DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a foam layer,” is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendment to the drawings filed February 19, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a developer container configured to, a supply rotator configured to and a layer thickness regulator configured to in claim 1.
Further, the Examiner would like to point out that is has been held that the phrase "configured to" has a narrower meaning than merely "capable of". See In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375,1381 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (the phrase "adapted to" construed narrowly to mean "configured to," as opposed to "capable of” or "having the capacity to," citing Aspex Eyewear, Inc. v. Marchon Eyewear, Inc., 672 F.3d 1335,1349 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); Typhoon Touch Techs., Inc. v. Dell, Inc., 659 F.3d 1376,1380 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (construing "memory ... configured to" as "memory that must perform the recited function"); Boston Sci. Corp. v. Cordis Corp., 2006 WF 3782840 (N.D. Cal. 2006) "A widely accepted dictionary definition of the word 'configure' means '[t]o design, arrange, set up, or shape with a view to specific applications or uses.' American Heritage Dictionary 386 (4th ed. 2000)."
Thus, Applicant's specification supports a narrower meaning for "configured to" than "capable of" and makes clear that, at least in the independent claims, under broadest reasonable interpretation "configured to" means more than merely "capable of.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato US 2018/0373178 (A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Nishida teaches a developing device comprising:
a latent image bearer (21);
the developing device (FIG. 2);
a developer bearer (23) rotatable in a first direction to supply developer to a latent image bearer (21);
a developer container (20a) to contain the developer to be supplied to the developer bearer (23);
a supply rotator (25) to supply the developer in the developer container to the developer bearer (21) at a contact position at which the supply rotator contacts the developer bearer (FIG. 2);
a layer thickness regulator (24) to form a layer of the developer having a regulated thickness on the developer bearer (¶0035); and
the supply rotator (25) rotates in a second direction opposite the first direction of the developer bearer at the contact position (¶0036), and
the supply rotator (25) has a surface of a foam layer (25a) including a single foam cell (201) having a diameter smaller than 300 µm (¶0065).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the developing device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the developer bearer upstream from the contact position in the first direction is lower than the contact position (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the developing device according to claim 1, wherein a surface movement velocity of the supply rotator (205 is lower than a surface movement velocity of the developer bearer (23) [hence creating the speed ratio, ¶0034-¶0036].
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the developing device according to claim 1, wherein the developer bearer bites into the supply rotator by 1 mm or greater at the contact position (¶0109).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches the developing device according to claim 1, wherein a negative charging bias applied to the developer bearer is higher than a negative charging bias applied to the latent image bearer to generate a potential difference between the developer bearer and the latent image bearer (via the developing bias, ¶0097).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852