DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of all four maize PCFS genes in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all four maize PCFS genes constitute a single group of patentably indistinct species because all four genes belong to the same gene family with conserved core functional domains, the genes follow the same technical principle, achieve the same technical effect, solve the same problem, and are parallel embodiments of an inventive concept, and the genes have functional redundancy (Remarks, page 6, paragraph 8-page 7, paragraph 3).
This is not found persuasive with respect to the gene IDs corresponding to Brassica napus, soybean, and rice, because the homologous genes found in other species may have distinct functions, providing different technical effects and necessitating a broader search than the homologous genes in maize. Figure 3 of the instant specification shows that knockout of the pcfs4 gene in Arabidopsis leads to fewer branches on average compared to wild-type, while knockout of the pcfs2 gene had no obvious change, which could be considered a distinct technical effect.
The four maize PCFS gene IDs of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 and Zm00001d049442 are rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Because the maize PCFS gene IDs of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 and Zm00001d049442 are patentably indistinct (Remarks filed 7/15/2026, paragraph 8), art which reads on any one of the genes will be found to read on all of the genes.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are under examination on the merits.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834.
Sequence identifiers are missing from the amino acid sequence of the N-terminus provided on page 5 (paragraph 1), page 8 (paragraph 2), page 10 (paragraph 3), and page 17 (paragraph 2) and the conserved sequence across multiple species on page 17 (paragraph 2) of the specification. Because the sequences comprise a sequence of more than 4 specified amino acids, the sequence should be included in the sequence listing file and a sequence identifier should be provided in the specification.
Full compliance with the sequence rules is required in response to this Office action. A complete response to this Office action must include both compliance with the sequence rules and a response to the issues set forth herein. Failure to fully comply with both of these requirements in the time period set forth in this Office action will be held to be non-responsive.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 & 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 3 & 13), claim 2 (line 2) and claim 8 (line 3): --sequence-- should be inserted after “polynucleotide”.
Claim 1 (line 12): “or” should be deleted.
Claim 1 (line 14, line 16): “polynucleotide” should read --polynucleotide sequences--.
Claim 1 (line 14) and claim 8 (line 14): “to (a)” should be deleted.
Claim 1 (line 16): “theisolated” should read --the isolated--.
Claim 2 (line 5) and claim 9 (line 4): --or-- should be inserted before “74”.
Claim 2 (line 7) and claim 9 (line 6): --or should be inserted before “75”.
Claim 2 (line 8): should have a semicolon at the end of the line.
Claim 3 (line 1), claim 4 (line 1), claim 5 (line 1), claim 6 (line 1) and claim 7 (line 1): “polynucleotid” should be replaced with --polynucleotide--.
Claim 3 (line 2), claim 10 (line 2): “on” should read --in--.
Claim 4 (lines 2-3) and claim 11 (line 2): the abbreviations ZFN and TALEN should be written out in full in their first use in the claims.
Claim 7 (line 2) and claim 14 (line 2): “104, 105” should read --104-105--.
Claim 8 (line 1): PCFS should be written out in full it its first use in the claims.
Claim 8 (line 11): “position” should be deleted to match the language used in claim 1.
Claim 9 (line 8, line 11): the “or” should be deleted from line 8 and inserted at the end of line 11.
Claim 12 (line 7): --or-- should be inserted at the end of the line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are drawn to a “use” of a method and a material. The claims require both a method and a mutant material, so the claims cannot be interpreted as being directed to a method.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are directed to an isolated polynucleotide, which does not comprise markedly different characteristics from a polynucleotide found in nature. See MPEP 2106.04(b)(I). Claim 1 recites that a plant containing the gene mutation has bigger grains (lines 1-2), but this limitation describes a plant comprising the mutation while the claims are drawn to the polynucleotide not a plant.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are drawn to the polynucleotide itself and broadly encompass sequences that are found in nature. For example, NCBI Reference sequence NM_001361037.1 (sequence available 9/6/2020) teaches the sequence of an mRNA based on the B73 maize genome which comprises 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 65. See alignment below. How the mutation is obtained (claims 4-6) does not inherently impart characteristics that would distinguish the polynucleotide from a naturally occurring mutation.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
5347 bits(2895)
0.0
2895/2895(100%)
0/2895(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 22 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 81
Query 61 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 82 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 141
Query 121 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 142 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 201
Query 181 GCAGGCCAGCAcgccgcgctcgccgccgggggaatcgccggcgccgtctgcgcccgcgtc 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 202 GCAGGCCAGCACGCCGCGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGGCGCCGTCTGCGCCCGCGTC 261
Query 241 gccgAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 262 GCCGAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 321
Query 301 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 322 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 381
Query 361 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 382 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 441
Query 421 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 442 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 501
Query 481 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 502 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 561
Query 541 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 562 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 621
Query 601 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 622 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 681
Query 661 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 682 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 741
Query 721 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 742 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 801
Query 781 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 802 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 861
Query 841 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 862 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 921
Query 901 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 922 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 981
Query 961 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 982 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1041
Query 1021 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1042 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1101
Query 1081 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1102 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1161
Query 1141 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1162 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1221
Query 1201 TCAGAGGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1222 TCAGAGGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGC 1281
Query 1261 AGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1282 AGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGG 1341
Query 1321 CTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTT 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1342 CTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTT 1401
Query 1381 GATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGTCATGTTGACATTTCC 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1402 GATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGTCATGTTGACATTTCC 1461
Query 1441 ACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAGAAT 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1462 ACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAGAAT 1521
Query 1501 TCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAG 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1522 TCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAG 1581
Query 1561 CCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGAATA 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1582 CCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGAATA 1641
Query 1621 CCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTACAAT 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1642 CCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTACAAT 1701
Query 1681 GGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCCCGACA 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1702 GGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCCCGACA 1761
Query 1741 GAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTGATACC 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1762 GAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTGATACC 1821
Query 1801 AAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATGGAGGT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1822 AAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATGGAGGT 1881
Query 1861 AGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAGGTACC 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1882 AGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAGGTACC 1941
Query 1921 AGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAAGTCAA 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1942 AGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAAGTCAA 2001
Query 1981 CAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGTTACAT 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2002 CAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGTTACAT 2061
Query 2041 CCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGTCTGTA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2062 CCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGTCTGTA 2121
Query 2101 TCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGCCAACG 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2122 TCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGCCAACG 2181
Query 2161 TCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCT 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2182 TCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCT 2241
Query 2221 ATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCA 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2242 ATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCA 2301
Query 2281 TCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCAC 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2302 TCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCAC 2361
Query 2341 GGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAAT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2362 GGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAAT 2421
Query 2401 GTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTCCAAGG 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2422 GTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTCCAAGG 2481
Query 2461 CAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGAC 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2482 CAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGAC 2541
Query 2521 TGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTT 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2542 TGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTT 2601
Query 2581 GTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCT 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2602 GTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCT 2661
Query 2641 TTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCG 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2662 TTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCG 2721
Query 2701 GATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGAT 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2722 GATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGAT 2781
Query 2761 GAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTAATATC 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2782 GAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTAATATC 2841
Query 2821 GATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCC 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2842 GATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCC 2901
Query 2881 GGCAATACTTCTTAG 2895
|||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2902 GGCAATACTTCTTAG 2916
Claim 7 is drawn to a polynucleotide of SEQ ID NO: 104 or 105, which are not known to be naturally occurring sequences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in the rejections below.
The term “bigger” in claim 1 (line 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bigger” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Unlike the method of claim 8, wherein a gene is mutated to make the plant have bigger grains, or claim 16, wherein a plant has a phenotype of bigger grains by means of gene mutation or hybridization, the polynucleotide of claim 1 is not required to cause the bigger grains in a plant comprising the mutation. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know what standard by which to judge that the grains were bigger. Inserting language such as “compared to a plant not containing the gene mutation” after “bigger grains” would clear up the indefiniteness in the claim.
Claim 1 (lines 11-12) requires a nucleotide sequence with a gene ID of Zm0000ld000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 in maize, and claim 8 (lines 11-12) requires a nucleotide sequence with a gene position ID of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 in maize. These identifiers are indefinite, because multiple genome versions are available for maize, and each genome version has a different set of gene IDs, transcript IDs, and sequences. See appended GRASSIUS Website Tutorial (accessed 9/10/2026). The instant specification does not define which genome version the gene IDs may correspond to so the encompassed sequences are indefinite.
Claim 1 (lines 16-17); claim 2 (lines 10-11); claim 8 (lines 16-17); and claim 9 (lines 10-11) require a nucleotide sequence “having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation”. It is unclear whether this limitation is limited to polynucleotide sequences which, when said polynucleotide sequences are mutated, make a plant have bigger grains, or if this limitation encompasses polynucleotides which function to make a plant have bigger grains after a mutation in any sequence. Because this limitation has two distinct interpretations, the claims are indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “the isolated polynucleotide of (a) to (a)” in lines 13-14. This limitation lacks antecedent basis, because (a) recites a nucleotide sequence rather than a polynucleotide. Claim 1 also recites “the isolated polynucleotide of (a) to (b)” in line 16, which does have antecedent basis in the isolated polynucleotide of (b), but should be amended in alignment with lines 6-7 so as not to create a new antecedent issue.
Claim 2 (line 8) recites “the nucleotide sequence in (a) or (b)”. Claim 9 (line 7) also recites “the sequence in (a) or (b)”. Both (a) and (b) of claims 2 & 9 recite multiple nucleotide sequences, so it is indefinite which sequence is “the” sequence of (a) or (b). To resolve the issue, “the nucleotide sequence” could be replaced with --any one of the nucleotide sequences-- similar to the wording of claim 2 (line 10).
Claim 5 recites “the polynucleotide of (a)” in line 9. Claim 12 likewise recites “the polynucleotide of (a)” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, because (a) is drawn to a fragment, which is interpreted to be a sequence based on claim 5 line 2 or claim 12 line 2. Inserting “sequence” after both instances of “polynucleotide” in each claim would solve the antecedent basis issue.
Regarding claim 4 (line 2) and claim 11 (line 2), the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 require a polynucleotide selected from one of the sequences in the recited groups. Claims 5 & 12 require a target sequence selected from one of the sequences in the recited group. Although treatment of claims reciting alternatives is not governed by the particular format used (e.g., alternatives may be set forth as "a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is A, B, or C"), claims 1, 2, 5, 8-9 & 12 are not written in Markush format, which would require --and-- before the last option in the group, rather than “or”, and -- selected from the group consisting of:-- instead of “selected from one of the sequences in the following group:” in order to present a closed group of options. See MPEP 2117(I) for guidance on Markush formatting. Because the claims do not recite closed groups, it is indefinite whether the required polynucleotide may encompass other options not explicitly listed in the groups.
Claims 15 & 16 are indefinite in claiming both a mutant material and the method of obtaining it. When a claim mixes statutory classes, it is unclear when direct infringement occurs. See MPEP 2173.05(p) II.
Claim 16 recites that a plant is allowed to obtain the gene mutant and have a phenotype of bigger grains by means of gene mutation or hybridization with the mutant material. It is unclear if the limitation that a plant is “allowed” requires that the plant obtains the gene mutant and phenotype by means of gene mutation or hybridization or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 1-6, 8-13 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6 are drawn to and claims 8-13 & 15-16 require an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant wherein a plant containing the gene mutation has bigger grains and wherein said gene has a polynucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing with maize gene ID Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 under a stringent condition or having at least 85% identity to a sequence that is capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 and having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant. Claims 2 & 9 further require that the polynucleotide have a sequence of 64, 65, 67, 68, 70, 71, 73, or 74, encode an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 66, 69, 72 or 75, be capable of hybridizing with such sequences, or have 85% sequence similarity with at least a nucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing with the nucleotide sequence and having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant. Claims 8-13 and 15-16 require that the gene that is mutated be a PCFS family gene.
A nucleotide sequence with 85% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 64, the genomic sequence of Zm00001d000023, encompasses sequences with 2,216 substitutions relative to the 14,778 bp-long SEQ ID NO: 64. This includes sequences where every substitution leads to a substitution in the amino acid sequence. Since the polypeptide encoded by SEQ ID NO: 64, SEQ ID NO: 66, comprises just 964 amino acids, this encompasses sequences encoding polypeptides with 0% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 66.
In addition, the specification describes “stringent condition” as commonly known, and that stringent condition can include hybridizing in a solution containing 400 mM NaCl, 40 mM PIPES (pH 6.4) and 1 mM EDTA with a hybridization temperature of preferably 53-60° C and a hybridization time of preferably 12-16 hours and a washing with a solution containing 0.5xSSC and 0.1% SDS at a temperature of preferably 62-68° C for 15-60 minutes (page 4, paragraph 6 & page 8, paragraph 1). However, although a stringent condition can include the conditions described in the specification, the specification does not define stringent conditions as necessarily following those conditions. The hybridization could be stringent under one condition, such as temperature, but not another. Additionally, temperature or a length of time which is “preferably” within a range may fall within that range or even outside of it. Stringent conditions are described in the specification to encompass an extremely broad range of conditions, such that a nucleotide sequence which hybridizes with the recited maize genes under stringent conditions could encompass any potential polynucleotide sequence.
Thus, a nucleotide sequence having at least 85% identity to a sequence that is capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 or a sequence of 64, 65, 67, 68, 70, 71, 73, or 74 encompasses essentially any polynucleotide sequence, of any length.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of envisioning nucleotide sequences even over the extremely broad genus claimed. However, the claims also require that a plant containing the mutation of the gene having the polynucleotide sequence have bigger grains, or that the sequence have a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant.
The instant specification has described just 7 PCFS homologous genes in soybean, 2 in rice, 4 in maize, 8 in Brassica napus and 4 in Arabidopsis thaliana (page 12, paragraph 4, tables 6 & 7). Of these genes, mutants in only two genes of Brassica napus, 1 gene of soybean, 1 gene of rice, 2 genes of maize, and 2 genes of Arabidopsis are described as providing a phenotype of bigger grains (tables 6 & 7, page 15, paragraph 2; figures 6 & 7). In Arabidopsis, however, mutants of the two other described genes have no phenotype of bigger and heavier grains (page 17, paragraph 4). Only one mutant of each gene is described. Mutations over the full sequence of each gene, and the effect of other types of mutations in other regions of the genes, are not described in the specification.
The four homologous genes in maize (page 20, paragraph 3) have low sequence similarity. SEQ ID NO: 65, a coding sequence, has only 84% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 74, another coding sequence. See alignment below. There is no significant sequence similarity between SEQ ID NO: 65 and the other coding sequences of SEQ ID NO: 71 & 68.
US-19-011-969-74
Sequence 74, US/19011969
GENERAL INFORMATION
TITLE OF INVENTION: Plant Grain Size Regulation Gene And Use Thereof (en)
FILE REFERENCE: 231556
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/19/011,969
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2025-01-07
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 119
SEQ ID NO 74
LENGTH: 2904
TYPE: DNA
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: source
LOCATION: 1..2904
QUALIFIERS: mol_type = other DNA
organism = Zea mays
Query Match 84.8%; Score 2454.2; Length 2904;
Best Local Similarity 91.9%;
Matches 2682; Conservative 0; Mismatches 193; Indels 42; Gaps 7;
Qy 1 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 60
||||| ||||| ||||||||||| | ||||| |||||||||||| |||||||| |||||
Db 1 ATGGCGGGGGCCGCGGCGTCCCCAGCGGCGGGCCACGTGGTGGAGCGGTTCCGGTCGCGA 60
Qy 61 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 120
|||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||| | ||||||||
Db 61 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCGGCGGCGAGCCGGGCGCCGCCGCGGTCGTGCACGTGTACGCG 120
Qy 121 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 180
||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 121 GAGGCGCTCCGTGAGCTAACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATC 180
Qy 181 GCAGGCCAGCACGCCGCGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGGCGCCGTCTGCGCCCGCGTC 240
|| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||
Db 181 GCGGGCCAGCACGCCACGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCGTC 240
Qy 241 GCCGAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 300
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GCCGAGGTGCCACCAGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 300
Qy 301 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 360
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAACTAGGTTGCGAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 360
Qy 361 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 420
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATACTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 420
Qy 421 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 480
||||||||||| |||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Db 421 TGGCCAGTGTTCCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCGCAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCTTCC 480
Qy 481 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 540
|| ||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 TCGGAGAATAACCGCCCCACCACATCAACAAATCTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 540
Qy 541 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 600
|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 AGGCCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTGGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 600
Qy 601 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 660
| || |||||||| ||||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 601 CAGGCCAATGTGGTGCACCAGCCAGCAGCTCGGGACACTAGGCAAATGACTGATGTGCAG 660
Qy 661 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 720
|||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||| | |||||||||| | || |||
Db 661 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGATTAGCATCGAATAGTTCGTGTGAACGGCCTTCAATTTTCCAG 720
Qy 721 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| |||||||||
Db 721 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGATCAACAAGAGACGTTTCGGCCTCTTGCT 780
Qy 781 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 840
|| || ||||||| |||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||||
Db 781 GG---AACAAGGGCAGCATCACCACATCTCTTGAGTACACATGCATCTGATATGAATCTA 837
Qy 841 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 900
||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 838 GATGGGCCATTAGTCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCATATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 897
Qy 901 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 960
|||||||||| ||||| |||||| ||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 898 TCTAGGAATGTGTCCCCCAAGAGAGCACTAGAGAGGCTGCCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 957
Qy 961 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1020
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||| |||
Db 958 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTCACTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGATGGGGTTTGGATGAT 1017
Qy 1021 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1080
|||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1018 GGTGCACAACGGCCTACAATCAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1077
Qy 1081 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1140
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1078 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGGAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1137
Qy 1141 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1200
|| |||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1138 GTGCAGCGCCTGGATCCAAATGGTATGGCTAGCAGATCTAGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1197
Qy 1201 TCAGAG---GAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGA 1257
|| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1198 TCCGAGGAAGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGCCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGT 1257
Qy 1258 AGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCA 1317
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1258 AGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAACTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCA 1317
Qy 1318 GGGCTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCA 1377
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 1318 GGGTTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCCAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATTATCG 1377
Qy 1378 GTTGATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGT------------ 1425
||||||| |||||| |||||| ||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||
Db 1378 GTTGATGGTTCACCGTTTAATCTTGAAGATAGGTTTTCAACTGCAAGTGAACACCTTTAC 1437
Qy 1426 ---------CATGTTGACATTTCCACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAAT 1476
|||||| |||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1438 CTCTTGCAGCATGTTAACATGTCTACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAAT 1497
Qy 1477 GGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAGAATTCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACC 1536
|||||||||||| | | |||||||||||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1498 GGAGCTCTTTTGAAATTCCAGAATTCTGAACATGCCCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACC 1557
Qy 1537 ATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAGCCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAA 1596
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| ||||||| ||| |||| |||| ||
Db 1558 ATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAGCCTACTGGTCTGCCATTGCAAATGCAAGCACCTCAA 1617
Qy 1597 CATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGAATACCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGG 1656
||| |||||| ||||| |||| |||||||||| | ||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1618 CATTCTTCAGCACTTGATAGATTACCACAGCCCGCTGACAGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGG 1677
Qy 1657 TTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTT---GGTGAAGCAT 1713
||||||||| ||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| | |||| || |||||||
Db 1678 TTGGACATTCGTGGCACATACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAGATCCTTGGCGGAGAAGCAT 1737
Qy 1714 AGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCCCGACAGAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAA 1773
|||||||||||||||| ||| |||||||||||||| |||||||||||| | | |||||||
Db 1738 AGGTCATCACCTGCTCGTGCTCCGACAGAATGGCTTCCCCTTCACCATACACCATCACAA 1797
Qy 1774 ACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTGATACCAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAA 1833
||||||||||||||| |||||| || |||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Db 1798 ACTTTACCACTAATTATACCTGAGACAAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCGGATAGTTTAGAA 1857
Qy 1834 ATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATGGAGGTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTAT 1893
|||||||||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||||||| | |||||||||
Db 1858 ATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCAAGGAGCTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCGCATCATCAGTAT 1917
Qy 1894 GATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAGGTACCAGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAG 1953
|||||| |||| ||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||| ||||||||||
Db 1918 GATGCCTTGGACCGGAAAACAGGTACCCGTAACTTAGCTCAACC------ACCATATCAG 1971
Qy 1954 AACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAAGTCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCT 2013
||||||||||||||| | |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |
Db 1972 CACCAAGATTTGTTGCTACCAAGCCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGTT 2031
Qy 2014 CATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGTTACATCCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTT 2073
|||||||||| |||| | |||||||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 2032 CATCCTCATCTGCCCCAACAGTTACATCCCCATTCCCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACTTTT 2091
Qy 2074 AGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGTCTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACC 2133
||||||||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 2092 AGAAGCTTTGCCCCTGGCATGACTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGCAATGCAACC 2151
Qy 2134 ATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGCCAACGTCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTAT 2193
|||||||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 2152 ATGACACCAGTTTCCGTTCTGCCAA---CTTTTTCTGTACCACCTGCTGTGCCACCCTAT 2208
Qy 2194 GGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCT 2253
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||
Db 2209 GGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCCGGACCAC---CACCT 2265
Qy 2254 GTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCT 2313
||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2266 GTCCCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCTCAACCATTTGTCTCT 2325
Qy 2314 GGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCACGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCC 2373
||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 2326 GGACTTTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCATGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGCCAATCC 2385
Qy 2374 CAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACC 2433
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| |
Db 2386 CAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAGCCTGTCATC 2445
Qy 2434 AATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTCCAAGGCAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGC 2493
||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 2446 AATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTTCAAGGCAGTGTAAAACTTGTGGCCTTCGATTTAAATGC 2505
Qy 2494 CAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAAT 2553
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||
Db 2506 CAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAAAATAGGAATTCAAAGAAC 2565
Qy 2554 CGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAA 2613
|||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| | | |||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 2566 CGTAAGCAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACGGTGGAGGAATGGTTAAGAGCTGCAGAA 2625
Qy 2614 ACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAG 2673
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| ||| ||
Db 2626 ACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTTTGTGCCCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGATAGAAAG 2685
Qy 2674 GAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAA 2733
||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 2686 GAAGAGAGAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACAGCCTGTGCATTATGTCAA 2745
Qy 2734 GAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTT 2793
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||| ||
Db 2746 GAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAGACTGATGAGTGGATGTATAGAGGTGCGGTC 2805
Qy 2794 TATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTAATATCGATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATT 2853
|| |||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||| ||||| |||||| |||||||||||||
Db 2806 TACATGAATGCACCAGACGGTAATATTGATGGTCTGGAAAGGTCACGGTTGGGACCTATT 2865
Qy 2854 GTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCGGCAATACTT 2890
||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 2866 GTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCAGCAATACTT 2902
The specification describes targeting these genes with gene editing to recover a double mutant with mutations in two of the four genes leading to early termination of the expressed polypeptide (table 7, page 21, paragraph 1-page 22, paragraph 1). The specification describes the mutants with an intact N-terminus as having bigger grains (page 22, paragraph 2, figures 6D and 7D).
The specification describes the PCFS family genes with an intact N-terminus as having a function of regulating grain size of a plant, and that mutation or affecting the regulatory factors of the gene inhibits normal function to lead to bigger grains (page 22, paragraph 2). No regulatory factors of the genes are described in the specification. The N-terminus is described as having a conserved domain of Y...LxELTxNxKPxITxLTIxA...E...QxLPxLYLLDSIVKNxGxxY...F...LxxVFxxAY...MxxLFxTWxxVF...LxxI...L...IH (page 10, paragraph 3), while the PCFS family members are described as having conserved C-terminal zinc finger domains (page 18, paragraph 2). The specification describes that knocking out the N-terminus of genes comprising the conserved domain leads to the phenotype of bigger grains, while homologs comprising an N-terminus deletion do not have a significant difference with wildtype after mutation (page 18, paragraphs 3).
However, gene mutants that result in bigger grains in plants are known in the art, including genes that do not comprise a conserved N-terminus domain of Y...LxELTxNxKPxITxLTIxA...E...QxLPxLYLLDSIVKNxGxxY...F...LxxVFxxAY...MxxLFxTWxxVF...LxxI...L...IH. Giroux et al (1996) PNAS. 93(12) (published 6/11/1996, hereafter Giroux) describes revertants in a maize line comprising insertions in the shrunken 2 (Sh2) locus, some of which led to higher seed weight compared to the locus with no insertion (page 5852, right column, paragraph 4, table 1; page 5827, left column, paragraph 3). The Sh2 gene encodes a subunit of adenosine diphosphoglucose pyrophosphorylase (AGP), which is involved in starch synthesis (Giroux page 5824, left column, paragraph 2- right column, paragraph 2), a function distinct from polyadenylation. Despite having a different biological function, the nucleotide sequence of the Sh2 gene taught by Giroux reads on a polynucleotide of the instant claims.
Polyadenylation and cleavage factor homolog genes which have greater than 85% identity to a sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 65 are also known in the art. NCBI reference sequence XR_002269032.1 (available 5/12/2020, prior to the filing of the instant application) teaches an mRNA sequence of a pcf homolog 4 in maize with a sequence comprising 92.6% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 65 which is encoded by gene ID LOC103653026. See alignment below. The NCBI report page for gene ID LOC103653026 (updated 9/2/2026, appended here) provides evidence that this nucleic acid sequence encodes a protein with a CTD-Interacting Domain of Pcf11. In Arabidopsis, Xing et al (2008) The Plant Journal. (54): 785-964; published online 2/23/2008, hereafter Xing) describes four homologs to PCF11p, which are named PCFS1, PCFS2, PCFS4 & PCFS5 (page 901, left column, paragraph 2). Of these proteins, Xing describes PCFS4 as the only homolog containing an intact CID domain at its N-terminus and that PCFS2 may have a truncated CID domain (page 901, left column, paragraph 2).
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
4250 bits(4713)
0.0
2682/2896(93%)
21/2896(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 60
||||| ||||| ||||||||||| | ||||| |||||||||||| |||||||| |||||
Sbjct 184 ATGGCGGGGGCCGCGGCGTCCCCAGCGGCGGGCCACGTGGTGGAGCGGTTCCGGTCGCGA 243
Query 61 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 120
|||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||| | ||||||||
Sbjct 244 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCGGCGGCGAGCCGGGCGCCGCCGCGGTCGTGCACGTGTACGCG 303
Query 121 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 180
||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Sbjct 304 GAGGCGCTCCGTGAGCTAACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATC 363
Query 181 GCAGGCCAGCAcgccgcgctcgccgccgggggaatcgccggcgccgtctgcgcccgcgtc 240
|| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 364 GCGGGCCAGCACGCCACGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCGTC 423
Query 241 gccgAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 300
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 424 GCCGAGGTGCCACCAGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 483
Query 301 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 360
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 484 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAACTAGGTTGCGAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 543
Query 361 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 420
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 544 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATACTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 603
Query 421 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 480
||||||||||| |||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Sbjct 604 TGGCCAGTGTTCCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCGCAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCTTCC 663
Query 481 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 540
|| ||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 664 TCGGAGAATAACCGCCCCACCACATCAACAAATCTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 723
Query 541 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 600
|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 724 AGGCCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTGGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 783
Query 601 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 660
| || |||||||| ||||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Sbjct 784 CAGGCCAATGTGGTGCACCAGCCAGCAGCTCGGGACACTAGGCAAATGACTGATGTGCAG 843
Query 661 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 720
|||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||| | |||||||||| | || |||
Sbjct 844 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGATTAGCATCGAATAGTTCGTGTGAACGGCCTTCAATTTTCCAG 903
Query 721 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| |||||||||
Sbjct 904 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGATCAACAAGAGACGTTTCGGCCTCTTGCT 963
Query 781 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 840
|| || ||||||| |||| |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||||
Sbjct 964 GG---AACAAGGGCAGCATCACCACATCTCTTGAGTACACATGCATCTGATATGAATCTA 1020
Query 841 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 900
||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1021 GATGGGCCATTAGTCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCATATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 1080
Query 901 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 960
|||||||||| ||||| |||||| ||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1081 TCTAGGAATGTGTCCCCCAAGAGAGCACTAGAGAGGCTGCCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 1140
Query 961 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1020
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||| |||
Sbjct 1141 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTCACTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGATGGGGTTTGGATGAT 1200
Query 1021 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1080
|||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1201 GGTGCACAACGGCCTACAATCAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1260
Query 1081 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1140
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1261 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGGAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1320
Query 1141 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1200
|| |||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||| |||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1321 GTGCAGCGCCTGGATCCAAATGGTATGGCTAGCAGATCTAGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1380
Query 1201 TCAGAG---GAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGA 1257
|| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1381 TCCGAGGAAGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGCCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGT 1440
Query 1258 AGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCA 1317
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1441 AGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAACTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCA 1500
Query 1318 GGGCTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCA 1377
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 1501 GGGTTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCCAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATTATCG 1560
Query 1378 GTTGATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGTCATGTTGACATT 1437
||||||| |||||| |||||| ||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||| ||||
Sbjct 1561 GTTGATGGTTCACCGTTTAATCTTGAAGATAGGTTTTCAACTGCAAGTCATGTTAACATG 1620
Query 1438 TCCACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAG 1497
|| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | | ||||
Sbjct 1621 TCTACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGAAATTCCAG 1680
Query 1498 AATTCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAA 1557
|||||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1681 AATTCTGAACATGCCCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAA 1740
Query 1558 CAGCCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGA 1617
||||||| |||||| ||||||| ||| |||| |||| ||||| |||||| ||||| ||||
Sbjct 1741 CAGCCTACTGGTCTGCCATTGCAAATGCAAGCACCTCAACATTCTTCAGCACTTGATAGA 1800
Query 1618 ATACCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTAC 1677
|||||||||| | ||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||
Sbjct 1801 TTACCACAGCCCGCTGACAGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTCGTGGCACATAC 1860
Query 1678 AATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTT---GGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCC 1734
||||||||||||||||||| | |||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 1861 AATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAGATCCTTGGCGGAGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCGTGCT 1920
Query 1735 CCGACAGAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCT 1794
|||||||||||||| |||||||||||| | | |||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Sbjct 1921 CCGACAGAATGGCTTCCCCTTCACCATACACCATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTATACCT 1980
Query 1795 GATACCAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCAT 1854
|| || |||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1981 GAGACAAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCGGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCAA 2040
Query 1855 GGAGGTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACA 1914
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||| | ||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||
Sbjct 2041 GGAGCTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCGCATCATCAGTATGATGCCTTGGACCGGAAAACA 2100
Query 1915 GGTACCAGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCA 1974
|||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| | ||
Sbjct 2101 GGTACCCGTAACTTAGCTCAAC------CACCATATCAGCACCAAGATTTGTTGCTACCA 2154
Query 1975 AGTCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAG 2034
|| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||| | ||
Sbjct 2155 AGCCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGTTCATCCTCATCTGCCCCAACAG 2214
Query 2035 TTACATCCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATG 2094
|||||||||||| | |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||| |||||||||
Sbjct 2215 TTACATCCCCATTCCCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACTTTTAGAAGCTTTGCCCCTGGCATG 2274
Query 2095 TCTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTG 2154
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Sbjct 2275 ACTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGCAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCCGTTCTG 2334
Query 2155 CCAACGTCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGG 2214
|||| ||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2335 CCAA---CTTTTTCTGTACCACCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGG 2391
Query 2215 TTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCA 2274
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2392 TTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCCGGACCAC---CACCTGTCCCACTGCAGATGGGTTCA 2448
Query 2275 TCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATG 2334
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2449 TCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCTCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTTTTGAGTAACCTTATG 2508
Query 2335 CGGCACGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGAC 2394
||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2509 CGGCATGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGCCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGAC 2568
Query 2395 TTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTT 2454
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2569 TTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAGCCTGTCATCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTT 2628
Query 2455 CCAAGGCAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCAC 2514
|||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2629 TCAAGGCAGTGTAAAACTTGTGGCCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCAC 2688
Query 2515 ATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAA 2574
|||||||||||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2689 ATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAAAATAGGAATTCAAAGAACCGTAAGCAATCTTCACGTAAA 2748
Query 2575 TATTTTGTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTT 2634
||||||||||| | | |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2749 TATTTTGTCACGGTGGAGGAATGGTTAAGAGCTGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTT 2808
Query 2635 CCTGCTTTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTT 2694
||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||
Sbjct 2809 CCTGCTTTTGTGCCCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGATAGAAAGGAAGAGAGAGAAATTGCTGTT 2868
Query 2695 CCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTAC 2754
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2869 CCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACAGCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTAC 2928
Query 2755 AGTGATGAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGT 2814
|||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||| || || |||||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 2929 AGTGATGAGACTGATGAGTGGATGTATAGAGGTGCGGTCTACATGAATGCACCAGACGGT 2988
Query 2815 AATATCGATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCT 2874
||||| |||||| ||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2989 AATATTGATGGTCTGGAAAGGTCACGGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCT 3048
Query 2875 GGGCCCGGCAATACTT 2890
|||||| |||||||||
Sbjct 3049 GGGCCCAGCAATACTT 3064
Claims 8-13 & 15-16 require that the gene that is mutated be a PCFS family gene, but claims 1-6 do not. The claims do not require that the polynucleotide or mutant gene comprise the functional N-terminus domain. The instant claims are indefinite as to whether the mutation in the gene itself causes bigger grains in the plant or if the claims encompass mutant polynucleotides that may be present in any plant comprising bigger grains. The only feature required by the genus of polynucleotides required by the claims is 85% similarity to a sequence capable of hybridizing to one of four genes under undefined hybridization conditions, which, as presented above, encompasses nearly any potential polynucleotide sequence including those encoding amino acid sequences with no shared sequence similarity. Thus, the claims do not require any structural feature responsible for required function of making a plant have bigger grains. Applicant has neither provided examples of polynucleotides over this highly variant genus of polynucleotides with the required function nor described a structural feature shared by all members of this highly variant genus of polynucleotides.
Because the genus of polynucleotides leading to bigger grain is highly variant as described in the art, and because the specification provides just twenty five gene examples in a single gene family as polynucleotides leading to a bigger grain size when mutated, one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize that Applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the genus in view of the disclosed species.
Hence, Applicant has not, in fact, described polynucleotides of gene mutants wherein a plant containing the gene mutation has bigger grains over the full scope of the claims, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, Applicant does not appear to have been in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Scope of Enablement
Claims 1-6, 8-13 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for mutating a gene leading to a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 104 or 105 to make the plant have bigger grains, does not reasonably provide enablement for any mutation in any gene or PCFS gene having at least 85% sequence similarity to a nucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition with a sequence of gene ID Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 to make a plant have bigger grains. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claims 1-6 are drawn to and claims 15-16 require an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant wherein a plant containing the gene mutation has bigger grains and wherein said gene has a polynucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing with maize gene ID Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 under a stringent condition or having at least 85% identity to a sequence that is capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 and having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant. Claims 8-13 require mutating a PCFS family gene to make a plant have bigger grains and wherein said gene has a polynucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing with maize gene ID Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 under a stringent condition or having at least 85% identity to a sequence that is capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 and having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant. Claims 2 &9 further require that the polynucleotide have a sequence of 64, 65, 67, 68, 70, 71, 73, or 74, encode an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 66, 69, 72 or 75, be capable of hybridizing with such sequences, or have 85% sequence similarity with at least a nucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing with the nucleotide sequence and having a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant.
A nucleotide sequence with 85% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 64, the genomic sequence of Zm00001d000023, encompasses sequences with 2,216 substitutions relative to the 14,778 bp-long SEQ ID NO: 64. This includes sequences where every substitution leads to a substitution in the amino acid sequence. Since the polypeptide encoded by SEQ ID NO: 64, SEQ ID NO: 66, comprises just 964 amino acids, this encompasses sequences encoding polypeptides with 0% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 66.
The specification teaches that “stringent condition” can include hybridizing in a solution containing 400 mM NaCl, 40 mM PIPES (pH 6.4) and 1 mM EDTA with a hybridization temperature of preferably 53-60° C and a hybridization time of preferably 12-16 hours and a washing with a solution containing 0.5xSSC and 0.1% SDS at a temperature of preferably 62-68° C for 15-60 minutes (page 4, paragraph 6 & page 8, paragraph 1). However, although a stringent condition can include the conditions described in the specification, the specification does not define stringent conditions as necessarily following those conditions. The hybridization could be stringent under one condition, such as temperature, but not another. Additionally, temperature or a length of time which is “preferably” within a range may fall within that range or even outside of it. Stringent conditions are described in the specification to encompass an extremely broad range of conditions, such that a nucleotide sequence which hybridizes with the recited maize genes under stringent conditions could encompass any potential polynucleotide sequence.
Thus, a nucleotide sequence having at least 85% identity to a sequence that is capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 or a sequence of 64, 65, 67, 68, 70, 71, 73, or 74 encompasses essentially any polynucleotide sequence, of any length.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making nucleotide sequences over the broad recited genus of genes or PCFS family genes. However, the claims also require that a plant containing the mutation of the gene having the polynucleotide sequence have bigger grains, or that the sequence have a function of making a plant have bigger grains after mutation in the plant. Additionally, claims 1 & 8 recites that the gene has a nucleotide gene ID of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 in maize. However, Zm00001d019856 and Zm00001d005350 are annotated in NCBI as being ENTH/VHS family proteins. See GenBank report for Gene ID 103632446 (updated 9/2/2026) and GenBank report for Gene ID 103647268 (updated 9/2/2026). Thus, the genes required by the claims encompass nucleotide sequences with diverse annotations.
The instant specification teaches 7 PCFS homologous genes in soybean, 2 in rice, 4 in maize, 8 in Brassica napus and 4 in Arabidopsis thaliana (page 12, paragraph 4, tables 6 & 7). Of these genes, mutants in only two genes of Brassica napus, 1 gene of soybean, 1 gene of rice, 2 genes of maize, and 2 genes of Arabidopsis are described as providing a phenotype of bigger grains (tables 6 & 7, page 15, paragraph 2; figures 6 & 7). Notably, the genes that the specification teaches mutated in maize are not the genes that are annotated in GenBank as belonging to the ENTH/VHS family.
In Arabidopsis, mutants of the two other described PCFS genes have no phenotype of bigger and heavier grains (page 17, paragraph 4). Only one mutant of each gene is taugh. Mutations over the full sequence of each gene, and the effect of other types of mutations in other regions of the genes, are not taught in the specification.
The four homologous genes in maize (page 20, paragraph 3) have low sequence similarity. SEQ ID NO: 65, a coding sequence, has only 84% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 74, another coding sequence. See alignment above. There is no significant sequence similarity between SEQ ID NO: 65 and the other coding sequences of SEQ ID NO: 68 & 71, which are the coding sequences that correspond to the genes annotated as ENTH/VHS family proteins.
The specification teaches gene editing to recover a double mutant with mutations in two of the four genes leading to early termination of the expressed polypeptide (table 7, page 21, paragraph 1-page 22, paragraph 1). The specification teaches the mutants with an intact N-terminus as having bigger grains (page 22, paragraph 2, figures 6D and 7D) and teaches the PCFS family genes with an intact N-terminus as having a function of regulating grain size of a plant, and that mutation or affecting the regulatory factors of the gene inhibits normal function to lead to bigger grains (page 22, paragraph 2). However, the specification does not teach mutating either of the maize genes annotated as ENTH/VHS family proteins in GenBank and recovering a plant with larger grains.
PCFS family genes are known in the art. In Arabidopsis, Xing et al (2008) The Plant Journal. (54): 785-964; published online 2/23/2008, hereafter Xing) teaches four homologs to PCF11p, which are named PCFS1, PCFS2, PCFS4 & PCFS5 (page 901, left column, paragraph 2). Of these proteins, Xing teaches PCFS4 as the only homolog containing an intact CID domain at its N-terminus and that PCFS2 may have a truncated CID domain (page 901, left column, paragraph 2). Xing teaches that OsPCFS1 and OsPCFS2 are related to At PCFS2 and At PCFS4, while AtPCFS1 and AtPCFS5 arose after the divergence of monocots and dicots (page 901, left column, paragraph 3-page 902, left column, paragraph 1). PCFS proteins in Arabidopsis are taught to be involved in alternative polyadenylation (abstract).
In contrast, the ENTH/ANTH/VHS superfamily of proteins has both diverse function and localization in plants (Feng et al (2022) FEBS Letters. 596: 2256-2268 (published September 2022, after the priority date of the instant application; hereafter Feng. Table 1). Mutants of the ENTH protein EPSIN1 in Arabidopsis exhibit partially impaired vacuolar transport of soluble cargo and impaired response to pathogen associated molecular patterns (page 2257, right column, paragraph 2-page 2258, right column, paragraph 1). Proteins comprising a VHS domain in plants have been reported to possess ESCRT-0-like activities involved in the degradation pathway of ubiquitinated proteins (page 2259, left column, paragraph 2-right column, paragraph 1). The family of proteins comprising ENTH or VHS domains is thought to act as an adaptor during transport vesicle formation (abstract). The functions of ENTH/VHS family proteins are broad and distinct from polyadenylation.
Thus, given the highly variable functions of proteins encoded by polynucleotides encompassed by the instant claims, and given the limited examples taught by the instant specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would not immediately know which encompassed polynucleotide sequences encode a protein with the required activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would be required to conduct undue experimentation to assay the myriad polynucleotides encompassed to determine which, if any, have the required activity of conferring bigger grains when mutated in any plant species. Thus, although the claims are enabled for mutating a gene leading to a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 104 or 105 to make the plant have bigger grains, the claims are not enabled for mutating any gene or PCFS gene having at least 85% sequence similarity to a nucleotide sequence capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition with a sequence of gene ID Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 to make a plant have bigger grains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al US 2017/0114356 A1 (published 4/27/2017, hereafter Li) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence XM_008663624.3 (available 5/12/2020) taken with the evidence of NCBI report page on LOC100280286 (updated 9/2/2026).
Claims 1-6 are drawn to an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant wherein said gene has a polynucleotide sequence with a gene ID of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442.
Li teaches an RNA seq library constructed from B73 and Mo17 maize leaves and publicly available libraries (paragraphs [0187-0188]). Li teaches a sequence from the library, Li SEQ ID NO: 13564, which comprises 99.5% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 65 and comprises an indel of 5 nucleic acids. See alignment below.
Li teaches that the polynucleotides can be used to improve agronomic characteristics by providing increased or reduced protein activity in a transgenic plant (paragraph [0160]). Li teaches that suppression of gene expression may be achieved by transposable elements or chemical agents that cause site-specific mutations or mutation in the gene that interferes with level of expressed protein or protein activity (paragraph [0114, 0160]).
US-15-047-804-13564
Sequence 13564, US/15047804
Publication No. US20170114356A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: EI DuPont de Nemours
APPLICANT: Thatcher, Shawn
APPLICANT: Li, Bailin
TITLE OF INVENTION: NOVEL ALTERNATIVELY SPLICED TRANSCRIPTS AND USES THEREOF FOR
TITLE OF INVENTION: IMPROVEMENT OF AGRONOMIC CHARACTERISTICS IN CROP PLANTS
FILE REFERENCE: BB2527USNP
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/047,804
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2016-02-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/118,576
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-02-20
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/257,774
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-11-20
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 228453
SEQ ID NO 13564
LENGTH: 3144
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Zea Mays
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: misc_feature
LOCATION: (3143)..(3144)
OTHER INFORMATION: n is a, c, g, or t
Query Match 99.5%; Score 2880; Length 3144;
Best Local Similarity 99.8%;
Matches 2895; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 5; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 114 ATGGCTGGGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGG 173
Qy 61 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 174 CTGCGCGAGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCG 233
Qy 121 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 234 GAGGCGCTCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTC 293
Qy 181 GCAGGCCAGCACGCCGCGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGGCGCCGTCTGCGCCCGCGTC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 294 GCAGGCCAGCACGCCGCGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGGCGCCGTCTGCGCCCGCGTC 353
Qy 241 GCCGAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 354 GCCGAGGTGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAG 413
Qy 301 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 414 AACATAGGTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGAT 473
Qy 361 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 474 GCATACTACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGG 533
Qy 421 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 534 TGGCCAGTGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCC 593
Qy 481 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 594 TCAGAGAATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCT 653
Qy 541 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 654 AGACCATCTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAG 713
Qy 601 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 714 CGGGTCAATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAG 773
Qy 661 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 774 GAGGATCTGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG 833
Qy 721 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 834 AAATCTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCT 893
Qy 781 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 894 GGAGCAATAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTA 953
Qy 841 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 954 GATGGGCCATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTC 1013
Qy 901 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1014 CCTAGGAATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTG 1073
Qy 961 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1074 GGACCTGATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGAT 1133
Qy 1021 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1134 GGTGCACAGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGG 1193
Qy 1081 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1194 GAACTTATTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAA 1253
Qy 1141 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1254 GTACAGCGCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACT 1313
Qy 1201 TCAGAGGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1314 TCAGAGGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGC 1373
Qy 1261 AGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1374 AGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGG 1433
Qy 1321 CTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTT 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1434 CTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTT 1493
Qy 1381 GATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGT-----CATGTTGACA 1435
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||
Db 1494 GATGTTTCACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGTGTATGCATGTTGACA 1553
Qy 1436 TTTCCACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACC 1495
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1554 TTTCCACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACC 1613
Qy 1496 AGAATTCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGC 1555
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1614 AGAATTCTGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGC 1673
Qy 1556 AACAGCCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTA 1615
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1674 AACAGCCTATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTA 1733
Qy 1616 GAATACCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGT 1675
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1734 GAATACCACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGT 1793
Qy 1676 ACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCC 1735
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1794 ACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCC 1853
Qy 1736 CGACAGAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTG 1795
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1854 CGACAGAATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTG 1913
Qy 1796 ATACCAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATG 1855
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1914 ATACCAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATG 1973
Qy 1856 GAGGTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAG 1915
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1974 GAGGTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAG 2033
Qy 1916 GTACCAGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAA 1975
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2034 GTACCAGTAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAA 2093
Qy 1976 GTCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGT 2035
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2094 GTCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGT 2153
Qy 2036 TACATCCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGT 2095
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2154 TACATCCCCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGT 2213
Qy 2096 CTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGC 2155
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2214 CTGTATCTCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGC 2273
Qy 2156 CAACGTCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGT 2215
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2274 CAACGTCTTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGT 2333
Qy 2216 TTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCAT 2275
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2334 TTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCAT 2393
Qy 2276 CATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGC 2335
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2394 CATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGC 2453
Qy 2336 GGCACGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACT 2395
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2454 GGCACGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACT 2513
Qy 2396 TCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTC 2455
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2514 TCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTC 2573
Qy 2456 CAAGGCAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACA 2515
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2574 CAAGGCAGTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACA 2633
Qy 2516 TGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAAT 2575
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2634 TGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAAT 2693
Qy 2576 ATTTTGTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTC 2635
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2694 ATTTTGTCACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTC 2753
Qy 2636 CTGCTTTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTC 2695
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2754 CTGCTTTTGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTC 2813
Qy 2696 CTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACA 2755
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2814 CTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACA 2873
Qy 2756 GTGATGAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTA 2815
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2874 GTGATGAGACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTA 2933
Qy 2816 ATATCGATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTG 2875
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2934 ATATCGATGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTG 2993
Qy 2876 GGCCCGGCAATACTTCTTAG 2895
||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2994 GGCCCGGCAATACTTCTTAG 3013
Li does not teach that the isolated sequence is of a gene with a gene ID of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442 or capable of hybridizing with such a gene.
NCBI Reference Sequence XM_008663624.3 teaches an mRNA sequence from a maize gene LOC100280286 with a sequence that has 99.4% identity with Li SEQ ID NO: 13564. See alignment below.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
5512 bits(6112)
0.0
3081/3101(99%)
20/3101(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 TTTCAGTCAGTTCGCTCCGCTCCCACATGCCTCCTCCGCCTCCCTCTCGCCGTCCCGGCA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 29 TTTCAGTCAGTTCGCTCCGCTCCCACATGCCTCCTCCGCCTCCCTCTCGCCGTCCCGGCA 88
Query 61 TACCCAATCCCTAGGCACCCCGCCGAAACCCTAGATTCTCCTCTCCTGCTCCGATGGCTG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 89 TACCCAATCCCTAGGCACCCCGCCGAAACCCTAGATTCTCCTCTCCTGCTCCGATGGCTG 148
Query 121 GGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGGCTGCGCG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 149 GGGCAGCGGCGTCCCCCGTGGCGGCCCACGTGGTGGAACGGTTCCGCTCGCGGCTGCGCG 208
Query 181 AGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCGGAGGCGC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 209 AGGAAGCGGGCAGCGGGGAGCCGGGCGCCTCCGCGGTCGTGCGCTTGTACGCGGAGGCGC 268
Query 241 TCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTCGCAGGCC 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 269 TCCGCGAGCTTACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCGTCGCAGGCC 328
Query 301 AGCAcgccgcgctcgccgccgggggaatcgccggcgccgtctgcgcccgcgtcgccgAGG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 329 AGCACGCCGCGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGGCGCCGTCTGCGCCCGCGTCGCCGAGG 388
Query 361 TGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 389 TGCCACCTGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAG 448
Query 421 GTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGATGCATACT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 449 GTGGGGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAATTAGGTTGCAAAGTGTATTTGTTGATGCATACT 508
Query 481 ACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGGTGGCCAG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 509 ACAGAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATGCTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGGTGGCCAG 568
Query 541 TGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCCTCAGAGA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 569 TGTTTCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCACAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCGCCCTCAGAGA 628
Query 601 ATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCTAGACCAT 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 629 ATAACCGTCCCACCACATCGACAAATGTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCTAGACCAT 688
Query 661 CTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAGCGGGTCA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 689 CTCATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTAGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAGCGGGTCA 748
Query 721 ATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAGGAGGATC 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 749 ATGTGGCGCACCAGTCAGCAGCTCAGGACACTAGGCAAATGTCTGATGTGCAGGAGGATC 808
Query 781 TGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAGAAATCTT 840
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 809 TGATAAATGGACTAACATCGAATAGTTCACAAGGACGGCCTTCAGTGTTTCAG------- 861
Query 841 CTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCTGGAGCAA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 862 --------TATGCTGATGATCCTGGTCAACAAGAGATGTTTCGACCTCTTGCTGGAGCAA 913
Query 901 TAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTAGATGGGC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 914 TAAGGGCAACATCGCCACATCTCTTGAGAACACATGCATCTGATGTGAATCTAGATGGGC 973
Query 961 CATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTCCCTAGGA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 974 CATTAGCCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTCCCTAGGA 1033
Query 1021 ATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTGGGACCTG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1034 ATGTTTCCCCAAAGAGACCACTAGAGAGGCTACCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTGGGACCTG 1093
Query 1081 ATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGATGGTGCAC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1094 ATCCCAGAAAATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTTAAGGTGGGCTTTGGACGATGGTGCAC 1153
Query 1141 AGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGGGAACTTA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1154 AGTGGCCTACAATAAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCAAGGGAACTTA 1213
Query 1201 TTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAAGTACAGC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1214 TTGATGCATATGGAAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCTAAAGTACAGC 1273
Query 1261 GCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACTTCAGAGG 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1274 GCCTGGATTCAAATGGTATGACTAGCAAATCTGGTGCACGAAATTGGTTAACTTCAGAGG 1333
Query 1321 AAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGCAGCATGC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1334 AAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGTCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTCAGAAGCAGCATGC 1393
Query 1381 CATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGGCTACTGG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1394 CATCTTTTCCTCCTGGAACCATGAGAATTGGATTTCCTGGGGCAAATGCAGGGCTACTGG 1453
Query 1441 AATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTTGATGTTT 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1454 AATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCTAAGCCAAGCTACTAGATCATCAGTTGATGTTT 1513
Query 1501 CACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGTGTATGCATGTTGACATTTCCAC 1560
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1514 CACCATTTAATATTGAAGATAGGATTTCAGCTGCAAGT-----CATGTTGACATTTCCAC 1568
Query 1561 AAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAGAATTC 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1569 AAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGGAGTACCAGAATTC 1628
Query 1621 TGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAGCC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1629 TGAACATACTCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAGCC 1688
Query 1681 TATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGAATACC 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1689 TATTGGTCTTCCATTGCGAATACAAGGACCTGAACATCCTTCAGTACTTGGTAGAATACC 1748
Query 1741 ACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTACAATGG 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1749 ACAGCCTGTCGACGGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTAGTGGCACGTACAATGG 1808
Query 1801 TTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCCCGACAGA 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1809 TTTGAATGTAGATAAACCCTTGGTGAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCCTGCCCCGACAGA 1868
Query 1861 ATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTGATACCAA 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1869 ATGGCTCCCCCTTCACCATGCCCAATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTCCACCTGATACCAA 1928
Query 1921 ACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATGGAGGTAG 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1929 ACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCAGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCATGGAGGTAG 1988
Query 1981 TTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAGGTACCAG 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1989 TTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCACGGCATCAGTATGATGCCGTGGATCGGAAAACAGGTACCAG 2048
Query 2041 TAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAAGTCAACA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2049 TAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATCACCATATCAGAACCAAGATTTGTTGCCATCAAGTCAACA 2108
Query 2101 AAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGTTACATCC 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2109 AAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGCTCATCCTCATCGTCCCCTAAAGTTACATCC 2168
Query 2161 CCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGTCTGTATC 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2169 CCATGCTCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACCTTTAGAAGCTTTGCACCTGGCATGTCTGTATC 2228
Query 2221 TCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGCCAACGTC 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2229 TCCATTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGTAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCTGTTCTGCCAACGTC 2288
Query 2281 TTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTAT 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2289 TTTTTCTGTACCTCCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTAT 2348
Query 2341 GCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATC 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2349 GCCACCATTACCGCCTGGACCACCAGCACCTGTCTCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATC 2408
Query 2401 ACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCACGG 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2409 ACAAGTTGGTGGCCCCCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTGTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCACGG 2468
Query 2461 TGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGT 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2469 TGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGTCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGT 2528
Query 2521 AGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTCCAAGGCA 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2529 AGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAATCTGTCACCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTCCAAGGCA 2588
Query 2581 GTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTG 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2589 GTGCAAAACTTGTGGTCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTG 2648
Query 2641 GCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGT 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2649 GCATGTTACAAAGAACAGGAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGAAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGT 2708
Query 2701 CACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTT 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2709 CACCGCTGTTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTT 2768
Query 2761 TGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGA 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2769 TGTGCTCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGACAGACAGGAAGAGAAAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGA 2828
Query 2821 TGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGA 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2829 TGAGGAGCAAACATCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGA 2888
Query 2881 GACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTAATATCGA 2940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2889 GACTGACGAGTGGATGTACAGAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGTAATATCGA 2948
Query 2941 TGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCGG 3000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2949 TGGTTTGGAATGGTCACAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCGG 3008
Query 3001 CAATACTTCTTAGGGTGGGCATAGCTGGGATGATTTGATAGtttttttttCCCGTTGCGG 3060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 3009 CAATACTTCTTAGGGTGGGCATAGCTGGGATGATTTGATAGTTTTTTTTTCCCGTTGCGG 3068
Query 3061 CTGTAGGCATGACCTGTAAACTAATGGAGACTCAGATTTTG 3101
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 3069 CTGTAGGCATGACCTGTAAACTAATGGAGACTCAGATTTTG 3109
NCBI report page on LOC100280286 provides evidence that the gene with the ID LOC100280286 is also known as GRMZM2G012761 and has a locus tag of ZEAMMB73_Zm00001d000023.
Li SEQ ID NO: 13564, a polynucleotide sequence from an RNA library with a deletion relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 65, and with a sequence identity of over 99% identity to a gene with the tag ZEAMMB73_Zm00001d000023 reads on an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition to a sequence of a gene with the ID Zm00001d000023 and to a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 65 (instant claims 1-3). Although Li does not teach that a plant containing the mutation has bigger grains, the claims are drawn to the isolated polynucleotide with a mutation, which may be present in any plant, including plants which have bigger grains due to another factor, such as a different genetic locus or a horticultural practice.
Instant claims 4-6 recite that the mutation is obtained by technologies such as physical mutagenesis or CRISPR/Cas9 technology. However, claims 4-6 are product-by-process claims. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113 (I). The process of physical or chemical mutagenesis or CRISPR/Cas9 methods would not impart distinguishable characteristics on the polynucleotides beyond the mutation, and so the polynucleotide sequence of Li makes obvious a mutated sequence made by any of these methods having the same sequence. Claims 5 & 6 further limit the target sequence used in CRISPR/Cas9 technology, but the claims do not require that CRISPR/Cas9 technology be used, and so the claims encompass chemically or physically mutated sequences which are obvious over Li.
Claims 1-6 are obvious over Li in view of NCBI Reference Sequence XM_008663624.3.
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al (2008) The Plant Journal. (54): 785-964; published online 2/23/2008, hereafter Xing) in view of NCBI reference NP_001061151.1 (available 6/8/2010) and NCBI reference sequence XR_002269032.1 (available 5/12/2020) and taken with the evidence of the NCBI report page for gene ID LOC103653026 (updated 9/2/2026).
Claims 1-16 are drawn to a method comprising mutating a PCFS family gene to make the plant have bigger grains, an isolated polynucleotide of a gene mutant, and a use of the method and a mutant material obtained thereby.
Xing teaches that successful reproduction in plants relies on timely transition to reproductive growth (page 899, left column).
Xing teaches four homologs to PCF11p in Arabidopsis, which are named PCFS1, PCFS2, PCFS4 & PCFS5 (page 901, left column, paragraph 2). Of these proteins, Xing teaches that PCFS4 is the only homolog containing an intact CID domain at its N-terminus and that PCFS2 may have a truncated CID domain (page 901, left column, paragraph 2; figure 1a). Xing teaches that OsPCFS1 and OsPCFS2 are related to AtPCFS2 and AtPCFS4, while AtPCFS1 and AtPCFS5 arose after the divergence of monocots and dicots (page 901, left column, paragraph 3-page 902, left column, paragraph 1).
Xing teaches that PCFS4 mutants cause delayed flowering and increased number of leaves (page 902, left column, paragraph 2, table 1). Xing teaches two different T-DNA insertional mutations in the gene, one of which was confirmed by PCR to have a truncated transcript (figure 2, page 902, left column, paragraph 2-right column, paragraph 1; page 907, left column, paragraph 3). Xing teaches crossing a pcfs4-1 mutant with a flc-3 mutant to recover F2 plants (page 907, left column, paragraph 3).
Xing teaches that the rice homolog OsPCFS2 has a sequence found in GenBank accession number NP_001061151 (figure 1 caption).
Xing teaches that the mutant plants grew and developed normally (page 902, right column, paragraph 2-page 903, left column, paragraph 1) but is silent with respect to seed size.
Xing does not teach a nucleotide sequence with a gene ID of Zm00001d000023, Zm00001d005350, Zm00001d019856 or Zm00001d049442. Xing does not teach that mutating the PCFS family gene makes the plant have bigger grains. Xing does not teach a polynucleotide with a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 104 or 105.
Fang teaches that a crop plant which produces higher yield needs a longer growth period because of the production rate of photosynthesis, so early maturing cultivars usually have a low yield and rice cultivars providing a yield increase required long periods for maturing or harvesting (page 18717, left column, paragraph 1-2). Fang provides a motivation to increase yield to increase food production (page 18717, left column, paragraph 1).
NCBI reference NP_001061151.1 teaches an amino acid sequence with 69.62% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 75 (see alignment below, SEQ ID NO: 75 is on top), encoded by the gene Os08g0187700 with the NCBI Gene ID 4344833.
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
1215 bits(3143)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
653/938(70%)
736/938(78%)
30/938(3%)
Query 43 LRELTFNCKPVITELTIIAGQHATLAAGGIADAICARVAEVPPDQILPSLYLLDSIVKNI 102
L ELTFNCKP+ITELTIIAGQHA LAA GIADAICAR+AEV DQ LPSLYLLDSIVKNI
Sbjct 51 LSELTFNCKPIITELTIIAGQHAALAARGIADAICARIAEVSADQKLPSLYLLDSIVKNI 110
Query 103 GGEYVEHFATRLRSVFVDAYYRVHPNQYTSMRRLFRTWWPVFPSSVLRSIEDDLQFSSSE 162
G EYV HFA RL+ VF DAY +VH NQ+ +MR LF TW VFPSSVLR IED+LQFS E
Sbjct 111 GREYVGHFAARLQKVFCDAYRKVHRNQHAAMRHLFGTWSQVFPSSVLRGIEDELQFSPLE 170
Query 163 NNRPTTSTNLHQTESLSPRPSHGIHVNPKYLEAQHKFKQANVVHQPAARDTRQMTDVQED 222
N R T+T++ Q+ES+SPR SH IHVNPKYLEAQ +FKQ+ VHQP R RQM DV+ED
Sbjct 171 NKRSATATDIRQSESISPRLSHAIHVNPKYLEAQQQFKQSTSVHQPITRGNRQMNDVEED 230
Query 223 LINGLASNSSCERP---SIFQKSSLQYADDPDQQETFRPLAG-TRAASPHLLSTHASDMN 278
INGL S SS P S QKS++ YADD DQQE F G R +SPHLLS H S +N
Sbjct 231 QINGLTSKSSRGWPATNSKLQKSTMLYADDLDQQEAFCSHTGLIRPSSPHLLSKHPSILN 290
Query 279 LDGPLVNSRRNLSISPPLDVFSRNVSPKRALERLPPSHSVLGPDPRKFTDRNGRL--RWG 336
+GPL NSRR +S SPPLDV RN SPKRALER P SHSVLGPDPR+ DRNG +W
Sbjct 291 TEGPLANSRRTMSRSPPLDVLPRNASPKRALERPPLSHSVLGPDPRRLPDRNGWFERKWA 350
Query 337 LDDGAQRPTISMLDEEYRKQSARELIDAYGNCQGRDADERLPKVQRLDPNGMASRSSARN 396
+DGAQRP++S+LDEEYRKQSARELIDAYGN QG+D DERLPK+QRLD NGMA R SA+
Sbjct 351 FEDGAQRPSMSILDEEYRKQSARELIDAYGNSQGKDVDERLPKMQRLDSNGMAGRPSAQK 410
Query 397 WLTSEEEEYSWEDMSPTLTDRVSSSMPSFPP-GTMRTGFPGANAGLLESDVGRHNFPSQA 455
WLTSEEEEY+WEDMSPTLTDR +S+PS PP GT+R GF G N+GLLESD+ RH++P QA
Sbjct 411 WLTSEEEEYTWEDMSPTLTDRNRTSVPSLPPLGTLRAGFLGPNSGLLESDIVRHSWPGQA 470
Query 456 TRLSVDGSPFNLEDRFSTASEHLYLLQHVNMSTRRYPSNFGVQNGALLKFQNSEHALNHG 515
R ++DG P NLEDR T + N RRYP NFGVQNGA L +Q+SEH L+ G
Sbjct 471 PRPAIDGPPLNLEDRIPTNGP----VDRTN--NRRYPGNFGVQNGAFLDYQSSEHTLDPG 524
Query 516 RIATMPAPPWQQPTGLPLQMQAPQHSSALDRLPQPADSEMPVKRLDIRGTYNGLNVDRSL 575
R TMP PPWQQ G PL++QAPQ +S L+R+P P DSE+PVKRL GTY+ LNVD L
Sbjct 525 R-TTMPVPPWQQTIGQPLRVQAPQPASILNRMPLPTDSEVPVKRLATGGTYDALNVDIPL 583
Query 576 AEKHRSSPARAPTEWLPLHHTPSQTLPLIIPETKHVRSASDSLEISSFVSQGASSSVFVP 635
EK RSSPA AP EW PL+ T S T+ I P+TKH R ASD L+ F+SQG+SSSVFVP
Sbjct 584 LEKQRSSPAHAPMEW-PLN-TQSLTIQPIPPDTKHPRGASDGLDSRPFISQGSSSSVFVP 641
Query 636 HHQYDALDRKT-GTRNLAQPPYQHQDLLLPSQQNQGTILGNQVHPHLPQQLHPHSHPHHQ 694
H ALDR+T +LAQP YQH DLL SQQNQGT+LGNQ PH P Q HPH H H Q
Sbjct 642 QHH--ALDRRTMNADDLAQPSYQHPDLLSLSQQNQGTVLGNQGQPHHPPQFHPHPHSHLQ 699
Query 695 ETFRSFAPGMTVSP----FQGQGGNATMTPVSVLPT-FSVPPAVPPYGVLSAPGFPMPPL 749
ET RSFAP M+V+P F GQGG+A ++LP+ F VPPAVPPYG+ S PGFP+P L
Sbjct 700 ETIRSFAPSMSVAPPQNIFHGQGGSA----AALLPSSFPVPPAVPPYGLQSMPGFPLPSL 755
Query 750 PPGPPPVPLQMGSSSSQVGGPQPFVSGLLSNLMRHGVISLEPPSQSQDSVGVDFNVDLKV 809
P GPPP Q+G SSSQVGGP P VSGLLSNLM+HG+ISL+PPSQ QDSVGVDFNVDLKV
Sbjct 756 PSGPPPP-SQIGPSSSQVGGP-PLVSGLLSNLMQHGIISLQPPSQPQDSVGVDFNVDLKV 813
Query 810 RNEPVINALYQDLSRQCKTCGLRFKCQEEHRAHMDWHVTKNRNSKNRKQSSRKYFVTVEE 869
RNE VINALYQDL RQCKTCGLRFKCQEEHRAHMDWHVTKNRNSKNRKQ+SRKYFVTV E
Sbjct 814 RNESVINALYQDLPRQCKTCGLRFKCQEEHRAHMDWHVTKNRNSKNRKQTSRKYFVTVGE 873
Query 870 WLRAAETVGNDGVPAFVPSDPVPDRKEEREIAVPADEEQTACALCQEPFEDFYSDETDEW 929
WLRAAETVGNDGVP+F P++PV D KEE+E+AVPADE+QT CALCQEPFEDFYSDET+EW
Sbjct 874 WLRAAETVGNDGVPSFEPAEPVADAKEEKELAVPADEDQTTCALCQEPFEDFYSDETEEW 933
Query 930 MYRGAVYMNAPDGNIDGLERSRLGPIVHAKCRSGPSNT 967
MY+GAVYMNAPDGNI GLERS+LGPIVHAKC SGP+NT
Sbjct 934 MYKGAVYMNAPDGNIGGLERSQLGPIVHAKCLSGPNNT 971
NCBI Reference Sequence XM_015794535.2 teaches the polynucleotide sequence of an mRNA of the rice gene of gene ID 4344833, which comprises a sequence with 78% identity to 75% of instant SEQ ID NO: 74. See alignment below. The sequence of XM_015794535.2 also comprises a sequence with 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 92. See second alignment below.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
2342 bits(2597)
0.0
2291/2932(78%)
108/2932(3%)
Plus/Plus
Query 242 ggtggggcACGTGGTggagaggttcagggcgaggctgcgggaggagcaggaggaggagga 301
|| ||| |||||||||||| ||||| || || | ||||| |||||
Sbjct 27 GGCGGGCCACGTGGTGGAGCGGTTCCGGTCGCGACTGCGCGAGGAA-------------- 72
Query 302 ggggggaggcggggaggtggcggcggcggcggtggtgcgggtgtacgtggaggtgCTCTC 361
| ||| ||||| ||| || || || ||||| |||| ||||||| ||||| ||||
Sbjct 73 -GCGGGCGGCGGCGAGCCGGGCGCCGCCGCGGTCGTGCACGTGTACGCGGAGGCGCTCCG 131
Query 362 GGAGCTCACGTTCAACTGCAAGCCCATCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATCGCCGGGCAGCA 421
||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| || |||||
Sbjct 132 TGAGCTAACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATCGCGGGCCAGCA 191
Query 422 CGCGGCCCTCGCCGCGAGGGGGATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCATCGCGGAGGTGTC 481
||| | |||||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||| |
Sbjct 192 CGCCACGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCGTCGCCGAGGTGCC 251
Query 482 TGCCGACCAGAAATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGACAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAGGACG 541
| || |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |
Sbjct 252 ACCAGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAGGTGG 311
Query 542 AGAATATGTAGGGCATTTTGCCGCTAGGTTGCAGAAG-GTATTTTGTGATGCCTATAGGA 600
|||||||||| ||||||||| ||||||||| |||| |||||| |||||| || |
Sbjct 312 GGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAACTAGGTTGC-GAAGTGTATTTGTTGATGCATACTACA 370
Query 601 AAGTTCACCGCAATCAGCATGCTGCAATGCGACACCTCTTTGGTACCTGGTCACAAGTGT 660
|||||| | || ||| || || ||||| | | ||||||| ||||||||| | |||||
Sbjct 371 GAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATACTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGGTGGCCAGTGT 430
Query 661 TCCCTTCCTCTGTGCTACGCGGAATTGAGGATGAGCTTCAGTTTTCCCCCTTAGAGAATA 720
||||||| |||||||| ||| | ||||||||||| ||||| ||||| ||| |||||||
Sbjct 431 TCCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCGCAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCTTCCTCGGAGAATA 490
Query 721 AGCGCTCTGCCACAGCGACTGATATCCGACAGTCAGAGTCGATATCTCCTAGACTGTCTC 780
| ||| | ||||| | || || | | || |||||||| |||||||||| | ||||
Sbjct 491 ACCGCCCCACCACATCAACAAATCTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCTAGGCCATCTC 550
Query 781 ATGCCATTCATGTAAATCCAAAATATTTAGAAGCACAACAACAATTTAAGCAGTCAACTT 840
||| ||| ||||||||||| ||||| | ||||||||||| | || |||||| | | |
Sbjct 551 ATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTGGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAGCAGGCCAATG 610
Query 841 CGGTGCATCAACCAATAACTCGTGGAAATCGGCAAATGAATGATGTGGAAGAGGATCAAA 900
|||||| || ||| | |||| | | | ||||||||| ||||||| | ||||||| |
Sbjct 611 TGGTGCACCAGCCAGCAGCTCGGGACACTAGGCAAATGACTGATGTGCAGGAGGATCTGA 670
Query 901 TAAATGGTTTAACATCTAAAAGTTCGCGAGGATGGCCTGCAACTAATTCAAAGCTCCAGT 960
||||||| ||| |||| || |||||| | | | ||||| ||| | | || | | |
Sbjct 671 TAAATGGATTAGCATCGAATAGTTCGTGTGAACGGCCTTCAATTT-TCCAGA-----AAT 724
Query 961 CTACTATGCTGTATGCTGACGATCTTGATCAACAAGAGGCATTTTGTTCACATACTGGGT 1020
|| || | | ||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||| | ||| | | | | ||||
Sbjct 725 CTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGATCAACAAGAGACGTTTCGGCCTCTTGCTGGA- 783
Query 1021 TGATAAGGCCAAGTTCGCCACATCTTTTAAGCAAACATCCTTCC-ATACTCAATACAGAA 1079
| |||| || || |||||||| || || | |||| | || ||| | ||| |||
Sbjct 784 --ACAAGGGCAGCATCACCACATCTCTTGAGTACACATGCATCTGATA-TGAATCTAGAT 840
Query 1080 GGACCATTAGCCAATTCAAGAAGAACCATGTCAAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGCTCCCT 1139
|| ||||||| ||||||||| |||| | |||| | ||||||||||||||||||| || ||
Sbjct 841 GGGCCATTAGTCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCATATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTCTCT 900
Query 1140 AGAAATGCATCCCCCAAGAGAGCTCTGGAGAGGCCACCACTATCGCATTCTGTTCTAGGA 1199
|| |||| |||||||||||||| || ||||||| |||| ||| |||||||| | |||
Sbjct 901 AGGAATGTGTCCCCCAAGAGAGCACTAGAGAGGCTGCCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTGGGA 960
Query 1200 CCTGACCCCAGAAGATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGTTGGTTTGAACGGAAGTGGGCTTTTGAG 1259
||||| ||||||| ||| ||||||||||||| |||| || || |||| ||| ||
Sbjct 961 CCTGATCCCAGAAAATTCACTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTT--AA--GA--TGGGGTTTGGAT 1014
Query 1260 GATGGTGCACAACGGCCTTCGATGAGCATACTTGATGAAGAATATAGAAAGCAAAGTGCA 1319
|||||||||||||||||| | || || || ||||||||||| || || ||||||||||||
Sbjct 1015 GATGGTGCACAACGGCCTACAATCAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCA 1074
Query 1320 AGGGAACTTATTGATGCTTATGGAAATTCTCAAGGAAAAGATGTCGATGAAAGGCTTCCC 1379
||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||| ||||||| ||||| |||||| | |||||
Sbjct 1075 AGGGAACTTATTGATGCATATGGGAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCT 1134
Query 1380 AAGATGCAACGTCTAGATTCAAATGGCATGGCAGGCAGACCTAGTGCACAAAAATGGCTA 1439
|| |||| || || ||| ||||||| ||||| ||||| ||||||||| ||| ||| ||
Sbjct 1135 AAAGTGCAGCGCCTGGATCCAAATGGTATGGCTAGCAGATCTAGTGCACGAAATTGGTTA 1194
Query 1440 ACTTCGGAGGAAGAAGAGTATACTTGGGAAGATATGAGTCCTACTTTAACTGATCGAAAC 1499
||||| ||||||||||||||| | ||||| |||||||| || ||||| ||||||||| |
Sbjct 1195 ACTTCCGAGGAAGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGCCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTC 1254
Query 1500 AGAACCAGCGTGCCCTCTTTACCTCCCCTTGGAACCCTGAGAGCTGGATTTCTTGGGCCA 1559
|| | |||| |||| ||||| ||||| ||||||| ||||| ||||||||| |||| ||
Sbjct 1255 AGTAGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCC---TGGAACCATGAGAACTGGATTTCCTGGGGCA 1311
Query 1560 AACAGTGGACTACTGGAATCTGATATTGTGAGGCACAGTTGGCCAGGCCAGGCTCCTCGA 1619
|| || |||||||||||||| ||| |||||||| || ||| |||| ||| || ||
Sbjct 1312 AATGCAGGGTTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCCAAGCCAAGCTACTAGA 1371
Query 1620 CCAGCAATTGATGGGCCACCACTAAATCTCGAAGATAGAATTCCTACTA-ACGGG--CCC 1676
| | ||||||| |||| | ||||| |||||||| || | ||| | | | | |
Sbjct 1372 TTATCGGTTGATGGTTCACCGTTTAATCTTGAAGATAGGTTTTCAACTGCAAGTGAACAC 1431
Query 1677 GTTGAC-------AGAAC--TAATA-----ACA-GGAGATATCCAGGCAATTTTGGTGTT 1721
|| || || | ||| | ||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1432 CTTTACCTCTTGCAGCATGTTAACATGTCTACAAGGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTT 1491
Query 1722 CAGAATGGTGC-CTTTTTAGATTACCAGAGTTCTGAACATACTCTTGATCCTGGGAGAA- 1779
|||||||| || ||||| | ||| ||||| |||||||||| | || ||| ||||||||
Sbjct 1492 CAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTGAAATT-CCAGAATTCTGAACATGCCCTAAATCATGGGAGAAT 1550
Query 1780 --CTACCATGCCAGTTCCACCTTGGCAGCAGACTATTGGTCAGCCGTTGCGGGTACAAGC 1837
|||||||||||| |||||||||||| ||| ||| ||||| ||| |||| | |||||
Sbjct 1551 TGCTACCATGCCAGCTCCACCTTGGCAACAGCCTACTGGTCTGCCATTGCAAATGCAAGC 1610
Query 1838 GCCCCAGCCTGCATCAATTCTGAATAGAATGCCACTGCCTACTGATAGTGAAGTGCCAGT 1897
|| || | | | ||| || ||||| | |||| ||| |||| |||||| |||||||
Sbjct 1611 ACCTCAACATTCTTCAGCACTTGATAGATTACCACAGCCCGCTGACAGTGAAATGCCAGT 1670
Query 1898 CAAGAGGTTGGCCACTGGTGGTACATATGATGCGCTGAATGTAGATATTCCATTGTTGGA 1957
||||||||||| || | |||| ||||| ||| |||||||||||| | ||| |||
Sbjct 1671 CAAGAGGTTGGACATTCGTGGCACATACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAGATCCTTGGCGGA 1730
Query 1958 GAAGCAAAGGTCCTCACCTGCTCATGCTCCAATGGAATGGCCTC----TTA--ATACACA 2011
|||||| ||||| |||||||||| |||||| | ||||||| || | | ||||||
Sbjct 1731 GAAGCATAGGTCATCACCTGCTCGTGCTCCGACAGAATGGCTTCCCCTTCACCATACACC 1790
Query 2012 GTCACTAACTATACAACCAATTCCACCTGATACCAAACATCCTAGAGGCGCATCAGATGG 2071
|||| |||| ||| || |||| |||||| || |||||| |||| | ||||| ||| |
Sbjct 1791 ATCACAAACTTTACCACTAATTATACCTGAGACAAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCGGATAG 1850
Query 2072 TCTAGATTCTAGACCATTTATTAGCCAAGGGTCCAGTTCGTCTGTTTTTGTTCCACAGCA 2131
| |||| ||| | ||| |||||||||| | ||||| || || |||||||| || ||
Sbjct 1851 TTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTTTGTTAGCCAAGGAGCTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCGCATCA 1910
Query 2132 TCA------TGCCTTGGATCGGAGAACAATGAATGCTGATGATTTAGCTCAACCATCATA 2185
||| ||||||||| |||| |||| | | | | | |||||||||||| ||||
Sbjct 1911 TCAGTATGATGCCTTGGACCGGAAAACAGGTAC--CCG-TAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATA 1967
Query 2186 TCAGCATCCAGATTTGTTGTCATTGAGTCAACAAAATCAGGGCACAGTTTTGGGAAACCA 2245
|||||| | |||||||||| | || ||||||||||| || ||| |||||||||||||
Sbjct 1968 TCAGCACCAAGATTTGTTGCTACCAAGCCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCA 2027
Query 2246 AGGTCAACCTCATCACCCGCCGCAATTTCATCCCCATCCTCATTCTCACCTTCAAGAGAC 2305
|| ||| ||||||| || | || || ||||||||| | ||| |||||| ||| |||||
Sbjct 2028 AGTTCATCCTCATCTGCCCCAACAGTTACATCCCCATTCCCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGAC 2087
Query 2306 AATTAGAAGCTTTGCCCCCAGTATGTCTGTTGCACCTCCACAAAATATATTCCATGGACA 2365
|||||||||||||||| | ||| |||| | ||||| ||||| |||||
Sbjct 2088 TTTTAGAAGCTTTGCCCCTGGCATGACTGT---ATCTCCA---------TTCCAAGGACA 2135
Query 2366 AGGAGGTAGCGCAGC--TG-CAC---------TCCTGCCAAGTTCTTTCCCTGTACCACC 2413
|||||| | ||| | || ||| | ||||||| || || ||||||||||
Sbjct 2136 AGGAGGCAATGCAACCATGACACCAGTTTCCGTTCTGCCAACTTTTT---CTGTACCACC 2192
Query 2414 TGCAGTACCACCCTATGGCTTGCAGTCTATGCCTGGATTTCCTTTGCCATCGTTACCTTC 2473
||| || |||||||||||| ||| |||| ||||| |||||| ||||| | ||||| |
Sbjct 2193 TGCTGTGCCACCCTATGGCGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCC 2252
Query 2474 AGGACCACCTCCT---CCATCGCAGATAGGTCCATCATCATCGCAAGTTGGGGGCCCTCC 2530
|||||||| ||| ||| |||||| ||| |||||||||| |||||||| |||||||
Sbjct 2253 CGGACCACCACCTGTCCCACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCTCA 2312
Query 2531 AC---TTGTCTCTGGATTGTTAAGTAACCTTATGCAGCATGGTATAATCTCATTGCAACC 2587
|| ||||||||||| | || ||||||||||||| ||||||| |||| ||| || ||||
Sbjct 2313 ACCATTTGTCTCTGGACTTTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCATGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACC 2372
Query 2588 ACCCAGCCAACCTCAGGATTCTGTGGGTGTTGACTTCAATGTTGACCTCAAGGTACGGAA 2647
||| |||||| | ||||||||||| || |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2373 ACCTAGCCAATCCCAGGATTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAA 2432
Query 2648 CGAGTCTGTCATTAATGCTCTGTATCAGGATCTTCCGAGGCAATGCAAAACTTGTGGCCT 2707
||| ||||||| |||||| |||||||||||||| | ||||| || ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2433 TGAGCCTGTCATCAATGCTTTGTATCAGGATCTTTCAAGGCAGTGTAAAACTTGTGGCCT 2492
Query 2708 TCGTTTTAAATGCCAAGAAGAACATCGTGCTCACATGGATTGGCATGTTACGAAAAACAG 2767
||| |||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||| ||
Sbjct 2493 TCGATTTAAATGCCAAGAGGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAAAATAG 2552
Query 2768 AAATTCAAAGAATCGTAAGCAAACTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACTGTGGGTGAATGGTT 2827
||||||||||| ||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| |||| ||||||||
Sbjct 2553 GAATTCAAAGAACCGTAAGCAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACGGTGGAGGAATGGTT 2612
Query 2828 AAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGTGTTCCTTCTTTTGAGCCTGCCGAACCAGT 2887
|||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| |||||| ||| | || |||||
Sbjct 2613 AAGAGCTGCAGAAACAGTAGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTTTGTGCCCTCAGACCCAGT 2672
Query 2888 TGCAGACGCAAAGGAAGAGAAAGAATTGGCTGTTCCTGCTGATGAGGACCAAACAACATG 2947
|||| ||||||||||| |||| | ||||||||||| |||||||| |||||| | ||
Sbjct 2673 CCCAGATAGAAAGGAAGAGAGAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACAGCCTG 2732
Query 2948 TGCTTTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAAACTGAAGAGTGGATGTA 3007
||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||
Sbjct 2733 TGCATTATGTCAAGAGCCATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAGACTGATGAGTGGATGTA 2792
Query 3008 CAAAGGTGCAGTTTATATGAATGCACCAGATGGAAATATTGGTGGTCTAGAAAGGTCGCA 3067
| |||||| || || |||||||||||||| || ||||||| |||||| |||||||| |
Sbjct 2793 TAGAGGTGCGGTCTACATGAATGCACCAGACGGTAATATTGATGGTCTGGAAAGGTCACG 2852
Query 3068 GTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCTATCTGGGCCAAACAATACTTAG 3119
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||| | ||||||||||
Sbjct 2853 GTTGGGACCTATTGTCCATGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCAGCAATACTTAG 2904
Alignment to instant SEQ ID NO: 92:
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
38.2 bits(19)
1e-07
19/19(100%)
0/19(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 GTATTGTGAAGAACATAGG 19
|||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 520 GTATTGTGAAGAACATAGG 538
NCBI reference sequence XR_002269032.1 provides evidence that an RNA sequence of a pcf homolog 4 in maize, which is encoded by gene ID LOC103653026, comprises a sequence with 78% identity to 79% of the sequence of sequence of XM_015794535.2. See alignment below. XR_002269032.1 is on the top.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
2370 bits(2628)
0.0
2285/2915(78%)
93/2915(3%)
Plus/Plus
Query 210 GGCGGGCCACGTGGTGGAGCGGTTCCGGTCGCGACTGCGCGAGGAA-------------- 255
|| ||| |||||||||||| ||||| || || | ||||| |||||
Sbjct 242 GGTGGGGCACGTGGTGGAGAGGTTCAGGGCGAGGCTGCGGGAGGAGCAGGAGGAGGAGGA 301
Query 256 -GCGGGCGGCGGCGAGCCGGGCGCCGCCGCGGTCGTGCACGTGTACGCGGAGGCGCTCCG 314
| ||| ||||| ||| || || || ||||| |||| ||||||| ||||| ||||
Sbjct 302 GGGGGGAGGCGGGGAGGTGGCGGCGGCGGCGGTGGTGCGGGTGTACGTGGAGGTGCTCTC 361
Query 315 TGAGCTAACCTTCAACTGCAAGCCGGTCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATCGCGGGCCAGCA 374
||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| || |||||
Sbjct 362 GGAGCTCACGTTCAACTGCAAGCCCATCATCACCGAGCTCACCATCATCGCCGGGCAGCA 421
Query 375 CGCCACGCTCGCCGCCGGGGGAATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCGTCGCCGAGGTGCC 434
||| | |||||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||| |
Sbjct 422 CGCGGCCCTCGCCGCGAGGGGGATCGCCGACGCCATCTGCGCCCGCATCGCGGAGGTGTC 481
Query 435 ACCAGATCAGATATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGATAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAGGTGG 494
| || |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |
Sbjct 482 TGCCGACCAGAAATTACCATCTTTGTATCTGCTAGACAGTATTGTGAAGAACATAGGACG 541
Query 495 GGAATATGTAGAGCATTTTGCAACTAGGTTGC-GAAGTGTATTTGTTGATGCATACTACA 553
|||||||||| ||||||||| ||||||||| |||| |||||| |||||| || |
Sbjct 542 AGAATATGTAGGGCATTTTGCCGCTAGGTTGCAGAAG-GTATTTTGTGATGCCTATAGGA 600
Query 554 GAGTTCATCCAAACCAGTATACTTCAATGAGGCGCCTCTTTCGTACCTGGTGGCCAGTGT 613
|||||| | || ||| || || ||||| | | ||||||| ||||||||| | |||||
Sbjct 601 AAGTTCACCGCAATCAGCATGCTGCAATGCGACACCTCTTTGGTACCTGGTCACAAGTGT 660
Query 614 TCCCTTCTTCTGTGCTTCGCAGCATTGAGGATGACCTTCAATTTTCTTCCTCGGAGAATA 673
||||||| |||||||| ||| | ||||||||||| ||||| ||||| ||| |||||||
Sbjct 661 TCCCTTCCTCTGTGCTACGCGGAATTGAGGATGAGCTTCAGTTTTCCCCCTTAGAGAATA 720
Query 674 ACCGCCCCACCACATCAACAAATCTGCATCAAACAGAGTCGTTATCTCCTAGGCCATCTC 733
| ||| | ||||| | || || | | || |||||||| |||||||||| | ||||
Sbjct 721 AGCGCTCTGCCACAGCGACTGATATCCGACAGTCAGAGTCGATATCTCCTAGACTGTCTC 780
Query 734 ATGGCATACATGTAAATCCTAAATACCTGGAAGCACAACATAAGTTCAAGCAGGCCAATG 793
||| ||| ||||||||||| ||||| | ||||||||||| | || |||||| | | |
Sbjct 781 ATGCCATTCATGTAAATCCAAAATATTTAGAAGCACAACAACAATTTAAGCAGTCAACTT 840
Query 794 TGGTGCACCAGCCAGCAGCTCGGGACACTAGGCAAATGACTGATGTGCAGGAGGATCTGA 853
|||||| || ||| | |||| | | | ||||||||| ||||||| | ||||||| |
Sbjct 841 CGGTGCATCAACCAATAACTCGTGGAAATCGGCAAATGAATGATGTGGAAGAGGATCAAA 900
Query 854 TAAATGGATTAGCATCGAATAGTTCGTGTGAACGGCCTTCAATTT-TCCAGA-----AAT 907
||||||| ||| |||| || |||||| | | | ||||| ||| | | || | | |
Sbjct 901 TAAATGGTTTAACATCTAAAAGTTCGCGAGGATGGCCTGCAACTAATTCAAAGCTCCAGT 960
Query 908 CTTCTTTACAGTATGCTGATGATCCTGATCAACAAGAGACGTTTCGGCCTCTTGCTGGA- 966
|| || | | ||||||||| |||| ||||||||||||| | ||| | | | | ||||
Sbjct 961 CTACTATGCTGTATGCTGACGATCTTGATCAACAAGAGGCATTTTGTTCACATACTGGGT 1020
Query 967 --ACAAGGGCAGCATCACCACATCTCTTGAGTACACATGCATCTGATA-TGAATCTAGAT 1023
| |||| || || |||||||| || || | |||| | || ||| | ||| |||
Sbjct 1021 TGATAAGGCCAAGTTCGCCACATCTTTTAAGCAAACATCCTTCC-ATACTCAATACAGAA 1079
Query 1024 GGGCCATTAGTCAATTCAAGGAGAAACTTGTCCATATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGTTCTCT 1083
|| ||||||| ||||||||| |||| | |||| | ||||||||||||||||||| || ||
Sbjct 1080 GGACCATTAGCCAATTCAAGAAGAACCATGTCAAGATCACCACCTCTTGATGTGCTCCCT 1139
Query 1084 AGGAATGTGTCCCCCAAGAGAGCACTAGAGAGGCTGCCACCATCTCATTCTGTATTGGGA 1143
|| |||| |||||||||||||| || ||||||| |||| ||| |||||||| | |||
Sbjct 1140 AGAAATGCATCCCCCAAGAGAGCTCTGGAGAGGCCACCACTATCGCATTCTGTTCTAGGA 1199
Query 1144 CCTGATCCCAGAAAATTCACTGATCGAAATGGCAGGTT--AA--GA--TGGGGTTTGGAT 1197
||||| ||||||| ||| ||||||||||||| |||| || || |||| ||| ||
Sbjct 1200 CCTGACCCCAGAAGATTGCCTGATCGAAATGGTTGGTTTGAACGGAAGTGGGCTTTTGAG 1259
Query 1198 GATGGTGCACAACGGCCTACAATCAGTATGCTTGATGAAGAGTACAGGAAGCAAAGTGCA 1257
|||||||||||||||||| | || || || ||||||||||| || || ||||||||||||
Sbjct 1260 GATGGTGCACAACGGCCTTCGATGAGCATACTTGATGAAGAATATAGAAAGCAAAGTGCA 1319
Query 1258 AGGGAACTTATTGATGCATATGGGAATTGTCAAGGACGAGATGCTGATGAACGACTTCCT 1317
||||||||||||||||| ||||| |||| ||||||| ||||| |||||| | |||||
Sbjct 1320 AGGGAACTTATTGATGCTTATGGAAATTCTCAAGGAAAAGATGTCGATGAAAGGCTTCCC 1379
Query 1318 AAAGTGCAGCGCCTGGATCCAAATGGTATGGCTAGCAGATCTAGTGCACGAAATTGGTTA 1377
|| |||| || || ||| ||||||| ||||| ||||| ||||||||| ||| ||| ||
Sbjct 1380 AAGATGCAACGTCTAGATTCAAATGGCATGGCAGGCAGACCTAGTGCACAAAAATGGCTA 1439
Query 1378 ACTTCCGAGGAAGAAGAGTATTCATGGGAGGATATGAGCCCAACTTTGACTGATCGAGTC 1437
||||| ||||||||||||||| | ||||| |||||||| || ||||| ||||||||| |
Sbjct 1440 ACTTCGGAGGAAGAAGAGTATACTTGGGAAGATATGAGTCCTACTTTAACTGATCGAAAC 1499
Query 1438 AGTAGCAGCATGCCATCTTTTCCTCC---TGGAACCATGAGAACTGGATTTCCTGGGGCA 1494
|| | |||| |||| ||||| ||||| ||||||| ||||| ||||||||| |||| ||
Sbjct 1500 AGAACCAGCGTGCCCTCTTTACCTCCCCTTGGAACCCTGAGAGCTGGATTTCTTGGGCCA 1559
Query 1495 AATGCAGGGTTACTGGAATCTGATGTTGGGAGGCACAATTTCCCAAGCCAAGCTACTAGA 1554
|| || |||||||||||||| ||| |||||||| || ||| |||| ||| || ||
Sbjct 1560 AACAGTGGACTACTGGAATCTGATATTGTGAGGCACAGTTGGCCAGGCCAGGCTCCTCGA 1619
Query 1555 TTATCGGTTGATGGTTCACCGTTTAATCTTGAAGATAGGTTTTCAACTGCAAGTCATGTT 1614
| | ||||||| |||| | ||||| |||||||| || | ||| | | |||
Sbjct 1620 CCAGCAATTGATGGGCCACCACTAAATCTCGAAGATAGAATTCCTACTAACGGGCCCGTT 1679
Query 1615 AACATGTCTACAA---GGAGATATCCAAGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGAGCTCTTTTG 1671
||| ||| | ||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||| || |||||
Sbjct 1680 GACAGAACTAATAACAGGAGATATCCAGGCAATTTTGGTGTTCAGAATGGTGC-CTTTTT 1738
Query 1672 AAATT-CCAGAATTCTGAACATGCCCTAAATCATGGGAGAATTGCTACCATGCCAGCTCC 1730
| ||| ||||| |||||||||| | || ||| |||||||| |||||||||||| |||
Sbjct 1739 AGATTACCAGAGTTCTGAACATACTCTTGATCCTGGGAGAA---CTACCATGCCAGTTCC 1795
Query 1731 ACCTTGGCAACAGCCTACTGGTCTGCCATTGCAAATGCAAGCACCTCAACATTCTTCAGC 1790
||||||||| ||| ||| ||||| ||| |||| | ||||| || || | | | |||
Sbjct 1796 ACCTTGGCAGCAGACTATTGGTCAGCCGTTGCGGGTACAAGCGCCCCAGCCTGCATCAAT 1855
Query 1791 ACTTGATAGATTACCACAGCCCGCTGACAGTGAAATGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGACATTCG 1850
|| ||||| | |||| ||| |||| |||||| |||||||||||||||||| || | |
Sbjct 1856 TCTGAATAGAATGCCACTGCCTACTGATAGTGAAGTGCCAGTCAAGAGGTTGGCCACTGG 1915
Query 1851 TGGCACATACAATGGTTTGAATGTAGATAGATCCTTGGCGGAGAAGCATAGGTCATCACC 1910
||| ||||| ||| |||||||||||| | ||| ||||||||| ||||| |||||
Sbjct 1916 TGGTACATATGATGCGCTGAATGTAGATATTCCATTGTTGGAGAAGCAAAGGTCCTCACC 1975
Query 1911 TGCTCGTGCTCCGACAGAATGGCTTCCCCTTCACCATACACCATCACAAACTTTACCACT 1970
||||| |||||| | ||||||| || | | |||||| |||| |||| ||| ||
Sbjct 1976 TGCTCATGCTCCAATGGAATGGCCTC----TTA--ATACACAGTCACTAACTATACAACC 2029
Query 1971 AATTATACCTGAGACAAAACATGTTAGAAGTGCATCGGATAGTTTAGAAATTAGTTCTTT 2030
|||| |||||| || |||||| |||| | ||||| ||| || |||| ||| | ||
Sbjct 2030 AATTCCACCTGATACCAAACATCCTAGAGGCGCATCAGATGGTCTAGATTCTAGACCATT 2089
Query 2031 TGTTAGCCAAGGAGCTAGTTCATCAGTATTTGTTCCGCATCATCAGTATGATGCCTTGGA 2090
| |||||||||| | ||||| || || |||||||| || ||||| |||||||||
Sbjct 2090 TATTAGCCAAGGGTCCAGTTCGTCTGTTTTTGTTCCACAGCATCA------TGCCTTGGA 2143
Query 2091 CCGGAAAACAGGTAC--CCG-TAACTTAGCTCAACCACCATATCAGCACCAAGATTTGTT 2147
|||| |||| | | | | | |||||||||||| |||||||||| | |||||||||
Sbjct 2144 TCGGAGAACAATGAATGCTGATGATTTAGCTCAACCATCATATCAGCATCCAGATTTGTT 2203
Query 2148 GCTACCAAGCCAACAAAATCAAGGTACAATTTTGGGAAACCAAGTTCATCCTCATCTGCC 2207
| | || ||||||||||| || ||| ||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||| ||
Sbjct 2204 GTCATTGAGTCAACAAAATCAGGGCACAGTTTTGGGAAACCAAGGTCAACCTCATCACCC 2263
Query 2208 CCAACAGTTACATCCCCATTCCCATCCTCACCATCAGGAGACTTTTAGAAGCTTTGCCCC 2267
| || || ||||||||| | ||| |||||| ||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2264 GCCGCAATTTCATCCCCATCCTCATTCTCACCTTCAAGAGACAATTAGAAGCTTTGCCCC 2323
Query 2268 TGGCATGACTGT---ATCTCCA---------TTCCAAGGACAAGGAGGCAATGCAACCAT 2315
| ||| |||| | ||||| ||||| ||||||||||| | ||| | |
Sbjct 2324 CAGTATGTCTGTTGCACCTCCACAAAATATATTCCATGGACAAGGAGGTAGCGCAGC--T 2381
Query 2316 GACACCAGTTTCCGTTCTGCCAACTTTTT---CTGTACCACCTGCTGTGCCACCCTATGG 2372
| ||| | ||||||| || || ||||||||||||| || |||||||||||
Sbjct 2382 G-CAC---------TCCTGCCAAGTTCTTTCCCTGTACCACCTGCAGTACCACCCTATGG 2431
Query 2373 CGTGCTGTCTGCACCTGGGTTTCCTATGCCACCATTACCGCCCGGACCACCACCTGTCCC 2432
| ||| |||| ||||| |||||| ||||| | ||||| | |||||||| ||| ||
Sbjct 2432 CTTGCAGTCTATGCCTGGATTTCCTTTGCCATCGTTACCTTCAGGACCACCTCCT---CC 2488
Query 2433 ACTGCAGATGGGTTCATCATCATCACAAGTTGGTGGCCCTCAACCATTTGTCTCTGGACT 2492
| |||||| ||| |||||||||| |||||||| ||||||| || ||||||||||| |
Sbjct 2489 ATCGCAGATAGGTCCATCATCATCGCAAGTTGGGGGCCCTCCAC---TTGTCTCTGGATT 2545
Query 2493 TTTGAGTAACCTTATGCGGCATGGTGTAATTTCACTGGAACCACCTAGCCAATCCCAGGA 2552
|| ||||||||||||| ||||||| |||| ||| || ||||||| |||||| | |||||
Sbjct 2546 GTTAAGTAACCTTATGCAGCATGGTATAATCTCATTGCAACCACCCAGCCAACCTCAGGA 2605
Query 2553 TTCTGTTGGAGTTGACTTCAATGTAGACCTCAAGGTACGGAATGAGCCTGTCATCAATGC 2612
|||||| || |||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||| |||||
Sbjct 2606 TTCTGTGGGTGTTGACTTCAATGTTGACCTCAAGGTACGGAACGAGTCTGTCATTAATGC 2665
Query 2613 TTTGTATCAGGATCTTTCAAGGCAGTGTAAAACTTGTGGCCTTCGATTTAAATGCCAAGA 2672
| |||||||||||||| | ||||| || ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2666 TCTGTATCAGGATCTTCCGAGGCAATGCAAAACTTGTGGCCTTCGTTTTAAATGCCAAGA 2725
Query 2673 GGAGCATCGTGCTCACATGGACTGGCATGTTACAAAAAATAGGAATTCAAAGAACCGTAA 2732
|| ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||| || ||||||||||| |||||
Sbjct 2726 AGAACATCGTGCTCACATGGATTGGCATGTTACGAAAAACAGAAATTCAAAGAATCGTAA 2785
Query 2733 GCAATCTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACGGTGGAGGAATGGTTAAGAGCTGCAGAAACAGT 2792
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Sbjct 2786 GCAAACTTCACGTAAATATTTTGTCACTGTGGGTGAATGGTTAAGAGCAGCAGAAACAGT 2845
Query 2793 AGGAAACGATGGAGTTCCTGCTTTTGTGCCCTCAGACCCAGTCCCAGATAGAAAGGAAGA 2852
|||||||||||| |||||| |||||| ||| | || ||||| |||| |||||||||
Sbjct 2846 AGGAAACGATGGTGTTCCTTCTTTTGAGCCTGCCGAACCAGTTGCAGACGCAAAGGAAGA 2905
Query 2853 GAGAGAAATTGCTGTTCCTGCGGATGAGGAGCAAACAGCCTGTGCATTATGTCAAGAGCC 2912
|| |||| | ||||||||||| |||||||| |||||| | ||||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2906 GAAAGAATTGGCTGTTCCTGCTGATGAGGACCAAACAACATGTGCTTTATGTCAAGAGCC 2965
Query 2913 ATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAGACTGATGAGTGGATGTATAGAGGTGCGGTCTACAT 2972
|||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||| | |||||| || || ||
Sbjct 2966 ATTTGAAGATTTCTACAGTGATGAAACTGAAGAGTGGATGTACAAAGGTGCAGTTTATAT 3025
Query 2973 GAATGCACCAGACGGTAATATTGATGGTCTGGAAAGGTCACGGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCA 3032
|||||||||||| || ||||||| |||||| |||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 3026 GAATGCACCAGATGGAAATATTGGTGGTCTAGAAAGGTCGCAGTTGGGACCTATTGTCCA 3085
Query 3033 TGCTAAATGTCGATCTGGGCCCAGCAATACTTAGG 3067
||||||||||| ||||||||| | |||||||||||
Sbjct 3086 TGCTAAATGTCTATCTGGGCCAAACAATACTTAGG 3120
The NCBI report page for gene ID LOC103653026 provides evidence that the gene known as polyadenylation and cleavage factor homolog 4 in maize has a locus tag of ZEAMMB73_Zm00001d049442.
Before the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Xing to mutate a PCFS family gene in Arabidopsis to a PCFS family gene in rice or in maize. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate a PCFS gene in rice or maize to achieve later flowering, which is known to be associated with higher yield due to the longer period of time for photosynthesis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because Xing teaches OsPCFS2 to be closely related to AtPCFS4, and a maize polyadenylation and cleavage factor homolog was also known.
An OsPCFS2 gene comprising a sequence with 78% identity to 79% of the full length of a maize gene with a locus tag of ZEAMMB73_Zm00001d049442, which reads on a gene ID of Zm00001d049442, reads on a polynucleotide capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition with the maize gene. The sequence of OsPCFS2 furthermore reads on a sequence capable of hybridizing under a stringent condition with a polynucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 74. The instant specification describes conditions that may be considered stringent but describes a broad range of conditions which may be adjusted for optimization. Claims 1-2 thus encompass a mutant gene comprising a polynucleotide having the sequence of OsPCFS2.
Xing is silent with respect to the phenotype of bigger grains in the mutant plant. However, Xing teaches mutation prematurely terminating the PCFS gene transcript and reducing expression, which would inherently confer a phenotype of bigger grains. No additional step is required for the bigger grain phenotype. Thus, the method made obvious by Xing of mutating a PCFS family gene and the polynucleotide of the mutated gene read on the instant invention wherein a plant comprising the mutated gene has bigger grains.
The T-DNA insertional mutants taught by Xing make obvious a method of mutating a PCFS family gene, which, applied to rice, reads on instant claims 8-9. T-DNA insertional mutations read on the addition of one or more nucleotides to the sequence of the gene (claims 3, 10). Crossing the mutants with another mutant line, as taught by Xing, reads on the use of the method and mutant material in breeding (claim 15) including that a plant is allowed to obtain the gene mutant and have a phenotype of bigger grains by means of gene mutation or hybridization (claim 16).
Claims 4-6 are drawn to the polynucleotide wherein the mutation is obtained by technologies such as physical mutagenesis or CRISPR/Cas9 technology. However, claims 4-6 are product-by-process claims. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113 (I). The process of physical or chemical mutagenesis or CRISPR/Cas9 methods would not impart distinguishable characteristics on the polynucleotides beyond the mutation, and so the polynucleotide sequence of Xing makes obvious a mutated sequence made by any of these methods having the same sequence. Furthermore, claims 4-6 & 11-13 only require that the mutation is obtained by technologies “such as” the listed technologies. It is indefinite whether these claims encompasses the method of T-DNA insertion as well as the methods explicitly listed, and so T-DNA mutation methods read on the instant claims because it is a technology for generating mutation like the other technologies listed in the claims. Claims 5, 6, 12 & 13 further limit the target sequence used in CRISPR/Cas9 technology, but the claims do not actually require that CRISPR/Cas9 technology be used. Claims 4-6 & 11-13 are therefore obvious over Xing in view of NCBI reference NP_001061151 .1.
Finally, because it would have been obvious to mutate and knock out the known polyadenylation and cleavage factor homolog 4 gene in maize, a polynucleotide with a sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 105 would have been obvious over Xing in view of NCBI reference NP_001061151 .1 and XR_002269032.1. It would have been obvious to perform the method in any maize line, and the exact mutation of instant SEQ ID NO: 105 would not have provided any particular benefit over another mutation to reduce or eliminate the activity of the gene. Claims 7 & 14 are obvious over Xing in view of NCBI reference NP_001061151 .1 and XR_002269032.1.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/VICTORIA L DELEO/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/Anne Kubelik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663