Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 1, line 14, “each may include” should begin a new sentence.
On page 1, lines 19-20, “for example requirements as defined, recommended, and informed by e.g. the IEEE/IEC 80005…” should read “for example requirements as defined, recommended and informed by the IEEE/IEC 80005…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim when read in light of the specification.
The metes and bounds of claim 12 are not clearly defined because it is unclear whether the recited control module is required to be configured to perform each and every one of the listed operations in combination, or whether only one or some subset of the listed operations is required. In particular, the use of “and/or” creates ambiguity as to whether the control module must perform all preceding functions, or whether the control module may perform only one or more selected functions from the entire list.
Claim 12 is further indefinite because it is unclear what “sensor data output by the at least one sensor” is being used for each recited operation and which operation or operations are performed “based on” that sensor data. The phrase “based on sensor data output by the at least one sensor” appears at the end of the claim, but it is unclear whether it modifies only “generate a warning” or modifies all previously recited control-module functions, including switching operation modes, adjusting cable dispensing speed, adjusting movable biasing unit operation, adjusting crane arm elevation or rotation, adjusting cable management apparatus elevation or rotation, and performing an emergency stop.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed control module because the claim does not clearly identify which functions are required, which functions are optional, and which sensor data is used to perform which claimed control operation.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 6 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 discloses the operation modes of the dispensing unit. This does not impose any further limitations on the dispensing unit given in Claim 1. As such, Claim 2 is considered non-limiting.
Claim 4 discloses the operation of a drive unit. This does not add any further structure or impose any further limitations on the drive unit given in Claim 3. As such, Claim 4 is considered non-limiting.
Claim 5 discloses an operation mode for the dispensing unit. This does not impose any further limitations on the movable biasing unit given in Claim 3. As such, Claim 5 is considered non-limiting.
Claim 6 discloses an operation mode for the dispensing unit. This does not impose any further limitations on the movable biasing unit given in Claim 3. As such, Claim 6 is considered non-limiting.
Claim 15 discloses a working environment for the cable management system. This does not impose any further limitations on the apparatus given in Claim 1. As such, Claim 15 is considered non-limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karl (U.S. Patent No. 4238981).
Regarding claim 1, Karl teaches a cable management apparatus for storing, dispensing and/or retracting an electrical cable (1), the apparatus comprising (Abstract):
a housing (6) to enclose the electrical cable (1), the housing (6) having a dispense opening defining a front end from which the electrical cable (1) is dispensed and a rear end opposite the front end (Column 3, lines 29-38; Fig. 1, elements 1, 6; annotated figure);
a cable dispensing unit (2) disposed proximal to the dispense opening, the cable dispensing unit (2) being configured to dispense the electrical cable (1) from the dispense opening in a first operation mode (Column 3, lines 29-31; Fig. 1, elements 1, 3);
and a movable biasing unit (4) disposed within the housing (6) to receive a portion of the electrical cable (1) and to apply a biasing force on the portion of the electrical cable (1) towards the rear end such that the electrical cable (1) is tensioned between the cable dispensing unit (2) and the movable biasing unit (4), the movable biasing unit (4) being configured to move along at least a portion of a length of the housing (6) to cooperatively dispense the electrical cable (1) with the cable dispensing unit (2) (Column 3, lines 39-44; Column 4, lines 41-44; Fig. 1, elements 1, 4, 6). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 3, Karl teaches a cable device wherein the movable biasing unit (4) comprises a drive unit configured to generate and control the biasing force towards the rear end of the housing (6) (Column 2, lines 4-14; Column 7, lines 16-19).
Regarding claim 4, Karl teaches a cable device wherein when the cable dispensing unit (2) is in the first operation mode, the drive unit is configured to reduce the biasing force towards the rear end of the housing (6) based on a dispense speed of the cable dispensing unit (2) to allow the movable biasing unit (4) to move towards the dispense opening, such that a predetermined tension in the electrical cable (1) is maintained while the cable dispensing unit (2) dispenses the electrical cable (1) (Column 2, lines 15-21; Column 3, lines 29-38).
Regarding claim 6, Karl teaches a cable device wherein the cable dispensing unit (2) is configured in a third operation mode to be static, and the drive unit is configured to maintain the biasing force towards the rear end of the housing (6) so as to maintain a predetermined tension in the electrical cable (1) for storage (Column 4, lines 5-17).
Regarding claim 7, Karl teaches a cable device with a rail (9) disposed within the housing (6) extending at least the portion of the length of the housing (6), wherein the drive unit is slidably coupled to the rail (9), as seen in the rejection for Claim 3 (Column 3, lines 48-52; Fig. 1, elements 4, 6, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Larkin (US 7901241).
Regarding claim 2, Karl fails to teach a retraction method. Larkin teaches a cable device wherein the cable dispensing unit (30) is configured in the first operation mode to dispense the electrical cable (34) by drawing a length of the electrical cable (34) out of the dispense opening, and in a second operation mode to retract the electrical cable (34) by drawing the length of electrical cable (34) into the housing (36) (Column 4, lines 18-21; Fig. 5, elements 36, 30, 34; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Larkin in Karl to facilitate the creation of a retraction method that can reduces the need to reconnect and sort cables as taught by Larkin (Column 1, lines 14-27; Column 2, lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 5, Karl discloses the claimed invention except for a retraction method. Larkin teaches a cable device wherein the cable dispensing unit (30) is configured in a second operation mode to retract the electrical cable (34) by drawing the length of electrical cable (34) into the housing (36), and the drive unit is configured to increase the biasing force towards the rear end of the housing (36) based on a retract speed of the cable dispensing unit (30) when the cable dispensing unit (30) is in the second operation mode, such that a predetermined tension in the electrical cable (34) is maintained while the cable dispensing unit (30) retracts the electrical cable (34) (Column 6, lines 30-32; Fig. AA, elements 365, 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Larkin in Karl to facilitate the creation of a retraction method that can control the tension within the cable as taught by Larkin (Column 6, lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 9, Karl fails to teach a plurality of cable dispensing units. Larkin teaches a cable device with a plurality of cable dispensing units (30) and a plurality of movable biasing units (365), wherein each pair of cable dispensing unit (30) and movable sheave unit (365) is configured to cooperatively dispense and retract a corresponding electrical cable (34) (Column 3, lines 6-9; Column 4, lines 18-21; Column 6, lines 30-32; Fig. 1, elements 30, 30).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Larkin in Karl to facilitate the creation of a plurality of cable dispensing units that can adequately maintain multiple cables as taught by Larkin (Column 1, lines 6-10, 28-34).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Lissandre et al (FR 3067706).
Regarding claim 8, Karl fails to teach a sheave as part of the biasing unit. Lissandre et al teaches the movable biasing unit (6) is a sheave comprising a circular or semi-circular wheel having a grooved rim that receives the portion of the electrical cable (4) (Page 8, paragraph 2; Fig. 10, elements 6, 412, 422).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to of the invention to include the teachings of Lissandre et al in Karl to facilitate the creation of a sheave that can adjust the tension of the cable as taught by Lissandre et al (Page 3, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 10, Karl fails to teach a crane. Lissandre et al teaches a cable management system for facilitating electrical power transmission to a marine vessel, the system comprising:
a crane (2) having a support base (21), the crane (2) comprising a crane arm (20) pivotally coupled to the support base (21), the crane arm (20) extending from a proximal end near the support base (21) to a distal end away from the support base (21), and a crane interface at the distal end of the crane arm (20) (Page 7, paragraph 2; Fig. 1, elements 2, 3, 20, 21);
the cable management apparatus (3) that is pivotally coupled to the crane interface (Page 7, paragraph 2; Fig. 1, elements 2, 3);
and at least one electrical cable (4) (Page 7, paragraph 3; Page 8, paragraph 1; Fig. 1, element 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Lissandre et al in Karl to facilitate the creation of a cable management system that can increase the operational safety of the crane as taught by Lissandre (Page 3, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 11, Karl fails to teach a monitoring system. Lissandre et al teaches a cable management system featuring a monitoring system comprising at least one sensor (9), the at least one sensor (9) being configured to sense: a position of the crane (2), a position of the cable management apparatus (3), a mechanical force being exerted on the at least one electrical cable (4), a temperature of the at least one electrical cable (4), one or more obstructions near the crane (2), the cable management apparatus (3), and/or the at least one electrical cable (4) (Page 11, paragraphs 2, 3; Page 12, paragraph 1; Page 13, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Lissandre et al in Karl to facilitate the creation of a monitoring system that allows the user to have a close view of the cable dispenser during operation as taught by Lissandre (Page 12, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, Karl fails to teach a control module. Lissandre et al teaches a cable management system wherein the monitoring system further comprises a control module (10) configured to: switch the cable dispensing unit (3) to the first operation mode, switch the cable dispensing unit (3) to a second operation mode, set or adjust a speed or rate the cable dispensing unit (3) dispenses the at least one electrical cable (4), set or adjust a speed or rate the movable biasing unit (6) retracts the at least one electrical cable (4), set or adjust an elevation and/or rotation of the crane arm (20), set or adjust an elevation and/or rotation of the cable management apparatus (3), perform an emergency stop on a movement of the crane arm (20) and/or the cable management apparatus (3), and/or generate a warning, based on sensor data output by the at least one sensor (9) (Page 3, paragraph 2; Page 8, paragraphs 1, 3; Page 10, paragraph 3; Page 11, paragraph 3; Page 12, paragraphs 1, 3; Page 13, paragraph 2; Page 14, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Lissandre et al in Karl to facilitate the creation of a control module that can adjust the tension of the cable as taught by Lissandre (Page 3, paragraph 1; Page 12, paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Lissandre et al in further view of Larkin (US 7901241).
Regarding claim 13, Karl in view of Lissandre et al fails to teach a plurality of cables. Larkin further teaches a cable device wherein the at least one electrical cable (34) comprises a plurality of electrical cables, and the cable management apparatus comprises a corresponding plurality of cable dispensing units (30) and movable biasing unit pairs (365), wherein each cable dispensing unit (33) and movable biasing unit (365) pair is configured to cooperatively dispense or retract a corresponding electrical cable (34) of the plurality (Column 1, lines 6-9; Column 3, lines 41-48; Fig. 2A, elements 30, 33, 34).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Larkin in Karl to facilitate the creation of a plurality of cables that can create multiple electrical connections as taught by Larkin (Column 1, lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 14, Karl in view of Lissandre et al fails to teach a flexible cable. Larkin further teaches a cable device wherein the cable is flexible (Column 4, lines 32-36). Larkin does not disclose an electrical cable that is a low voltage flexible cable or a high voltage flexible cable. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a low voltage or high voltage cable since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl in view of Lissandre et al in further view of Elmbo (WO 2015004253).
Regarding claim 15, Karl in view of Lissandre discloses the claimed invention except for a marine vessel. Elmbo teaches a marine vessel (1) wherein the system is deployed in a non-hazardous area or partially in a hazard zone to facilitate electrical power transmission within the hazard zone, or when the marine vessel (1) is a liquid bulk vessel including a chemical tanker or a crude oil tanker ().
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Elmbo in combination with Lissandre et al and Karl to facilitate the creation of a marine vessel that can assist in laying underwater cables as taught by Elmbo (Page 4, paragraph 1; Page 5, paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654