DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The rejection under 112, second paragraph to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 14, Klarl teaches “FIG. 3 shows a further depiction of the turning unit 12. It is evident that the device has a multiplicity of holding mandrels 44 which can engage in the mouths of the containers to guide these. A belt 46 is also provided which can set the holding mandrels 44 in rotation and thus turn all plastic containers through a particular angle. The containers are then delivered to the next star, for example, ejector star 13 described herein” C6 L5-15.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klarl U.S. Patent No. 9,403,668.
Claim 14, Klarl teaches a method for packaging container carriers and containers into individual multipacks Abstract, the method comprising: providing container carriers 1 and containers to a transfer device 8 at a first pitch and a first centerline at 16; moving a plurality of can grippers 44 in an angular and radial direction Fig. 3 C7 L30-50, wherein the plurality of can grippers 44 are moved in an angular and radial direction as the can grippers rotate around the transfer device C6 L5-15; transferring the containers in a fixed angular position to a second pitch and a second centerline via 18 to 4 C5 L35-50; and applying the container carrier 1 to the containers C4 L25-50.
Claim 15, Klarl teaches each container is fixed in a generally identical angular position to each adjacent container C2 L10-20.
Claim 16, Klarl teaches each container is fixed in a different angular position to each adjacent container via 12,14,16,18,28 C5 L10-20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are allowed.
The prior art does not teach “a transfer device for moving oriented containers from a pickup location at the orienter from a first pitch and a first centerline to a dropoff location at an applicator to a second pitch and a second centerline, wherein the transfer device further comprises a central wheel having a plurality of can grippers arranged radially around the central wheel and positionable between a constant pitch and a variable pitch; and the applicator comprising a jaw drum and positioned with respect to the infeed to accept the plurality of containers” in combination with the rest of the claim language is not fairly taught in the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS