DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on PRO 63/621,299 dated 01/16/2024.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0044] of the specification recites “Highly reflective rear facets (not shown) are oppositely disposed from the front facets 110 so as to form corresponding resonant cavities 114a, 114h from which the beams 112 are generated..” This is likely a typographical error as corresponding Fig. 1 does not contain a numeral ‘114h’. Rather Fig. 1 shows ‘114b’ which is consistent with paragraph [0046].
The office suggests correction to: “… corresponding resonant cavities 114a, 114b from which the beams 112 are generated.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanskar (US 20160181764 A1), as cited in the IDS, and further in view of Wang (US 20200191957 A1), as cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Kanskar teaches in Figs. 1 and 4A-4B: a multi-junction laser-diode module (100, Fig. 1), comprising:
a multi-junction laser diode (“a multijunction diode laser 102”; [0044], Fig. 1) including a plurality of laser junctions stacked (“two active laser junctions 108a, 108b”; [0044], Fig. 1) in a vertical dimension (see Fig. 1), the plurality of laser junctions (108a, 108b) being configured to emit a respective plurality of laser beams (“diode laser beams 112a, 112b”; [0044]) offset from each other in the vertical dimension (see Fig. 1 in which 112a and 112b are offset from each other in the vertical dimension), each laser beam (112a, 112b) diverging more rapidly in a fast axis than in an orthogonal slow axis (“The beams 112a, 112b have divergences that are less along a slow axis that is orthogonal to the fast axis than along the fast axis”; [0047]), the fast axis of each laser beam being parallel to the vertical dimension where the laser beam emerges from the multi-junction laser diode (“the direction associated with the offset D is associated with a fast axis of the corresponding emitted beam 112”; [0044]); and
a fast-axis cylindrical lens (“124 is a plano-convex cylindrical lens”; [0047]) configured to collimate each laser beam in the fast axis (“A fast axis collimation optic (FAC) 124 is disposed in the optical path of the emitted beams 112 and is situated to provide collimated outputs with respect to the fast axis of the beams”; [0046]), whereby the laser beams emerge from the fast-axis cylindrical lens (124) with mutually nonparallel propagation directions (see Fig. 1 and 117a and 120b, para [0046]);
a (“Reflectors 130a, 130b”; [0049]) disposed after the fast-axis cylindrical lens (124) and configured to deflect all or all but one of the laser beams in a first plane, parallel to the fast axes of the laser beams, such that the laser beams emerge from the (“Adjacent reflectors 130a, 130b are adjusted to slightly different angles to compensate the pointing error θ of the incident collimated beams 112a, 112b so that the collimated, reflected beams 112 or principal axes 118, 122 are parallel to each other and to the parallel slow axes of the beams 112a, 112b emitted from the front facets 110a, 110b”; [0049]); and
a slow-axis cylindrical lens (“a slow axis collimation (SAC) optic 126”; [0047]) configured to collimate each laser beam in the slow axis (“the SAC optic 126 collimates preferably only along the slow axis”; [0047]).
However, Kanskar fails to explicitly teach: a transmissive beam-deflecting element disposed after the fast-axis cylindrical lens and configured to deflect all or all but one of the laser beams in a first plane, parallel to the fast axes of the laser beams, such that the laser beams emerge from the transmissive beam-deflecting element with mutually parallel propagation directions.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]) disposed after the fast-axis cylindrical lens (“Collimator 403 may include a FAC that includes one or more aspheric cylindrical lenses”; [0036]) and configured to deflect all or all but one of the laser beams in a first plane, parallel to the fast axes of the laser beams, such that the laser beams emerge from the transmissive beam-deflecting element (401) with mutually parallel propagation directions (“chief ray of each of the collimated laser beams are non-parallel to one another. Beam-shaping component 401 can selectively redistribute the irradiance and phase of each collimated laser beam (e.g., 404-1, 404-2, and 404-3) … so that the chief rays of the corresponding shaped laser beams can be substantially parallel to one another”; [0043]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “the laser beams from multiple laser sources 206 can be combined without increasing the beam diameter or the beam propagation product (BPP) and thus, can be easily collimated onto the transmitter aperture of LiDAR system” (Wang, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “a transmissive beam-deflecting element disposed after the fast-axis cylindrical lens and configured to deflect all or all but one of the laser beams in a first plane, parallel to the fast axes of the laser beams, such that the laser beams emerge from the transmissive beam-deflecting element with mutually parallel propagation directions,” so that the laser beams from multiple laser sources can be combined without increasing the beam diameter (Wang, [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches in Figs. 4A-4B: an optical fiber (“optical fiber 414”; [0059], Fig. 4A), or a fiber port configured to receive an optical fiber; and
a focusing lens (“focusing objective 412”; [0059]) disposed after slow-axis cylindrical lens (“slow axis collimators 408”; [0058], see Fig. 4A) and the (“reflectors 410”; [0059]) and before the optical fiber or fiber port (414, see Fig. 4A), at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated and propagate parallel to each other (“Each pair of beams 404 is collimated”; [0058], Fig. 4B), the focusing lens being (412) configured to couple the laser beams into the optical fiber or fiber port (“A focusing objective 412 is situated to receive the pointing-corrected beams 404 and to focus the beams into an optical fiber 414”; [0059]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches in Figs. 4A-4B: the 2 transverse intensity distributions of the laser beams are non-overlapping (“Reflectors 130a, 130b are disposed along the propagation path of the beams 112 adjacent to plane 128, i.e., after the beams become spatially separated sufficiently along the beam fast axes such that the beams no longer substantially overlap”; [0049], “Such beams are substantially separated from one another in a relatively short distance of about 9.6 mm. For purposes herein, a pointing difference of 25 mrad or greater is defined as being “maximal.” Also for purposes herein, two Gaussian beams substantially separate, or have substantially separated, when their 1/e.sup.2 beam widths do not overlap”; [0091]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches in Figs. 4A-4B: the (“Adjacent reflectors 130a, 130b are adjusted to slightly different angles to compensate the pointing error θ of the incident collimated beams 112a, 112b so that the collimated, reflected beams 112 or principal axes 118, 122 are parallel to each other and to the parallel slow axes of the beams 112a, 112b emitted from the front facets 110a, 110b”; [0049]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further Figs. 4A-4B: the (“the reflectors 130 are secured or formed together with a predetermined angular difference for correction of the pointing error θ. An assembly or singular reflector can then be aligned and secured to the housing 106 without the additional step of mounting an additional reflector, such as the reflector 130a to the reflector 130b, during package assembly”; [0051]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 6A: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is monolithic (“beam-shaping component 401 includes a prism array 600 and the beam shaping of the incident laser beam includes refraction”; [0049], see Fig. 6A which shows a monolithic element).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “the transmissive beam-deflecting element is monolithic,” for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar fails to teach: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a prism.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 6A: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a prism (“beam-shaping component 401 includes a prism array 600 and the beam shaping of the incident laser beam includes refraction”; [0049], see Fig. 6A which shows a monolithic element).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a prism,” for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 6. Kanskar further teaches in Fig. 8: arranged such that each of the laser beams passes through a different respective one of the planar facets (“the reflector 816 includes three planar reflective components 818a, 818b, 818c, each aligned slightly different than the other in order to provide the reflected beams parallel to each other”; [0060], see Fig. 8, [0039]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach: wherein an input side or an output side of the prism includes a plurality of planar facets that are mutually nonparallel.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 6A: an input side (601) or an output side (602) of the prism (“prism array 600 can include an input surface 601 and an output surface 602”; [0049]) includes a plurality of planar facets (see Fig. 6A) that are mutually nonparallel (input surface 601 is a series of flat facets at an angle alpha marked on both sides of normal N, thus the facets slope in opposite directions and are not parallel to each other).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he locations of the one or more optical devices/components 600-620 can be adjusted to redistribute the irradiance and phase of the collimated laser beams that form the incident laser beam so the chief rays at the margins of the incident laser beam can be shaped to be substantially parallel to one another after beam-shaping” (Wang, [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “an input side or an output side of the prism includes a plurality of planar facets that are mutually nonparallel,” for the purpose of redistributing the irradiance and phase of the collimated laser beams that form the incident laser beam (Wang, [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 7. Kanskar fails to explicitly teach: the prism is symmetric with respect to reflection in a second plane that is orthogonal to the first plane and contains a central propagation axis of the laser beams.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Figs. 4 and 6: the prism (“prism (“beam-shaping component 401 includes a prism array 600 and the beam shaping of the incident laser beam includes refraction”; [0049]) is symmetric with respect to reflection in a second plane that is orthogonal to the first plane and contains a central propagation axis of the laser beams (see Fig. 6 in which prism array 600 is symmetric about the xy plane).
Wang further teaches this configuration such that “beam-shaping component 401 can be placed at various locations along optical axis to provide different phase change and irradiance change so each chief ray in first combined laser beam 404 can be shaped to be substantially parallel to optical axis 405 when exiting from beam-shaping component 401. The BPP of second combined laser beam 406 can then be minimized” (Wang, [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “the prism is symmetric with respect to reflection in a second plane that is orthogonal to the first plane and contains a central propagation axis of the laser beams,” for the purpose of shaping each laser beam (Wang, [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 7. Kanskar further teaches in Fig. 8: one of the input side and the output side includes the plurality of planar facets, and wherein the other one of the input side the output side includes a single planar facet arranged such that all laser beams pass therethrough.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Figs. 4 and 6: one of the input side and the output side includes the plurality of planar facets, and wherein the other one of the input side the output side includes a single planar facet arranged such that all laser beams pass therethrough (see Fig. 6 in which 602 is planar and 601 included the planar facets).
Wang further teaches this configuration such that “beam-shaping component 401 can be placed at various locations along optical axis to provide different phase change and irradiance change so each chief ray in first combined laser beam 404 can be shaped to be substantially parallel to optical axis 405 when exiting from beam-shaping component 401. The BPP of second combined laser beam 406 can then be minimized” (Wang, [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which “one of the input side and the output side includes the plurality of planar facets, and wherein the other one of the input side the output side includes a single planar facet arranged such that all laser beams pass therethrough,” for the purpose of shaping each laser beam (Wang, [0041]).
Regarding claim 11, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar fails to teach: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a diffractive optical element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 6A: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a diffractive optical element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041], “beam-shaping component 401 includes a diffractive optical element (DOE), and the beam shaping includes diffraction”; [0050]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a diffractive optical element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches: the transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Reflectors 130a, 130b”; [0049]) is disposed at a location where the mutually nonparallel propagation directions diverge from each other (see Fig. 1, “Collimated beams 112a, 112b propagating with respective fast axis pointing errors spatially diverge from one another along the fast axis until a plane 128 at which the beams 112a, 112b are spatially separated sufficiently that substantial portions of their respective beam powers are spatially separate”; [0048]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches: the fast-axis cylindrical lens (124) has a fast-axis focal length (“The effective focal length of the FAC optic 124 is typically relatively short, such as in the range of 150 to 400 μm”; [0046]), and
a propagation distance of the laser beams from the fast-axis cylindrical lens (124) to the transmissive beam-deflecting element (130a, 130b) is more than the fast-axis focal length (“The beams propagate about 25 mm before becoming spatially separated in the fast axis”; [0063]).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches: the multi-junction laser diode is a dual-junction laser diode, whereby the plurality of laser beams includes two laser beams (“The multijunction laser 102, shown cross-sectionally for clarity, includes two active laser junctions 108a, 108b each having associated output coupling front facets 110a, 110b from which corresponding diode laser beams 112a, 112b are emitted”; [0044]), and
wherein the (130a, 130b) is configured to deflect each of the two laser beams (“Adjacent reflectors 130a, 130b are adjusted to slightly different angles to compensate the pointing error θ of the incident collimated beams 112a, 112b so that the collimated, reflected beams 112 or principal axes 118, 122 are parallel to each other and to the parallel slow axes of the beams 112a, 112b emitted from the front facets 110a, 110b”; [0049], see Fig. 1).
However, Kanskar fails to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches in Fig. 8: a multi-junction laser-diode apparatus (300, Fig. 3, [0039]), comprising:
multiple instances of the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1 distributed along a stacking axis (“a multiple multjunction diode laser apparatus 300 includes three multijunction diode lasers 302 each emitting a corresponding pair of beams 304a, 304b, 305a, 305b, 306a, 306b from associated active junctions 308”; [0054], see Fig. 3),
wherein each laser module generates the corresponding laser beams as a beam bundle (“Each pair of principal axes 310 associated with a multijunction diode laser 302, centered about a central multijunction diode laser axis 312”; [0055]), the vertical dimension being common to all the laser modules and the laser modules being distributed along the vertical dimension (“spaced apart by a distance E from each pair of principal axes 310 of an adjacent multijunction diode laser 302”; [0055], see Fig. 3), such that the laser beams of the beam bundles emerge from the laser modules as fully collimated laser beams propagating parallel to each other in a common propagation plane parallel to the vertical dimension (“beams 304, 305, 306 diverge rapidly in a fast axis upon emission from corresponding active junctions 308. Each beam pair is received by a corresponding fast axis collimator 316 which collimates the fast axes of each beam”; [0056]); and
an optical fiber (“optical fiber 414”; [0059], Fig. 4A), or a fiber port configured to receive an optical fiber; and
a focusing lens (“focusing objective 412”; [0059]) arranged to receive the beam bundles from the laser modules and configured to couple the laser beams of each beam bundle into the optical fiber or fiber port (“A focusing objective 412 is situated to receive the pointing-corrected beams 404 and to focus the beams into an optical fiber 414”; [0059]).
Regarding claim 21, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches: a multi-junction laser-diode apparatus (400, Fig. 4A, [0039]), comprising:
multiple instances of the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1, each generating the corresponding laser beams as a beam bundle (“apparatus 400 that includes three multijunction diode lasers 402 which are spaced apart from each other vertically and horizontally such that the pairs of diode laser beams 404 associated with each diode laser 402 are emitted in approximately the same plane”; [0058], see Fig. 4A);
a plurality of mirrors arranged to combine the beam bundles into a super-bundle characterized by parallel propagation and parallel fast axes of all the laser beams of the super-bundle (“Each turning reflector 410 reflects the corresponding pair of collimated beams 404 perpendicularly or close to perpendicularly into approximately the same plane as the corresponding active regions of the diode laser 402 which emitted the beams and eliminates the pointing difference in the pair of beams 404”; [0059]);
an optical fiber (“optical fiber 414”; [0059], Fig. 4A), or a fiber port configured to receive an optical fiber; and
a focusing lens configured to couple the super-bundle into the optical fiber or fiber port (“A focusing objective 412 is situated to receive the pointing-corrected beams 404 and to focus the beams into an optical fiber 414”; [0059]).
Claims 8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanskar (US 20160181764 A1) and Wang (US 20200191957 A1) as in claims 1, 7, and 15, and further in view of Song (US 20240128707 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 7. Kanskar and Wang fail to explicitly teach: an interior angle between each pair of adjacent planar facets is less than 180 degrees.
In an alternate invention in the field of beam combining Song teaches in Fig. 1: an interior angle between each pair of adjacent planar facets is less than 180 degrees (“Each prism array is fabricated from a single piece of glass or plastic or other materials, and can include multiple sub-prisms. The first prism array 116 is shaped as a plano-convex prism”; [0028], see Fig. 1 in which 116 has three major facets (one for each beam) and the angle between each facet is less than 180 degrees).
Furthermore, Song teaches this configuration such that “The prism array pair 118 can make the whole configuration of the apparatus 100 substantially compact, and reduce the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch” (Song, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide a device in which “an interior angle between each pair of adjacent planar facets is less than 180 degrees,” for the purpose of reducing the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch (Song, [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 15. Kanskar fails to teach: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a prism having an input side and an output side, one of the input side and the output side of the prism having a single planar facet intersecting the two laser beams, the other one of the input side and the output side including first and second planar facets, the first and second planar facets being mutually nonparallel, the first planar facet intersecting one of the two laser beams, the second planar facet intersecting the other one of the two laser beams.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4 and 6: the transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]) is a prism (“beam-shaping component 401 includes a prism array 600 and the beam shaping of the incident laser beam includes refraction”; [0049]) having an input side (601) and an output side (602), one of the input side and the output side of the prism having a single planar facet intersecting the two laser beams (see planar side 602), the other one of the input side and the output side including first and second planar facets (see the facet side 601), the first and second planar facets being mutually nonparallel (input surface 601 is a series of flat facets at an angle alpha marked on both sides of normal N, thus the facets slope in opposite directions and are not parallel to each other).
However, the combination of Kanskar and Wang fail to teach: the first planar facet intersecting one of the two laser beams, the second planar facet intersecting the other one of the two laser beams.
In an alternate invention in the field of beam combining Song teaches in Fig. 1: the first planar facet intersecting one of the two laser beams, the second planar facet intersecting the other one of the two laser beams (“Each prism array is fabricated from a single piece of glass or plastic or other materials, and can include multiple sub-prisms. The first prism array 116 is shaped as a plano-convex prism”; [0028], see Fig. 1 in which 116 has three major facets – one for each beam).
Furthermore, Song teaches this configuration such that “The prism array pair 118 can make the whole configuration of the apparatus 100 substantially compact, and reduce the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch” (Song, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide a device in which “the first planar facet intersecting one of the two laser beams, the second planar facet intersecting the other one of the two laser beams,” for the purpose of reducing the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch (Song, [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar further teaches in Fig. 8: the multi-junction laser diode is a triple-junction laser diode, whereby the plurality of laser beams includes three laser beams (“a multijunction diode laser 802 having three active junctions 804. The three junctions 804 are spaced apart from each other by an offset pitch D which is on the order of a few to several microns. A fast axis collimator 806 is situated adjacent to the emitting facets of the multijunction diode laser 802 and receives the quickly diverging diode laser beams 808a, 808b, 808c emitted from the active junctions 804”; [0060]) incident on the (816) as a centermost laser beam and two outermost laser beams (beams 808a-c land on 816, one per part 818a, 818b, 818c),
Kanskar fails to explicitly teach: that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element and wherein the transmissive beam-deflecting element is configured to deflect the two outermost laser beams and not deflect the centermost laser beam.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
However, the combination of Kanskar and Wang fail to teach: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is configured to deflect the two outermost laser beams and not deflect the centermost laser beam.
In an alternate invention in the field of beam combining Song teaches in Fig. 1: the beam-deflecting element (116) is configured to deflect the two outermost laser beams and not deflect the centermost laser beam (see Fig. 1 in which center beam (from 115) passes straight through the flat center face of prism array 116 while outer beams (from 113 and 117) are bent toward the optical axis by the sloped outer faces).
Furthermore, Song teaches this configuration such that “The prism array pair 118 can make the whole configuration of the apparatus 100 substantially compact, and reduce the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch” (Song, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide a device in which “the transmissive beam-deflecting element is configured to deflect the two outermost laser beams and not deflect the centermost laser beam,” for the purpose of reducing the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch (Song, [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Kanskar, Wang, and Song teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 17. Kanskar fails to teach: the transmissive beam-deflecting element is a prism having an input side and an output side, one of the input side and the output side of the prism having a single planar facet intersecting the three laser beams, and the other one of the input side and the output side including (a) a centermost planar facet intersecting the centermost laser beam and (b) two outermost planar facets respectively intersecting the two outermost laser beams, the centermost planar facet being parallel to the single planar facet.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4 and 6: the beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]) is a prism (“beam-shaping component 401 includes a prism array 600 and the beam shaping of the incident laser beam includes refraction”; [0049]) having an input side (601) and an output side (602), one of the input side and the output side of the prism having a single planar facet intersecting the three laser beams (see planar side 602, “laser source 402 is described to include a triple-junction PLD that emits three native laser beams 407”; [0037]).
However, Wang fails to teach: the other one of the input side and the output side including (a) a centermost planar facet intersecting the centermost laser beam and (b) two outermost planar facets respectively intersecting the two outermost laser beams, the centermost planar facet being parallel to the single planar facet.
In an alternate invention in the field of beam combining Song teaches in Fig. 1: having an input side and an output side (see annotated Figure 1 below), one of the input side and the output side of the prism having a single planar facet intersecting the three laser beams (“The first prism array 116 is shaped as a plano-convex prism”; [0028], see Figure 1 below illustrating the planar input side), and
the other one of the input side and the output side including (a) a centermost planar facet intersecting the centermost laser beam and (b) two outermost planar facets respectively intersecting the two outermost laser beams (see Figure 1 below illustrating the two outer facets (corresponding to beams 101 and 105) and the center facet (corresponding to beam 103) being on the output side), the centermost planar facet being parallel to the single planar facet (see Figure 1 below in which the central facet in parallel to the single planar facet on the input side).
Furthermore, Song teaches this configuration such that “The prism array pair 118 can make the whole configuration of the apparatus 100 substantially compact, and reduce the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch” (Song, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Song to provide a device in which “the other one of the input side and the output side including (a) a centermost planar facet intersecting the centermost laser beam and (b) two outermost planar facets respectively intersecting the two outermost laser beams, the centermost planar facet being parallel to the single planar facet,” for the purpose of reducing the burden of focusing laser beams separated by a large pitch (Song, [0029]).
Figure 1: Annotated Fig 1 of Song
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanskar (US 20160181764 A1) and Wang (US 20200191957 A1) as in claim 1, and further in view of Du (US 20120002293 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 1. Kanskar fails to teach: comprising a volume Bragg grating disposed after the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow- axis cylindrical lens at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated.
In a related invention in the field of optical beam combination, Du teaches in Fig. 3A: comprising a volume Bragg grating (“Volume Bragg Grating (VBG) 89 disposed between the PBC 86 and the coupling lens 88”; [0050]) disposed after the (“turning reflector 40”; [0034]) and the slow-axis cylindrical lens (“slow axis collimator (SAC) 30”; [0034], “SACs 26 can each be in the form of a cylindrical or toroidal lens as known in the art”; [0034]) at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated (“Each of the light beams 33 is collimated by a respective SAC 30 in the XZ plane 122A, and is then reflected in a general direction of a polarization beam combiner (PBC) 86”; [0033], slow axis collimated by 30 and fast axis collimated by 14, thus the light beams reaching VBG 89 is collimated).
Furthermore, Du teaches this configuration such that “an optional Volume Bragg Grating (VBG) 89 disposed between the PBC 86 and the coupling lens 88 in the optical path of the polarization combined beam, for optionally providing an optical feedback to the emitters 20 for spectral locking thereof as known in the art” (Du, [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Du to provide a device comprising “a volume Bragg grating disposed after the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow-axis cylindrical lens at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated,” for the purpose of providing an optical feedback to the emitters for spectral locking (Du, [0050]).
However, Kanskar and Du fail to teach that the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element.
In a related invention in the field of laser coupling, Wang teaches in Fig. 4: the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element (“Beam-shaping component 401 can be made from a suitable material that has a sufficiently high light transmission rate”; [0041]).
Furthermore, Wang teaches this configuration such that “[t]he beam-shaping component is configured to selectively shape the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam and form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam” (Wang, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar and Du to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a device in which the beam-deflecting element is a transmissive beam-deflecting element, for the purpose of selectively shaping the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam to form a combined laser beam that includes chief laser beams from the first native laser beam and the second native laser beam (Wang, [0006]).
Regarding claim 20, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 19. Kanskar fails to teach: comprising a volume Bragg grating disposed between the laser modules and the focusing lens and arranged to intersect all laser beams of the beam bundles.
In a related invention in the field of optical beam combination, Du teaches in Fig. 3A: comprising a volume Bragg grating (“Volume Bragg Grating (VBG) 89 disposed between the PBC 86 and the coupling lens 88”; [0050]) disposed between the laser modules (“six, individual light emitters 20a to 20f”; [0030]) and the focusing lens (“a coupling optics 88, such as a suitable coupling lens”; [0038]) and arranged to intersect all laser beams of the beam bundles (see the beam path of Fig. 3A).
Furthermore, Du teaches this configuration such that “an optional Volume Bragg Grating (VBG) 89 disposed between the PBC 86 and the coupling lens 88 in the optical path of the polarization combined beam, for optionally providing an optical feedback to the emitters 20 for spectral locking thereof as known in the art” (Du, [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanskar to incorporate the teachings of Du to provide a device comprising “a volume Bragg grating disposed between the laser modules and the focusing lens and arranged to intersect all laser beams of the beam bundles,” for the purpose of providing an optical feedback to the emitters for spectral locking (Du, [0050]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 22, Kanskar and Wang teach the multi-junction laser-diode module of claim 21. The combination of Kanskar and Song fail to teach: wherein each laser module further includes a volume Bragg grating disposed after the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow-axis cylindrical lens of the laser module at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated.
Furthermore, the prior art of record fails to teach to the specific limitation of claim 22 that indicates a volume Bragg grating disposed after the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow-axis cylindrical lens of the laser module at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated in each laser module. See the prior art of record below that includes systems with volume Bragg gratings but cannot meet the placement of the Bragg grating as required by claim 22.
Therefore, based on the configuration of Kanskar and Song it would be improper to modify the prior art of record to provide a device in which “each laser module further includes a volume Bragg grating disposed after the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow-axis cylindrical lens of the laser module at a location where the laser beams are fully collimated.” Therefore, the combination of features is considered to be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170288364 A1: Bragg gratings 313 present in every laser module however 313 is not positioned in the correct location in the beam path, see Fig. 13B. Relevant to claim 22.
CN205828877U: Bragg gratings 31-34 present in every laser module however the device does not contain the transmissive beam-deflecting element and the slow-axis cylindrical lens is required by claim 22, see Fig. 4. Relevant to claim 22.
/RUBY L KAUFFMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872