DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 7, 2025 (2) and February 29, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nikkhoo et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0212888).
With regard to independent claim 1, Nikkhoo et al teaches a wearable device (Figure 4A), comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user (Figure 4A, elements 14r and 141); temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user (Figure 4A, element 102r or 102l); onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein the onboard electronics components comprise a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof (page 3, paragraph [0044], lines 3-5); an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or at least one of the temples (page 5, paragraph [0060], Figure 4A, elements 402r and 4021).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a wearable device the elongated heat transfer device is configured to transfer heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to an interface with the at least one of the temples (page 5, paragraph [0060], page 7, paragraph [0095] and Figure 7E, element 753).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such a wearable device wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rearward toward the at least one of the temples (Figure 4A, element 402 and page 5, paragraph [0060]).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such a wearable device wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends across a hinge assembly (Figure 4A, element 129) that connects the at least one of the temples to the eyewear body to transfer heat from the eyewear body to the at least one of the temples (Figure 4A, element 402 and page 5, paragraph [0060], wherein thermal conductive material is routed from the circuitry (136) in the frame to the heat transfer device (402) located in the temple, second occurrence).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such a wearable device wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the one or more of the onboard electronic components and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple (Figure 4A, element 402 and page 5, paragraph [0060], wherein thermal conductive material is routed from the circuitry (136) in the frame to the heat transfer device (402) located in the temple, second occurrence).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 5, and further teaches such a wearable device further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe (page 5, paragraph [0057]).
With regard to independent claim 11, Nikkhoo et al teaches a pair of smart glasses (Figure 4A), the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical element (Figure 4A, elements 14r and 141); the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements (Figure 4A, element 102r or 1021) and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical element (Figure 4A, element 102r or 1021); a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint (Figure 4A, elements 102r, 102l and 129); onboard electronic components carried by the eyewear body and the first temple, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof (page 3, paragraph [0044], lines 3-5); and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom (page 5, paragraph [0060], Figure 4A, elements 402r and 4021); wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongated heat transfer device is passed to the first articulated joint (page 5, paragraph [0060]).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11, and further teaches such a wearable device wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to one of the first temple or the eyewear body (Figure 4A, element 402 and page 5, paragraph [0060]).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11, and further teaches such a wearable device wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends laterally along the eyewear body from the first lateral portion of the eyewear body to a second lateral portion of the eyewear body, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to the second lateral portion of the eyewear body (page 5, paragraph [0060], Figure 4A, elements 402r and 4021).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11, and further teaches such a pair of smart glasses further comprising a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second portion that forms a rearward facing portion of the eyewear body arranged to generally interface with a forward facing portion of the first temple when worn by user, wherein the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the eyewear body across the first articulated joint to the first temple (page 5, paragraph [0060], wherein thermal conductive material is routed from the circuitry (136) in the frame to the heat transfer device (402) located in the temple).
With regard to dependent claim 15, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 14, and further teaches such a pair of smart glasses wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe (page 5, paragraph [0057]).
With regard to dependent claim 16, Nikkhoo et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 14, and further teaches such a pair of smart glasses wherein a second temple connected to the eyewear body (Figure 4A, element 102r or 102l) at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint (Figure 4A, element 102r or 1021 and 129, left or right occurrence); and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the eyewear body and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the elongate heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple (page 5, paragraph [0060], Figure 4A, elements 402r and 4021).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 8 of U.S. Patent Number 9,740,023. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a wearable device and/or a pair of smart glasses comprising onboard electronic components and a heat transfer device as outlined below:
U.S. Patent Application 19/012480
U.S. Patent Number 9,740,023
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is disposed within the eyewear body, and wherein the elongate heat transfer device is configured to transfer heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to an interface with the at least one of the temples.
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; onboard electronic components carried by the eyewear body at a first portion of the eyewear body and comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; a thermal coupling disposed at a second portion of the eyewear body; and an elongate heat transfer device disposed within the eyewear body and thermally coupled to the heat source and the thermal coupling and extending lengthwise between the heat source and the thermal coupling to transfer heat from the heat source to the thermal coupling; wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the eyewear body comprises: a frame configured to hold the one or more optical elements, the heat transfer device is located within the frame and extends laterally along the frame in a direction transverse to an operative viewing direction of the one or more optical elements, the heat transfer device being located adjacent opposite ends of different of the one or more optical elements; and an elongate temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint.
Claim 11
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements, the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and the first temple, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom; wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to the first articulated joint.
Wherein “an eyewear body” is a functional equivalent to “a frame”.
Claim 8
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements, the frame having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; onboard electronic components carried by the frame within the first lateral portion and comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and a heat transfer device carried by the frame and extending laterally along the frame from the first lateral portion of the frame to the second lateral portion of the frame, the heat transfer device thermally coupled to the heat source at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the heat source to the second lateral portion of the frame; an elongated temple having a core wire that forms a portion thereof, the temple connected to the frame at an articulated joint between the temple and the frame; and a thermal coupling carried by the frame and arranged to generally interface a portion of the temple, the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the heat source across the articulated joint to the core wire within the temple.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 8 of U.S. Patent Number 10,317,700. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a wearable device and/or a pair of smart glasses comprising onboard electronic components and a heat transfer device as outlined below:
U.S. Patent Application 19/012480
U.S. Patent Number 10,317,700
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user ;onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples.
Wherein “an eyewear body” is a functional equivalent to “a frame” and “onboard electronic components” are equivalent to “a heat source”.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rear toward the at least one of the temples.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the one or more of the onboard electronic components and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: a frame configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the frame within a field of view of the user; onboard electronic components carried by the frame at a first end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a first temple, the onboard electronic components comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device disposed within the frame and thermally coupled to the heat source and extending lengthwise across the frame between the heat source and a second end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second temple, the heat transfer device configured to transfer heat from the heat source to the second end portion.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the heat transfer device at the second end portion of the frame, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 5, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire that forms part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the frame.
Claim 10
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11 and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent Number 11,086,140. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a wearable device and/or a pair of smart glasses comprising onboard electronic components and a heat transfer device as outlined below:
U.S. Patent Application 19/012480
U.S. Patent Number 11,086,140
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rear toward the at least one of the temples.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the one or more of the onboard electronic components and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 5, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire that forms part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: a frame configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the frame within a field of view of the user; onboard electronic components carried by the frame, the onboard electronic components comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device disposed within the frame and thermally coupled to the heat source, the heat transfer device configured to transfer heat from the heat source to another portion of the frame, wherein the electronic components are carried by the frame at a first end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a first temple, wherein the heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the frame between the heat source and a second end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second temple, and wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the frame.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the heat transfer device at one of the first end portion or the second end portion of the frame, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 7, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of the temples, and wherein the second core wire forms a part of a structural eyewear bodywork of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of a first temple or a second temple moveably coupled to the frame, and wherein the second core wire is configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the at least one of the first temple or the second temple.
Claim 9
The wearable device of claim 8, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and transferring heat from the core wire of the eyewear body to the second core wire of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 4
The wearable device of claim 1, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and configured to transfer heat from the core wire of the eyewear body to the second core wire of the first temple or the second temple.
Claim 10
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 11
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements, the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and the first temple, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom; wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to the first articulated joint.
Claim 14
The smart glasses of claim 11, further comprising a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second lateral portion that forms a rearward facing portion of the eyewear body arranged to generally interface with a forward facing portion of the first temple when worn by user, wherein the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the eyewear body across the first articulated joint to the first temple.
Claim 12
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements, the frame having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; onboard electronic components carried by the frame within the first lateral portion and comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; a first temple connected to the frame at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the frame and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the first temple, the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the frame across the first articulated joint to the first temple.
Claim 13
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends laterally along the eyewear body from the first lateral portion of the eyewear body to a second lateral portion of the eyewear body, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to the second lateral portion of the eyewear body.
Claim 7
The smart glasses of claim 6, further comprising a heat transfer device carried by the frame and extending laterally along the frame from the first lateral portion of the frame to the second lateral portion of the frame, the heat transfer device thermally coupled to the heat source at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the heat source to the second lateral portion of the frame.
Claim 15
The smart glasses of claim 14, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 11
The smart glasses of claim 6, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 16
The smart glasses of claim 14, further comprising: a second temple connected to the eyewear body at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the eyewear body and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the elongate heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 8
The smart glasses of claim 7, further comprising: a second temple connected to the frame at the first lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the frame and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 17
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 9
The smart glasses of claim 7, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the frame.
Claim 18
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 10
The smart glasses of claim 7, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13 and 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent Number 11,809,021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a wearable device and/or a pair of smart glasses comprising onboard electronic components and a heat transfer device as outlined below:
U.S. Patent Application 19/012480
U.S. Patent Number 11,809,021
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is disposed within the eyewear body, and wherein the elongate heat transfer device is configured to transfer heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to an interface with the at least one of the temples.
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: a frame configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the frame within a field of view of the user; a first elongate temple moveably connected to the frame with an articulated joint, the first elongate temple configured for holding the frame in position when the frame is worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by the frame at a first end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a first temple, the onboard electronic components comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof, and a heat transfer device disposed within the frame and thermally coupled to the heat source, the heat transfer device configured to transfer heat from the heat source to an interface with the first elongate temple.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rear toward the at least one of the temples.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the frame and the heat transfer device extends longitudinally rearward to transfer heat to the first elongate temple.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the one or more of the onboard electronic components and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 2, wherein the heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the frame between the heat source and a second end portion of the frame that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 4
The wearable device of claim 3, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the heat transfer device at one of the first end portion or the second end portion of the frame, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 5, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire that forms part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the frame.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 7, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of the temples, and wherein the second core wire forms a part of a structural eyewear bodywork of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of the first elongate temple, and wherein the second core wire is configured to form a part of a structural framework of the first elongate temple.
Claim 9
The wearable device of claim 8, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and transferring heat from the core wire of the eyewear body to the second core wire of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 6, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and configured to transfer heat from the core wire of the frame to the second core wire of the first elongate temple.
Claim 10
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 11
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements, the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and the first temple, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom; wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to the first articulated joint.
Claim 9
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: a frame configured to hold one or more optical elements, the frame having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; onboard electronic components carried by the frame within the first lateral portion and comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; a first temple connected to the frame at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; and a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second portion that forms a rearward facing portion of the frame arranged to generally interface with a forward facing portion of the first temple when worn by user, wherein the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the frame across the first articulated joint to the first temple.
Claim 13
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends laterally along the eyewear body from the first lateral portion of the eyewear body to a second lateral portion of the eyewear body, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to the second lateral portion of the eyewear body.
Claim 10
The smart glasses of claim 9, further comprising a heat transfer device carried by the frame and extending laterally along the frame from the first lateral portion of the frame to a second lateral portion of the frame, the heat transfer device thermally coupled to the heat source at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the heat source to the second lateral portion of the frame.
Claim 15
The smart glasses of claim 14, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 14
The smart glasses of claim 9, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 16
The smart glasses of claim 14, further comprising: a second temple connected to the eyewear body at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the eyewear body and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the elongate heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 11
The smart glasses of claim 10, further comprising: a second temple connected to the frame at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the frame and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 17
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 12
The smart glasses of claim 10, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural framework for at least part of the frame.
Claim 18
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 13
The smart glasses of claim 10, wherein the heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17 of U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a wearable device and/or a pair of smart glasses comprising onboard electronic components and a heat transfer device as outlined below:
U.S. Patent Application 19/012480
U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rear toward the at least one of the temples.
Claim 4
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends across a hinge assembly that connects the at least one of the temples to the eyewear body to transfer heat from the eyewear body to the at least one of the temples.
Claim 1
A wearable device comprising: an eyewear body configured for wearing by a user to hold one or more optical elements mounted on the eyewear body within a field of view of the user; temples for supporting the eyewear body when worn by the user; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and at least one of the temples, wherein the onboard electronics components comprise a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the heat source to transfer heat away from the heat source to another portion of the eyewear body or the at least one of the temples; wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the eyewear body and the elongate heat transfer device extends longitudinally rearward and extends across a hinge assembly that connects the temple to the eyewear body to transfer heat from the eyewear body to the at least one of the temples.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is disposed within the eyewear body, and wherein the elongate heat transfer device is configured to transfer heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to an interface with the at least one of the temples.
Claim 2
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is disposed within the eyewear body, and wherein the elongate heat transfer device is configured to transfer heat from the heat source to an interface with the at least one of the temples.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the one or more of the onboard electronic components and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 3
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends lengthwise across the eyewear body between the heat source and a second end portion of the eyewear body that extends longitudinally rearward to interface with a second elongate temple.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 4
The wearable device of claim 3, further comprising a first thermal coupling thermally coupled to the elongate heat transfer device at one of a first end portion or a second end portion of the eyewear body, wherein the first thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 5, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire that forms part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 5
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 7, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of the temples, and wherein the second core wire forms a part of a structural eyewear bodywork of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 6
The wearable device of claim 5, further comprising a second core wire located in at least one of the temples, and wherein the second core wire is configured to form a part of a structural eyewear bodywork of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 9
The wearable device of claim 8, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and transferring heat from the core wire of the eyewear body to the second core wire of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 7
The wearable device of claim 6, further comprising a thermal coupling thermally coupled to the second core wire and the core wire and configured to transfer heat from the core wire of the eyewear body to the second core wire of the at least one of the temples.
Claim 10
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 8
The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 11
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements, the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; onboard electronic components carried by one or both of the eyewear body and the first temple, wherein one or more of the onboard electronic components generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components to transfer heat away therefrom; wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to the first articulated joint.
Claim 12
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed to one of the first temple or the eyewear body.
Claim 9
A pair of smart glasses, the smart glasses comprising: an eyewear body configured to hold one or more optical elements, the eyewear body having a first lateral portion disposed to a first side of the one or more optical elements and an opposing second lateral portion disposed to a second side of the one or more optical elements; onboard electronic components carried by the eyewear body within the first lateral portion and comprising a heat source that generates heat during electrically powered operation thereof; a first temple connected to the eyewear body at the first lateral portion by a first articulated joint; and an elongate heat transfer device thermally coupled to the heat source to transfer heat away from the heat source to another portion of the eyewear body; wherein at least a portion of the heat transferred by the elongate heat transfer device is passed from the first lateral portion to the first temple across the first articulated joint.
Claim 13
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends laterally along the eyewear body from the first lateral portion of the eyewear body to a second lateral portion of the eyewear body, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is thermally coupled to the one or more of the onboard electronic components at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components to the second lateral portion of the eyewear body.
Claim 10
The smart glasses of claim 9, wherein the elongate heat transfer device extends laterally along the eyewear body from the first lateral portion of the eyewear body to a second lateral portion of the eyewear body, wherein the elongate heat transfer device is thermally coupled to the heat source at the first lateral portion and configured to transfer the heat from the heat source to the second lateral portion of the eyewear body.
Claim 14
The smart glasses of claim 11, further comprising a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second lateral portion that forms a rearward facing portion of the eyewear body arranged to generally interface with a forward facing portion of the first temple when worn by user, wherein the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the eyewear body across the first articulated joint to the first temple.
Claim 11
The smart glasses of claim 9, further comprising a thermal coupling that comprises at least a first portion of the first articulated joint, the thermal coupling having a second portion that forms a rearward facing portion of the eyewear body arranged to generally interface with a forward facing portion of the first temple when worn by user, wherein the thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the eyewear body across the first articulated joint to the first temple.
Claim 15
The smart glasses of claim 14, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 12
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the thermal coupling comprises one or more of a heat sink, a core wire, and a heat pipe.
Claim 16
The smart glasses of claim 14, further comprising: a second temple connected to the eyewear body at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the eyewear body and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the elongate heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 13
The smart glasses of claim 11, further comprising: a second temple connected to the eyewear body at the second lateral portion by a second articulated joint; and a second thermal coupling comprising least a first portion of the second articulated joint, the second thermal coupling having a second portion carried by the eyewear body and arranged to generally interface an end portion of the second temple, the second thermal coupling configured to conduct the heat away from the elongate heat transfer device across the second articulated joint to the second temple.
Claim 17
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 14
The smart glasses of claim 9, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the eyewear body.
Claim 18
The smart glasses of claim 11, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 15
The smart glasses of claim 9, wherein the elongate heat transfer device comprises a heat pipe having a wick extending along at least a portion of a lateral length thereof, the heat pipe configured to carry a working fluid that is evaporated to a vapor at a first lateral end portion thereof by the heat from the heat source and direct the vapor to a second lateral end portion thereof where the vapor condenses back to the working fluid and is absorbed by the wick.
Claim 20
The smart glasses of claim 17, wherein the first temple has a core wire forming part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the first temple, wherein the core wire comprises a heat sink configured to transfer the heat from the one or more of the onboard electronic components.
Claim 17
The smart glasses of claim 16, further comprising a first temple connected to the eyewear body at a first lateral portion by the first articulated joint, wherein the first temple has a core wire configured to form part of a structural eyewear bodywork for at least part of the first temple, wherein the core wire comprises a heat sink configured to transfer the heat from the heat source.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584 in view of Mack et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0252727). Although U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584 claims all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11 and further teaches wherein the onboard electronic components are carried by the first temple, U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584 fails to claim such smart glasses wherein the one or more of the onboard electronic components are located in the first temple. In a related endeavor, Mack et al teaches smart glasses (page 1, paragraph [0002]) comprising onboard electronics (Figure 1, element 600) that are located in the temple (page 6, paragraphs [0056] and Figure 5A, element 320), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the smart glasses, as claimed by U.S. Patent Number 12,222,584, with the embedded electronics in the smart glasses temple, as taught by Mack et al, to provide for a thinner, more streamlined, and aesthetically pleasing frames (page 6, paragraph [0054]).
Conclusion
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
31 August 2026