DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The Response, filed on June 3, 2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action dated March 26, 2026, the title and claims 1 and 11 have been amended, claim 7 has been cancelled, and claims 18 and 19 have been newly added.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the objection to the title, Applicant has amended the title to be more clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Therefore, the outstanding objection to the title is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 16 and 17, Applicant's arguments, in view of the most recent amendments to the claims, have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 16 and 17 is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-10, 14 and 15, Applicant “disagrees that Tahara discloses the sub-housing as now clarified.” (Remarks, pp. 8-9). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim, as now amended, recites:
wherein the sub-housing comprises
a first surface facing the optical axis direction,
a second surface facing a first direction intersecting the optical axis direction,
a connecting portion extending from the first surface to the second surface, and
a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housing, and
wherein the connecting portion is inclined obliquely with respect to a reference line parallel to the optical axis.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
Correspondingly, Tahara teaches wherein the sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least elements 3 and 17) comprises
a first surface facing the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, topmost surface of element 17 facing the α (alpha) direction/Z direction; indicated by the “x” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above),
a second surface facing a first direction intersecting the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, the lowest and central side surface of element 3 facing the X or Y direction; indicated by the “+” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above),
a connecting portion extending from the first surface to the second surface (e.g., fig. 2, the portion associated with and including fixing part 17 as well as that extending from the edge of the first surface to the edge of the second surface; [0048]; the Examiner notes that the term "portion" is broad and open to broad interpretation), and
a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least the portion protruding out further that the second surface; such as that indicated by the “∆” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), and
wherein the connecting portion is inclined obliquely with respect to a reference line parallel to the optical axis (e.g., fig. 2, the connecting portion has a part that is inclined obliquely to, i.e., neither parallel to nor perpendicular to, the optical axis α (alpha) direction/Z direction of the annotated cutout from figure 2 above; the Examiner notes that the term "portion" is broad and open to broad interpretation, and the claim does not require the “connecting portion” to be entirely inclined obliquely).
In light of at least the above, the Examiner stands behind the teaching of Tahara as applied by the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in combination with the Shin reference, which was employed for its teachings related to optical filters.
* * * * * * * *
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0231872 to Tahara et al. (hereinafter “Tahara”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0319382 to Shin et al. (hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding claim 1, Tahara teaches a camera module comprising a lens barrel (e.g., fig. 2, element 9; [0028]), a sub-housing disposed on one side of the lens barrel in an optical axis direction of the lens barrel (e.g., fig. 2, at least elements 3 and 17), an image sensor disposed in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, element 5; [031]), and a substrate electrically connected to the image sensor (e.g., fig. 4, element 52; [01031]), the sub-
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
(annotated figure 2 of Tahara)
housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least elements 3 and 17) comprises a first surface facing the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, topmost surface of element 17 facing the α (alpha) direction/Z direction; indicated by the “x” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), a second surface facing a first direction intersecting the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, the lowest and central side surface of element 3 facing the X or Y direction; indicated by the “+” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), a connecting portion extending from the first surface to the second surface (e.g., fig. 2, the portion associated with and including fixing part 17 as well as that extending from the edge of the first surface to the edge of the second surface; [0048]; the Examiner notes that the term "portion" is broad and open to broad interpretation), and a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least the portion protruding out further that the second surface; such as that indicated by the “∆” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), and wherein the connecting portion is inclined obliquely with respect to a reference line parallel to the optical axis (e.g., fig. 2, the connecting portion has at least a part that is inclined obliquely to, i.e., neither parallel to nor perpendicular to, the optical axis α (alpha) direction/Z direction of the annotated cutout from figure 2 above; the Examiner notes that the term "portion" is broad and open to broad interpretation, and the claim does not require the “connecting portion” to be entirely inclined obliquely). Tahara, however, is not found by the Examiner to expressly disclose an optical filter is mounted on the sub-housing with the image sensor disposed on one side of the optical filter in the optical axis direction.
Nevertheless, the use of optical filters with camera modules is well-known and accepted in the imaging arts. For example, Shin teaches a similar camera module that includes an optical filter is mounted on a sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, element 40; [0085]) with an image sensor disposed on one side of the optical filter in an optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Shin into the camera module as taught by Tahara in order to block unwanted infrared rays from reaching the image sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the protrusion is disposed not to overlap the substrate in the optical axis direction (‘872 – e.g., figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the connecting portion is disposed at both ends of the first surface in the first direction (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the connecting portion comprises a connecting surface (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2), connected to the second surface (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2), extending in a plane direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, portion of element 3 extending outward from element 17), and a step surface connecting the connecting surface to the first surface (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, requiring a change in elevation to reach first surface from connecting surface).
Regarding claim 9, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 9 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the protrusion is disposed to be inclined obliquely with respect to a reference line parallel to the optical axis (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, side of protrusion; the vertex of the angle is not defined by the claim).
Regarding claim 10, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 10 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein one end of the protrusion is in contact with the connecting portion (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, although not necessarily in direct contact without intervening portions, recited elements, members, regions, etc.), and another end of the protrusion is in contact with the second surface (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 14 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the protrusion extends in a second direction intersecting the optical axis direction and the first direction (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the protrusion comprises a plurality of protrusions (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, protrusion are on either side of the second surface), and at least two protrusions of the plurality of protrusions are disposed to face each other in the first direction (e.g., ‘872 – fig. 2, face each other, as the first direction is outward from the second surface, and each side mirrors itself).
Regarding claim 18, Tahara teaches a camera module comprising a lens barrel (e.g., fig. 2, element 9; [0028]), a sub-housing disposed on one side of the lens barrel in an optical axis direction of the lens barrel (e.g., fig. 2, at least elements 3 and 17), an image sensor disposed in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, element 5; [031]), and a substrate electrically connected to the image sensor (e.g., fig. 4, element 52; [01031]), the sub-
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
(annotated figure 2 of Tahara)
housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least elements 3 and 17) comprises a first surface facing the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, topmost surface of element 17 facing the α (alpha) direction/Z direction; indicated by the “x” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), a second surface facing a first direction intersecting the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2, the lowest and central side surface of element 3 facing the X or Y direction; indicated by the “+” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), a connecting portion connecting the first surface with the second surface (e.g., fig. 2, the portion associated with and including fixing part 17 as well as that extending from the edge of the first surface to the edge of the second surface; [0048]; the Examiner notes that the term "portion" is broad and open to broad interpretation), and a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, at least the portion protruding out further that the second surface; such as that indicated by the “∆” annotated to the cutout from figure 2 above), and wherein the protrusion is disposed not to overlap the substrate in the optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2). Tahara, however, is not found by the Examiner to expressly disclose an optical filter is mounted on the sub-housing with the image sensor disposed on one side of the optical filter in the optical axis direction.
Nevertheless, the use of optical filters with camera modules is well-known and accepted in the imaging arts. For example, Shin teaches a similar camera module that includes an optical filter is mounted on a sub-housing (e.g., fig. 2, element 40; [0085]) with an image sensor disposed on one side of the optical filter in an optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Shin into the camera module as taught by Tahara in order to block unwanted infrared rays from reaching the image sensor.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tahara and Shin in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0210300 to Seo et al. (hereinafter “Seo”).
Regarding claim 16, Tahara and Shin teach all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose the camera module further comprising a housing having an internal space, and a reflective module, accommodated in the internal space, comprising a reflective member configured to change an incident light path and a reflective holder disposed to support the reflective member, wherein the lens barrel is disposed to pass light from the incident light path.
Nevertheless, Seo teaches a housing having an internal space (e.g., fig. 4A, element 1030), and a reflective module (e.g., fig. 4A, element 1010a), accommodated in the internal space, comprising a reflective member configured to change an incident light path (e.g., fig. 4B, element 1110; [0138]) and a reflective holder disposed to support the reflective member (e.g., fig. 4A, element 1010a), wherein a lens barrel is disposed to pass light from the incident light path (e.g. figs. 4A-6, lens barrel 1230; [0142]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Seo with the teachings of Tahara and Shin in order to create a camera module that can create an opportunity for adding additional lens modules or elements in the optical path, without drastically changing a dimension of the apparatus by using this folded optics approach.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 6, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 11-13, the prior art has not been found by the Examiner to teach or fairly suggest the claimed combination of a camera module comprising a lens barrel, a sub-housing disposed on one side of the lens barrel in an optical axis direction of the lens barrel, wherein an optical filter is mounted on the sub-housing, an image sensor disposed on one side of the optical filter in the optical axis direction, and a substrate electrically connected to the image sensor, wherein the sub-housing comprises a first surface facing the optical axis direction, a second surface facing a first direction intersecting the optical axis direction, a connecting portion connecting the first surface with the second surface, and a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housing, wherein a groove portion, disposed on the connecting portion and the second surface, extends from the connecting portion to the protrusion.
The closest references explicitly fail to teach a connecting portion connecting the first surface with the second surface, and a protrusion protruding from the second surface to an outer side of the sub-housinq, wherein a groove portion, disposed on the connecting portion and the second surface, extends from the connecting portion to the protrusion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638