DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130089151 A1 (Do51)
US 20120183043 A1 (Cohen43)
US 20150189283 A1 (para 121)
Numbering of claims
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). Claim number 3 is used twice. To preserve integrity and avoid amendments (such as amending claims 4-5), the first claim that is numbered 3 will be renumbered as claim 9 for now. When the application is ready for allowance, the examiner, if necessary, will renumber the claims consecutively in the order in which they appear or in such order as may have been requested by applicant
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 5 , 8 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 9 (renumbered) recites “the one or more metadata symbols”, lack of antecedent basis, Examination purpose will assume “wherein the first set of decoded data corresponds to one or more metadata symbols, wherein if , wherein if the one or more metadata symbols … ” as indicated in claim 4. Claims 5 & 8 are similarly indefinite and similar assumption is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Do51.
Regarding Claim 3. Do51 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, [(para 50, 80)] cause a decoder to perform the following operations: obtain a set of encoded data, said encoded data containing information which, when decoded, would enable reconstruction of the set of sparse data:[(Fig.11, para 83 encoded data 1110 contains information for sparse data reconstruction )] decode a first portion of said set of encoded data to obtain a first set of decoded data [(CS_Flag; Also “The function block 1115 entropy decodes a bitstream and obtains the quantized transform coefficients of the residue, the Intra/Inter prediction modes, etc” in para 83)] : and based on the first set of decoded data, determine how to reconstruct a first portion of the set of sparse data [(“The function block 1140 performs a block reconstruction in the Total-Variation (TV) domain and/or the learned sparsifying transform domain by solving the optimization problem described in Equation (16)”, para 83-84)]
Regarding claim 2. A method of decoding a set of sparse data, the method comprising: obtaining a set of encoded data, said encoded data containing information which, when decoded, would enable reconstruction of the set of sparse data: decoding a first portion of said set of encoded data to obtain a first set of decoded data: and based on the first set of decoded data, determining how to reconstruct a first portion of the set of sparse data. [(see analysis of claim 3)]
Regarding claim 6. A decoder comprising: a processor: computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the decoder to perform the following operations: obtain a set of encoded data, said encoded data containing information which, when decoded, would enable reconstruction of the set of sparse data: decode a first portion of said set of encoded data to obtain a first set of decoded data: and based on the first set of decoded data, determine how to reconstruct a first portion of the set of sparse data. [(see analysis of claim 3)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do51 in view of Cohen43.
Regarding Claims 4, 7. Do51 teaches the computer readable storage medium of claim 3, wherein the first set of decoded data corresponds to one or more metadata symbols indicating whether to reconstruct a first portion of the set of data based on a second set of decoded data or based on simulating the first portion of the set of sparse data.[(Fig.11, learned sparsifying in step 1140 indicate simulating; on the other hand prediction compensated reconstructed block in step 1160 teaches reconstruction a first portion based on second portion; this is selected based on CS_Flag values 1 or 0 i.e. symbol)]
While Do51 teaches reconstruct a first portion of the set of data based on a second set of decoded data, Do51 is silent about whether this for reconstruction of sparse data.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Cohen43 teaches reconstruct a first portion of the set of sparse data based on a second set of decoded data [(para 50-51 and Fig.6, prediction dependent sparse transform is perform using inverse DCT)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities. [(Cohen43 para 50-51 and Fig.6, prediction dependent sparse transform is perform using inverse DCT; inverse DCT/IDCT is also used in Do51 Fig.11 for prediction compensated reconstruction of data)]
Claim 5. The computer readable storage medium of claim 3, wherein if the one or more metadata symbols indicates that reconstruction of the first portion of the set of sparse data should be based on a second set of decoded data, the method further comprises: decoding a second portion of said set of encoded data to obtain the second set of decoded data: and reconstructing the first portion of the set of sparse data by extracting from the second set of decoded data a first type of data symbols. [(Cohen43 para 50-51 and Fig.6, prediction dependent sparse transform is perform using inverse DCT; inverse DCT/IDCT is also used in Do51 Fig.11 for prediction compensated reconstruction of data)]
Claim 8, 9 (renumbered ). the one or more metadata symbols indicates that reconstruction of the first portion of the set of sparse data should be based on simulating the first portion of the set of sparse data, the method further comprises: simulating a first portion of the set of sparse data by generating a second type of data symbols. .[(Do51 Fig.11, learned sparsifying in step 1140 indicate simulating)]
.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12192499 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 2-9 are anticipated by patented claims 1-6
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426