DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitsch, DE 10 2007 003 319.
Regarding Claim 1, Nitsch teaches:
A fastener assembly to couple first component (50) to a second component (40) via post
(41) comprising:
a fastener portion having a body (1) with a collar (see below) at a first end and a base
(see below) at a second end;
wherein the base is configured to couple with the first component, and
wherein the body defines one or more channels (12); and
an isolator portion (13-14, 16) coupled to the collar,
wherein at least a portion of the isolator portion extends into the one or more channels (Fig. 1A),
wherein the isolator portion is configured to provide a seal against a surface of the second component (Fig. 8), and
wherein the fastener assembly defines a passageway (1) therethrough configured to receive and engage the post via one or more retainers (52).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “configured to couple with the first component“, “configured to provide a seal against a surface of the second component” and “configured to receive and engage the post via one or more retainers”, and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim because the prior art need only be capable of meeting the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2114 [R-1].
Regarding Claim 6¸ Nitsch teaches:
Each of the one or more channels is configured to extend partially between the
base and the collar (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Nitsch teaches:
Each of the one or more channels is configured to extend from the collar partially toward the base (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Nitsch teaches:
The isolator portion comprises an annular disk and a plurality of legs (see below).
Regarding Claim 10¸ Nitsch teaches:
The annular disk is coupled to the collar and each of the plurality of legs extends into one of the one or more channels (see drawing selection above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8 and 11-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677