slave robot module or unit can be connected to the master robot such that the master robot can perform a different function or has a change in characteristics based on the type of slave robot that has been connected or attached to the master robot. For example, as discussed above, if a detail cleaning slave robot is attached to the master robot drive unit, then the master robot would be reconfigured to perform the functions of corner and baseboard cleaning, wiping, etc. Whereas, if the master robot device unit is connected to a floor cleaning slave unit module then the master robot device unit may be reconfigured to perform other functions such as vacuuming, clean-up, mopping etc. In another example, as discussed herein, if a mowing slave robot is attached to the master robot drive unit, then the master robot would be reconfigured to perform the functions of mowing. Whereas, if the master robot device unit is connected to a sweeping slave unit module then the master robot device unit may be reconfigured to perform other functions such as sweeping, etc. The resultant functions that the master robot device unit performs depend on the type of slave robot device units that are affixed, attached or connected to it. The master unit may be connected to more than one accessory module, so the master robot is configured to operate all slave units attached or connected to it and perform the functions associated with the slave units.) and
control operation of the autonomous mobile robot according to the control parameters. (see at least Fig. 9, 11 [0209-0214, 0245-0280]: The resultant functions that the master robot device unit performs depend on the type of slave robot device units that are affixed, attached or connected to it. The master unit may be connected to more than one accessory module, so the master robot is configured to operate all slave units attached or connected to it and perform the functions associated with the slave units.)
It may be alleged that Duffy does not explicitly teach the security unit including a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor, the security unit detecting intruders and abnormalities with the camera, the infrared camera, the ranging sensor, the optical sensor, the thermal sensor, and the smoke sensor;
a guide unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the guide unit including an input device for a visitor to input a destination, the input device including a touch panel and buttons, a microphone for voice input, a display device for displaying a route, and a speaker for outputting a voice of the route; and
Deyle is directed to mobile robots configured for operations in commercial and industrial settings, Deyle teaches a security unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the security unit including a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor, the security unit detecting intruders and abnormalities with the camera, the infrared camera, the ranging sensor, the optical sensor, the thermal sensor, and the smoke sensor; (see at least Fig. 6A-10 [0040, 0061-0205]: The robot includes a plurality of sensors such as one or more cameras, motion sensors, laser sensors, scanners for detecting objects/obstacles/paths/individuals (e.g., laser scanners, rangefinders, radar, sonar, ultrasonic sensors, motion detections, 3D depth sensor, thermal scanners, infrared/ultraviolet scanners, and the like). The robot may also detect when an individual is smoking (for instance, either visually, by detecting the smoke in the air), and can inform the individual that smoking is prohibited. The robot can also include one or more of: a spotlight or other lighting systems for illuminating a room/area, strobe lights or other flashing lights to ward off intruders or otherwise deter particular behavior of individuals.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duffy’s multi-tasking modular robot system to ensure its security accessory attachment is equipped with a camera, an infrared camera, a ranging sensor, an optical sensor, a thermal sensor, and a smoke sensor for detecting intruders and abnormalities as taught by Deyle with reasonable expectation of success and doing so would increase detection accuracy and efficiency while reducing false alarms.
It may be alleged that the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle does not explicitly teach a guide unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the guide unit including an input device for a visitor to input a destination, the input device including a touch panel and buttons, a microphone for voice input, a display device for displaying a route, and a speaker for outputting a voice of the route;
Sohn is directed to robot control system and method, Sohn teaches a guide unit configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the guide unit including an input device for a visitor to input a destination, the input device including a touch panel and buttons, a microphone for voice input, a display device for displaying a route, and a speaker for outputting a voice of the route; (see at least Fig. 1, 6A-6D [0139, 0166-0193]: A modular design can be applied to each of the delivery robots 100c and can provide services optimized depending on the user environment and purposes wherein the basic platform 100c can include a traveling module 160c, which is in charge of traveling and includes a wheel and a motor, and a UI module 180c which is in charge of interacting with a user and includes a display, a microphone and a speaker. The delivery robots can also provide a guidance service of guiding a user to a specific place. The guide robot can receive user input, such as touch input or speech input, can display information on an object or place corresponding to the user input on a screen of the display.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Duffy and Deyle to provide a guiding accessory modular configured to be attached to the autonomous mobile robot, the guide unit including an input device for a visitor to input a destination, the input device including a touch panel and buttons, a microphone for voice input, a display device for displaying a route, and a speaker for outputting a voice of the route as taught by Sohn with reasonable expectation of success by enabling the robot to assist users with wayfinding while remaining adaptable to different applications and can help shift from a labor-intensive service into an autonomous operation, reducing recurring costs and staff workload while improving availability and scalability.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 1,
Duffy further teaches wherein the first processor is configured to acquire identification information of an accessory unit selected via an interface from among the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit, and acquire the control parameters based on the identification information. (see at least Fig. 4a-12 [0148-0263]: The connection controller unit 304 receiving an input signal, from controller 118 of main robot 102 , to find and connect to a desired modular attachment. The input signal may be determined by a user, by giving input to user interface units 112 , desiring main robot 102 to perform a task with a specialized modular attachment. Additionally, the input signal may be received by a main robot 102 , operating autonomously, desiring to find and use a modular attachment to perform a specialized task. The input signal may comprise an identification number of the desired modular attachment such that proximity detection unit 302 may determine the desired modular attachment from a plurality of other modular attachments available to main robot 102.)
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 1,
Duffy further teaches wherein the first processor is configured to detect an accessory unit, among the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit, that is combined with the autonomous mobile robot, and acquire the control parameters based on the unit information on the detected accessory unit. (see at least Fig. 9, 11 [0209-0214, 0245-0280]: The resultant functions that the master robot device unit performs depend on the type of slave robot device units that are affixed, attached or connected to it. The master unit may be connected to more than one accessory module, so the master robot is configured to operate all slave units attached or connected to it and perform the functions associated with the slave units.)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 1,
Duffy further teaches wherein the control parameters are adjustable by a user. (see at least [0248,0338]: the robot may be programmed to mow zones at timing that may also depend on weather, time of season and the like to adjust mowing intervals according to the amount of grass that may grow based on those factors. The user may also override the schedule programmed into the robot, for instance, when the user wishes to use a zone that is scheduled for mowing. The human user can cancel the task indication, alter the indication to carry out a different task, provide the needed slave or minion device, such as by connecting the slave device to the master device, or enable the slave or minion device to conduct the task, etc.)
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 1, further comprising
Duffy further teaches a user terminal, (see at least Fig. 1A, 11 [0120-0132, 0267]: User interface units 112 may be configured to enable a user to interact with robot 102. User interface units 112 may be positioned away from the body of robot 102 but may be communicatively coupled to robot 102 (e.g., via communication units including transmitters, receivers, and/or transceivers) directly or indirectly (e.g., through a network, server, and/or a cloud).) wherein
the autonomous mobile robot includes a communication interface configured to communicate with the first processor; (see at least Fig. 1A, 11) and the first processor (see at least Fig. 1A, 11) is further configured to:
receive a service request from the user terminal; (see at least Fig. 4A-5B, 10-11 [0154-0250]: Block 402 connection controller unit 304 receiving an input signal, from controller 118 of main robot 102 , to find and connect to a desired modular attachment. The input signal may be determined by a user, by giving input to user interface units 112 , desiring main robot 102 to perform a task with a specialized modular attachment. ) and
in response to receiving the service request, transmit a signal to the communication interface, the signal being a signal to cause the autonomous mobile robot to execute a service specified in the service request, or being a signal to cause the autonomous mobile robot to select a service unit corresponding to the service request among the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit. (see at least Fig. 4A-5B, 10-11 [0154-0250]: Block 402 connection controller unit 304 receiving an input signal, from controller 118 of main robot 102 , to find and connect to a desired modular attachment. The input signal may be determined by a user, by giving input to user interface units 112 , desiring main robot 102 to perform a task with a specialized modular attachment. Block 404 illustrates connection controller unit 304 , upon receiving the input signal to find and connect the main robot 102 to the desired modular attachment, sending an activation signal to proximity detection unit 302. Block 406 illustrates connection controller unit 304 telling controller 118 of main robot 102 to navigate main robot 102 to find the desired modular attachment from a plurality of modular attachments.)
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 6, wherein
Duffy further teaches the autonomous mobile robot includes a second processor, drive wheels, a drive unit including a motor configured to drive the drive wheels, a storage unit storing a floor map, the set of control parameters, and the unit information for each of the transport unit, the cleaning unit, the security unit, and the guide unit; (see at least Fig. 1A-3 [0111-0218, 0266]: Memory 120 may provide instructions and data to controller 118 . Navigation units 106 may include systems and methods that may computationally construct and update a map of an environment and/or routes as the robot 102 navigates the environment. Mapping and localization units can record a demonstrated route in a map. Actuator units 108 can allow robot 102 to move and/or navigate through an environment where it is to perform tasks, and/or any other environment. Communication channel 216 may be further configured to receive input signals from the modular attachment, these signals may comprise sensor data, feedback, state parameters, and/or any additional data the modular attachment may communicate with the master robot 102 . These input signals are received by data connections 212 and are sent to an input processing unit 210 . Input Processing unit 212 may comprise a decoder and, according to some exemplary embodiments, a demultiplexer, both configured to process the input analog or digital signal into computer readable data useful for controller 118 to operate the modular attachment. ) and
the second processor is configured to drive the drive unit based on the floor map, the control parameters for the selected service unit, and the unit information for the selected service unit. (see at least Fig. 9, 11, 0166 [0209-0214, 0245-0280]: The resultant functions that the master robot device unit performs depend on the type of slave robot device units that are affixed, attached or connected to it. The master unit may be connected to more than one accessory module, so the master robot is configured to operate all slave units attached or connected to it and perform the functions associated with the slave units.)
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duffy in view of Deyle, Sohn (US 2021/0365046 A1) and Tsutsui (US 2025/0010478 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn teaches The management system according to claim 7, wherein:
It may be alleged the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn does not explicitly teach the second processor is further configured to, according to the unit information for the autonomous mobile robot, change at least one of a virtual bumper distance, a speed, a suspension hardness, a turning radius, an allowable inclination angle, a travelable environment designation, a battery consumption mode, and a wireless sensitivity of the autonomous mobile robot; and
the virtual bumper distance is a margin distance for avoiding contact with a surrounding object.
Tsutsui is directed to system and method of controlling self-propelled robot, Tsutsui teaches the second processor is further configured to, according to the unit information for the autonomous mobile robot, change at least one of a virtual bumper distance, a speed, a suspension hardness, a turning radius, an allowable inclination angle, a travelable environment designation, a battery consumption mode, and a wireless sensitivity of the autonomous mobile robot; (see at least Fig. 1-6 [0030-0137]: The balance of mobile module 1 depends on the dimensions and weight of work module 2 which are motion characteristics of work module 2 . Thus, the position and dimensions of bumper 25 of work module 2 change as work module 2 is replaced, and in the case of the overall weight and dimensions of work module 2 changes, mobile module 1 losing its balance can be suppressed. Also, an evacuation action and an evacuation distance upon detection of a collision can be changed according to the position and dimensions of bumper 25 of work module 2 . The parameters such as a weight of work module 2 , a running resistance, and a distance between two mobile modules 1 vary depending on the type of work module 2 .) and
the virtual bumper distance is a margin distance for avoiding contact with a surrounding object. (see at least Fig. 1-6 [0030-0137]: Bumper 25 is configured to detect contact when bumper 25 contacts any other object. Bumper 25 is configured to transmit a signal to mobile module 1 upon bumper 25 detecting contact. Mobile module 1 is configured to stop or perform an evasive action based on a signal transmitted from bumper 25 .)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Duffy, Deyle and Sohn to incorporate the technique of controlling movement of the mobile module and work of the work module based on a motion characteristic of the work module as taught by Tsutsui with reasonable expectation of success to enables stable operations of the mobile module and the work module when the motion characteristic of the work module connected to the mobile module changes upon switch of the work module connected to the mobile module (Tsutsui [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle, Sohn and Tsutsui teaches The management system according to claim 8, wherein:
Duffy further teaches the autonomous mobile robot includes a proximity sensor configured to output distance information indicating a distance between the surrounding object and the autonomous mobile robot; (see at least Fig. 1a-3 [01060127]: Sensor units 114 may comprise a plurality and/or a combination of sensors. Sensor units 114 may include sensors that are internal to robot 102 or external, and/or have components that are partially internal and/or partially external. Sensor units 114 may include one or more exteroceptive sensors, such as sonars, light detection and ranging (“LIDAR”) sensors, radars, lasers, cameras (including video cameras (e.g., red-blue-green (“RBG”) cameras, infrared cameras, three-dimensional (“3D”) cameras, thermal cameras, etc.), time of flight (“TOF”) cameras) and the like.) and the second processor is further configured to:
It may be alleged the combination of Duffy in view of Deyle and Sohn does not explicitly teach determine, with the distance information, whether the distance is less than the virtual bumper distance; and
in response to determining that the distance is less than the virtual bumper distance, stop or decelerate the drive unit.
Tsutsui is directed to system and method of controlling self-propelled robot, Tsutsui teaches determine, with the distance information, whether the distance is less than the virtual bumper distance; and in response to determining that the distance is less than the virtual bumper distance, stop or decelerate the drive unit. (see at least Fig. 1-6 [0030-0137]: Bumper 25 is configured to detect contact when bumper 25 contacts any other object. Bumper 25 is configured to transmit a signal to mobile module 1 upon bumper 25 detecting contact. Mobile module 1 is configured to stop or perform an evasive action based on a signal transmitted from bumper 25 .)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Duffy, Deyle and Sohn to incorporate the technique of stopping the mobile robot or performing evasive action when the bumper senses a contact with an object as taught by Tsutsui with reasonable expectation of success to enables stable operations of the mobile module and the work module when the motion characteristic of the work module connected to the mobile module changes upon switch of the work module connected to the mobile module (Tsutsui [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA F ARTIMEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667