NON-FINAL REJECTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under prior rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) in view of PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) further in view of HART et al. (US 20130069865 A1).
Re claim 1. WILLIAMS discloses (abstract) a device status system 20 (FIG.1) comprising:
an outlet 32 positioned in a patient room and operating as a hub for a localized wireless network [0280-0281], the outlet configured to receive apparatus data from an apparatus 30 connected to the outlet wherein the apparatus comprises a patient care device (i.e. a patient bed) that is configured to provide visual notifications related to the apparatus data (via various interfaces such as graphical user interface (GUI) 38), and
a status module 48 arranged to lie outside the patient room, [0284]
wherein the status module receives the apparatus data over the localized wireless network, and [0290]
wherein caregivers can view (FIG.2) information related to the apparatus data appearing on the status module without entering the patient room. [0475]
WILLIAMS further suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art using wireless communication 54 by way of outlet 32 being connected to wireless access points (WAP's) 52. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that at the time of the invention and prior art of WILLIAMS, wireless communication networks were well known. One of ordinary skill in the art would be encouraged to reroute or restructure certain devices, such as servers or other devices capable of wireless communication, to achieve communication in more remote locations.
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the status module is connected to the localized wireless network and communicates with the outlet via a wireless connection.
Clearly one of ordinary skill in the art would be encourages wireless communication and connections (FIG.1) given that similar devices, to that of status board 48 such as servers connected wirelessly thru a network 60 [0289-0290] for the purpose of wirelessly connecting servers with status board 48 and servers 62.
PESOT (referenced by WILLIAMS as incorporated by reference) teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, wherein a status module 12 part of computer 10 is connected wired or wirelessly thru communication link 94 to a wireless network via other devices all well-known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art is motivated to use either a wired or wireless links and/or combinations thereof. (c.7, l.11-15)
It would have been obvious to use a wireless communication rather than wired communication link, because the modification of adapting from a wired to a wireless connection using wireless access points across remote locations, would have constituted the mere arrangement of old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
WILLIAMS further discloses at least one of various apparatuses (FIG.1) such as status board 48 and nurse call master station(s) 50 which may be located remote from patient room and connected using different communication links [0290].
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) and PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) fails to explicitly disclose:
a display coupled to the localized wireless network to display at least a subset of the apparatus data, wherein the display is mobile, wherein the localized wireless network automatically provisions the display to wirelessly connect the display to the localized wireless network in response to the display moving within a predetermined distance to the patient room, wherein the display is provisioned wirelessly to the localized wireless network without having any wired connection to the outlet, the apparatus, or any other apparatus within the patient room.
HART teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention (FIG.1-4), the concept of using a local wireless connection for a display device when the device is moving within a specific range.
[0045] A primary station 412 that automatically connects to any portable display 402 within range may be desirable in many instances, such as when the primary station 412 is located in a vehicle. Thus, when an additional passenger enters the vehicle with their own portable display 402, the portable display 402 begins to receive power via its power receiver, and primary station 412 may detect the portable display 402 upon receipt of a connection request received from the device. If the primary station 412 does not require a password to access, the primary station 412 may begin to transmit data to the newly detected portable display 402. Primary station 412 may transmit the same content to each portable display 402A, 402B, 402C in the vehicle. Primary station 412 may also transmit different content to each portable display 402A, 402B, 402C.
One of ordinary skill in the art, would be encouraged to adapt a wireless device such as outlet and other wireless capable devices of WILLIAMS as described, to provide wireless options for removing some wired connections which limit the range and location of remote devices, such as display devices, including nurse mobile phones, status boards, nurse call master stations. This modification would allow for nurses in different locations in a clinic or hospital setting to be located throughout various places, not limited to being inside vicinity of patient room.
It would have been obvious to use a wireless connection for a local network rather than a wired connection requiring a specific fixed location close to a wired connector, because the modification of removing wired connections for wireless connection once a device enters a close range to eliminate the need for a limited range for connecting devices, would have constituted the mere arrangement of old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is connected to the outlet by inserting a plug of the apparatus into a receptacle of the outlet. [0303]
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the localized wireless network automatically provisions the apparatus to wirelessly connect the apparatus to the localized wireless network in response to the plug of the apparatus being inserted into the receptacle of the outlet. [0303]
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the localized wireless network automatically provisions the apparatus to wirelessly connect the apparatus to the localized wireless network in response to the apparatus being positioned in the patient room. [0303]
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the status module displays apparatus data including at least one of a bed in lo-lo alert, a side rail protocol alert, a bed exit alert, a heart rate alert, and a respiratory rate alert. [0280, 0290, 0464, 0509]
6. The system of claim 1, further comprising a lighting system positioned in the patient room and connected to the localized wireless network. [0288-0289]
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the lighting system is operated in response to apparatus data transmitted over the localized wireless network. [0288-0289]
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the lighting system is operated to convey a status of the apparatus. [0288-0289]
9. The system of claim 1, further comprising at least one indicator light assembly positioned outside the patient room and connected to the localized wireless network. [0475] (48 – status board would implicitly include at least one light indicator on a screen)
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the at least one indicator light assembly is operated in response to apparatus data transmitted over the localized wireless network. [0475] (48 – status board would implicitly include at least one light indicator on a screen)
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the at least one indicator light assembly is operated to convey a status of the apparatus. [0475] (48 – status board would implicitly include at least one light indicator on a screen)
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a patient support apparatus and the subset of the apparatus data includes at least one of information related to a head of bed angle, a side rail position, a patient alert setting, a patient name, a patient heart rate, a patient respiratory rate, a patient weight, and diagnostic trouble codes. [0280, 0290, 0464, 0509]
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the display includes a control system for controlling the apparatus. (FIG.48-52)
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the apparatus is a patient support apparatus and the control system controls at least one of a patient support apparatus lockout, a bed exit alert, a microclimate management system, a heart rate monitor, and a respiratory rate monitor. [0280, 0290, 0464, 0509]
Re claim 19. As for claim 1, a device status system comprising:
an outlet positioned in a patient room and operating as a hub for a localized wireless network, the outlet the outlet configured to receive apparatus data from each of the apparatuses connected to the outlet,
a status module arranged to lie outside the patient room, wherein the status module receives the apparatus data over the localized wireless network, wherein caregivers can view the apparatus data appearing on the status module without entering the patient room,
a lighting system 78 positioned in the patient room (FIG.1) and wirelessly connected to the localized wireless network (FIG.1) to convey a status of at least one of the apparatuses [0288-0289], and
at least one indicator light (48 – status board would implicitly include at least one light indicator on a screen) assembly positioned outside the patient room and wirelessly connected to the localized wireless network to convey a status of at least one of the apparatuses. [0475]
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the status module is wirelessly connected to the localized wireless network and communicates with the outlet via a wireless connection.
As explained for claim 1 above. Same reasoning applies.
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) and PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the outlet enables multiple apparatuses to be wirelessly paired thereto.
HART enables wirelessly pairing by devices at a certain range, which is advantageous so as to avoid having only wired connections which limits the location of apparatuses to connect with local network.
It would have been obvious to use a wireless connection for a local network rather than a wired connection requiring a specific fixed location close to a wired connector, because the modification of removing wired connections for wireless connection once a device enters a close range to eliminate the need for a limited range for connecting devices, would have constituted the mere arrangement of old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Re claim 20. (FIG.48-52) the device status system of claim 19, further comprising a display coupled to the status module to display the apparatus data, wherein the display is coupled to a control system for controlling the apparatus.
Re claim 21. (FIG.1 [0288]) the device status system of claim 19, wherein the lighting system is included in a first apparatus of the multiple apparatuses.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) in view of PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) further in view of ZERHUSEN (US 10206836 B2) further in view of HART et al. (US 20130069865 A1).
Re claim 18. As for claim 1, a patient support apparatus status system comprising:
an outlet positioned in a patient room, the outlet configured to receive apparatus data (under broadest reasonable interpretation – apparatus data could range from bed status to patient status, to any alert or control message for bed or from patient) from a patient support apparatus connected to the outlet,
a bed status module arranged to lie outside the patient room, wherein the bed status module displays the first subset of apparatus data by illuminating module graphical indicia that matches the patient support apparatus graphical indicia, wherein the module graphical indicia is illuminated in the same color as the support apparatus graphical indicia. (implicitly a display for nurse station or status board must include at least one graphical indicia to illustrate patient or bed status for instance, which is considered one subset of patient data – the color used could vary and be selected based on need or design choice, such as using a color red to indicate a potential patient problem)
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) fails to explicitly disclose:
connected to the outlet via a wireless connection.
As explained for claim 1 above. Same reasoning applies.
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) and PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the patient support apparatus projects patient support apparatus graphical indicia onto the floor to convey at least a first subset of the apparatus data.
ZERHUSEN teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, a bed which includes a means of lighting the floor nearest the bed to graphically illustrate a situation (apparatus/bed data) in which a patient should egress from a bed as needed.
(35) FIG. 34 is a person support apparatus according to another contemplated embodiment of the current disclosure showing a night-light configured to alert the user to a status of the person support apparatus, such as, when the person support apparatus is in a position where the occupant can egress from the bed. The light illuminating the floor with a red light to indicate that the user of an unsatisfactory condition, such as, that the bed is not in a predetermined egress position;
(36) FIG. 35 is the person support apparatus of FIG. 34, wherein the handle of the grip and the floor are illuminated with a green light to indicate that the occupant can egress from the bed;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try using an illumination function to illustrate a bed condition to a patient for instance in order to provide safety information to patient (given the broadness of the claim limitation regarding subset of apparatus data).
WILLIAMS further discloses at least one of various apparatuses (FIG.1) such as status board 48 and nurse call master station(s) 50 which may be located remote from patient room and connected using different communication links [0290].
However, WILLIAMS et al. (US 20220313515 A1) and PESOT et al. (US 8779924 B2) fails to explicitly disclose:
a display coupled to the localized wireless network to display at least a subset of the apparatus data, wherein the display is mobile, wherein the localized wireless network automatically provisions the display to wirelessly connect the display to the localized wireless network in response to the display moving within a predetermined distance to the patient room, wherein the display is provisioned wirelessly to the localized wireless network without having any wired connection to the outlet, the apparatus, or any other apparatus within the patient room.
HART teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention (FIG.1-4), the concept of using a local wireless connection for a display device when the device is moving within a specific range.
[0045] A primary station 412 that automatically connects to any portable display 402 within range may be desirable in many instances, such as when the primary station 412 is located in a vehicle. Thus, when an additional passenger enters the vehicle with their own portable display 402, the portable display 402 begins to receive power via its power receiver, and primary station 412 may detect the portable display 402 upon receipt of a connection request received from the device. If the primary station 412 does not require a password to access, the primary station 412 may begin to transmit data to the newly detected portable display 402. Primary station 412 may transmit the same content to each portable display 402A, 402B, 402C in the vehicle. Primary station 412 may also transmit different content to each portable display 402A, 402B, 402C.
It would have been obvious to use a wireless connection for a local network rather than a wired connection requiring a specific fixed location close to a wired connector, because the modification of removing wired connections for wireless connection once a device enters a close range to eliminate the need for a limited range for connecting devices, would have constituted the mere arrangement of old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in PTO-892 Form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 8/29/2026