DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 have been examined and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/31/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because Cite No 9 in the “NON-PATENT LITERATURE DOCUMENTS” section is listed as “HENRY J., et al., "Auto and Group Epochs", IEEE 802.11-24/0681r0-1, April 9, 2024, 25 Pages.”. However, it appears that there is no reference filed that has the titled “Auto and Group Epochs”. The only 25 page document filed appears to have the title “TGbi – Epoch Structure Proposal”, which is not the title listed (Cite No 9) on the IDS. Thus, Cite No 9 is not a proper identification of the reference and therefore, Cite No 9 is not being considered. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/584,867, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1, 8 and 15 recite “transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP)”, “the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval”, and “transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch”. These features are missing from Application No. 63/584,867. Therefore, there is no support for the above features in Application No. 63/584,867 filed on 09/23/2023.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 and 11 of copending Application No. 19/043,388 in view of Henry et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0377042). See the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application No. 19/012,511
Copending Application No. 19/043,388
Claims 1, 8 and 15. A method comprising transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP;
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a first group epoch, wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises a first epoch time interval; receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station, wherein the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval;
transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of Over-The-Air (OTA) Media Access Control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at the second epoch interval.
Claims 1, 6 and 11. A method comprising: transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for enhanced data privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP;
determining, by the access point, for one or more epoch groups a number of wireless stations participating in each epoch group of the one or more epoch groups;
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a plurality of epoch groups, wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises epoch timing information and a second epoch parameter indicates a number of wireless stations participating in the corresponding epoch group; receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station, wherein the wireless action frame indicates a first epoch group of the plurality of epoch groups that the wireless station proposes to join; and
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of over-the-air (OTA) medium access control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at an epoch interval associated with the first epoch group.
However, Copending Application No. 19/043,388 does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and
Henry teaches transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0059 where the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained…; see paragraph 0061 AP 104 determines at 416 that the MAC address rotation of the STA 112-1 should be performed... AP 104 transmits an unsolicited Robust Action frame to STA 112-1 that is an RCM management request frame, which, in the context the example of FIG. 4 is considered an unsolicited RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating “rotation recommended” and timing information including a delay timer set to “0” to indicate that STA 112-1 may immediately perform a MAC address rotation...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Copending Application No. 19/043,388 and Henry to provide the technique of transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch of Henry in the system of Copending Application No. 19/043,388 in order to improve privacy of a wireless device user (Henry, see paragraph 0003).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 18 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/999,608. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, claims 1, 8 and 15 of Application No. 19/012,511 correspond to claims 1-2 and 11 of Copending Application No. 18/999,608. See the table below.
Application No. 19/012,511
Copending Application No. 18/999,608
Claims 1, 8 and 15. A method comprising transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP;
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a first group epoch, wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises a first epoch time interval; receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station, wherein the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval;
transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of Over-The-Air (OTA) Media Access Control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at the second epoch interval.
Claims 1 and 11. A method, comprising: transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for enhanced data privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP;
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a plurality of epoch groups, wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises epoch timing information and a second epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters indicates a number of wireless stations participating in a corresponding epoch group of the plurality of epoch groups; receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by a wireless station, wherein the wireless action frame indicates a first epoch group of the plurality of epoch groups that the wireless station requests to join; and
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame to the wireless station, the responsive wireless action frame indicating acceptance of the wireless station into the first epoch group.
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of over-the-air (OTA) medium access control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at an epoch interval associated with the first epoch group.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 17 and 19, claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 17 and 19 of Application No. 19/012,511 correspond respectively to claims 8, 10, 8, 10, 18 and 20 of Copending Application No. 18/999,608.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansley et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0291797) in view of Henry et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0377042).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Ansley teaches A method comprising transmitting, by an access point, one or more wireless frames advertising support for Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP), wherein the one or more wireless frames indicate support for group-based EDP; (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see abstract where access point receives an indication from the station that the station supports media access control address during association…; see paragraph 0026 include a STA indicating to other STAs that it can support a MAC address change while associated by setting a field that could be named the Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP) Active to 1. This field may be added to the Extended Capabilities field and communicated in one of the beacon frames, the Probe request/response frames, and other frames...; see paragraph 0024 update groups of STAs. When an AP notifies a group of STAs of the upcoming changes, the AP may use a Block Acknowledgement (BA) to receive acknowledgements from the STAs in the group to ensure that all of them are ready.)
transmitting, by the access point, one or more epoch parameters associated with a first group epoch, (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see paragraph 0024 update groups of STAs. When an AP notifies a group of STAs of the upcoming changes, the AP may use a Block Acknowledgement (BA) to receive acknowledgements from the STAs in the group to ensure that all of them are ready...; see paragraph 0029 ... An AP may provide a seed for each STA to use separately to reset PHY parameters...the AP may set the transition timer for the MAC changes to happen after the STA has had time to wake up and receive the information about the upcoming MAC changes. Alternatively, the AP may coordinate a selected group of STAs to change, then wait to notify another set of STAs to change.)
wherein a first epoch parameter of the one or more epoch parameters comprises a first epoch time interval; (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see paragraph 0024 update groups of STAs. When an AP notifies a group of STAs of the upcoming changes, the AP may use a Block Acknowledgement (BA) to receive acknowledgements from the STAs in the group to ensure that all of them are ready...; see paragraph 0029 ... An AP may provide a seed for each STA to use separately to reset PHY parameters...the AP may set the transition timer for the MAC changes to happen after the STA has had time to wake up and receive the information about the upcoming MAC changes. Alternatively, the AP may coordinate a selected group of STAs to change, then wait to notify another set of STAs to change.; see paragraph 0047 indicate to the AP (that is, first AP 120) that it supports the MAC address change or rotation while being associated. The STA may also indicate other parameters associated with the MAC address change, such as a preference for an interval between changes, a preferred MAC address space, or other related parameters.)
receiving, by the access point, a wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station, (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see paragraph 0048 the station (that is, first client device 135) may also initiate the MAC change. Alternatively, the AP may send an Action frame to the STA or STA targeted for MAC address change. In still other instantiations, the STA may send an Action frame to the AP requesting a MAC address change...)
However, Ansley does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval;
transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of Over-The-Air (OTA) Media Access Control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at the second epoch interval.
Henry teaches wherein the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval; (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0058 where responds with an RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating, “rotation not recommended” and timing information including a comeback timer value indicating that the STA 112-1 is to try again in 40 minutes....; see paragraph 0093 indicating a time interval or schedule for the STA to perform the MAC address rotation. In one instance, the timing information is a comeback timer value indicating that the STA is to send a fourth communication indicating that the STA intends to perform the MAC address rotation upon expiration of the comeback timer value...)
transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch; and (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0059 where the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained…; see paragraph 0061 AP 104 determines at 416 that the MAC address rotation of the STA 112-1 should be performed... AP 104 transmits an unsolicited Robust Action frame to STA 112-1 that is an RCM management request frame, which, in the context the example of FIG. 4 is considered an unsolicited RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating “rotation recommended” and timing information including a delay timer set to “0” to indicate that STA 112-1 may immediately perform a MAC address rotation...)
maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of Over-The-Air (OTA) Media Access Control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at the second epoch interval. (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0061 AP 104 determines at 416 that the MAC address rotation of the STA 112-1 should be performed... AP 104 transmits an unsolicited Robust Action frame to STA 112-1 that is an RCM management request frame, which, in the context the example of FIG. 4 is considered an unsolicited RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating “rotation recommended” and timing information including a delay timer set to “0” to indicate that STA 112-1 may immediately perform a MAC address rotation...; see paragraph 0061 follow the request and performs a MAC address rotation and thereafter performs an authentication/association with AP 104 to re-establish a protected wireless communication link with AP 104, as shown at 422.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Ansley and Henry to provide the technique of the wireless action frame requests a second epoch including a second epoch time interval different from the first epoch time interval, transmitting, by the access point, a responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch and maintaining a wireless connection with the wireless station using a plurality of Over-The-Air (OTA) Media Access Control (MAC) addresses for the wireless station that are rotated at the second epoch interval of Henry in the system of Ansley in order to improve privacy of a wireless device user (Henry, see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Ansley-Henry teaches wherein the one or more wireless frames advertising support for EDP indicate support for station specific epochs. (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see abstract where access point receives an indication from the station that the station supports media access control address during association…; see paragraph 0026 include a STA indicating to other STAs that it can support a MAC address change while associated by setting a field that could be named the Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP) Active to 1. This field may be added to the Extended Capabilities field and communicated in one of the beacon frames, the Probe request/response frames, and other frames...; see paragraph 0024 update groups of STAs. When an AP notifies a group of STAs of the upcoming changes, the AP may use a Block Acknowledgement (BA) to receive acknowledgements from the STAs in the group to ensure that all of them are ready.)
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Ansley-Henry teaches wherein the wireless action frame transmitted by the wireless station comprises an epoch setting element including a plurality of fields, and (Ansley, see figs. 2 and 3; see abstract where access point receives an indication from the station that the station supports media access control address during association…; see paragraph 0026 include a STA indicating to other STAs that it can support a MAC address change while associated by setting a field that could be named the Enhanced Data Privacy (EDP) Active to 1. This field may be added to the Extended Capabilities field and communicated in one of the beacon frames, the Probe request/response frames, and other frames...; see paragraph 0024 update groups of STAs. When an AP notifies a group of STAs of the upcoming changes, the AP may use a Block Acknowledgement (BA) to receive acknowledgements from the STAs in the group to ensure that all of them are ready.)
wherein a first field of the plurality of fields includes data indicating the second epoch time interval. (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0058 where responds with an RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating, “rotation not recommended” and timing information including a comeback timer value indicating that the STA 112-1 is to try again in 40 minutes....; see paragraph 0093 indicating a time interval or schedule for the STA to perform the MAC address rotation. In one instance, the timing information is a comeback timer value indicating that the STA is to send a fourth communication indicating that the STA intends to perform the MAC address rotation upon expiration of the comeback timer value...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1, 8 and 15 is also applied to claims 3, 10 and 17.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Ansley-Henry teaches wherein the data indicating the second epoch time interval comprises a unit time value and a duration value based on the unit time value. (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0058 where responds with an RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating, “rotation not recommended” and timing information including a comeback timer value indicating that the STA 112-1 is to try again in 40 minutes....; see paragraph 0093 indicating a time interval or schedule for the STA to perform the MAC address rotation. In one instance, the timing information is a comeback timer value indicating that the STA is to send a fourth communication indicating that the STA intends to perform the MAC address rotation upon expiration of the comeback timer value...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1, 8 and 15 is also applied to claims 4, 11 and 18.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Ansley-Henry teaches wherein the responsive wireless action frame accepting the second epoch comprises an epoch setting element including a plurality of fields, and (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0058 where responds with an RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating, “rotation not recommended” and timing information including a comeback timer value indicating that the STA 112-1 is to try again in 40 minutes....; see paragraph 0093 indicating a time interval or schedule for the STA to perform the MAC address rotation. In one instance, the timing information is a comeback timer value indicating that the STA is to send a fourth communication indicating that the STA intends to perform the MAC address rotation upon expiration of the comeback timer value...)
wherein a first field of the plurality of fields includes data indicating a dialog value, the dialog value indicating the acceptance of the second epoch. (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0059 where the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained…; see paragraph 0061 AP 104 determines at 416 that the MAC address rotation of the STA 112-1 should be performed... AP 104 transmits an unsolicited Robust Action frame to STA 112-1 that is an RCM management request frame, which, in the context the example of FIG. 4 is considered an unsolicited RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating “rotation recommended” and timing information including a delay timer set to “0” to indicate that STA 112-1 may immediately perform a MAC address rotation...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1, 8 and 15 is also applied to claims 5, 12 and 19.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Ansley-Henry teaches further comprising: establishing one or more frame anonymization parameters with the wireless station, (Henry, see paragraph 0095 the timing information indicates a time period window within which the STA is to generate a random number that identifies when the STA is to perform the MAC address rotation…; see paragraph 0051 still with the expectation that the interval is random within that maximum interval...generate a random number within the time period window in order to choose its next rotation time.)
wherein the frame anonymization parameters determine at least the OTA MAC addresses of the wireless station for a set of EDP epochs corresponding to the second epoch. (Henry, see paragraph 0095 the timing information indicates a time period window within which the STA is to generate a random number that identifies when the STA is to perform the MAC address rotation…; see paragraph 0051 still with the expectation that the interval is random within that maximum interval...generate a random number within the time period window in order to choose its next rotation time.) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1, 8 and 15 is also applied to claims 6, 13 and 20.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21, Ansley-Henry teaches wherein establishing the one or more frame anonymization parameters comprises: negotiating with the wireless station an arrangement to compute OTA MAC addresses of the wireless station for the set of EDP epochs. (Henry, see figs. 3-5; see paragraph 0059 the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a…; see paragraph 0061 at 418, AP 104 transmits an unsolicited Robust Action frame to STA 112-1 that is an RCM management request frame, which, in the context the example of FIG. 4 is considered an unsolicited RCM management request frame that includes a rotation status indicator indicating “rotation recommended” and timing information including a delay timer set to “0” to indicate that STA 112-1 may immediately perform a MAC address rotation... performs a MAC address rotation...re-establish a protected wireless communication link with AP 104, as shown at 422.) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1, 8 and 15 is also applied to claims 7, 14 and 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPub 2022/0417994, which describes a method for performing a synchronization to allow a second wireless communication circuit of a wireless device operating in a second wireless communication network to operatively coexist with a first wireless communication network of the wireless device operating in a first wireless communication network in one or more wireless communication channels;
U.S. PGPub 2022/0385623, which describes address rotation aware dynamic host control protocol; and
U.S. PGPub 2020/0196213, which describes WIFI and cellular communication traversal.
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443