DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 04/06/2026, with respect to the amended claim(s) 1, 6, and 11 have been fully considered and moot in view of new grounds of rejection by relying on the teachings of TOKUMO (US 20200045359 A1) in view of Aflake Beni (US 20180176545 A1) and Taquet et al. (US 20190141359 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOKUMO (US 20200045359 A1) in view of Aflake Beni (US 20180176545 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 11, Tokumo discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor ([0186]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to ([0186] the reproduction devices 100 and 600 and the generation devices 300 and 900 include a CPU performing instructions of a program that is software implementing the functions, a Read Only Memory (ROM) or a storage device (these are referred to as “recording media”) in which the program and various data are stored to be readable by a computer (or CPU), a Random Access Memory (RAM) in which the program is deployed):
receive, from a server (400 of fig. 2), information identifying viewpoints ([0056] viewpoints (P1_1 to P1_9)) and respective attribute sets ([0072]-[0075] disclose viewpoints and metadata, wherein the viewpoints are disclosed in figure 5A and 5B and the metadata comprises attribute sets as disclosed in figures 9A and 9B, [0085]-[0088] disclose Metadata Related to Viewpoint and Line-of-Sight Direction in details, [0124] to [0128] the Metadata comprises attribute sets),
each set comprises a viewpoint effective range defined by a rendering quality level ([0059], [0060], and [0061], and [0128] for range and distance; [0128], [0136], and [0187] for rendering quality level; and fig. 15 for rendering quality level with z’ viewpoint effective range);
receive, from the server, information identifying one or more omnidirectional videos capturing an event at a scene ([0122]-0123] The EventStream 60 can describe events such as a 360 video delivery start event and an extended 360 video delivery start event. The type of the event described in the EventStream 60 is identified by a value of a value attribute of an EventStream element; [0128] The details of the 360 video delivery start event and the extended 360 video delivery start event are described by an Event element in the EventStream element) from respective viewpoints of the identified viewpoints ([0069] Thus, the delivery unit 310 can transmit the metadata related to the omnidirectional video; [0079] the reproduction system 1 can also generate and transmit metadata related to the omnidirectional video and reproduce the omnidirectional video, based on the metadata, [0085] and [0092] Note that the metadata related to the view point and line-of-sight direction used in a case of selecting the recommended viewing mode is not limited to the SupplementalDescriptor and EssentialDescriptor described above. To the extent that the recommended viewing mode as described above can be implemented, the reproduction system 1 can use metadata related to arbitrary view point and line-of-sight direction; [0128] A presentation Time attribute of the Event element indicates a delivery start time for the 360 video/extended 360 video. A duration attribute of the Event element indicates a delivery period for the 360 video/extended 360 video. A num Of View attribute of the Event element indicates the number of view points in the extended 360 video, [0054] Here, the “360 video” means an omnidirectional video viewed by looking all around from a certain view point in a virtual space, [0059] Here, the “extended 360 video” means an omnidirectional video viewed by looking all around from view points within a prescribed range based on one point in the virtual space); and
render a video, of the one or more omnidirectional videos, based on at least one attribute of attribute set of a respective viewpoint of the identified viewpoints ([0010] to [0012] the piece of partial video data being a part of multiple pieces of partial video data constituting an omnidirectional video; [0207] to [0209] constituting an omnidirectional video based on the metadata as one attribute of attribute set of a viewpoint, 5 of fig. 3 and 6 of fig. 4; [0056], [0086], and [0209] the identified viewpoints, VIEWPOINTS P1_1 TO P1_9 of figs. 3, 4, and 5A and 5B).
It is noted that Tokumo is silent about the rendering quality level above a predetermined threshold.
Aflake Beni teaches the rendering quality level above a predetermined threshold ([0109] the FIG. 8 method may have a further condition that ensures that the quality of the synthesised image is above a threshold quality).
Taking the teachings of Tokumo and Aflake Beni together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rendering quality level above the threshold of Aflake Beni into the rendering method of Tokumo to improve the quality of the rendered images.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo further teaches wherein a set of the attribute sets comprises a viewpoint position ([0061] viewpoints P1_1 to P1_9 are positioned).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo further teaches the viewpoint effective range indicates a distance from a respective viewpoint within which one or more objects in a video captured from the respective viewpoint can be rendered at a quality level (([0060] the reproduction unit 120 reproduces an extended 360 video V1 viewed by looking around in the line-of-sight direction D0 to Dn from the view points P1_1 to P1_9 within the prescribed range based on the view point P1 at times t2 to t3. That is, in a case that the user looks around, the reproduction unit 120 allows the user to take a 360-degree view from the view points P1_1 to P1_9; [0128] a view Range attribute may be described that indicates the range of view points (e.g., the range of movable view points is 1 m around) in the extended 360 video; [0059], [0060], and [0061] for range and distance; [0187] for rendering quality level as constituting an omnidirectional video). Aflake Beni teaches the rendering quality level is above the predetermined threshold ([0109] the FIG. 8 method may have a further condition that ensures that the quality of the synthesised image is above a threshold quality).
Regarding claim 4 and 9, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo further teaches wherein a set of the attribute sets comprises a viewpoint type ([0128] A num Of View attribute of the Event element indicates the number of view points in the extended 360 video; [0136] the ID of the AdaptationSet corresponding to the current view point and line-of-sight direction, [0161] to [0162] the SEI is utilized as metadata for the switching of the video type).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo further teaches wherein a set of the attribute sets comprises a viewpoint availability, specifying one or more time intervals during which a video, of the one or more omnidirectional videos, that captures the event at the scene from a respective viewpoint, is available (5 and 6 of figs. 3 and 4, viewpoints P1_1 to P1_9 are availability, TIMES T1 TO 12 for VIEWPOINT P1 of figs. 5A, TIMES T2 TO T3 for VIEWPOINTS P1_1 TO P1_9 of fig. 5B, [0033] and [0044] MPD data 5 includes at least time division data Period 5a at times t1 to t2 and time division data Period 5b at times t2 to t3. The Period 5a and Period 5b include partial video data groups for each different view point and each different line-of-sight direction, the partial video data groups being included in the partial video data).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo further discloses determining, based on the information identifying viewpoints and respective attribute sets, that a position of at least one of the identified viewpoints is dynamic and provided in a timed- metadata track ([0183] the metadata generating unit 920 of the reproduction system 3 delivers global location information including the view point P0 and the view point P1, to the reproduction device 600 as timed metadata. The metadata generating unit 920 of the reproduction system 3 causes the parameter generating unit 330 to generate an identifier for identifying timed metadata to be referenced by the resource locator group (AdaptationSet) for each view point and each line-of-sight direction).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo and Aflake Beni further teach wherein a viewpoint, of the identified viewpoints, is a virtual viewpoint that is located within the viewpoint effective ranges of other viewpoints, of the identified viewpoints (Tokumo: [0002] and [0003] a prescribed virtual view point; Aflake Beni: [0029] a synthesised image representing a field-of-view of the virtual space from the position and orientation of said user device for presentation on a display screen of said user device).
Regarding claim 15, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 14, Aflake Beni further teaches before the rendering of the video, synthesizing the video from videos captured from the other viewpoints ([0092] a synthesised image is generated from the viewpoint and rendered for display on the display screens of the HMD).
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1, Tokumo and Aflake Beni further teach wherein the viewpoint effective range is determined based on one or more characteristics of the camera generating the video captured from the respective viewpoint (Tokumo: [0059] and [0060]; Aflake Beni: [0061]).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOKUMO (US 20200045359 A1) in view of Aflake Beni (US 20180176545 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 6, and further in view of Taquet et al. (US 20190141359 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Tokumo and Aflake Beni teach the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 6. Tokumo and Aflake are silent about wherein the receiving of information identifying viewpoints and respective attribute sets comprises: receiving an OMAF viewpoint List (OVL) descriptor containing one or more OMAF viewpoint (OVP) elements, wherein each OVP element identifies a viewpoint and includes a respective attribute set.
Taquet teaches wherein the receiving of information identifying viewpoints and respective attribute sets comprises: receiving an OMAF viewpoint List (OVL) descriptor containing one or more OMAF viewpoint (OVP) elements, wherein each OVP element identifies a viewpoint and includes a respective attribute set ([0196], [0197], and [0230] identifying viewpoint and attribute).
Taking the teachings of Tokumo, Aflake Beni, and Taquet together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the descriptor of Taquet into the method of Tokumo and Aflake Beni to improve quality since high resolution images.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425