1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 1/7/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 102198784) in view of Bae et al (“Bae 007” US 2017/0188007).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses an image monitoring device comprising:
a network interface configured to receive a plurality of images from a plurality of cameras through at least one channel (see figs 1 and 5; e.g., “as shown in FIG. 5, in a state in which at least one channel image data is displayed on a split screen”);
a user interface configured to allow a user to select at least a first image to be displayed on a screen from among the plurality of images that are received (see figs 1 and 5; e.g., “the step of performing editing is to select a video channel of interest while a multiple search screen of 3 or more channels is being played on the screen display, add a new channel video, rearrange the order, or display unnecessary video channels on the screen display. It can be excluded from the multiple search screen.”);
an image decoder configured to decode the first image that is selected (see fig 1; image data selection unit); and
an image synthesizer configured to display the first image, that is decoded, on the screen, wherein the screen comprises a plurality of unit cells, wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a second image being additionally selected via the user interface: display the first image and the second image together on the screen (see figs 1 and 5; e.g., “the step of performing editing is to select a video channel of interest while a multiple search screen of 3 or more channels is being played on the screen display, add a new channel video, rearrange the order, or display unnecessary video channels on the screen display. It can be excluded from the multiple search screen.”).
Bae does not expressly disclose increase an amount of the plurality of unit cells by expanding the plurality of unit cells first in a horizontal row direction and then in a vertical column direction, based on a condition that a number of the plurality of unit cells in the horizontal row direction is greater than or equal to a number of the plurality of unit cells in the vertical column direction is always satisfied.
However, Bae 007 discloses increase an amount of the plurality of unit cells by expanding the plurality of unit cells first in a horizontal row direction and then in a vertical column direction, based on a condition that a number of the plurality of unit cells in the horizontal row direction is greater than or equal to a number of the plurality of unit cells in the vertical column direction is always satisfied (see paragraphs [0007]-[0013]; e.g., “an arranging part configured to arrange the source images and a multiplexed image, a calculation part configured to calculate the number of multiplexed source images with maximum size in a horizontal direction and the number of multiplexed source images with maximum size in a vertical direction, according to a pixel resolution of the source images and a pixel resolution of a multiplexed image, and a multiplexing part configured to multiplex the source images in a horizontal direction in response to a calculation result showing that the number of source images to be multiplexed is smaller than the number of multiplexed source images with maximum size in a horizontal direction, and multiplex the source images in a vertical direction in response to a calculation result showing that the number of source images to be multiplexed is smaller than the number of multiplexed source images with maximum size in a vertical direction”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Bae 007’s teachings in Bae’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface wherein images of different views acquired at the same time instance, can be transmitted and received with the optimal quality even when the number of views of the multi-view images changes.
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to place the first image and the second image on the screen such that a relative position of the first image does not change when the second image is placed (see fig 1 and paragraph [0057]; e.g., fixed full channel image data list window).
Regarding claim 3, Bae 007 discloses wherein the plurality of unit cells have a same reference aspect ratio, and the image synthesizer is further configured to: place the first image in one unit cell from among the plurality of unit cells based on an aspect ratio of the first image being smaller than or equal to the reference aspect ratio; and place the first image across two or more unit cells from among the plurality of unit cells based on the aspect ratio of the first image being greater than the reference aspect ratio (see claim 7; e.g., calculation of normalized aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 4, Bae 007 discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a third image being added after the first image is placed in the two or more unit cells: place, based on an aspect ratio of the third image being smaller than or equal to an aspect ratio of an empty area of the screen that is adjacent to the first image placed in the two or more unit cells, the third image in the empty area of the screen; and place, based on the aspect ratio of the third image being greater than the aspect ratio of the empty area, the third image in another unit cell that is spaced apart from the first image (see claim 7; e.g., calculation of normalized aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 5, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to determine in advance a number of the plurality of unit cells required for placing a plurality of selected images, and place the plurality of selected images in the number of the plurality of unit cells determined such that a number of empty unit cells among the plurality of unit cells is minimized (see fig 1 and paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a command to place the second image at a first position where the first image is already placed being input through the user interface, place the second image in a unit cell from among the plurality of unit cells that is at a second position next to the first position (see paragraph [0049]; e.g., editing selected images; drag and drop).
Regarding claim 7, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a command to move a specific image from among a plurality of displayed images on the screen being input through the user interface: place the specific image at a position at which an existing image is present; find an empty unit cell from among the plurality of unit cells by scanning the screen in a horizontal direction from an upper left corner; and place the existing image in the empty unit cell (see paragraph [0049]; e.g., editing selected images; drag and drop).
Regarding claim 8, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a command to enlarge a specific image from among a plurality of displayed images on the screen being input through the user interface: enlarge the specific image such as to cover at least one image from among the plurality of displayed images; find at least one empty unit cell in an order of priority by scanning the screen in a horizontal direction; and place, based on the order of priority, the at least one image that is covered in the at least one empty unit cell (see paragraph [0049]; e.g., editing selected images).
Regarding claim 9, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on finding no empty unit cells as a result of the scanning, place the at least one image that is covered in at least one from among empty unit cells obtained by expanding the plurality of unit cells (see paragraph [0051]; e.g., adding new channel image data).
Regarding claim 10, Bae discloses wherein the image synthesizer is further configured to, based on a command to change a size or position of at least one from among displayed images on the screen being input through the user interface, change and display the at least one from among the displayed images according to the command and, based on a return command being input through the user interface, display an entirety of each of the displayed images by auto-fitting the displayed images within the screen (see paragraph [0049]; e.g., editing selected images).
Claims 11-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-10, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Selim (US 2014/0053191).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174