DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation:
“a driving unit on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“driving unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
1
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“at least one gripper connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“at least one gripper”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
1
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a loading detection sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
2
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder among gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to transfer the gas cylinder among gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
6
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“gas cylinder inspection unit is configured to check whether the gas leaks from the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“gas cylinder inspection unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to check whether the gas leaks from the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
7
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
8
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor are configured to detect a distance to the gas storage unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect a distance to the gas storage unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
8
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage unit to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage unit to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
9
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor are configured to detect a distance to the gas storage unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect a distance to the gas storage unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
9
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
9
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit by”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit by”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
10
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the gas cylinder inspection unit is configured to check properties of gas stored in the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the gas cylinder inspection unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to check properties of gas stored in the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
10
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to recover the gas cylinder from inside a gas cylinder replacement unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to recover the gas cylinder from inside a gas cylinder replacement unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
11
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
11
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a driving unit on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a driving unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
12
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“at least one gripper connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“at least one gripper”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
12
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to the gas cylinder from a gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to the gas cylinder from a gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
12
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a gas detector configured to check whether a gas leaks from the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a gas detector”
coupled with functional language:
“a gas detector configured to check whether a gas leaks from the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
12
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the first distance measurement sensor is configured to detect a distance to the second seating unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the first distance measurement sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect a distance to the second seating unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
12
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from gas cylinder inspection unit to the gas cylinder storage unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to transfer the gas cylinder from gas cylinder inspection unit to the gas cylinder storage unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
13
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
14
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the gas cylinder replacement unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
14
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a second distance measurement sensor on the seating unit and configured to recognize a quick response (QR) code on the second seating unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a second distance measurement sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to recognize a quick response (QR) code on the second seating unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
15
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a loading detection sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
17
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a driving unit on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a driving unit”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
18
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“at least one gripper connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“at least one gripper”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
18
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit, a gas storage unit or a gas replacement unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“the mobile robot”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit, a gas storage unit or a gas replacement unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
18
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation:
“a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit”
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder:
“a loading detection sensor”
coupled with functional language:
“configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s):
20
has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to the gas cylinder from a gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
it is unclear what the mobile robot is configure to do with the gas cylinder, for the purposes of furthering prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form: “the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from a gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit”
Claim 14 recites the limitation:
“the mobile robot is configured to the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
it is unclear what the mobile robot is configure to do with the gas cylinder, for the purposes of furthering prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form: “the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder storage to a gas cylinder replacement unit”
Claim element "gas cylinder inspection unit configured to check properties of the gas stored in the gas cylinder" in Claim 10 is a limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Regarding Claims 13, 15, 16, and 17:
the claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220016788 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses:
A mobile robot comprising:
a body unit (120);
a driving unit (120) on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction [0045];
a seating unit (114) connected a bottom of the driving unit and on which the gas cylinder is seated (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4);
at least one gripper (140) connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
a first distance measurement sensor (152) on the driving unit (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9); and
a second distance measurement sensor (150) on the seating unit (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses:
the first distance measurement sensor is disposed on both side surfaces of the driving unit (Fig. 8), respectively.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses:
the second distance measurement sensor is a quick response (QR) code (0066) reader [0066].
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses:
at least one gripper is spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit (200) [0014 & 0025] by control of a controller (104 & 204) [0025 & 0070 & 0071], and
wherein the gas cylinder inspection unit is configured to check whether the gas leaks from the gas cylinder by control of the controller [0062].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit (200) [0014 & 0025] by control of a controller (104 & 204) [0025 & 0070 & 0071], and
wherein the gas cylinder inspection unit is configured to check properties of gas stored in the gas cylinder [0055 & 0057 & 0062].
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to recover the gas cylinder from inside a gas cylinder replacement unit by control of the controller [0002 & 0004 & 0041], and
wherein the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line [0002 & 0004 & 0041].
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses:
A mobile robot comprising:
a body unit (120),
a driving unit (120) on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction [0045];
a first seating unit (114) connected a bottom of the driving unit and on which the gas cylinder is seated (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4),
at least one gripper (140) connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), and
a first distance measurement sensor (152) on the driving unit (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9),
wherein the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder to a gas cylinder inspection unit (200) [0064 & 0069], a gas storage unit or a gas replacement unit, by control of a controller (104 & 204) [0025 & 0070 & 0071].
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses:
a second distance measurement sensor on the seating unit (150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220016788 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim does not teach:
a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit in order to prevent damage to a cylinder being transferred due to dropping as a result of misalignment or misengagement prior to transfer since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that loading detection sensors for confirming position of articles to be transferred were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim does not teach:
a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit in order to prevent damage to a cylinder being transferred due to dropping as a result of misalignment or misengagement prior to transfer since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that loading detection sensors for confirming position of articles to be transferred were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220016788 A1) in view of Ferenczi et al. (WO 9900755 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder among gas cylinders from a gas cylinder first position to a gas cylinder inspection unit (200) [0014 & 0025] by control of a controller [0025 & 0070 & 0071], and
wherein the gas cylinder inspection unit is configured to check whether the gas leaks from the gas cylinder by control of the controller [0062].
Kim does not teach:
the first position is a gas cylinder transfer unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder supply system comprising:
gas cylinders (107) in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit (205) [Lines 229-241 & Lines 401-418].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to another location [0064 & 0069], and
wherein the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor are configured to detect a distance to the another location [0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068].
Kim does not teach:
the another location is a gas cylinder storage unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder supply system comprising:
gas cylinders (107) in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit (205) [Lines 229-241 & Lines 401-418], and
transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit (205) to a gas cylinder storage unit (103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit and transferring the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder replacement unit by control of the controller [0002 & 0004 & 0041],
wherein the first distance measurement sensor and the second distance measurement sensor are configured to detect a distance to the gas cylinder inspection unit [0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068], and
wherein the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line [0002 & 0004 & 0041].
Kim does not teach:
a gas cylinder storage unit for storing gas cylinders separate from the gas cylinder inspection unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder storage unit (103) for storing gas cylinders (107) separate from the gas cylinder inspection unit (205).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit and transferring the gas cylinder from a gas cylinder storage unit for storing gas cylinders separate from the gas cylinder inspection unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses:
A mobile robot comprising:
a body unit (120);
a driving unit (120) on the body unit and configured to move in a first parallel direction, a second parallel direction and a vertical direction [0045];
a first seating unit (114) connected a bottom of the driving unit and on which the gas cylinder is seated (Fig. 2 & Fig. 4);
at least one gripper (140) connected the driving unit and configured to surround a side surface of the gas cylinder (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); and
a first distance measurement sensor (152) on the driving unit (Fig. 8 & Fig. 9); and
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to another location [0064 & 0069] by control of a controller (104 & 204) [0025 & 0070 & 0071],
wherein the gas cylinder inspection unit includes a gas detector (270) configured to check whether a gas leaks from the gas cylinder when the gas cylinder is in the gas cylinder inspection unit by control of the controller [0062],
wherein the gas cylinder inspection unit includes a second seating unit (210) on which the gas cylinder received from mobile robot is seated (Fig. 1) by control of the controller [0025 & 0070 & 0071], and
wherein the first distance measurement sensor is configured to detect a distance to the second seating unit [0067 & 0068].
Kim does not teach:
the another location is a gas cylinder storage unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder supply system comprising:
gas cylinders (107) in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit (205) [Lines 229-241 & Lines 401-418], and
transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit (205) to a gas cylinder storage unit (103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit and transferring the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses:
the gas cylinder inspection unit further includes a barcode reader (240) configured to recognize a barcode attached to the gas cylinder [0055 & 0057], and
wherein the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to another location [0064 & 0069] after the gas detector detects whether the gas leaks from the gas cylinder and the barcode reader recognizes the barcode [0055 & 0057 & 0062], by control of the controller [0025 & 0070 & 0071].
Kim does not teach:
the another location is a gas cylinder storage unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder supply system comprising:
gas cylinders (107) in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit (205) [Lines 229-241 & Lines 401-418], and
transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit (205) to a gas cylinder storage unit (103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit and transferring the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses:
the mobile robot is configured to transfer the gas cylinder from the gas cylinder inspection unit to a gas cylinder replacement unit [0002 & 0004 & 0041] by control of the controller [0025 & 0070 & 0071], and
wherein the gas cylinder replacement unit is configured to supply a gas in the gas cylinder to the semiconductor manufacturing process line [0002 & 0004 & 0041].
Kim does not teach:
a gas cylinder storage unit.
Ferenczi teaches:
a gas cylinder supply system comprising:
gas cylinders (107) in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit (205) [Lines 229-241 & Lines 401-418], and
transfer the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit (205) to a gas cylinder storage unit (103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas cylinder transfer system utilizing a mobile robot for transferring a gas cylinder from a first position to a gas cylinder transfer unit taught by Kim with the gas cylinder supply system transferring gas cylinders in a cradle from a gas cylinder transfer unit to a gas cylinder inspection unit and transferring the gas cylinder from the gas inspection unit to a gas cylinder storage unit taught by Ferenczi in order to provide a supply system with increased throughput by eliminating bottlenecks and reducing cost by separating supply, storage, and testing locations.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses:
a second distance measurement sensor (150) on the seating unit and configured to recognize a quick response (QR) code (214) on the second seating unit [0066 & 0068].
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses:
the first distance measurement sensor is disposed on both side surfaces of the driving unit, respectively (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim does not teach:
a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the first seating unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a loading detection sensor on the body unit and configured to detect whether the gas cylinder is loaded on the seating unit in order to prevent damage to a cylinder being transferred due to dropping as a result of misalignment or misengagement prior to transfer since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that loading detection sensors for confirming position of articles to be transferred were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652