DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
1. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allard et al. (US Pub. 20020145432; hereinafter “Allard”).
Regarding claim 19, Allard discloses a method for testing a power device (a test system 10 for testing ESD devices on a wafer, see Fig. 1), comprising: coupling a probe circuit (a probe circuit comprises conductive wires 91-92 of conductive coupler 46 and conductive needles 101-105, see Figs. 1-2) to a power device of a wafer (ESD devices on a wafer 14, see Figs. 1-2), wherein the probe circuit is coupled to an adapter circuit (adapter circuit boards 16, 18), and the adapter circuit is coupled to a parametric system matrix (a switching matrix 30 in Fig. 1); and performing a test on the power device by sending signals through the parametric system matrix and through the adapter circuit to the probe circuit (see paragraphs [0066-74] and claim 15). Regarding claim 20, Allard discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the test comprises a dynamic drain-source on-resistance test, a double pulse test, a breakdown test (ESD test), a leakage test (leakage measurement unit 33 in Fig. 1), or a threshold voltage test.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard in view of Roche et al. (US Pub. 20210033659; hereinafter “Roche”).
Regarding claim 1, Allard discloses a system (a test system 10 in Fig. 1) for characterizing a power device (for testing ESD devices on a wafer), comprising: a parametric system matrix (a switching matrix 30 in Fig. 1) coupled one or more test and measurement instruments (measurement instruments such as 32, 33, 34, 50 in Fig. 1); an adapter circuit (adapter circuit boards 16, 18) coupled to the parametric system matrix (30), the adapter circuit (16, 18) comprising a voltage circuit (a voltage circuit of the voltage board 18) coupled to the parametric system matrix (see paragraphs [0072-73, 76] and Fig. 1); and a probe circuit (a probe circuit comprises conductive wires 91-92 of conductive coupler 46 and conductive needles 101-105, see Figs. 1-2) coupled to the adapter circuit (16, 18) and to the power device, wherein the power device is located on a wafer (ESD devices on a wafer 14, see Figs. 1-2). Allard does not explicitly specify that the adapter circuit comprising a voltage clamping circuit.
Roche discloses, in Figs. 1-8, an electronic test equipment (100 in Fig. 1) comprising a tester (102 in Fig. 1) electrically coupled to an adapter circuit board (106 in Fig. 1) via a switch (110), and the adapter board (106) electrically coupled to power transistors (202 in Figs. 2-5) on a wafer (112), wherein the adapter board comprises a voltage clamping circuit (134 in Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the adapter circuit board in the test system of Allard by comprising a voltage clamping circuit as taught by Roche for purpose of providing the test system to ensure suitable test conditions, prevent wafer damage and reduce fluctuations from component to component and from batch to batch.
Regarding claim 2, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches wherein the parametric system matrix is coupled to the probe circuit (see at least in [0064] and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches wherein the wafer comprises a plurality of power devices, and the power device is one of the plurality of power devices of the wafer (see [0038-39, 58-59, 83-84] of Allard; or DUT 202 in Figs. 2 and 8 and para. [0018, 28, 48-49] of Roche).
Regarding claim 4, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches wherein the adapter circuit comprises a first plurality of inputs and a first plurality of outputs, wherein the first plurality of inputs are coupled to a second plurality of outputs from the parametric system matrix and the first plurality of outputs are coupled to a second plurality of inputs for the probe circuit (see paragraph [0066-74] and claim 15).
Regarding claim 5, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches wherein the one or more test and measurement instruments comprises a pulse measure unit configured to generate pulses (32 in Fig. 1) and to perform dynamic current and voltage measurements (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Roche further teaches wherein the adapter circuit is configured to determine a dynamic drain-source on-resistance for the power device (see and least in [0006, 17]). Regarding claim 7, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Roche further teaches wherein the adapter circuit comprises a voltage divider circuit, and one or more voltage protection circuits (see Figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 8, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Roche further teaches wherein the probe circuit comprises at least two low-current and low-voltage input pins (see Figs. 2-5 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Roche further teaches wherein the adapter circuit comprises a block diode, a current limiter, a replaceable load circuit, a capacitor, and a sense resistor (see Figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Roche further teaches wherein the system is configured to run at least one test on the wafer, wherein the at least one test comprises a dynamic drain-source on-resistance test, a double pulse test, a breakdown test, a leakage test, or a threshold voltage test (see [0022-26, 45]).
Regarding claim 14, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches wherein the power device is a first power device, the parametric system matrix is coupled to a second power device of the wafer, and the system is configured to perform a first test on the first power device and a second test on the second power device simultaneously (see at least in paragraphs [0066-74] and claim 15).
Regarding claim 15, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the power device is a transistor (ESD device of Allard comprises a MOSFET; or the DUT device of Roche comprise a IGBT or MOSFET, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, except for explicitly specifying wherein the adapter circuit is configured to perform a test on the power device using a Joint Electron Device Engineering Council (JEDEC) standard.
However using a Joint Electron Device Engineering Council (JEDEC) standard for performing a test on the power device is a known practice in the art and would simply be a matter of inventor design choice.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Allard and Roche by performing a test on the power device using a Joint Electron Device Engineering Council (JEDEC) standard, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 17, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 1, Allard further teaches comprising a parametric system having the parametric system matrix (see [0063-74] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Allard and Roche disclose the system of claim 17, Allard further teaches wherein the parametric system is configured to enable data analysis and parameter extraction using the adapter circuit and the probe circuit (see [0063-74] and Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tadepalli (U.S Pub. 20210080498) discloses a test system (see specification for more details).
Bahl (U.S Pub. 20170254842) discloses power electronic measurements (see specification for more details). Keller (U.S Pub. 20130027825) discloses an inductive switching test (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
10/21/2026