Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
11. The display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a reflector on the light source substrate “and provided in a greater amount” in second regions spaced apart from the plurality of light sources, than in first regions adjacent to the plurality of light sources.
In claim 11, “and provided in a greater amount” renders the claim indefinite; the claim does not provide context for how the reflector can be in a greater amount on the substrate and is therefore indefinite. It appears the claim is intending to have portions with different respective levels of reflectivity, but this is not clearly stated. For examination, the claim has been interpreted as meaning there are levels of different reflectivity and greater reflectivity in second regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin US 2017/0219881 in view of Cho US 20140016340.
1. Shin discloses a display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) comprising: a reflective sheet 126; a light source substrate (122, see Fig 5-7) on the reflective sheet and comprising a first light source substrate (uppermost substrate 122, Fig 5) and a second light source substrate (substrate directly below uppermost substrate 122, Fig 5; see IMAGE A below); and a plurality of light sources 124 comprising a plurality of first light sources 124 on the first light source substrate (see plurality of LEDs on first substrate, Fig 5), and a plurality of second light sources on the second light source substrate (see plurality of light sources on second substrate, Fig 5). Shin shows a first distance between a first light source of the plurality of first light sources (see distance between a first light source and a second light source indicated in blue IMAGE ONE) and a second distance as a distance between adjacent first light sources of the plurality of first light sources (see distance between adjacent first light sources, indicated in green IMAGE A).
Shin is silent to teaching a first distance between a first light source of the plurality of first light sources and a second light source of the plurality of second light sources is greater than or equal to two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance.
Cho teaches a lighting device with light sources spaced such that: a first distance between a first light source (310-1) of the plurality of first light sources (upper array, see Fig 10A) and a second light source (light source of 330-1) of the plurality of second light sources (array of LEDs below 310-1, Fig 10A) is greater than or equal to two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1) and wherein the second distance is a distance between adjacent first light sources of the plurality of first light sources (second distance is D11, see Fig 10A).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to look to the teachings of Cho and utilize having a first distance between a first light source (310-1) of the plurality of first light sources (upper array, see Fig 10A) and a second light source (light source of 330-1) of the plurality of second light sources (array of LEDs below 310-1, Fig 10A) is greater than or equal to two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1) and wherein the second distance is a distance between adjacent first light sources of the plurality of first light sources (second distance is D11, see Fig 10A) and apply this to with the light sources on the first and second substrates of Shin to achieve an alternate spacing configuration for the light emitters to produce a desirable, alternate illumination pattern or effect.
2. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, see above for modifying the arrangement in view of Cho such that a first distance at least two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1); this combination meets the limitation of wherein the first distance is a smallest distance among distances between one of the plurality of first light sources and one of the plurality of second light sources (see discussion above and arrangement of Fig 10A of Cho).
3. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the first light source substrate and the second light source substrate are separated in an up-down direction (as indicated in IMAGE A above).
4. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, further comprising: a bottom chassis (frame 130, see Fig 3 and 10 of Shin) configured to accommodate the reflective sheet 126, wherein the light source substrate (see 122, Fig 5 and 10) is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis (mounted to frame 130, see Fig 3-5 when light sources are inserted through holes 235) in a state in which the reflective sheet 126 is mounted on the bottom chassis (when assembled 126 is mounted on 130, see Fig 10).
8. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, further comprising: a display panel 110; an optical member 125 between the display panel and the reflective sheet 126 (see Fig 5); and a supporter (diffusion plate 129) on the reflective sheet 126 and configured to support the optical member (supports 125; see Fig 5).
9. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, wherein a reflectance of the light source substrate (substrate may be PET, glass, PC or silicon, paragraph 0064) is less than a reflectance of the reflective sheet (reflective sheet 126 is material with high reflectance; materials known to be more reflective than that of the substrate, see paragraph 0071).
13. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of an edge of the reflective sheet 126 has a reduced reflectivity compared to another portion of the reflective sheet (paragraph 0127; teaches strip area ST may have a reduced reflectance compared to other areas of reflector).
14. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the plurality of second light sources is equal to a distance between the plurality of first light sources (as shown in IMAGE A above, Fig 5 of Shin).
15. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) to claim 1, and further teaches, “the plurality of substrates 122 may be arranged in the horizontal direction and/or the vertical direction, paragraph 0102. Though Shin does not specifically recite placing a third light source substrate arranged in a left-right direction with the first light source substrate; and a substrate connector configured to electrically connect the first light source substrate and the third light source substrate, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to provide a third light source substrate arranged in a left-right direction with the first light source substrate and a substrate connector configured to electrically connect the first light source substrate and the third light source substrate, since Shin teaches that substrates can be arranged in the horizontal or vertical direction (paragraph 0102). One would have been motivated to arrange a third substrate in this location for applications where greater luminance is desired.
16. Shin discloses a display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) comprising: a reflective sheet 126; a light source substrate (122, see Fig 5-7) on the reflective sheet and comprising a first light source substrate (uppermost substrate 122, Fig 5) and a second light source substrate (substrate directly below uppermost substrate 122, Fig 5; see IMAGE A below) separated from the first light source substrate by a first distance in a first direction (see distance between first and second substrate, blue line IMAGE B for first direction being extending up and down) and a plurality of light sources provided on the light source substrate along a second direction (light sources on substrate along left to right direction, green line perpendicular to blue line IMAGE B below) that is different from the first direction;
Shin teaches a second distance is a distance in the second direction between adjacent light sources of the plurality of light sources (see distance between adjacent light sources in the direction of green line in IMAGE B); however, Shin is silent to specifically teaching the first distance is at least two times the second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance.
Cho teaches a lighting device with light sources spaced such that: wherein a first distance at least two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to look to the teachings of Cho and modify the spacing such that a first distance at least two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance in Shin to achieve an alternate spacing configuration for the light emitters to produce a desirable, alternate illumination pattern or effect.
18. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 16, wherein the first distance corresponds to a brightness of at least one light source of the plurality of light sources (see above for modifying in view of Kim. The combination results in a first distance corresponding to a brightness of the light source since the spacing will have a direct correlation with brightness emitted from the light sources).
Claims 5-7, 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Cho, as discussed above, and further in view of Kim US 2021/0011511
As for claims 5 and 6, Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 4, further having a bottom chassis (frame 130, see Fig 3 and 10 of Shin), but fails to teach: a module mounting protrusion, and wherein the light source substrate comprises: a passing portion into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted; and a restricting portion configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein (claim 5) and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion, the light source substrate is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis as the module mounting protrusion inserts into the restricting portion (claim 6).
Kim teaches a module mounting protrusion (30, Fig 10), and wherein the light source substrate 100 comprises: a passing portion (portion 102 of hole in substrate 100, see Fig 9) into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted (30 is inserted into larger part of hole, Fig 9, Kim); and a restricting portion configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein (When the coupling protrusion 30 slides to be positioned at the other side of the coupling hole 101, the substrate 100 may be fixed to the rear chassis 15 without being separated from the rear chassis 15, paragraph 0108 Kim)(claim 5); and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion (when 30 is inserted into larger part of hole, see fig 9, see paragraph 0109 Kim), the light source substrate 100 is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis 15 as the module mounting protrusion inserts into the restricting portion (when coupling protrusion 30 is slid over to other side, see paragraph 0108) (claim 6). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the module mounting protrusion, and wherein the light source substrate comprises: a passing portion into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted; and a restricting portion configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein (claim 5) and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion, the light source substrate is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis as the module mounting protrusion inserts into the restricting portion (claim 6) of Kim with the device of Shin to provide an alternate means of securing the substrates to the bottom chassis with a quick connect coupling means that allows for easy removal/replacement of the substrates and also allows for them to be securely held with respect to the rear chassis.
7. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 5; Shin further teaches the reflective sheet comprises an opening through which a mounting member is inserted and passed (see Fig 10 opening 205 though which fastener 202 passes); see the discussion above regarding combining with Kim for the mounting protrusion is inserted to be coupled with the light source substrate (30, Fig 9, Kim); given the teachings of Shin and combination with Kim, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to provide an opening in the reflecting sheet of Shin through which the module mounting protrusion is inserted to be coupled with the light source substrate, to allow the protrusion to pass therethrough and couple to the substrate.
As for claims 11 and 12, Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 1 but fails to further teach a reflector on the light source substrate and provided in a greater amount in second regions spaced apart from the plurality of light sources, than in first regions adjacent to the plurality of light sources (claim 11); wherein the reflector comprises a photo solder resist (PSR) on the light source substrate.
Kim teaches a reflector 35 on the light source substrate (see paragraph 0067) and provided in a greater amount in second regions spaced apart from the plurality of light sources (can have configured with different reflectance levels, paragraph 0067), than in first regions adjacent to the plurality of light sources (claim 11); wherein the reflector comprises a photo solder resist (PSR) on the light source substrate (paragraph 0068, Kim). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the
a reflector on the light source substrate and provided in a greater amount in second regions spaced apart from the plurality of light sources, than in first regions adjacent to the plurality of light sources, wherein the reflector comprises a photo solder resist (PSR) on the light source substrate (taught by Kim) with the device of Shin to provide an improved reflector configuration that allows for different reflectance in different areas and also an additional reflector placed on the substrate(s) in Shin. One would have been motivated to make this combination to decrease light loss in Shin.
17. Shin discloses the display apparatus (100, see Figures 3-7 and 10) according to claim 16, further having a bottom chassis (frame 130, see Fig 3 and 10 of Shin).
Shin fails to teach a module mounting protrusion and configured to accommodate the reflective sheet, wherein the light source substrate is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis in a state in which the reflective sheet is mounted on the bottom chassis, wherein the light source substrate comprises: a passing portion into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted; and a restricting portion adjacent to the passing portion and configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein, and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion, the light source substrate is mounted on the bottom chassis and the module mounting protrusion is inserted into to the restricting portion.
Kim teaches a module mounting protrusion (30, Fig 10) configured to accommodate the reflective sheet (200, see Fig 2; coupling protrusion may fix a position of reflective sheet, see paragraph 0081); wherein the light source substrate 100 is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis 15 in a state in which the reflective sheet is mounted on the bottom chassis (see paragraph 0081 and Fig 9, when assembled); wherein the light source substrate comprises: a passing portion (portion 102 of hole in substrate 100, see Fig 9) into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted (30 is inserted into larger part of hole, Fig 9, Kim); and a restricting portion adjacent to the passing portion and configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein, (When the coupling protrusion 30 slides to be positioned at the other side of the coupling hole 101, the substrate 100 may be fixed to the rear chassis 15 without being separated from the rear chassis 15, paragraph 0108 Kim); and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion (when 30 is inserted into larger part of hole, see fig 9, see paragraph 0109 Kim), the light source substrate 100 is mounted on the bottom chassis 15 and the module mounting protrusion is inserted into to the restricting portion (when coupling protrusion 30 is slid over to other side, see paragraph 0108).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the module mounting protrusion and configured to accommodate the reflective sheet, wherein the light source substrate is configured to be mounted on the bottom chassis in a state in which the reflective sheet is mounted on the bottom chassis, wherein the light source substrate comprises: a passing portion into which the module mounting protrusion is configured to be inserted; and a restricting portion adjacent to the passing portion and configured to restrict detachment of the module mounting protrusion in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted therein, and wherein, in a state in which the module mounting protrusion is inserted into the passing portion, the light source substrate is mounted on the bottom chassis and the module mounting protrusion is inserted into to the restricting portion of Kim with the device of Shin to provide an alternate means of securing the substrates to the bottom chassis with a quick connect coupling means that allows for easy removal/replacement of the substrates and also allows for them to be securely held with respect to the rear chassis.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2021/0011511 in view of Cho US 20140016340.
20. Kim discloses a display apparatus (Fig 1-9) comprising: a reflective sheet 200 comprising an opening; a bottom chassis 15 configured to accommodate the reflective sheet (200, see Fig 2; coupling protrusion may fix a position of reflective sheet, see paragraph 0081) and comprising a module mounting protrusion 30 configured to insert through the opening (30 is inserted into fixing hold 210, paragraph 0081); a light source substrate 100 having at least one through hole (see hole 102 in Fig 9) through which the mounting protrusion is configured to insert to couple with the light source substrate
(When the coupling protrusion 30 slides to be positioned at the other side of the coupling hole 101, the substrate 100 may be fixed to the rear chassis 15 without being separated from the rear chassis 15, paragraph 0108, see Fig 9). Kim further teaches the light source substrate comprising a first light source substrate (100, see Figs 2 and 8; uppermost substrate in Fig 2), and a second light source substrate (substrate directly below uppermost substrate, see Fig 8) separated from the first light source substrate by a first distance in a first direction (see distance in up-down direction in Fig 2 and 3)
and a plurality of light sources 110 provided on the light source substrate along a second direction (left-right direction, see Fig 2 and 3) that is different from the first direction; and a second distance is a distance in the second direction between adjacent light sources of the plurality of light sources (see spacing between adjacent light sources a common substrate, Fig 2-3).
Kim is silent to stating that the first distance is greater than or equal to two times the second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance. Cho teaches a lighting device with light sources spaced such that: a first distance between a first light source (310-1) of the plurality of first light sources (upper array, see Fig 10A) and a second light source (light source of 330-1) of the plurality of second light sources (array of LEDs below 310-1, Fig 10A) is greater than or equal to two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1) and wherein the second distance is a distance between adjacent first light sources of the plurality of first light sources (second distance is D11, see Fig 10A).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to look to the teachings of Cho and utilize having a first distance between a first light source (310-1) of the plurality of first light sources (upper array, see Fig 10A) and a second light source (light source of 330-1) of the plurality of second light sources (array of LEDs below 310-1, Fig 10A) is greater than or equal to two times a second distance and less than or equal to four times the second distance ([Cho 0292] A ratio of the distance d13 to the distance d11 or the distance d12 may be about 1.1:1 to 10:1) and wherein the second distance is a distance between adjacent first light sources of the plurality of first light sources (second distance is D11, see Fig 10A) and apply this to with the light sources on the first and second substrates of Kim to achieve an alternate spacing configuration for the light emitters to produce a desirable, alternate illumination pattern or effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter; the prior art fails to specifically teach:
10. The display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a width of a region around a light source of the plurality of light sources is based on a distance from a brightest portion of the light source to a point at which a brightness is half of a brightness of the brightest portion, and wherein the width is greater than or equal to the first distance and less than or equal to 1.15 times the first distance.
19. The display apparatus according to claim 18, wherein a width of a region around a light source of the plurality of light sources is based on a distance from a brightest portion of the light source to a point at which a brightness is half of a brightness of the brightest portion, and wherein the width is greater than or equal to the first distance and less than or equal to 1.15 times the first distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KIM US’750 is cited for having a frame, reflector with holes in it, and LEDs protruding through the holes; similar to claimed invention.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875