Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HOLES ON A SEAL CONTACTING SURFACE OF A FRAME OF A DEVELOPER STORAGE BODY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boettcher et al. (US 2022/0236665).
With respect to claims 1 and 10, Boettcher et al. disclose a developer storage body (e.g., item 112) comprising: a frame body (e.g., item 110) that stores a developer; a rotating member (e.g., item 134) a part of which is inserted into a hole portion (e.g., item(s) 166 and/or 167) provided in the frame body, the rotating member (134) agitating or conveying the developer in the frame body; and a seal member (e.g., item 220) held between the frame body (110) and the rotating member (134) in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotating member, wherein the frame body has a contact surface (e.g., figs. 7, 8, item 200) in contact with the seal member (220), and wherein the contact surface (200) has a first contact region in which a plurality of holes (e.g., item 210) are formed and arranged in a circumferential direction about the rotation axis (as shown at least by fig. 7A), and first contact portions (e.g., item(s) 206) are each formed between two of the plurality of holes (210) adjacent to each other (as shown at least by figs. 7 and/or 8), the first contact region restricting a movement of the seal member (220) relative to the frame body (110), and a second contact region formed at a region different from the first contact region in a radial direction about the rotation axis (e.g., fig. 8, flat outer contact region of 202; and/or the left contact region of contact surface (boss 200) in contact with a projecting part of shaft 135), the second contact region sealing the developer (as shown at least by fig. 8).
With respect to claim 2, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein the contact surface of the frame body includes a second contact region at a region different from the first contact region in a radial direction about the rotation axis, the second contact region being a substantially flat surface (e.g., fig. 8, flat outer contact region of 202; and/or the left contact region of contact surface (boss 200) in contact with a projecting part of shaft 135).
With respect to claim 3, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein the second contact region is provided on an inner side of the first contact region in the radial direction (as shown at least by fig. 8).
With respect to claim 4, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein a length L1 of the first contact region in the radial direction is shorter than a length L2 of the second contact region in the radial direction (as shown at least by fig. 8).
With respect to claim 5, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein at least a portion of the seal member (220) enters into at least one of the plurality of holes (as shown at least by figs. 7 and/or 8 and/or as discussed at least in paragraph 37).
With respect to claim 6, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein the at least one of the plurality of holes (210) has a receiving surface applied with a force by the portion of the seal member (220) in a rotating direction of the rotating member (as discussed at least in paragraphs 37-41 and/or as shown at least by figs. 7 and 8).
With respect to claim 7, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein the receiving surface extends in a radial direction about the rotation axis (as discussed at least in paragraphs 37-41 and/or as shown at least by figs. 7 and 8).
With respect to claim 8, Boettcher et al. further disclose wherein the rotating member comprises: a shaft member (e.g., item 135) rotatable about the rotation axis; and a supporting member supporting the shaft member and inserted into the hole portion (e.g., item(s) 135a and/or 135b), wherein the supporting member has an abutting portion (as shown at least by figs. 7 and/or 8), the abutting portion and the frame body (110) holding the seal member (220) therebetween (as shown at least by figs. 7 and/or 8).
With respect to claim 9, Boettcher et al. further disclose further comprising a power transmission member (e.g., drive gear 173) provided outside the frame body, the power transmission member transmitting a power to the rotating member, wherein the rotating member has a second engagement portion that is engaged with a first engagement portion of the power transmission member (as shown at least by figs. 5-8 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 32-41).
With respect to claim 11, Boettcher et al. disclose an image forming unit comprising (e.g., fig. 1, item 22): the developer storage body according to claim 1 (as discussed above); a unit main body (e.g., item 100) to which the developer storage body (112) is mounted, wherein the unit main body (100) comprises: an image forming body (e.g., item 120); a developer bearing body (e.g.,) item 128) that bears a developer to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing body (120); and a supply member (e.g., item 130) that supplies the developer to the developer bearing body (128).
With respect to claim 12, Boettcher et al. disclose an image forming apparatus (e.g., fig. 1, item 22) comprising: the image forming unit according to claim 11 (as discussed above); a transfer portion that transfers a developer image formed by the image forming unit to a medium (as discussed at least in paragraph 28); and a fixing portion (e.g., fuser 37) that fixes the transferred developer image to the medium.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Yamabe et al. (US 2016/0033898) disclose a seal member held by a contact surface of a frame body having a plurality of holes; Hori et al. (US 2012/0321341) disclose a contact surface with a plurality of holes contacting a seal; Murata (US 9964893) disclose a seal member contact surface comprising a plurality of holes.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW