DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Examiner has checked and verified that the subject matter of the foreign priority document supports the instant application, and as such, the earlier filed date of 08/02/2024 is granted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 06/18/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Examiner notes that although the independent claims recite several determining steps that could be construed as mental processes, the independent claims clearly recite the utilization of encoded data being input into a generative neural network which is something that the human mind cannot do. As such, the claims are not being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as they recite patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zheng et al., “GenAD: Generative End-to-End Autonomous Driving” (available on 04/07/2024), herein referred to as Zheng, and in view of Huang et al., US 20230051486 A1, herein referred to as Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses acquiring pieces of sensor data (3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3; sensor inputs may be obtained), determining a first path of the moving object based on the pieces of sensor data (3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4; future predicted trajectories for the vehicle may be generated, these predicted trajectories can be considered first paths, predicted trajectories are based on the BEV semantic map/space which is constructed through sensor data), inputting at least one piece of sensor data among the pieces of sensor data into an encoder that encodes the at least one piece of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the generated future trajectories are mapped to a latent space through an encoding process, the encoding process utilizes the future predicted trajectories (which includes sensor data) in the BEV semantic map to generate a latent trajectory space), inputting the encoded at least one piece of sensor data into a generative neural network model that generates guide information on a path of the moving object (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the encoded data in the latent space is passed into a gated recurrent unit (GRU) which is modeled after a recursive neural network which can be considered as a generative neural network, the GRUs output next future trajectories in the latent space which can be considered guide information), and determining the final path of the moving object based on the first path and the guide information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; a reconstructed trajectory may be generated through decoding of the GRU outputs, this reconstructed trajectory is based on the initial predicted future trajectory and the next future trajectories in the laten space), but fails to disclose determining the final path of the moving object by modifying the first path based on the guide information, wherein the first path is determined independently of the generative neural network model.
However, Huang, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches determining the final path of the moving object by modifying the first path based on the guide information, wherein the first path is determined independently of the generative neural network model (Paragraphs 0014-0015, 0022; a path may be received (first path) for the autonomous vehicle from a starting location to an ending location; a final path (collision free) may be generated through changing of waypoints/nodes; these modified waypoints/nodes may be based on the first path received). Therefore, from the teaching of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the pathing system of Zheng to include determining the final path of the moving object by modifying the first path based on the guide information, wherein the first path is determined independently of the generative neural network model, as taught/suggested by Huang. The motivation to do so would be to ensure that the initial path planning is strictly influenced by just sensor/map data, and not influenced by the generative network model. This can be desirable since the initial path will allow for a ‘base-line’ from which future path modifications can occur. Additionally, having the first path created outside of the generative network model may reduce computational resources needed, which can further lead to increased efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses determining a global path of the moving object based on the at least one piece of sensor data among the pieces of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; map elements within the BEV map/space may have an associated ground-truth trajectory (can be considered a global path), this data within the BEV map/space is based on obtained sensor data), recognizing and tracking a moving element of a surrounding environment of the moving object based on the at least one piece of sensor data, and generating map information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the BEV map/space may have semantic elements representing agents in the environment which can be considered as recognizing and tracking a moving object in the environment), and determining a local path of the moving object based on the moving element, the map information, and the global path (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; agent tokens may be utilized for each agent, tokens are specific to each semantic map element and are instanced, instanced tokens represent each semantic element and its associated information (position, trajectory, etc.), which can be considered a local path).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 2. Zheng further discloses generating path modification information based on the global path and the guide information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; guide information generated from the GRUs may further be integrated to obtain temporal waypoint data for the reconstructed trajectories), and modifying the local path based on the path modification information to determine the final path (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the temporal waypoints for the reconstructed trajectories may be utilized for evolving the latent space trajectories (local paths, agent tokens, see claim 2) to acquire actual reconstructed trajectories (final path; see claim 1)).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses a default prompt is set for the generative neural network model to output the guide information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the GRUs may operate based on gradually outputting temporal evolutions of a latent space (guide information), this model behavior may be considered a default prompt as the GRUs always operate based off of their model).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses repeatedly determining the first path with a first frequency, and repeatedly generating the guide information with a second frequency, wherein the first frequency is greater than the second frequency (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; predicted future trajectories may occur constantly as the ego vehicle moves through an environment, the guide information (output by the GRUs) may be output gradually, meaning that it occurs at a lower frequency than the predicted future trajectories).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses acquiring encoded results corresponding respectively to the pieces of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; encoded data corresponds to pieces of sensor data input), and concatenating the encoded results to generate the encoded at least one piece of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; encoded data is input into a latent space, encoded data as a whole is concatenated as it is input collectively into the latent space).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses the encoder is trained to generate the guide information by the generative neural network model receiving the encoded at least one piece of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the encoding of sensor data may be performed through a variational autoencoder which is trained to map encoded data to a latent space).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Zheng further discloses determining a query based on the encoded at least one piece of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; BEV token queries may be utilized for encoded BEV features), and acquiring experience data corresponding to the query from a memory (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; past frame data may be utilized for aligning features in the BEV map, past data may only be utilized if some form of memory is present).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Zheng further discloses the memory stores past driving experience information comprising driving situation information, behavior information corresponding to the driving situation information, and reasoning information for the behavior information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; past frames may be utilized for the BEV map encoding, past frames can indicate past driving experience (agent and/or ego), behavior information (actions and positions of agent/ego vehicles), and reasoning information (agent/ego vehicle trajectories can be considered reasoning information)), comparing the query with the driving situation information stored by the memory and acquiring reference driving situation information corresponding to a current driving situation (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; past frames may be aligned into the current BEV semantic map, this alignment may be considered as comparing the query (BEV token query, see claim 8) with the past driving experience information (which includes the driving situation information), aligned data can be considered reference data for future processes), and acquiring reference prediction behavior information and reference reasoning information corresponding to the reference driving situation information (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; past frame data and the data it represents (driving situation information, behavior information etc.) may be considered reference data for future processes (new alignment based on new data, etc.)).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Zheng further discloses inputting the encoded at least one piece of sensor data and the experience data into the generative neural network model which infers the guide information therefrom (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the GRUs may utilize the output encoded information and latent space information to output the guide information).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Zheng further discloses the memory stores the experience data by dividing the experience data into components (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; frame data (past and aligned) may be have multiple components (positional, trajectory, etc.)), acquiring element-specific feature vectors based on the encoded at least one piece of sensor data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; encoded elements (features) within the BEV map/space may be mapped through vectoring by way of a Gaussian distribution, this can be considered as acquiring feature vectors as the vectors are based on semantic elements), acquiring component feature data by converting the element-specific feature vectors into a feature space (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; the feature vectors output through the encoded mapping results in a latent space which can be considered a feature space since each semantic element is represented, the latent data present may be considered component feature data), determining element-specific query data based on the component feature data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; BEV token queries may be utilized for the BEV mapping, The BEV mapping into the latent space may result in latent space data (component feature data) that is based on query data), and transmitting the element-specific query data to the memory and acquiring element-specific experience data corresponding to the element-specific query data (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; data present in the latent space is utilized for future processes (GRU, decoding, etc.) and would require storing the data in some fashion).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng in view of Huang renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11. Zheng further discloses inputting the component feature data and the element-specific experience data into the generative neural network model which infers the guide information therefrom, wherein the generative neural network model has learned a causal relationship between the element-specific feature vectors (Fig. 3, 3.1 Instance-Centric Scene Representation, Page 3, 3.2 Trajectory Prior Modelling, Page 4, 3.3 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5, 3.4 Latent Future Trajectory Generation, Page 5; component feature data and the element-specific experience data that is present in the latent space (see claim 11) may be input into GRUs which output the guide information, the GRUs are trained based on learned relationships between latent space data).
Regarding claim 13, the claim limitations are similar to a portion of those in claim 9 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, a portion of the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 1 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 1. Additionally, Zheng discloses one or more processors (Table 1 summary, data is computed using a GPU which includes processors and memory; additionally, neural networks require processors in order to function).
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 2 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 3 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 4 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 5 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim limitations are similar to those in claim 6 and are rejected using the same rationale as seen above in claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 8-12, Applicant is arguing that the prior art of Zheng fails to disclose the limitations. However, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Specifically, Applicant merely points to the introduction section of Zheng to allege that Zheng fails to disclose the limitations of claims 2-3. Regarding claims 8-12, the Applicant does not point to any specific section of Zheng in relation to the disclosure of the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658