DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 1-7-2025
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1-7-2025 was filed on the mailing date of the application filed on 1-7-2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed the bass and treble speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell, and wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volumes of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit as claimed in claimed 4-5, 8, 12-13, 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-8 and 10-16. The spherical speaker of “Claim”. Should change to “claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
In Claim 10 line 2 “unit is fixedly connected to the fixing ring” lacks proper antecedent basis because no “a fixing ring” is recited in this claim nor the parent claim 9.
In claim 10 line 2 a period (.) after “using adhesive” should change to coma “,” and after using adhesive change “The” to “the”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li 2015/0181342 in view of Amae 2018/0310082
Regarding claim 1, Li 2015/0181342 discloses a spherical speaker (Figs 1-9) comprising an injection-molded shell (Figs 1-2, fixing part 10 and rigid container 30 together form an airtight resonance space 32, para [13, 56, 42] also discloses sealed connection part and passive diaphragm units have an integrated molded structure),
a passive diaphragm unit (Figs 1-6, passive diaphragm units 20, para [42]), and a speaker unit (active loudspeaker 1, para [42]);
wherein the diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit is blow-molded to form an arc surface with a curvature matching a surface of the injection-molded shell (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20 have an integrated molded structure to form an arc surface with a curvature matching a surface of the injection-molded shell),
wherein the injection- molded shell has a mounting opening for the passive diaphragm unit (Figs 6, 8-9, para [13, 56]), with the diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit exposed outside the mounting opening, forming a continuous spherical surface with the shell (Figs 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20 exposed outside the mounting opening, forming a continuous spherical surface with shell).
Li does not explicitly state that injection-molded shell. However, injection molded for loudspeaker shell was well known in the art.
Amae teaches in abstract and para [3, 5-6], the injection molding process for loudspeaker housing, the housing can be formed in spherical shape or any suitable shape, and Fig 7, para [40, 58-59] teaches housing 710, passive radiator diaphragm 725, speaker surround 730, and seals 740 all form a single, continuous unitary body that can be formed using an injection molding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known injection molded processing in Li’s invention as taught by Amae, the injection molded process for form a continuous unitized body, see Amae’s para [2-3, 40].
Regarding claim 3, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 1, wherein the injection-molded shell further comprises an opening for receiving the speaker unit (Figs 1-9 shows speaker unit/active loudspeaker 1, para [42-43]).
Li does not explicitly state the injection-molded shell.
Amae teaches wherein the injection-molded shell further comprises an opening for receiving the speaker unit (Fig 7, active driver (not show) may be disposed in opening 714, and seals 740 all forma single, continuous unitary body that can be formed using an injection molding process, para [58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known injection molded processing in Li’s invention as taught by Amae, the injection molded process for form a continuous unitized body, see Amae’s para [2-3, 40].
Regarding claim 9, Li 2015/0181342 discloses a spherical speaker (Figs 1-9) comprising a shell (Figs 1-2, fixing part 10 and rigid container 30 together form an airtight resonance space 32, para [13, 56, 42]),
a passive diaphragm unit (Figs 1-6, passive diaphragm units 20, para [42]), and a speaker unit (active loudspeaker 1, para [42]),
wherein the diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit forms an arc surface with a curvature matching a curvature of the shell (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20 have an integrated molded structure to form an arc surface with a curvature matching a surface of the injection-molded shell, para [13, 56, 42] also discloses sealed connection part and passive diaphragm units have an integrated molded structure),
wherein the shell has a mounting opening for receiving the passive diaphragm unit, with the diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit exposed outside the mounting opening, forming a continuous spherical surface with the shell (Figs 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20 exposed outside the mounting opening, forming a continuous spherical surface with shell).
Li does not explicitly state that injection-molded shell. However, injection molded for loudspeaker shell was well known in the art.
Amae teaches in abstract and para [3, 5-6], the injection molding process for loudspeaker housing, the housing can be formed in spherical shape or any suitable shape, and Fig 7, para [40, 58-59] teaches housing 710, passive radiator diaphragm 725, speaker surround 730, and seals 740 all form a single, continuous unitary body that can be formed using an injection molding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known injection molded processing in Li’s invention as taught by Amae, the injection molded process for form a continuous unitized body, see Amae’s para [2-3, 40].
Regarding claim 11, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 9, wherein the injection-molded shell further includes an opening for receiving the speaker unit (Figs 1-9 shows speaker unit/active loudspeaker 1, para [42-43]).
Regarding claim 14, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 9, wherein the passive diaphragm unit consists of two units (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows two passive diaphragm unit 20, which are arranged axially along the injection-molded shell on a left side and a right side, and para [13, 56, 42] also discloses sealed connection part and passive diaphragm units have an integrated molded structure).
Li does not explicitly state that injection-molded shell. However, injection molded for loudspeaker shell was well known in the art.
Amae teaches in abstract and para [3, 5-6], the injection molding process for loudspeaker housing, the housing can be formed in spherical shape or any suitable shape, and Fig 7, para [40, 58-59] teaches housing 710, passive radiator diaphragm 725, speaker surround 730, and seals 740 all form a single, continuous unitary body that can be formed using an injection molding process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known injection molded processing in Li’s invention as taught by Amae, the injection molded process for form a continuous unitized body, see Amae’s para [2-3, 40].
Claim(s) 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li 2015/0181342 in view of Amae 2018/0310082 further in view of Yang CN212936111U
Regarding claim 2, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 1, wherein the diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit is fixedly connected to a fixing ring of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive,
wherein the fixing ring has an extension surface with a curvature matching the surface of the injection-molded shell, and the extension surface is adhesively connected to an inner surface of the injection-molded shell (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20).
Li as modified by Amae does not explicitly state that the connected of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive, however using adhesive is well known in the art.
Yang CN212936111U teaches passive diaphragm 40, diaphragm body 41, surround or folding ring 42 is fixed to the rear shell 30 is formed with an annular stepped surface 50 and the fold ring 42 is fixed to the rear shell via stepped surface 50 with glue, para [28-29].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known connected of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive in Li’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Yang for securing and fixing the passive diaphragm via housing.
Regarding claim 10, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 9, The diaphragm portion of the passive diaphragm unit is fixedly connected to the fixing ring of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive.
The fixing ring has an extension surface with the same curvature as the surface of the injection- molded shell, and the extension surface is adhesively connected to the inner surface of the injection-molded shell (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows passive diaphragm unit 20).
Li as modified by Amae does not explicitly state that the connected of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive, however using adhesive is well known in the art.
Yang CN212936111U teaches passive diaphragm 40, diaphragm body 41, surround or folding ring 42 is fixed to the rear shell 30 is formed with an annular stepped surface 50 and the fold ring 42 is fixed to the rear shell via stepped surface 50 with glue, para [28-29].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wells- known connected of the passive diaphragm unit using adhesive in Li’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Yang for securing and fixing the passive diaphragm via housing.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 12-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li 2015/0181342 in view of Amae 2018/0310082 further in view of Setiabudi 2007/0058830
Regarding claim 4, Li 2015/0181342 as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 3, wherein the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit and a treble speaker unit. (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches wherein the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit (para [62-63] discloses one or more woofer loudspeaker 19/bass speaker unit) and a treble speaker unit (para [62] discloses one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble speaker unit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit and a treble speaker unit in Li’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Setiabudi in order to improve a spherical speaker.
Regarding claim 5, Li as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 4, wherein the treble and bass speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell. (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches wherein the treble and bass speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell (Figs 14a-14b, 15a-15b shows one or more woofer loudspeakers 19/bass and one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble, para [63]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the treble and bass speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell in Li’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Setiabudi in order to improve a spherical speaker.
Regarding claim 6, Li 2015/0181342 discloses the spherical speaker of Claim 5, wherein the passive diaphragm unit comprises two units (Figs 2, 4, 8-9 shows two passive diaphragm unit 20, which are arranged axially along the injection-molded shell on a left side and a right side).
Regarding claim 8, Li as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 8 (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches in abstract, para [59, 63] the present invention may be used for audio components, high fidelity loudspeakers, home theater loudspeakers, subwoofers in Figs 14a, 15a, passive radiators 20, para [62-63] and (Figs 14a-14b, 15a-15b shows one or more woofer loudspeakers 19/bass and one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble, para [63]).
Setiabudi teaches a volume of the passive diaphragm unit and bass speaker unit or tweeter speaker unit.
Setiabudi teaches the claimed invention except for spherical speaker of Claim 4, wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volume of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volume of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Li 2015/0181342 as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 11, wherein the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit and a treble speaker unit. (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches wherein the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit and a treble speaker unit (para [62-63] discloses one or more woofer loudspeaker 19/bass speaker unit) and a treble speaker unit (para [62] discloses one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble speaker unit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the speaker unit further comprises a bass speaker unit and a treble speaker unit in Li’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Setiabudi in order to improve a spherical speaker.
Regarding claim 13, Li 2015/0181342 as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 12, wherein the bass and treble speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell. (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches wherein the bass and treble speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell (Figs 14a-14b, 15a-15b shows one or more woofer loudspeakers 19/bass and one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble, para [63]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the treble and bass speaker units are arranged axially, vertically, along the injection-molded shell in Li’s invention as taught by Setiabudi in order to improve a spherical speaker.
Regarding claim 15, Li 2015/0181342 as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 12, wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volume of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit (referred to draw objection above).
Setiabudi teaches in abstract, para [59, 63] the present invention may be used for audio components, high fidelity loudspeakers, home theater loudspeakers, subwoofers in Figs 14a, 15a, passive radiators 20, para [62-63] and (Figs 14a-14b, 15a-15b shows one or more woofer loudspeakers 19/bass and one or more tweeter loudspeakers 24/treble, para [63]).
Setiabudi teaches a volume of the passive diaphragm unit and bass speaker unit or tweeter speaker unit.
Setiabudi teaches the claimed invention except for spherical speaker of Claim 4, wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volume of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have wherein a volume of the passive diaphragm unit is larger than area volume of the bass speaker unit or the treble speaker unit is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li 2015/0181342 in view of Amae 2018/0310082 further in view of further in view of Yanjie D885368S
Regarding claim 7, Li does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 1, wherein the injection-molded shell is connected with a strap for suspending the spherical speaker.
Yanjie D885368S teaches wherein the injection-molded shell is connected with a strap for suspending the spherical speaker (Fig 7 shows spherical speaker with hanging strap, see title).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the high- fidelity loudspeakers of Li’s invention as modified by Amae with a strap for suspending the spherical speaker as taught by Yanjie in order to carry the spherical speaker.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li 2015/0181342 in view of Amae 2018/0310082 further in view of further in view of Li Zhiyong (LEE, Ji-Yong) CN 202907170U
Regarding claim 16, Li 2015/0181342 as modified by Amae does not explicitly disclose the spherical speaker of Claim 9, wherein the passive diaphragm unit further comprises a ring-shaped counterweight block with a center containing a flow-through port.
Li CN 202907170U teaches wherein the passive diaphragm unit further comprises a ring-shaped counterweight block with a center containing a flow-through port (passive diaphragm unit/passive radiator 23 comprises a diaphragm 231, a counterweight/mass 232 and a connection portion 233, diaphragm 231 is used for in response to air pressure and vibrates, to strengthen the low frequency performance of audio amplifier; mass 232 is arrange on the vibrating diaphragm 231, is used for the oscillation amplitude of control vibrating diaphragm 231; connecting portion 233 is used for vibrating diaphragm 231 is fixed in the passive radiator breach of casing of loudspeaker box 21, and the counterweight 232 shaped not limited to square, rectangular, circular, oval, elliptical, para [52-54] also see Figs 2, 4, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the passive diaphragm unit further comprises a ring-shaped counterweight block with a center containing a flow-through port in Li 2015/0181342’s invention as modified by Amae as taught by Li CN 202907170U, in order to enhance the low frequency performance of sound box and the cost of manufacture in lower.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692