Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species XIV (Figures 16A-16B and 17A-17B) which corresponds to claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15, and 18-19, however, do not correspond to elected Species XIV of Figures 16A-16B and 17A-17B as this species does not include “the magnetic element does not overlap the first portion in the first direction and does not overlap the third portion in the first direction” as per claim 5, “the first opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the fourth opposing portion, and the third opposing portion protrudes toward the first surface with respect to the fifth opposing portion” as per claim 18 and “the first portion protrudes toward the second face with respect to the fourth portion, and the third portion protrudes toward the second face with respect to the fifth portion” as per claim 19.
The limitation(s) of claim 5 is taught with respect to non-elected Species XVIII of FIG. 21, for instance. The limitation(s) of claims 18-19 are taught with respect to non-elected Species XX of FIG. 23, for instance.
Accordingly, claims 15, and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to one or more non-elected inventions/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20160314809A1(hereinafter Taguchi ‘809).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi ‘809 discloses A magnetic head, comprising: a first magnetic pole (Fig. 19 i.e., main magnetic pole 60; para. [0103] i.e., main magnetic pole 60) including a medium facing face (Fig. 19 i.e., ABS 43; para. [0103] i.e., ABS 43 ) and a first face (Fig. 19 i.e., "60 c","84a", "84b", and "84c" ; para. [0103] i.e., "60 c","84a", "84b", and "84c") crossing the medium facing face (Fig. 19 i.e., "60 c","84a", "84b", "84c" and "43"; para. [0103] i.e., "60 c" and "43"); a second magnetic pole (Fig. 19 i.e., trailing shield 62; para. [0105] i.e., trailing shield 62) including a second face (Fig. 19 i.e., leading-side end surface 62 b; para. [0103] i.e., leading-side end surface 62 b), the first face facing the second face in a first direction (Fig. 19 i.e., a direction slightly inclined upward to the left from line WG1 as shown in the fig. 19; para. [0105]; i.e., WG1) ; and a magnetic element (Fig. 19 i.e., STO 65; para. [0104] i.e., STO 65 ) provided between the first face and the second face (Fig. 19 i.e., "65", "60 c" and "62 b"; para. [0104] i.e., STO 65 ) , the magnetic element including a first magnetic layer (Fig. 19 i.e., spin injection layer 65 a; para. [0104] i.e., spin injection layer 65 a) , and a second magnetic layer (Fig. 19 i.e., oscillation layer 65 c; para. [0104] i.e., oscillation layer 65 c) provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic pole (Fig. 19 i.e., "65 a", "65 c", and "62" ), the first face (Fig. 19 i.e., 60 c) including a first portion (Fig. 19, i.e., first tapered surface 84 c; para. [0103] i.e., a first tapered surface 84 c) and a second portion (Fig. 19 i.e., bottom surface 84 a; para. [0103] i.e., a bottom surface 84 a), a second direction (depth direction) crossing the medium facing face and crossing the first direction (direction extending away from the element ABS 43 and crossing the first direction ), the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 19, "84 c" and "84 a") satisfying one of a first condition and a second condition, a first portion position of the first portion in the second direction (Fig. 19, the position of a first tapered surface 84 c; para. [0103] i.e., a first tapered surface 84 c; direction extending away from the element ABS 43 and crossing the first direction ) being between a medium facing face position of the medium facing face in the second direction (Fig. 19 i.e., "84 c" and "ABS 43"; para. [0103] i.e., a first tapered surface 84 c ) and a second portion position of the second portion in the second direction in the first condition (Fig. 19 the position of a bottom surface 84 a; para. [0103] i.e., a bottom surface 84 a; direction extending away from the element ABS 43 and crossing the first direction), the second portion position being between the medium facing face position and the first portion position in the second condition (Fig. 19, i.e., "84 a" and "ABS 43"; para. [0103] i.e., a bottom surface 84 a), and a first distance along the first direction between the first portion and the second face (Fig. 19 The distance from the 84 c to the 62 b corresponding to WG1; Fig. 6 i.e., "WG1"; para. [0057] i.e., WG1) being shorter than a second distance along the first direction between the second portion and the second face (Fig. 19 The distance from the 84 a to the 62 b corresponding to WG2; para. [0105] i.e., WG2; The W1G is shorter than the W2G.).
Regarding claim 2, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the first portion protrudes toward the second face with respect to the second portion (Fig. 14 i.e., cutout (concave portion) 82; para. [0084] i.e., cutout (concave portion) 82 ).
Regarding claim 5, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the first face further includes a third portion (See annotated Fig. 10, first portion; para. [0071] i.e., WG1) ,
the second portion position (See annotated Fig. 10, position of the first portion; para. [0077] i.e., WG2) is between the first portion position and a third portion position of the third portion in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 10, third portion and first portion; para. [0071] i.e., WG1; para [0077] i.e., WG2) , and a third distance between the third portion and the second face along the first direction is shorter than the second distance (See annotated Fig. 10; para. [0077] i.e., gap length WG1 on the ABS 43 is less than gap length WG2 ).
Regarding claim 6, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the third portion protrudes toward the second face with respect to the second portion (The surface of 17a protrudes relative to the surface of 17c ).
Regarding claim 8, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein at least a part of the magnetic element overlaps the first portion in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 10, 61; para. [0071] i.e., concave portion 61).
Regarding claim 9, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (para. [0084] i.e., the shield-side end surface 60 c extends substantially perpendicularly to an ABS 43).
Regarding claim 10, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein a ratio of an absolute value of a difference between the second distance and the first distance to the second distance is not less than 0.05 and not more than 0.3 (para. [0058] i.e., Gap length WG1 is, for example, approximately 10 to 25 nm. Gap length WG2 is, for example, approximately 30 nm).
Regarding claim 11, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the magnetic element further includes a first intermediate layer being non-magnetic, the first intermediate layer being provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer (Fig. 19 i.e., 65b; para. [0096] i.e., intermediate layer (nonmagnetic …) 65 b).
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi ‘809.
Regarding claim 14, Taguchi ‘809 discloses A magnetic head, comprising: a first magnetic pole (See annotated Fig. 10, 60; para. [0103] i.e., main magnetic pole 60 ) including a medium facing face (See annotated Fig. 10, 43; para. [0103] i.e., ABS 43 ) and a first face crossing the medium facing face (See annotated Fig. 10, 60 c, first portion, second portion, and third portion; para. [0069]); a second magnetic pole (See annotated Fig. 10, 62; para. [0105] i.e., trailing shied 62) including a second face (See annotated Fig. 10, 62b; para. [0103] i.e., leading-side end surface 62 b), the first face facing the second face in a first direction (See annotated Fig. 10, 62b; para. [0103] i.e., leading-side end surface 62 b); and a magnetic element provided between the first face and the second face (See annotated Fig. 10, STO 65; para. [0104] i.e., STO 65), the magnetic element including a first magnetic layer (See annotated Fig. 10, 65 a; para. [0069] i.e., 65 a), and a second magnetic layer provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic pole (See annotated Fig. 19, 65 c; para. [0104] i.e., oscillation layer 65 c), the first face including a first portion , a second portion, and a third portion (See annotated Fig. 10, first portion , second portion, and third portion; para. [0069] ), a second direction (depth direction) being along the medium facing face and crossing the first direction (direction extending away from the element ABS 43 and crossing the first direction ), a second portion position of the second portion in the second direction being between a first portion position of the first portion in the second direction and a third portion position of the third portion in the second direction (See annotated Fig. 10, second portion position; para. [0069]), a first distance along the first direction between the first portion and the second face being shorter than a second distance along the first direction between the second portion and the second face (See annotated Fig. 10, the distance from the first portion to 62b; para. [0071] i.e., WG2; The WG2 is longer than the distance from the first portion to 62b. ), a third distance along the first direction between the third portion and the second face being shorter than the second distance (See annotated Fig. 10, the distance from the third portion to 62b; para. [0071] i.e., WG2; The WG2 is longer than the distance from the third portion to 62b.), and at least a part of the magnetic element being between the second portion and the second face (See annotated Fig. 10, STO 65, second portion, and 62b; para. [0104] i.e., STO 65).
Regarding claim 16, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 14 as discussed above. Taguchi ‘809 further discloses the magnetic head wherein the second portion is recessed with respect to the first portion and the third portion (See annotated Fig. 10, second portion; para. [0071] i.e., The concave portion 61 is recessed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi ‘809 in view of Taguchi et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20170061995A1(hereinafter Taguchi ‘995).
Regarding claim 3, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the second face includes a first opposing portion and a second opposing portion, a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction, a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction, and the first opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion.
In an analogous art, Taguchi ‘995 teaches the second face includes a first opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 21 first opposing portion; para. [0074] i.e., 82 b) and a second opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 21 second opposing portion; para. [0074] i.e., SH),a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction (See annotated Fig. 21 ABS direction 43; para. [0071] i.e., ABS 43), a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction (See annotated Fig. 21 ABS direction 4; para. [0071] i.e., ABS 433), and the first opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 21 protruding first opposing direction; para. [0074] i.e., 82).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the magnetic head configuration of Taguchi ‘995 to the magnetic head in order to improve recording performance and thereby achieve higher recording density (Taguchi ‘995, para. 55).
Regarding claim 4, Taguchi ‘809 as modified by Taguchi ‘995 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 3 as discussed above. However, Taguchi ‘809 fails to explicitly disclose at least a part of the magnetic element overlaps the first opposing portion in the second direction.
In an analogous art, Taguchi ‘995 teaches at least a part of the magnetic element overlaps the first opposing portion in the second direction(See annotated Fig. 21, 67 b; para. [0045] i.e., 67 b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the magnetic head configuration of Taguchi ‘995 to the magnetic head in order to improve recording performance and thereby achieve higher recording density (Taguchi ‘995, para. 55).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi ‘809 in view of Liu et al. U.S. Patent Number US10339964B1(hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 7, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 5 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the second face includes a first opposing portion, a second opposing portion, and a third opposing portion, a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction, a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction, a direction from the third portion to the third opposing portion is along the first direction,
the first opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion, and the third opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion.
In an analogous art, Liu discloses the second face includes a first opposing portion (Fig. 26, the surface of the lower 17 a; Col. 12 lines 26-30 i.e., 17a) , a second opposing portion (Fig. 26, the surface of the 17 c; Col. 12 lines 54-64 i.e., 17c), and a third opposing portion (Fig. 26, the surface of the lower 17 n; Col. 12 lines 54-64 i.e., 17n), a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction (Fig. 26, ABS direction; Col. 2 lines 21-37 i.e., ABS ), a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction (Fig. 26, ABS direction; Col. 2 lines 21-37 i.e., ABS ), a direction from the third portion to the third opposing portion is along the first direction (Fig. 26, ABS direction; Col. 2 lines 21-37 i.e., ABS ), the first opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion (Fig. 26 i.e., "17a" and "17c"; The surface of 17a protrudes relative to the surface of 17c), and the third opposing portion protrudes toward the first face with respect to the second opposing portion (Fig. 26, the visible region of 17n; Col. 12 lines 54-58 i.e., 17n ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the magnetic head configuration of Liu to the magnetic head in order to enhance writing quality (Taguchi ‘995, para. 55).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi ‘809 in view of Nakagawa et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20220383898A1(hereinafter Nakagawa), and further in view of Nguy et al. U.S. Patent Number US6950277B1(hereinafter Nguy).
Regarding claim 12, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the first face includes a fourth portion, a fifth portion, and a sixth portion, a third direction is along the medium facing face and crosses the first direction; a fifth portion position of the fifth portion in the third direction is between a fourth portion position of the fourth portion in the third direction and a sixth portion position of the sixth portion in the third direction, a fourth distance along the first direction between the fourth portion and the second face is shorter than a fifth distance along the first direction between the fifth portion and the second face, and a sixth distance along the first direction between the sixth portion and the second face is shorter than the fifth distance.
In an analogous art, Nakagawa teaches the first face includes a fourth portion (See annotated Fig. 1B, fourth portion) , a fifth portion (See annotated Fig. 1B, fifth portion) , and a sixth portion (See annotated Fig. 1B, sixth portion) , a third direction is along the medium facing face and crosses the first direction (along the ABS and crossing the first direction); a fifth portion position of the fifth portion in the third direction is between a fourth portion position of the fourth portion in the third direction and a sixth portion position of the sixth portion in the third direction (See annotated Fig. 1B, fourth portion position, fourth portion position, and sixth portion position), a fourth distance along the first direction between the fourth portion and the second face (See annotated Fig. 1B, fourth distance), a fifth distance along the first direction between the fifth portion and the second face (See annotated Fig. 1B, fifth distance), and a sixth distance along the first direction between the sixth portion and the second face (See annotated Fig. 1B, fifth distance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the magnetic head configuration of Nakagawa to the magnetic head in order to improve recording performance even when the recording gap is small (Nakagawa, para. 203).
In an analogous art, Nguy teaches a fourth distance along the first direction between the fourth portion and the second face is shorter (Col. 4 lines 30-36 i.e., concave-shaped downstream side 32 ) than a fifth distance along the first direction between the fifth portion and the second face and a sixth distance along the first direction between the sixth portion and the second face is shorter (Col. 4 lines 30-36 i.e., concave-shaped downstream side 32 ) than the fifth distance.
When a concave-shaped downstream side is applied, the central portion becomes longer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concave-shaped downstream side into the magnetic head in order to improve matching as track density increases, edges of the track becomes to mismatch(Nguy , Col. 1 lines 14-30).
Regarding claim 13, Taguchi 809 as modified by Nakagawa and Nguy teaches the magnetic head according to claim 12 as discussed above. However, Taguchi ‘809 fails to explicitly disclose the fifth portion is recessed with respect to the fourth portion and the sixth portion.
In an analogous art, Nguy teaches the fifth portion is recessed with respect to the fourth portion and the sixth portion (Col. 4 lines 30-36 i.e., concave-shaped downstream side 32 ).
When a concave-shaped downstream side is applied, the fifth portion is recessed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concave-shaped downstream side into the magnetic head in order to improve matching as track density increases, edges of the track becomes to mismatch (Nguy , Col. 1 lines 14-30).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi ‘809 in view of Lin et al. U. S. Patent Number US9934794B1(hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 17, Taguchi ‘809 discloses the magnetic head according to claim 14 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the second face includes a first opposing portion, a second opposing portion, and a third opposing portion, a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction, a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction, a direction from the third portion to the third opposing portion is along the first direction, and the second opposing portion is recessed with respect to the first opposing portion and the third opposing portion.
In an analogous art, Lin teaches the second face includes a first opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 3, first opposing portion; Col. 3 lines 21-34), a second opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 3, second opposing portion; Col. 3 lines 21-34), and a third opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 3, third opposing portion; Col. 3 lines 21-34), a direction from the first portion to the first opposing portion is along the first direction (See annotated Fig. 3, down track dir.; Col. 3 lines 21-34), a direction from the second portion to the second opposing portion is along the first direction (See annotated Fig. 3, down track dir.; Col. 3 lines 21-34), a direction from the third portion to the third opposing portion is along the first direction (See annotated Fig. 3, down track dir.; Col. 3 lines 21-34), and the second opposing portion is recessed with respect to the first opposing portion and the third opposing portion (See annotated Fig. 3, 164; Col. 3 lines 21-34 i.e., 164).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recessed portion of Lin into the magnetic head in order to improve write device without complicating fabrication of the write device(Lin, Col. 4 lines 15-22).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688