DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The 2nd line of claim 3 contains the phrase “the tooth of the gear”. Although the gear most certainly has a tooth, this limitation has not previously been set forth. Further, most gears have a plurality of teeth, so the recitation of “the tooth” reads as though a particular one of the plurality has already been set forth. As such, it is suggested to change the phrase “the tooth of the gear” to --a tooth of the gear-- for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itabashi (US 2018/0373195).
Regarding claim 1, Itabashi discloses a developing cartridge 1 (Fig. 3 [0038]) comprising:
a housing 10 configured to accommodate toner therein (Fig. 3 [0044]);
a developing roller 30 rotatable about a developing axis A1 extending in a first direction (“SECOND DIRECTION” in Fig. 4; [0044]);
a gear 41/412 (or alternatively, gear 44; Fig. 4) positioned at one end of the housing 10 in the first direction (note that elements 41 and 412 are integrally formed; Fig. 4 [0052]);
a memory 61 having an electrical contact surface 611 positioned at the one end of the housing in the first direction (Figs. 3-4 [0061]); and
a holder 2651 holding the electrical contact surface 611 (surface 65A retains memory 61; Fig. 14 [0089]), the holder 2651 being movable relative to the housing 10 (Figs. 14-15 [0109]), wherein:
the holder 2651 has a first end 65A that holds the electrical contact surface (Fig. 14 [0089]) and a second end 2651A that is separated from the first end in a second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION” in Figs. 14-15) intersecting the first direction (“SECOND DIRECTION”), and the second end 2651A of the holder 2651 and the gear 41/412 (or alternatively, gear 44) are arranged in the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION”) (Figs. 4, 14-15).
Regarding claim 2, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION”) is a direction intersecting the electrical contact surface 611 (which would coincide with the surface of 65A; Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the second end 2651A is positioned between the gear 41/412 and the first end 65A in the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION” in Figs. 14-15).
Regarding claim 5, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the first end 65A is farther from the developing roller 30 than the second end 2651A (Figs. 3 & 14-15).
Regarding claim 6, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1 further comprising: a cover (e.g., 45 in Fig. 4 or 145 in Fig. 10) positioned at the one end of the housing in the first direction covering the gear 41/412, wherein the second end 2651A of the holder is positioned between the housing and the cover in the first direction (“SECOND DIRECTION”) (see Figs. 3-4, 9-10, 14-15).
Regarding claim 7, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 6, wherein the second end 2651A is positioned inside the cover in the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION”), and the first end 65A is positioned outside the cover in the second direction (see Figs. 3-4, 9-10, 14-15).
Regarding claim 8, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 7 wherein the first end 65A is positioned outside the housing 10 in the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION”) (see Figs. 4 and 10, note that element 11 is the outer surface of housing 10 [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to wherein the holder includes: a first holder 2651 having the first end; a second holder 2652 having the second end; and a spring 63 located between the first end and the second end, the spring being compressible in the second direction (“THIRD DIRECTION”) (Figs. 10, 14-15 [0109]).
Regarding claim 10, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1 further comprising: an agitator 20 positioned inside the housing 10 and rotatable about an agitator axis extending in the first direction (“SECOND DIRECTION”) (Fig. 4 [0056]), wherein the gear (alternative gear 44) is an agitator gear attached to an end of the agitator in the first direction (Fig. 4 [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, Itabashi discloses the developing cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the housing includes a first boss 241 extending in the first direction (“SECOND DIRECTION”) from the one end of the housing, the holder includes a hole 1651C extending in the first direction, the holder is movable relative to the housing in a state where the first boss is inserted into the hole (Figs. 14-15 [0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the second end of the holder and an end surface of the tooth of the gear face each other in the second direction” in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 3.
Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein a part of the drum frame is inserted between the holder and the gear in the second direction in a state where the developing cartridge is mounted to the drum cartridge” in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 11-16
Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852