DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation-in-part of Application No. 17/584,718 (the “parent”), filed January 26, 2022, which claims the benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/142,973, filed January 28, 2021. A claim of a continuation-in-part is entitled to the benefit of a prior-filed application only if the prior-filed application provides 35 U.S.C. 112(a) support for every limitation of that claim. MPEP 211.05; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Subject matter first introduced in this application. The following disclosure appears in this application but not in the parent as filed: FIGS. 18-20 and their descriptions at [0031]-[0033]; the summary paragraphs at [0040]-[0044] (reference characters 100, 110, 120, 130, 140; “cubic shape … unit cell … corresponding to a filling ratio dictated by Effective Permittivity Medium Theory”; a lens “configured for transmission and reception of a plurality of frequency bands, a plurality of beam widths, or a combination thereof”; a second plurality of feed antennas 140 that transmit “through the intermediary element”); and the detailed description at [0050]-[0052] (Effective Permittivity Medium Theory, transformation optics “applied to a spherical symmetric Luneburg lens”, and the integration of “several designs of lenses into a single aspherical lens” providing “multiple frequency bands and/or multiple beam widths, simultaneously”).
Determination.
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 16, 17, 18 and 19 recite limitations that are supported only by the new matter identified above (claim 7 and claim 17(a): a lens “generated through a transformation optic technique applied to a spherical symmetric Luneburg lens”; claims 8-10, 17(a) and 19: a lens “configured for transmission and reception of a plurality of frequency bands, a plurality of beam widths, or a combination thereof”; claim 16: “a cubic shape … unit cell … corresponding to a filling ratio dictated by Effective Permittivity Medium Theory”; claim 17(d): “a second plurality of feed antennas (140) … so as to transmit or receive electromagnetic signals through the intermediary element (130)”). The parent discloses that flat, concave or other lens shapes “may be possible using a transformation optics technique” and that feed elements “may have variable frequency bands,” but it does not describe generating the main lens by transforming a spherical symmetric Luneburg lens, a single lens configured for a plurality of bands or beam widths, a cubic unit cell, Effective Permittivity Medium Theory, or a second feed plurality that transmits through an intermediary element. Accordingly, claims 7-10 and 16-19 are not entitled to the benefit of the parent application or the provisional application and have an effective filing date of January 7, 2025.
Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are supported by the parent as filed (the parent discloses a Luneburg lens “where the lens has an asymmetrical shape” and an “aspherical shape,” a plurality of feed antennas with “no dead zones,” fixed or movable feeds, an intermediary element that is a secondary lens, polarizer or waveguide, instantaneous handover, a 0 to 70 degree beam width, and single or double negative metamaterials). Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are treated as having an effective filing date of January 26, 2022. The provisional application (a five-page disclosure) does not describe an asymmetric or aspherical main lens, a coverage area with no dead zones, handover, a polarizer or waveguide intermediary element, the 0-70 degree beam width, or single/double negative metamaterials; therefore no claim is entitled to the January 28, 2021 provisional filing date.
Applicant is advised that each reference applied below qualifies as prior art against every claim under either effective filing date; the dates are stated under each ground.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) has a cubic shape, a diamond-shaped, a sphere-shaped unit cell, or a combination thereof corresponding to a filling ratio dictated by Effective Permittivity Medium Theory.” It is unclear (i) whether “a cubic shape” describes the overall shape of the lens or the shape of a unit cell of the lens (the specification, [0042], [0061] and [0070], uses cube, diamond and sphere to describe unit cells, while [0050] uses “flat, concave” to describe the lens); (ii) what noun “a diamond-shaped” modifies; and (iii) what “corresponding to a filling ratio” refers to — the lens, the unit cell, or the combination. For purposes of examination the claim is interpreted as: wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens comprises unit cells having a cubic, diamond or spherical shape, or a combination thereof, the unit cells having a filling ratio determined by effective medium (effective permittivity) theory.
Claim 17, element (d), recites “a second plurality of feed antennas (140) coupled directly with the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) so as to transmit or receive electromagnetic signals through the intermediary element (130).” A feed that is coupled directly with the lens has no element between it and the lens; yet the same feed is required to transmit or receive through the intermediary element. Element (c) does not recite where the intermediary element is located (between the lens and the second feeds, or on the opposite side of the lens from them), so the claim does not make clear whether (1) the intermediary element lies between the second feed antennas and the lens, in which case the feeds are not coupled “directly” with the lens, or (2) the intermediary element lies on the far side of the lens, in which case it is unclear how signals of only the second plurality, and not the first, pass through it. The specification ([0043]) repeats the claim language and FIG. 20 does not show element 140, so neither resolves the ambiguity. For purposes of examination, element (d) is interpreted as a second plurality of feed antennas coupled with the lens such that signals transmitted or received by the second plurality pass through the intermediary element and through the lens. Claim 18 is rejected for depending from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biswas et al., WO 2021/236822 A1 (published November 25, 2021), hereinafter “Biswas ’822.”
Regarding claim 1, Biswas ’822 discloses:
A system (100) configured for satellite communication, radar, or a combination thereof — [0006]: “The invention provides a low-cost, hemi-spherical beamscanning coverage, multi-beam, multi-band beamforming electronically steerable lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications.”; [0007]: “a new class of ultra-wideband lens antennas is created that allows for near hemispherical coverage patterns across multiple frequency ranges, ideal for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications.”
the system (100) comprising:
an asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) — [0053]: “A multiple flat sided modified Luneburg Lens antenna can provide a broadband and hemi-spherical coverage. The Modified Luneburg Lens antenna may have a geometric shape, e.g., a CupCake shape, comprising a flat surface at the bottom and multiple flat surfaces at the sides to manipulate the signal directivity of a radio frequency transmission or reception of interest in a plurality of octaves of bandwidth. The modified Luneburg lens may be quadrilateral (4 flat side surfaces), hexagonal (6 flat side surfaces), octagonal (8 flat side surfaces), decagon (10 flat side surfaces), or dodecagon (12 flat side surfaces) in shape.”; [0010]: “a modified Luneburg lens antenna may comprise flattened side surfaces and a flat bottom … The flattened side surfaces may be in the lower hemisphere of the lens.”; [0039]: “A new type of radio frequency optical lens, called a Modified Luneburg Lens, uses transformational optic (TO) mathematics to flatten the portion of the lower hemisphere of the spherical lens.” FIGS. 4, 9, 10 and 14. A Luneburg-type gradient-index lens whose lower hemisphere is flattened into a flat bottom and multiple flat sides while the upper hemisphere remains spherical is not symmetric about its center and is therefore an “asymmetric Luneburg lens” as that term is used in the specification ([0050]-[0052], [0074]).
a plurality of feed antennas (120) coupled with the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) so as to transmit or receive electromagnetic signals through the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) — [0020]: “the individual elements of the UWB antenna may function as individual feeds for individual beams aimed in separate directions through the lens.”; [0061]: “This new class of UWB lens antennas utilizes a UWB antenna such as a PUMA as a feed network to illuminate several cells of the Modified Luneburg Lens simultaneously.”; [0054]: “The anti-reflective layer marries the two devices (lens and PUMA) and creates a broadband impedance matching between the new modified Luneburg lens antenna and dipoles of the PUMA array while maintaining the capability of the system to transmit and receive signals in a plurality of octaves of bandwidth.”; [0029]: “the modified Luneburg lens may comprise flattened sides configured with Planar Ultrawideband Modular Arrays (PUMA) configured as feed sources.”
wherein each of the feed antennas (120) covers a sub-area of a continuous coverage area such that there are no dead zones in the coverage area — [0066]: “individual elements of the UWB antenna function as individual feeds for individual beams aimed in separate directions through the lens. In Figure 13, the relationship between the adjacent feeds and the adjacent beams is depicted. The lens and feed are designed in such a way that adjacent feeds will correspond to adjacent antenna beams. Assuming all elements are spaced correctly, the beams will overlap in such a way as to allow simultaneous illumination of an entire field of regard, in this case a field of roughly 60 degrees semi-hemispherical from boresite.”; [0064]: “elements … match the appropriate mapping of the modified Luneburg lens to cover a cell of area that translates to a specific direction out of the lens”; [0015]: “the intersection of the adjacent scanned beams may be designed to be about 1dB-3dB below to peak gain value”; [0069]: “configured for multiple simultaneous beams, potentially providing complete sky coverage with enough beams illuminated simultaneously.” Each feed covers a cell (sub-area) of the field of regard, and the adjacent beams overlap at a crossover 1-3 dB below peak, so the coverage area is continuous with no uncovered voids (no dead zones).
Regarding claim 2, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, wherein the feed antennas (120) are fixed relative to the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) — [0061]: “a flat (planar) interface in the southern hemisphere of the lens and surrounding the bottom hemisphere to which an antenna can be mated”; [0063]: “a multiple flat sided modified Luneburg lens fed by a PUMA antenna structure with or without an anti-reflective layer. The presence of the anti-reflective layer provides a broadband impedance matching and marry the two structures.”; [0062]: “(d) No moving parts required to operate.” The PUMA feed elements are mated to the flat faces of the lens and do not move relative to it.
Regarding claim 4, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, additionally comprising an intermediary element (130) between the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) and one of the feed antennas (120), or on the opposite side of the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) from one of the feed antennas (120) — [0052]: “Instead of attaching the feed directly to the lens, which has a varying match to the feed from center to the edge of the flat part of the structure, an interface layer (referred to as an ‘anti-reflective layer’) may be inserted between the feed and the modified lens.”; [0065]: “There will exist a single layer of material between the dipole layers of the UWB antenna and the modified Luneburg lens.” The anti-reflective layer is an element intermediate the lens and the feed antennas.
Regarding claim 6, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 4, wherein the intermediary element (130) is configured to provide enhancement of a radiation beam characteristic, shaping, directivity, polarization control, or delivered power control — [0052]: “This layer designed so that a good match between the feed and the lens is obtained across the entire interface surface”; [0054]: “creates a broadband impedance matching between the new modified Luneburg lens antenna and dipoles of the PUMA array”; [0027]: “a broadband anti-reflective (AR) layer can be included with each flattened surface to minimize any possible impedance mismatches resulting from the permittivity mismatches between the lens and free space”; [0065]: “Having the ability to optimize the design of the lens, the anti-reflective layer, and the individual feed elements maximizes the efficiency and bandwidth of this invention.” A matching layer that minimizes reflection at the feed-lens interface controls the power delivered from the feed into the lens (delivered power control) and enhances the radiated beam characteristic (efficiency, gain) across the band.
Regarding claim 7, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) is generated through a transformation optic technique applied to a spherical symmetric Luneburg lens — [0039]: “A new type of radio frequency optical lens, called a Modified Luneburg Lens, uses transformational optic (TO) mathematics to flatten the portion of the lower hemisphere of the spherical lens, allowing for a flat printed circuit board antenna feed to be connected to the lower hemisphere of the lens.”; [0049]: “The problem of having to feed the lens with a circular (non-planar) feed arrangement may be solved by using transformational optics (TO) mathematics to transform the feed surface from one that is round to one that is flat (planar).”; [0026]: “spherical Luneberg lens modified into multiple flat-surfaced lenses.”
Regarding claim 8, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) is configured for transmission and reception of a plurality of frequency bands, a plurality of beam widths, or a combination thereof — [0016]: “the Luneberg lens may have a wideband frequency coverage, optionally 6:1 bandwidth ratio, allowing for operation in multiple frequency bands simultaneously”; [0053]: “to manipulate the signal directivity of a radio frequency transmission or reception of interest in a plurality of octaves of bandwidth”; [0072]: “The modified Luneberg lens antenna may have a wideband frequency coverage allowing for operation in multiple frequency bands simultaneously. The modified Luneberg lens antenna may have a 5:1 bandwidth ratio, 6:1 bandwidth ratio, 7:1 bandwidth ratio, 8:1 bandwidth ratio, 9:1 bandwidth ratio, 10:1 bandwidth ratio, 11:1 bandwidth ratio, 12:1 bandwidth ratio, 13:1 bandwidth ratio, or 15:1 bandwidth ratio.” The claim is met by the “plurality of frequency bands” alternative.
Regarding claim 9, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 8, wherein the plurality of frequency bands, the plurality of beam widths, or the combination thereof are selected based on a desired application of the system (100) — [0007]: “allows for near hemispherical coverage patterns across multiple frequency ranges, ideal for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications”; [0072] (selectable 5:1 to 15:1 bandwidth ratios); [0057]: “UWB antennas such as the PUMA have the following properties that make them interesting for SATCOM and terrestrial microwave communications”; [0065]: “The design criteria for the antenna is to have well-behaved gain both spatially and across frequency.” The bandwidth (set of bands) of the lens antenna is chosen according to the intended SATCOM, terrestrial or radar application. To the extent “selected based on a desired application” describes the designer’s purpose rather than structure, it is given no patentable weight (MPEP 2111.02).
Regarding claim 12, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, wherein each feed antenna is individually designed to emit a light beam radiation with a beam width between about 0 and 70 degrees — [0067]: “As an example, a 25-cm. (10-in.) antenna has a half power beamwidth on the order of 2,3 degrees at 30GHz, For the coverage of +/- 45 degrees, a total of approximately 675 beams and feeds are required.”; [0066]: “individual elements of the UWB antenna function as individual feeds for individual beams aimed in separate directions through the lens.”; [0064]: “The element location is dictated not by phased array formulas but instead by the location of the beams.” Each individual feed element produces an individual beam with a 2.3 degree half-power beamwidth, which is within the claimed range of about 0 to 70 degrees.
Regarding claim 13, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1, wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) has an aspherical shape — [0053] (“a CupCake shape, comprising a flat surface at the bottom and multiple flat surfaces at the sides”); [0010] (“flattened side surfaces and a flat bottom”); [0031]: “FIG. 9 depicts an octagonal shaped Luneburg lens (8 flattened sides) with a flat bottom.”
Regarding claim 19, Biswas ’822 discloses:
A Luneburg lens (110) for telecommunications or radar applications — [0006]: “lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications”; [0002]: “This disclosure relates to communications and radar antenna technology, and more particularly to multiband microwave electronically steered lens antennas.”
wherein the lens has an aspherical asymmetrical shape — [0053]: “The Modified Luneburg Lens antenna may have a geometric shape, e.g., a CupCake shape, comprising a flat surface at the bottom and multiple flat surfaces at the sides”; [0010]; [0039] (lower hemisphere flattened by transformation optics while the remainder of the lens is spherical).
configured for transmission and reception of a plurality of frequency bands, a plurality of beam widths, or a combination thereof — [0053]: “to manipulate the signal directivity of a radio frequency transmission or reception of interest in a plurality of octaves of bandwidth”; [0016]: “wideband frequency coverage, optionally 6:1 bandwidth ratio, allowing for operation in multiple frequency bands simultaneously”; [0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Lee et al., US 6,266,029 B1 (issued July 24, 2001), hereinafter “Lee.”
Regarding claim 3, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1 as set forth above, including a plurality of feed antennas disposed about the lens on its flattened surfaces ([0026]: “The modified Luneberg lens has a flattened feed surface at the bottom and multiple flattened surfaces at the sides surrounding the lens. This allows for the housing of a maximum number of feed elements along the lens’s surfaces”) and the use of the antenna for tracking satellites in motion ([0004]: “allowing installers to place an antenna in one position and have it connect to distant end antennas that are in motion, such as NGSO LEO and MEO communication satellites”).
Biswas ’822 does not disclose wherein the feed antennas are movable relative to the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110); its feed elements are mated to the lens and it states that “No moving parts [are] required to operate” ([0062]).
Lee discloses a Luneburg lens satellite communication system in which a plurality of feed antennas are movable relative to the Luneburg lens — Abstract: “A Luneberg lens has a plurality of feeds arranged to send and receive signals to and from a plurality of satellites. The lens is spherical and is fixedly supported on a support mount. … The feeds thus can be separately positioned about the lens surface along mutually orthogonal paths in response to control signals over a wide range.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the movable feed of Lee in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide a more robust antenna system.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Shmuel et al., US 2023/0057530 A1, hereinafter “Shmuel.”
Regarding claim 5, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 4 as set forth above, including an intermediary element (the anti-reflective interface layer) between the lens and the feed antennas ([0052], [0065]) and linearly polarized dipole feed elements ([0058]: “Dipole Arms suspended above a ground plane”).
Biswas ’822 does not disclose wherein the intermediary element (130) is a secondary symmetric Luneburg lens having a spherical or aspherical geometrical shape, a polarizer, a waveguide, or a combination thereof; its interface layer is a dielectric matching layer.
Shmuel discloses a multi-feed Luneburg lens antenna in which the intermediary element inserted between the feeds and the lens is a polarizer — [0147]: “In cases where the required polarization differs from the horizontal polarization of the feeds, an additional polarization rotation circuit (14) may be inserted between the feed manifold and the lens (FIG. 2). Since the polarizer acts locally on the feed itself, the polarizer circuit is much smaller than a full aperture one, and it exhibits much better symmetry for all scanning beams. Note that the spherical lens is oblivious to polarization.”; FIG. 2 (polarizer 14 between feed horns 16 and lens 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the polarization rotation circuit of Shmuel in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide synchronized communication in light of different polarizations.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Biswas, US 2022/0239007 A1, hereinafter “Biswas ’007.”
Regarding claim 10, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 8 as set forth above, including a lens antenna operating in “multiple frequency bands simultaneously” with a 6:1 or greater bandwidth ratio ([0016], [0072]) and a half-power beamwidth example “at 30GHz” ([0067]).
Biswas ’822 does not disclose by name wherein the plurality of frequency bands comprises L-C band, X-band, K-band, Q-band, V-band, W-band, or a combination thereof.
Biswas ’007 discloses the frequency bands - [0039]: “The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 1 GHz and 40 GHz. The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 1 GHz and 2 GHz (L-band). The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 2 GHz and 4 GHz (S-band). The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 4 GHz and 8 GHz (C-band). The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 8 GHz and 12 GHz (X-band). The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 12 GHz and 18 GHz (Ku-band). The Luneburg lens antenna may operate over a bandwidth between about 26 GHz and 40 GHz (Ka-band).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the bands of Biwas ‘007 in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide compliance known industry standard and market trends.
Regarding claim 11, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1 as set forth above, including a switch matrix that selects among the beams of the individual feeds ([0066]: “By providing an RF switch matrix in the system that connects to all of the beam ports, a desired single beam can be selected. Alternatively by using multiple switch networks each having its own transmit receive modules, a number of beams can be illuminated simultaneously.”) and the use of the antenna with satellites in motion ([0004]).
Biswas ’822 does not expressly disclose wherein the system (100) is configured to have instantaneous handover of a satellite from one feed antenna to another.
Biswas ’007 discloses a multi-feed flattened Luneburg lens satellite antenna configured to hand a satellite over from one feed to another without loss of connection and within a microsecond — [0086]: “the Luneburg lens antenna may be configured to track multiple satellites by using multiple beams generated by different feed elements.”; [0180]: “The ledge gives the antenna a horizon to horizon beamscanning capability (±90°) which allows the antenna to track any satellite in the sky without loosing any connection.”; [0188]: “This allows switching between the beams created by each of the feed elements by using the back-end beamswitching electronics. … Using the switch matrix, any antenna port receiving a signal can be connected within a microsecond.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the bands of Biwas ‘007 in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide compliance known industry standard and market trends.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Lier, US 2009/0289863 A1, hereinafter “Lier.”
Regarding claim 14, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1 as set forth above, including a lens built from sub-wavelength cells whose effective dielectric constant is varied cell by cell — [0050]: “The additive manufacturing process may be used to create a structure that incorporates small air gaps of varying size within the dielectric material. If the air gaps and the dielectric structure are small with respect to the wavelength of the desired signal, the structure approximates a dielectric constant of 1.0. … The printing process builds the structure with small individual blocks called ‘cells’ and allows the dielectric constant to be varied on a cell-by-cell basis. The cells can be small with respect to the wavelength of the signal.”
Biswas ’822 does not use the term “metamaterial” and does not disclose wherein the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) comprises a metamaterial having a negative permittivity or permeability.
Lier discloses a lens for a multi-element antenna that comprises a metamaterial whose relative dielectric constant is engineered to values not found in nature and is varied through the lens — [0030]: “Metamaterial lens 2 is coupled to the antenna elements 4. … Metamaterial lens 2 may comprise a zero or low index metamaterial. In some aspects, the metamaterial may have a low refractive index, i.e., between zero and one.”; [0032]: “metamaterial lens 2 comprises a metamaterial having a relative dielectric constant of greater than zero and less than one. The relative dielectric constant of metamaterial lens 2 may vary in all directions.”; [0035]: “ray tracing, finite elements, finite difference, methods of moments, transformation optics, or other suitable techniques may be performed to determine the amplitude and phase needed for each ray 16 of the signal to achieve the aperture distribution 14. … the metamaterial lens 2 may be adapted with suitable varying relative dielectric constants”; [0039]: “portions 26 may be layers, volumes, spheres, or other suitable portions 26 of metamaterial”; [0042]: “the subject technology may be used in various markets, including markets related to radar and active phased arrays.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the metamaterial of Lier in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide application specific material for optimal commmunications.
Regarding claim 15, Biswas ’822 and Lier disclose the system (100) of claim 14 as set forth above.
Biswas ’822 does not disclose wherein the metamaterial is a single or double negative metamaterial.
Lier discloses that single-negative and double-negative metamaterials are known lens materials — [0031]: “Some metamaterials have a negative refractive index, e.g., have a negative relative permittivity or a negative relative permeability and are referred to as single-negative (SNG) media. Additionally, some metamaterials have a positive refractive index but have a negative relative permittivity and a negative relative permeability; these metamaterials are referred to as double-negative (DNG) media. It may be generally understood that metamaterials possess artificial properties, e.g., not occurring in nature, such as negative refraction index.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the metamaterial of Lier in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide application specific material for optimal communications.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Liang et al., “A 3-D Luneburg Lens Antenna Fabricated by Polymer Jetting Rapid Prototyping,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 62, no. 4, pp. 1799-1807 (published online January 2, 2014; issue April 2014), hereinafter “Liang.”
Regarding claim 16 (as interpreted above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)), Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 1 as set forth above.
Biswas ’822 does not disclose that the unit cells have a cubic, diamond or spherical shape, or that their filling ratio is determined by Effective Permittivity Medium Theory.
Liang discloses a 3-D printed Luneburg lens whose unit cells are cubic polymer blocks of varying size (filling ratio) with the effective permittivity of each unit cell determined by effective medium theory — Abstract: “The required continuously varying relative permittivity profile was implemented by changing the size of plastic blocks centered on the junctions of a plastic rod space frame. A 12-cm (4λ0 at 10 GHz) diameter lens is designed to work at X-band. The effective permittivity of the unit cell is calculated by effective medium theory and simulated by full-wave finite-element simulations. The fabrication is implemented by a polymer jetting rapid prototyping method.”; Section III: “”polymer cube size is larger, the filling ratio between polymer and air void is larger, leading to greater effective permittivity of the unit cell. To achieve the permittivity distribution given by (1), the polymer cube size (or the filling ratio) should be maximized at the center of the lens, and gradually decreasing with the radius and finally reaches zero at the surface of the lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the material dielectric of Liang in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide optimal satellite communication.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biswas ’822 in view of Shmuel and Biswas ’007.
Regarding claim 17, Biswas ’822 discloses:
A wide-coverage satellite communication system (100) — [0006]: “a low-cost, hemi-spherical beamscanning coverage, multi-beam, multi-band beamforming electronically steerable lens antenna for terrestrial wireless, satellite, and radar applications”; [0013]: “the Luneberg lens may achieve multiple simultaneous beams on a 180° elevation plane and 360° azimuthal plane.”
comprising:
a. an asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) generated through a transformation optic technique applied to a spherical symmetric Luneburg lens — [0039]: “uses transformational optic (TO) mathematics to flatten the portion of the lower hemisphere of the spherical lens”; [0049]; [0053] (flat bottom and multiple flat sides);
configured for transmission and reception of a plurality of frequency bands, a plurality of beam widths, or a combination thereof — [0016]: “wideband frequency coverage, optionally 6:1 bandwidth ratio, allowing for operation in multiple frequency bands simultaneously”; [0053]: “transmission or reception of interest in a plurality of octaves of bandwidth”;
b. a first plurality of feed antennas (120) coupled with the asymmetric Luneburg lens so as to transmit or receive electromagnetic signals through the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) — [0026]: “The modified Luneberg lens has a flattened feed surface at the bottom and multiple flattened surfaces at the sides surrounding the lens. This allows for the housing of a maximum number of feed elements along the lens’s surfaces using multiple flattened sides instead of one single flattened bottom surface.”; [0020]: “the individual elements of the UWB antenna may function as individual feeds for individual beams aimed in separate directions through the lens.” (the feed elements on the flat bottom surface are a first plurality of feed antennas);
d. a second plurality of feed antennas (140) coupled … with the asymmetric Luneburg lens (110) — [0026]: “modified Luneberg lens has a flattened feed surface at the bottom and multiple flattened surfaces at the sides surrounding the lens. This allows for the housing of a maximum number of feed elements along the lens’s surfaces using multiple flattened sides” (the feed elements on the flattened side surfaces are a second plurality of feed antennas);
wherein each of the feed antennas covers a sub-area of a continuous coverage area such that there are no dead zones in the coverage area — [0066]: “adjacent feeds will correspond to adjacent antenna beams. Assuming all elements are spaced correctly, the beams will overlap in such a way as to allow simultaneous illumination of an entire field of regard”; [0015]; [0069];
wherein the first (120) and second (140) pluralities of feed antennas each cover aimed in separate directions through the lens,” [0020]); [0059]: “The shape of the lens inherently supports very wide-angle coverage (up to +/- 90 degrees off boresite in a semi-hemispherical coverage pattern).”
Biswas ’822 does not disclose c. an intermediary element (130) comprising a secondary symmetric Luneburg lens having a spherical or aspherical geometrical shape, a polarizer, a waveguide, or a combination thereof,
Shmuel discloses an intermediary element comprising a polarizer inserted between a plurality of feeds and a multi-feed Luneburg lens, through which those feeds transmit or receive, and a second row of feeds covering a different elevation sector — [0147]: “In cases where the required polarization differs from the horizontal polarization of the feeds, an additional polarization rotation circuit (14) may be inserted between the feed manifold and the lens (FIG. 2). Since the polarizer acts locally on the feed itself, the polarizer circuit is much smaller than a full aperture one, and it exhibits much better symmetry for all scanning beams.”; [0092] (“sectoral polarizer 14”); [0136]; [0090] (Luneburg lens antenna; hemispherical antenna); [0087]: “in order to prevent gaps between adjacent beams in the field of view, the spacing between the feeds is equal to or less than half of a wavelength of the electro-magnetic signal(s).”; [0145]: “A second row of feeds may be added in the elevation plane above the first row, producing a beam manifold which points downwards, as depicted in FIG. 6. This may be repeated upwards or downwards as necessary to cover the required elevation operation of the system.” Because the polarizer of Shmuel is “sectoral” and “acts locally on the feed itself” ([0092], [0147]), it is associated with the feeds of the sector it covers rather than with the full aperture, so a polarizer may be provided for one row (plurality) of feeds while another row is coupled to the lens without it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 and the polarization rotation circuit of Shmuel in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide synchronized communication in light of different polarizations.
Biswas ’007 discloses that in a flattened multi-faceted Luneburg lens the feeds on the flat bottom and the feeds on the side faces cover non-identical sub-areas of the coverage area — [0253]: “instead of a single flat feed surface, multiple flat feed surfaces to illuminate different sectors of the lens is utilized. As depicted in FIG. 12A and FIG. 12B, the bottom feed is connected to a planar interface at the bottom and illuminates the top of the antenna. The feeds are connected to multiple geometrically designed interfaces at the side and illuminate the lower elevations. … Therefore, the antenna has a higher field of view and a full hemispherical coverage of the sky. Since each feed is independent and illuminates a different portion of the sky, with the right RF, switching, and modem structure, many beams and connections can be supported simultaneously.”; [0224]: “it is possible to increase the scan area of the antenna to full hemispherical coverage (360 degrees azimuth, +/−90 degrees elevation).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the Luneberg lens of Biswas ‘822 as modified and independent feeds of Biswas ‘007 in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide greater satellite coverage.
Regarding claim 18, Biswas ’822 discloses the system (100) of claim 17, wherein the coverage area is about 180 degrees elevation and 360 degrees azimuth — [0013]: “the Luneberg lens may achieve multiple simultaneous beams on a 180° elevation plane and 360° azimuthal plane, optionally with high gain and low side-lobes.”; [0018]: “configured to provide up to +/- 90 degrees of sky coverage in a semi-hemispherical pattern”; [0062]: “Wide area sky coverage (up to +/- 90 degrees of sky coverage in a semi-hemispherical pattern.” Biswas ’007 likewise discloses “full hemispherical coverage (360 degrees azimuth, +/−90 degrees elevation)” ([0224]). The combination is obvious for the reasons given for claim 17.
The rejection of claims 17 and 18 is directed to the “polarizer” alternative of element (c). Because element (c) is recited in the alternative, the claim is met when the prior art discloses or suggests any one of the recited alternatives (MPEP 2131.02; In re Skvorecz, 580 F.3d 1262 (Fed. Cir. 2009)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Xin et al., US 2022/0294121 A1 (Lunewave; PCT filed July 29, 2020): modified Luneburg lenses “obtained by making a planer cut to a spherical lens,” including asymmetric lenses 506-510 having different heights at opposite ends ([0071]-[0072]); “a 3 dimensional (‘3D’) printed Luneburg lens structure is constructed by controlling the filling ratio between the polymer of the lens and air” ([0004]); 36 to 48 feed elements around the lens with 360° azimuth coverage ([0080], [0093]).
Thornton et al., WO 2008/044062 A1 (Apr. 17, 2008): hemispherical Luneburg-type lens with multiple feeds and a frequency- and/or polarisation-selective surface (polariser) on the plane face of the lens ([0017]-[0020]); Ku/K/Ka satellite bands ([0026]); feeds mechanically actuated or electrically switched to track a non-geostationary satellite ([0040]).
Hayles, Jr. et al., US 2023/0420863 A1, and Ohmae et al., US 2014/0347230 A1 (both of record in the parent application).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
October 16, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646