DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Secondary APs mentioned in ¶0023 referring to Fig. 2 (222-1, 222-2, 222-3, 222-4, 232-1, 232-2, 242-1, 242-2 and 242-3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “340” has been used to designate both the dashed box around Cellular T/R Hardware 312-1/Cellular Front End 314-1 and the dashed box around GNSS Sensor 343/IMU(s) 344/Proximity Sensor(s) 345 in Fig 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation in Claim 1, “and the on-site small cell installation is configured to transmit a first message based on the movement measurements to the cellular network core” fails to clearly identify which component of the on-site small cell installation performs transmitting the message. The claim recites a primary small cell and a secondary small cell, where the primary small cell communicates with the cellular network core and the secondary small cell performs the movement measurements. Therefore, it is unclear and ambiguous whether the first message is transmitted by the primary small cell, the secondary small cell or by some combination thereof.
The limitation in Claim 7, “the second secondary small cell configured to communicate: via a second cellular backhaul connection with the primary small cell;”, fails to clearly identify the relationship between the second secondary small cell and the respective primary small cell, given that Claim 7 recites a second primary small cell and a second secondary small cell as components of a second on-site small cell installation. It is unclear and ambiguous whether the “primary small cell” refers to the “primary small cell” of Claim 1 or whether Applicant intended to refer to the “second primary small cell” of the second on-site small cell installation.
The limitation in Claim 18, “further comprising: building, by the position monitoring system, is configured to build a position model …” is unclear because the recitation “building, by the position monitoring system” defines a method step, while the phrase “is configured to build a position model …” recites a capability or configuration of the position monitoring system. In other words, it is unclear if Claim 18 requires performing the step of building the position model or instead only requires that the position monitoring system can be configured to build the position model. Examiner recommends the following amendments: “…further comprising: building, by the position monitoring system, a position model…” or “wherein the position monitoring system is configured to build a position model…”.
NOTE: * All dependent claims that depend on an independent/dependent claim that has been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). *
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (US 2023/0027099 A1), Akkarakaran hereinafter, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2017/0295458 A1), Gao hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Akkararakaran teaches a cellular system, comprising: (Fig. 2 & ¶0095);
an on-site small cell installation located at a facility of an entity, wherein the on- site small cell installation comprises: (Fig. 1 & ¶0069 - Small cells may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115 having an association with the small cell (e.g., the UEs 115 in a closed subscriber group (CSG), the UEs 115 associated with users in a home or office). A base station 105 may support one or multiple cells and may also support communications over the one or more cells using one or multiple component carriers. Fig. 3 & ¶0110 - … an MT may be positioned at an external location relative to a building, such as on the roof or top of the building, while the DU and/or sidelink functionality may be internal such as to serve UEs (e.g., UEs 115 of FIG. 1) within the building);
a primary small cell that is configured to communicate, via a wired backhaul connection, with a cellular network core hosted by a cellular network provider; (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0068 - Each base station 105 may provide communication coverage via one or more cells, for example … a small cell ... ¶0069 - Small cells may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115 having an association with the small cell (e.g., the UEs 115 in a closed subscriber group (CSG), the UEs 115 associated with users in a home or office). ¶0092 - … in IAB networks, a base station CU (e.g., a donor base station 105) may communicate with the core network 130 (e.g., the NGC) via a backhaul link (e.g., a wireline backhaul or wireless backhaul). ¶0098 - The IAB donor 210 may include a CU 220 with a wireline (e.g., optical fiber) … to the core network 205, and may act as parent node to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b. Please also see ¶0104);
the secondary small cell configured to communicate: via a cellular backhaul connection that uses a cellular communication protocol with the primary small cell; (¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
and wirelessly with a plurality of user equipments (UEs) using the cellular communication protocol, (¶0003 - In addition, the IAB nodes may include DUs that support communication links with additional entities (e.g., IAB nodes, UEs, etc.) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (e.g., downstream). In some examples, the IAB of the IAB network may serve UEs that support sidelink communications. ¶0098 - For example, the DU 225 of IAB donor 210 may relay transmissions to UEs 115-c and 115-d through IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and may directly signal transmissions to the UE 115-b. The CU 220 of IAB donor 210 may signal communication link establishment via an F1 interface to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and the IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor 210) through the DUs 225);
… to the cellular network core (¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach and a secondary small cell comprising an inertial measurement unit (IMU), wherein the secondary small cell is configured to perform movement measurements using the IMU; and the on-site small cell installation is configured to transmit a first message based on the movement measurements …
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches and a secondary small cell comprising an inertial measurement unit (IMU), (Fig. 1 & ¶0031 - The terms “Access Point” or “AP” are also used to refer to or other devices, which may be referred to as … femtocells, nanocells, or microcells, etc. ¶0039 - In some embodiments, AP 100 may optionally include Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) 170);
wherein the secondary small cell is configured to perform movement measurements using the IMU; (Fig. 1 & ¶0039 - IMU 170 may comprise 3 axis accelerometer(s), 3-axis gyroscope(s), and/or magnetometer(s), may provide velocity, orientation, and/or other position related information to processor(s) 150. In some embodiments, the output of IMU 170 may be used by processor(s) 150 to determine a position and orientation AP 100 and/or determine that AP 100 is mobile. For example, when wireless signal and/or GNSS based positioning is unavailable, measurements by IMU 170 may be used from a preceding reliable position estimate to estimate a current location of AP 100 and/or to determine or provide an indication of mobility);
and the on-site small cell installation is configured to transmit a first message based on the movement measurements … (Fig. 7 & ¶0030 - In some embodiments, APs may determine mobility based, in part, on measurements obtained from one or more sensors and/or wireless measurements. For example, measurements by sensors on the AP, and/or coupled to the AP, and/or information obtained by the AP may be used to: (i) determine that the AP is mobile, and/or (ii) provide information about characteristics of the AP, including characteristics or other information relating to mobility. Upon a determination by an AP that it is mobile, the AP may report the mobility characterization information to one or more of: a location server, a location assistance server, other APs and/or UEs, and/or another entity used for location determination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Re. Claim 2, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 1.
Akkarakaran further teaches … of the cellular backhaul connection … (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
… to the cellular network core (¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach the on-site small cell installation is configured to measure a signal strength … and the on-site small cell installation is further configured to transmit a second message based on the signal strength ….
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches the on-site small cell installation is configured to measure a signal strength … (Fig. 7 & ¶0043 - At locations where wireless signals are available, position determination and/or an indication of mobility may be determined using a variety of well-known techniques including … Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), etc. ¶0044 - For example, processor(s) 150 may measure a corresponding Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) for each of a plurality of wireless networks over some time period to determine that it is mobile. Fig. 3A & ¶0071 - As another example, in block 305, available wireless signal measurements may be obtained over some time interval. Wireless signal measurements may include WWAN, WLAN and/or WPAN measurements. For example, AP 100-i may determine network identifiers such as BSID, SID or NID, MAC address, BSSID, SSID, etc, received signal strengths, RTTs, etc from one or more neighboring/visible APs 100-k (k≠i) over some time interval or periodically. Please also see Fig. 3B & ¶0087-¶0088);
and the on-site small cell installation is further configured to transmit a second message based on the signal strength …. (¶0044 - In some embodiments, receiver 114 on AP 100 may receive assistance information, which may be processed by processor(s) 150 to determine whether AP 100 is mobile. In some embodiments, processor(s) 150 may communicate or initiate communication of AP mobility indication information to a server or another entity coupled to AP 100 through transmitter 112 in transceiver 110. In some embodiments, processor(s) 150 may determine that AP 100 is mobile based on signal measurements from a plurality of wireless networks and/or the relative strengths of signals from the plurality of observed wireless networks observed over some time period. Fig. 3A & ¶0080 - In block 355, if AP 100-i is mobile (“Y” in block 355) then, in block 360, identifying information for AP 100-i along with an indication that AP 100-i is mobile may be reported to one or more network entities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claims 1 and 11.
Akkarakaran further teaches the cellular communication protocol is 5G New Radio (NR) (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture).
Re. Claim 11, Akkararakaran teaches wherein: the secondary small cell is configured to communicate via a cellular backhaul connection that uses a cellular communication protocol with a primary small cell; (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
and the secondary small cell is configured to wirelessly communicate with a plurality of user equipments (UEs) using the cellular communication protocol, (¶0003 - In addition, the IAB nodes may include DUs that support communication links with additional entities (e.g., IAB nodes, UEs, etc.) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (e.g., downstream). In some examples, the IAB of the IAB network may serve UEs that support sidelink communications. ¶0098 - For example, the DU 225 of IAB donor 210 may relay transmissions to UEs 115-c and 115-d through IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and may directly signal transmissions to the UE 115-b. The CU 220 of IAB donor 210 may signal communication link establishment via an F1 interface to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and the IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor 210) through the DUs 225);
… to a cellular network core … (¶0096 - The IAB donor 210 may facilitate connection between the core network 205 and the AN (e.g., via a wireline or wireless connection to the core network 205). ¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
… hosted with the cellular network core … (¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
… hosted with the cellular network core … (¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach a method for monitoring indoor small cell displacement, comprising: performing, by a secondary small cell, movement and orientation measurements, transmitting, by the secondary small cell, a message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements; in response to the message based on the performed movement and orientation measurements, generating, by a position monitoring system … a report indicative of displacement; and transmitting, by the position monitoring system … the report to an entity mapped to the secondary small cell.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches a method for monitoring indoor small cell displacement, comprising: (Fig. 1, 7 & ¶0025 - Embodiments disclosed facilitate positioning related operations, in part, by facilitating AP mobility indication … As a further example, the mobility indication may provide a range of displacement and/or a radius of displacement over which an AP moves. ¶0031 - The terms “Access Point” or “AP” are also used to refer to or other devices, which may be referred to as … femtocells, nanocells, or microcells, etc);
performing, by a secondary small cell, movement and orientation measurements, (¶0039 - In some embodiments, the output of IMU 170 may be used by processor(s) 150 to determine a position and orientation AP 100 and/or determine that AP 100 is mobile. For example, when wireless signal and/or GNSS based positioning is unavailable, measurements by IMU 170 may be used from a preceding reliable position estimate to estimate a current location of AP 100 and/or to determine or provide an indication of mobility. ¶0040 - In some embodiments, AP100 may include various optional additional sensors 182. In some embodiments, additional sensors 182 may optionally include one or more of: a magnetometer, an altimeter, and/or a barometer, which may provide inputs to processor(s) 150 to facilitate position determination. ¶0077 - In some embodiments, in block 350, a determination of whether AP 100-i is mobile may be made. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine whether AP 100-i is mobile based on one or more of the measurements obtained in block 305. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine a position, speed, and/or direction based on measurements from IMU 170. In some embodiments, based on available measurements);
transmitting, by the secondary small cell, a message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0090 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. When method 400 is implemented on location server 250, in block 405, identification and mobility indication information for AP 100-i may be obtained from mobile AP 100-i);
in response to the message based on the performed movement and orientation measurements, generating, by a position monitoring system … a report indicative of displacement; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0092 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. ¶0093 - For example, depending on availability, the mobility indication information may include one or more of: (i) a time at which the mobility indication was determined; (ii) a current location of the device; (iii) information related to a range of displacement of the AP …);
and transmitting, by the position monitoring system … the report to an entity mapped to the secondary small cell (Fig. 5A & ¶0095 - FIG. 5A shows a flowchart for an exemplary method 500 for providing location assistance information in a system comprising APs 100-i, which may include one or more mobile APs. In some embodiments, method 500 may be performed by a server 250 and/or another entity coupled to the requesting entity (e.g. devices/UEs 210) requesting location assistance information. ¶0096 - In some embodiments, in block 505, a request for location assistance data may be received from a requesting entity, where the request includes identification information for one or more APs 100-i, 1<i<N, where N is the number of APs identified in the request. For example, a requesting entity such as a UE 210 and/or another device may request location assistance data and provide identification information for one or more APs 100-i that are visible to the requesting entity as part of the location assistance request. Please also see ¶0097-¶0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Re. Claim 12, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 11.
Akkarakaran further teaches … of the cellular backhaul connection (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach performing the movement and orientation measurements comprises measuring a signal strength …
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches performing the movement and orientation measurements comprises measuring a signal strength … (Fig. 7 & ¶0043 - At locations where wireless signals are available, position determination and/or an indication of mobility may be determined using a variety of well-known techniques including … Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), etc. ¶0044 - For example, processor(s) 150 may measure a corresponding Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) for each of a plurality of wireless networks over some time period to determine that it is mobile. Fig. 3A & ¶0071 - As another example, in block 305, available wireless signal measurements may be obtained over some time interval. Wireless signal measurements may include WWAN, WLAN and/or WPAN measurements. For example, AP 100-i may determine network identifiers such as BSID, SID or NID, MAC address, BSSID, SSID, etc, received signal strengths, RTTs, etc from one or more neighboring/visible APs 100-k (k≠i) over some time interval or periodically. Please also see Fig. 3B & ¶0087-¶0088);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Re. Claim 20, Akkarakaran teaches … of a cellular backhaul connection,… (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
wherein: the secondary access point is configured to communicate via the cellular backhaul connection that uses a cellular communication protocol with a primary access point; (¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
and wirelessly with a plurality of user equipments (UEs) using the cellular communication protocol; (¶0003 - In addition, the IAB nodes may include DUs that support communication links with additional entities (e.g., IAB nodes, UEs, etc.) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (e.g., downstream). In some examples, the IAB of the IAB network may serve UEs that support sidelink communications. ¶0098 - For example, the DU 225 of IAB donor 210 may relay transmissions to UEs 115-c and 115-d through IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and may directly signal transmissions to the UE 115-b. The CU 220 of IAB donor 210 may signal communication link establishment via an F1 interface to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and the IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor 210) through the DUs 225);
… to a cellular network core … (¶0096 - The IAB donor 210 may facilitate connection between the core network 205 and the AN (e.g., via a wireline or wireless connection to the core network 205). ¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach a non-transitory processor-readable medium, comprising processor- readable instructions configured to cause one or more processors of a secondary access point to: perform movement and orientation measurements comprising signal strength measurements and transmit a message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium, comprising processor- readable instructions configured to cause one or more processors of a secondary access point to: (Fig. 1, 7 & ¶0012 - The methods disclosed may be performed by one or more of: APs, and/or servers (including location servers), UEs, etc. using various protocols. Embodiments disclosed also relate to software, firmware, and program instructions created, stored, accessed, read or modified by processors using non-transitory computer readable media or computer readable memory. Please also see ¶0047-¶0050);
perform movement and orientation measurements comprising signal strength measurements (Fig. 1, 7 & ¶0039 - In some embodiments, the output of IMU 170 may be used by processor(s) 150 to determine a position and orientation AP 100 and/or determine that AP 100 is mobile. For example, when wireless signal and/or GNSS based positioning is unavailable, measurements by IMU 170 may be used from a preceding reliable position estimate to estimate a current location of AP 100 and/or to determine or provide an indication of mobility. ¶0043 - At locations where wireless signals are available, position determination and/or an indication of mobility may be determined using a variety of well-known techniques including … Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), etc. ¶0044 - For example, processor(s) 150 may measure a corresponding Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) for each of a plurality of wireless networks over some time period to determine that it is mobile. Fig. 3A & ¶0071 - As another example, in block 305, available wireless signal measurements may be obtained over some time interval. Wireless signal measurements may include WWAN, WLAN and/or WPAN measurements. For example, AP 100-i may determine network identifiers such as BSID, SID or NID, MAC address, BSSID, SSID, etc, received signal strengths, RTTs, etc from one or more neighboring/visible APs 100-k (k≠i) over some time interval or periodically. ¶0077 - In some embodiments, in block 350, a determination of whether AP 100-i is mobile may be made. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine whether AP 100-i is mobile based on one or more of the measurements obtained in block 305. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine a position, speed, and/or direction based on measurements from IMU 170. In some embodiments, based on available measurements. Please also see Fig. 3B & ¶0087-¶0088);
and transmit a message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0090 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. When method 400 is implemented on location server 250, in block 405, identification and mobility indication information for AP 100-i may be obtained from mobile AP 100-i);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Claims 3, 5-6, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Zohoorian et al. (US 2023/0171561 A1), Zohoorian hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 2.
Akkarakaran further teaches and the cellular network core (Fig. 2 & ¶0095 - Wireless communications system 200 may include a core network 205 (e.g., a next generation core network (NGC))… Please also see ¶0101 and ¶0104);
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach a position monitoring system … wherein the position monitoring system is configured to analyze the first message and the second message.
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches a position monitoring system … wherein the position monitoring system is configured to analyze the first message and the second message (Fig. 1A, 3A & ¶0035 - NMS 130 monitors network data associated with wireless networks 106A-106N at each site 102A-102N, respectively, to deliver a high-quality wireless network experience to wireless client devices, IoT devices and end users at the site. ¶0036 - NMS 130 observes, collects and/or receives network data 137 … Network data 137 may take the form of data extracted from messages, counters and statistics, for example. ¶0043 - In some examples, NMS 130 includes or is communication with a location engine that automatically determines the locations of the one or more APs, and these known locations are utilized in the process of determining the orientations of the one or more APs. ¶0058 - In some examples, NMS 300 receives network data collected or monitored by AP devices 142 and/or by UEs 148, and analyzes this data for cloud-based management of wireless networks 106A-106N. ¶0059 - NMS 300 automatically determines orientations of one or more APs in a wireless network based on received signal strength measurements of wireless signals from the one or more of the APs. Please also see ¶0062 and ¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Re. Claim 5, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian teach Claim 3.
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach the position monitoring system is configured to generate a report that indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of movement.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches the position monitoring system is configured to generate a report that indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of movement (Fig. 4 & ¶0091 - … method 400 may be performed by a mobile AP 100-i and/or a server 250 and/or another entity communicatively coupled to mobile AP 100-i or some combination thereof. ¶0092 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile … For example, a BSID, SID or NID, MAC address, BSSID, SSID, etc, may be obtained and used as identifying information for mobile AP 100-i. Please also see ¶0093-¶0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Zohoorian. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Re. Claim 6, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian teach Claim 3.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the position monitoring system is configured to generate a report that indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of a change in orientation.
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches the position monitoring system is configured to generate a report that indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of a change in orientation (Fig. 13B-13D & ¶0188 - However, in general a map of a site would include one or more APs deployed at the site displayed on the map in their respective locations. In addition, window 1304 may include a list of all APs deployed at the site. Details of the selected AP(s) are shown in window 1304. In the examples of FIGS. 13A and 13B, the name, MAC address, x, y coordinate location, height and angle of orientation (here indicated as “Rotation”) of the selected AP(s) are shown. ¶0191 - FIG. 13D illustrates an example user interface 1360 including an event log 1362 indicative of automatic AP orientation events for one or more APs at a site, in accordance with one or more techniques of the disclosure. Event log 1362 lists the Date/Time of the event, the AP associated with the event, the change in the APs orientation (before and after) and the type of event … Event log 1362 also lists similar automatic AP orientation update events for AP32 (orientation updated from 0 degrees to 45 degrees) and AP05 (orientation updated from 90 degrees to 135 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Re. Claim 9, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian teach Claim 3.
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach the position monitoring system is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell over a period of time using data from the first message.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches … over a period of time using data from the first message (Fig. 3 & ¶0077 - … in block 350, a determination of whether AP 100-i is mobile may be made. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine whether AP 100-i is mobile based on one or more of the measurements obtained in block 305. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine a position, speed, and/or direction based on measurements from IMU 170. In some embodiments, based on available measurements. Please also see ¶0077-¶0080 and ¶0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the position monitoring system is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell …
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches the position monitoring system is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell … (Fig. 13B-13D & ¶0191 - FIG. 13D illustrates an example user interface 1360 including an event log 1362 indicative of automatic AP orientation events for one or more APs at a site, in accordance with one or more techniques of the disclosure. Event log 1362 lists the Date/Time of the event, the AP associated with the event, the change in the APs orientation (before and after) and the type of event … Event log 1362 also lists similar automatic AP orientation update events for AP32 (orientation updated from 0 degrees to 45 degrees) and AP05 (orientation updated from 90 degrees to 135 degrees). ¶0192 - In other examples, the orientation of one or more APs may be updated periodically in the event one or more of the APs are moved (either intentionally or accidentally).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Re. Claim 15, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 11.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the report indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of a change in orientation.
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches the report indicates an identifier of the secondary small cell and an indication of a change in orientation (Fig. 13B-13D & ¶0188 - However, in general a map of a site would include one or more APs deployed at the site displayed on the map in their respective locations. In addition, window 1304 may include a list of all APs deployed at the site. Details of the selected AP(s) are shown in window 1304. In the examples of FIGS. 13A and 13B, the name, MAC address, x, y coordinate location, height and angle of orientation (here indicated as “Rotation”) of the selected AP(s) are shown. ¶0191 - FIG. 13D illustrates an example user interface 1360 including an event log 1362 indicative of automatic AP orientation events for one or more APs at a site, in accordance with one or more techniques of the disclosure. Event log 1362 lists the Date/Time of the event, the AP associated with the event, the change in the APs orientation (before and after) and the type of event … Event log 1362 also lists similar automatic AP orientation update events for AP32 (orientation updated from 0 degrees to 45 degrees) and AP05 (orientation updated from 90 degrees to 135 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian, as applied to Claims 3, 5-6, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Krasilnikov et al. (US 2024/0114070 A1), Krasilnikov hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian teach Claim 3.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the position monitoring system and the cellular network core are executed on a cloud computing platform.
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches the position monitoring system … are executed on a cloud computing platform (Fig. 1A, 3A & ¶0034 - In the example of FIG. 1A, NMS 130 is a cloud-based computing platform that manages wireless networks 106A-106N at one or more of sites 102A-102N. ¶0035 - In general, NMS 130 may provide a cloud-based platform for network data acquisition, monitoring, activity logging, reporting, predictive analytics, network anomaly identification, and alert generation);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian do not explicitly teach … and the cellular network core are executed on a cloud computing platform.
However, in the analogous art, Krasilnikov explicitly teaches and the cellular network core are executed on a cloud computing platform (Fig. 2A & ¶0014 - In a cloud provider network, the RAN stack may be run at an edge location while the core network is run in a more centralized location such as a region or local zone of the cloud. ¶0023 - For example, the disclosed techniques can run core and radio access network functions and associated control plane management functions on cloud provider infrastructure, creating a cloud native core network and/or a cloud native radio access network (RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Krasilnikov to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian. The motivation would be because the invention describes embodiments relating to the creation and management of a cloud native 5G core and/or a cloud native 5G RAN, and associated control plane components (¶0027, Krasilnikov).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (US 2010/0002661 A1), Schmidt hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 1.
Akkarakaran further teaches a second primary small cell that is configured to communicate, via a second wired backhaul connection, with the cellular network core hosted by the cellular network provider; (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0068 - Each base station 105 may provide communication coverage via one or more cells, for example … a small cell ... ¶0069 - Small cells may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115 having an association with the small cell (e.g., the UEs 115 in a closed subscriber group (CSG), the UEs 115 associated with users in a home or office). ¶0092 - … in IAB networks, a base station CU (e.g., a donor base station 105) may communicate with the core network 130 (e.g., the NGC) via a backhaul link (e.g., a wireline backhaul or wireless backhaul). ¶0098 - The IAB donor 210 may include a CU 220 with a wireline (e.g., optical fiber) … to the core network 205, and may act as parent node to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b. Please also see ¶0104);
the second secondary small cell configured to communicate: via a second cellular backhaul connection with the primary small cell; (¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
and wirelessly with a second plurality of UEs using the cellular communication protocol (¶0003 - In addition, the IAB nodes may include DUs that support communication links with additional entities (e.g., IAB nodes, UEs, etc.) within the relay chain or configuration of the access network (e.g., downstream). In some examples, the IAB of the IAB network may serve UEs that support sidelink communications. ¶0098 - For example, the DU 225 of IAB donor 210 may relay transmissions to UEs 115-c and 115-d through IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and may directly signal transmissions to the UE 115-b. The CU 220 of IAB donor 210 may signal communication link establishment via an F1 interface to IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b, and the IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor 210) through the DUs 225);
… to the cellular network core (¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach a second on-site small cell installation located at a second facility of a second entity comprising: and a second secondary small cell comprising a second IMU, wherein the second secondary small cell is configured to perform movement measurements using the second IMU; and wherein the second on-site small cell installation is configured to transmit a second message based on the movement measurements using the second IMU …
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches and a second secondary small cell comprising a second IMU, (Fig. 1 & ¶0031 - The terms “Access Point” or “AP” are also used to refer to or other devices, which may be referred to as … femtocells, nanocells, or microcells, etc. ¶0039 - In some embodiments, AP 100 may optionally include Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) 170);
wherein the second secondary small cell is configured to perform movement measurements using the second IMU; (Fig. 1 & ¶0039 - IMU 170 may comprise 3 axis accelerometer(s), 3-axis gyroscope(s), and/or magnetometer(s), may provide velocity, orientation, and/or other position related information to processor(s) 150. In some embodiments, the output of IMU 170 may be used by processor(s) 150 to determine a position and orientation AP 100 and/or determine that AP 100 is mobile. For example, when wireless signal and/or GNSS based positioning is unavailable, measurements by IMU 170 may be used from a preceding reliable position estimate to estimate a current location of AP 100 and/or to determine or provide an indication of mobility);
and wherein the second on-site small cell installation is configured to transmit a second message based on the movement measurements using the second IMU … (Fig. 7 & ¶0030 - In some embodiments, APs may determine mobility based, in part, on measurements obtained from one or more sensors and/or wireless measurements. For example, measurements by sensors on the AP, and/or coupled to the AP, and/or information obtained by the AP may be used to: (i) determine that the AP is mobile, and/or (ii) provide information about characteristics of the AP, including characteristics or other information relating to mobility. Upon a determination by an AP that it is mobile, the AP may report the mobility characterization information to one or more of: a location server, a location assistance server, other APs and/or UEs, and/or another entity used for location determination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach a second on-site small cell installation located at a second facility of a second entity comprising: …
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly teaches a second on-site small cell installation located at a second facility of a second entity comprising: … (Fig. 1 & ¶0067 - The multiple-TRX pico base station 102 and the hub 120 of the DAS 118 are installed in a building 134 in which coverage and capacity is to be provided … That is, the building 134 comprises a customer premise that is owned, controlled, or otherwise used by a person or entity other than the service provider that operates the network 104, such as an "enterprise" (for example, an "enterprise" such as a business, non-profit organization, or government entity). Fig. 16 & ¶0118 - FIG. 16 illustrates an example in which two separate enterprise mobile networks 1600 share a GSN 1614 and MSS 1602. The GSN 1614 and MSS 1602 are located in a wireless operator's central office 1628 and are connected to the respective intranets 1620 of the two enterprises using a VPN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schmidt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because pico base stations can be located indoors, such as in offices, shopping centers, convention centers, and airports (¶0008, Schmidt), and that micro or pico base stations are located at sites where the additional capacity is needed and therefore require additional infrastructure for each site (¶0009, Schmidt).
Re. Claim 16, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 11.
Akkarakaran further teaches wherein: the second secondary small cell is configured to communicate via a cellular backhaul connection that uses the cellular communication protocol with a second primary small cell; (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0003 - In some wireless communications systems (e.g., 5G new radio (NR) systems), infrastructure and spectral resources for NR access may additionally support wireless backhaul link capabilities in supplement to wireline backhaul connections, providing an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network architecture. ¶0097 - IAB nodes 215 may refer to a RAN node that provides IAB functionality (e.g., access for UEs 115, wireless self-backhauling capabilities, etc.). ¶0098 - That is, data may be relayed to and from IAB nodes 215-a and 215-b via signaling over an NR Uu interface to MT 230 of the IABs node 215-a and 215-b);
… to the cellular network core … (¶0096 - The IAB donor 210 may facilitate connection between the core network 205 and the AN (e.g., via a wireline or wireless connection to the core network 205). ¶0101 - an IAB donor may report (e.g., to the core network 205) an indication that the IAB node supports sidelink communications (e.g., a sidelink capability message 240). The capability indication may be transmitted via the signaling connection with the IAB donor 210 (e.g., via the RRC or F1 connection). ¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
… hosted with the cellular network core … (¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
… hosted with the cellular network core … (¶0104 - For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity in the core network 205 based on the sidelink capability message 240. A management entity may be an example of an access mobility management function (AMF), a mobility management entity (MME), or the like. For example, the IAB donor 210 may select a management entity that supports both IAB and sidelink. Additionally, the IAB donor 210 may indicate the sidelink capability of the IAB node 215 (e.g., in addition to the IAB capability) to the core network 205);
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach performing, by a second secondary small cell, movement and orientation measurements, transmitting, by the second secondary small cell, a second message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements; in response to the second message based on the performed movement and orientation measurements, generating, by the position monitoring system … a second report indicative of displacement; and transmitting, by the position monitoring system … the report to a second entity mapped to the second secondary small cell, wherein the second entity is distinct from the entity.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches performing, by a second secondary small cell, movement and orientation measurements, (Fig. 1, 7 & ¶0039 - In some embodiments, the output of IMU 170 may be used by processor(s) 150 to determine a position and orientation AP 100 and/or determine that AP 100 is mobile. For example, when wireless signal and/or GNSS based positioning is unavailable, measurements by IMU 170 may be used from a preceding reliable position estimate to estimate a current location of AP 100 and/or to determine or provide an indication of mobility. ¶0040 - In some embodiments, AP100 may include various optional additional sensors 182. In some embodiments, additional sensors 182 may optionally include one or more of: a magnetometer, an altimeter, and/or a barometer, which may provide inputs to processor(s) 150 to facilitate position determination. ¶0077 - In some embodiments, in block 350, a determination of whether AP 100-i is mobile may be made. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine whether AP 100-i is mobile based on one or more of the measurements obtained in block 305. For example, processor(s) 150 may determine a position, speed, and/or direction based on measurements from IMU 170. In some embodiments, based on available measurements);
transmitting, by the second secondary small cell, a second message … based on the performed movement and orientation measurements; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0090 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. When method 400 is implemented on location server 250, in block 405, identification and mobility indication information for AP 100-i may be obtained from mobile AP 100-i);
in response to the second message based on the performed movement and orientation measurements, generating, by the position monitoring system … a second report indicative of displacement; (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0092 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. ¶0093 - For example, depending on availability, the mobility indication information may include one or more of: (i) a time at which the mobility indication was determined; (ii) a current location of the device; (iii) information related to a range of displacement of the AP …);
and transmitting, by the position monitoring system … the report to a second entity mapped to the second secondary small cell, (Fig. 5A & ¶0095 - FIG. 5A shows a flowchart for an exemplary method 500 for providing location assistance information in a system comprising APs 100-i, which may include one or more mobile APs. In some embodiments, method 500 may be performed by a server 250 and/or another entity coupled to the requesting entity (e.g. devices/UEs 210) requesting location assistance information. ¶0096 - In some embodiments, in block 505, a request for location assistance data may be received from a requesting entity, where the request includes identification information for one or more APs 100-i, 1<i<N, where N is the number of APs identified in the request. For example, a requesting entity such as a UE 210 and/or another device may request location assistance data and provide identification information for one or more APs 100-i that are visible to the requesting entity as part of the location assistance request. Please also see ¶0097-¶0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach wherein the second entity is distinct from the entity.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly teaches wherein the second entity is distinct from the entity (Fig. 1 & ¶0067 - The multiple-TRX pico base station 102 and the hub 120 of the DAS 118 are installed in a building 134 in which coverage and capacity is to be provided … That is, the building 134 comprises a customer premise that is owned, controlled, or otherwise used by a person or entity other than the service provider that operates the network 104, such as an "enterprise" (for example, an "enterprise" such as a business, non-profit organization, or government entity). Fig. 16 & ¶0118 - FIG. 16 illustrates an example in which two separate enterprise mobile networks 1600 share a GSN 1614 and MSS 1602. The GSN 1614 and MSS 1602 are located in a wireless operator's central office 1628 and are connected to the respective intranets 1620 of the two enterprises using a VPN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schmidt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because pico base stations can be located indoors, such as in offices, shopping centers, convention centers, and airports (¶0008, Schmidt), and that micro or pico base stations are located at sites where the additional capacity is needed and therefore require additional infrastructure for each site (¶0009, Schmidt).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian, as applied to Claims 3, 5-6, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Bhatt et al. (US 2017/0142684 A1), Bhatt hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian teach Claim 3.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian do not explicitly teach the position monitoring system is further configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell using signal strength data from the second message.
However, in the analogous art, Bhatt explicitly teaches the position monitoring system is further configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell using signal strength data from the second message (Fig. 1A-1B & ¶0028 - In an embodiment, the UE is … any other UE capable of receiving and utilizing the position model for estimating position information. ¶0032 - Further, the system 100 includes a position model server 108 that stores the position model for the area. The position model is generated offline by pre calibrating the area. The position model is the area level model that provides mapping information of spatial variation of signal strength of the plurality of signal sources 106.sub.1-n between geographic coordinates of an area. The offline generation of the position model includes capturing spatial variations of the signal strength (for example Received signal strength indication (RSSI)) using machine learning approaches. Please also see ¶0044 and ¶0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bhatt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian. The motivation would be because the invention discusses position modeling and changes of the received signal strengths are captured to dynamically modify the position model to provide more accurate position information estimate in real time (¶0056, Bhatt).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Bhatt.
Re. Claim 13, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 11.
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach analyzing, by the position monitoring system, the message received from the secondary small cell by comparing data from the message with a position model associated with the secondary small cell.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches analyzing, by the position monitoring system, the message received from the secondary small cell … (Fig. 4 & ¶0091 - … method 400 may be performed by a mobile AP 100-i and/or a server 250 and/or another entity communicatively coupled to mobile AP 100-i or some combination thereof. ¶0092 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile … For example, a BSID, SID or NID, MAC address, BSSID, SSID, etc, may be obtained and used as identifying information for mobile AP 100-i. Please also see ¶0093-¶0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach … by comparing data from the message with a position model associated with the secondary small cell.
However, in the analogous art, Bhatt explicitly teaches … by comparing data from the message with a position model associated with the secondary small cell (Fig. 1A-1B & ¶0028 - In an embodiment, the UE is … any other UE capable of receiving and utilizing the position model for estimating position information. ¶0032 - Further, the system 100 includes a position model server 108 that stores the position model for the area. The position model is generated offline by pre calibrating the area. The position model is the area level model that provides mapping information of spatial variation of signal strength of the plurality of signal sources 106.sub.1-n between geographic coordinates of an area. The offline generation of the position model includes capturing spatial variations of the signal strength (for example Received signal strength indication (RSSI)) using machine learning approaches. Please also see ¶0026 and ¶0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bhatt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because the invention discusses position modeling and changes of the received signal strengths are captured to dynamically modify the position model to provide more accurate position information estimate in real time (¶0056, Bhatt).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao, as applied to Claims 1-2, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 above, and further in view of Zohoorian and Krasilnikov.
Re. Claim 14, Akkarakaran and Gao teach Claim 11.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the position monitoring system and the cellular network core are executed on a public cloud computing platform by a cellular network provider.
However, in the analogous art, Zohoorian explicitly teaches the position monitoring system … are executed on a public cloud computing platform … (Fig. 1A, 3A & ¶0034 - In the example of FIG. 1A, NMS 130 is a cloud-based computing platform that manages wireless networks 106A-106N at one or more of sites 102A-102N. ¶0035 - In general, NMS 130 may provide a cloud-based platform for network data acquisition, monitoring, activity logging, reporting, predictive analytics, network anomaly identification, and alert generation. ¶0043 - In some examples, NMS 130 includes or is communication with a location engine that automatically determines the locations of the one or more APs, and these known locations are utilized in the process of determining the orientations of the one or more APs. Fig. 1B & ¶0045 - In general, SD-WAN 177 provides seamless, secure, traffic-engineered connectivity between “spoke” routers 187A of edge wired networks 175 hosting wireless networks 106, such as branch or campus networks, to “hub” routers 187B further up the cloud stack toward cloud-based application services 181.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zohoorian to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao. The motivation would be because techniques herein support the provision of highly accurate location-based services at a site, which depend upon the location and orientation of each of AP being known to a high degree of accuracy. Yet another benefit is that it facilitates automated and remote verification of AP deployment orientations without necessitating dispatching technicians to conduct an on-site survey (¶0026, Zohoorian).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian do not explicitly teach … and the cellular network core are executed on a public cloud computing platform by a cellular network provider.
However, in the analogous art, Krasilnikov explicitly teaches … and the cellular network core are executed on a public cloud computing platform by a cellular network provider (Fig. 2A & ¶0014 - In a cloud provider network, the RAN stack may be run at an edge location while the core network is run in a more centralized location such as a region or local zone of the cloud. ¶0023 - For example, the disclosed techniques can run core and radio access network functions and associated control plane management functions on cloud provider infrastructure, creating a cloud native core network and/or a cloud native radio access network (RAN). ¶0027 - Cloud native refers to how these applications are created and deployed to be suitable for deployment in a public cloud).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Krasilnikov to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian. The motivation would be because the invention describes embodiments relating to the creation and management of a cloud native 5G core and/or a cloud native 5G RAN, and associated control plane components (¶0027, Krasilnikov).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov, as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Bhatt.
Re. Claim 18, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov teach Claim 14.
Yet, Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach building, by the position monitoring system, is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell over a period of time using data from the message.
However, in the analogous art, Gao explicitly teaches … over a period of time using data from the message (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0091 - FIG. 4 shows a flowchart of an exemplary method 400 to provide mobility indication information for a mobile AP 100-i to various entities communicatively coupled to a mobile AP 100-i and/or to update location assistance data related to AP 100-i. In some embodiments, method 400 may be performed by a mobile AP 100-i and/or a server 250 and/or another entity communicatively coupled to mobile AP 100-i or some combination thereof. ¶0092 - In block 405, identifying information for mobile AP 100-i and mobility indication information for mobile AP 100-i may be determined and/or obtained. For example, mobile AP 100-i may invoke method 300 to obtain an indication of its mobility. The mobility indication may include information about whether the AP is mobile. ¶0093 - For example, depending on availability, the mobility indication information may include one or more of: (i) a time at which the mobility indication was determined; (ii) a current location of the device; (iii) information related to a range of displacement of the AP, (iv) information related to a speed and/or a direction of movement of the AP, (v) information related to one or more time periods during which the AP is mobile …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Gao to the teaching of Akkarakaran. The motivation would be because the invention relates to location determination and specifically, to location determination in an environment that includes mobile and/or self-aware wireless access points (¶0001, Gao).
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov do not explicitly teach building, by the position monitoring system, is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell over …
However, in the analogous art, Bhatt explicitly teaches building, by the position monitoring system, is configured to build a position model for the secondary small cell over … (Fig. 1A-1B & ¶0028 - In an embodiment, the UE is … any other UE capable of receiving and utilizing the position model for estimating position information. ¶0032 - Further, the system 100 includes a position model server 108 that stores the position model for the area. The position model is generated offline by pre calibrating the area. The position model is the area level model that provides mapping information of spatial variation of signal strength of the plurality of signal sources 106.sub.1-n between geographic coordinates of an area. The offline generation of the position model includes capturing spatial variations of the signal strength (for example Received signal strength indication (RSSI)) using machine learning approaches. Please also see ¶0053 and 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bhatt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov. The motivation would be because the invention discusses position modeling and changes of the received signal strengths are captured to dynamically modify the position model to provide more accurate position information estimate in real time (¶0056, Bhatt).
Re. Claim 19, Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov and Bhatt teach Claim 18.
Yet, Akkarakaran and Gao do not explicitly teach the position model is built using signal strength data.
However, in the analogous art, Bhatt explicitly teaches the position model is built using signal strength data ((Fig. 1A-1B & ¶0028 - In an embodiment, the UE is … any other UE capable of receiving and utilizing the position model for estimating position information. ¶0032 - Further, the system 100 includes a position model server 108 that stores the position model for the area. The position model is generated offline by pre calibrating the area. The position model is the area level model that provides mapping information of spatial variation of signal strength of the plurality of signal sources 106.sub.1-n between geographic coordinates of an area. The offline generation of the position model includes capturing spatial variations of the signal strength (for example Received signal strength indication (RSSI)) using machine learning approaches. Please also see ¶0044, ¶0048 and ¶0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bhatt to the teachings of Akkarakaran and Gao and Zohoorian and Krasilnikov. The motivation would be because the invention discusses position modeling and changes of the received signal strengths are captured to dynamically modify the position model to provide more accurate position information estimate in real time (¶0056, Bhatt).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Artuso (US 2020/0337016 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-4.
Talluri et al. (US 2021/0044926 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-7.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429