DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed August 13, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. The applicant has amended claims 1, 6, 8, 13, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farmer et al. (US 2018/0328747 A1) in view of Wei et al. (US 2009/0326991 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Farmer discloses:
a network computer system ([0034]; FIG. 1: 130, 170) comprising:
one or more processors ([0060], [0143]; FIG. 1: 130; FIG. 14: 1422; ride matching system 130 may be hosted on one or more server computers; processing system 1422 includes one or more processors operable to control computing system 1400); and
a memory to store instructions ([0140]; FIG. 14: 1408, 1422; computer readable media 1408 store software executable by a processor (in processing system 1422) to provide the functionality of the system);
wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to perform operations ([0140], [0142]; FIG. 14: 1422; processing system 1422 includes one or more processors or other devices operable to control computing system 1400) comprising:
receiving, over one or more networks, a plurality of service requests from a plurality of computing devices of requesters, each service request of the plurality of service requests indicating a pickup location and a drop off location ([0033], [0034], [0062]; FIG. 1: communication network 170; FIG. 6: 131; requester interface 131 includes software and/or hardware components configured to send and receive communications and/or other information between the ride matching system 130 and a plurality of requestor computing devices 120; embodiments provide for a determination of more efficient request locations from which a transport request to a destination may be determined; the request location may include, for example, a current location, a future location, a “best fit/predictive” location, a curb segment, or any other suitable information for indicating a location for a requestor to be found at the current time or in the future; the ride request may include a requestor identifier, location information for the requestor computing device 120, a pick-up location for the ride request, one or more destination locations);
receiving, over one or more networks, location data transmitted from a plurality of computing devices of a plurality of service providers ([0062]; FIG. 6: 131; the requestor interface 131 may be configured to periodically receive ride requests, location information, a request location (also referred to as a “pick-up” location), requestor status information, a location of the requestor computing device, progress toward a request location by the requestor computing device, and/or any other relevant information from the requestor computing device 120 when the requestor application 121 is active on the requestor computing device 120);
matching each service request of the plurality of service requests with one of the service providers of the plurality of service providers, based on the pickup location of the service request and the location data of the computing device of the matched service provider ([0036]; FIG. 6: 130; the ride matching system (also referred to as a “dynamic transportation matching system”) 130 may identify available providers that are registered with the ride matching system 130 through an application on their provider communication device 150A and send the ride request to a provider communication device 150A and the provider 140A may accept the ride request through the provider communication device 150A. Additionally and/or alternatively, in some embodiments, the provider may be predictively and/or automatically matched with a request such that the provider may not explicitly accept the request. The information indicative of a match may include location information, other route information for other passengers in the vehicle, a schedule for the provider providing information regarding future availability (e.g., when they are going to go offline), diagnostics associated with the car (e.g., gas level, battery level, engine status, etc.), and/or any other suitable information.);
for at least a first service request of the plurality of service requests transmitted from a first computing device of a corresponding requester, (i) monitoring a progress of a first service provider of the plurality of service providers that is matched to the first service request, based at least in part on the location data transmitted from a computing device of the first service provider and a state of a task, associated with the first service request, that is to be completed in fulfilling the matched service request ([0021], [0065], [0078]; while a provider has yet to “pick up” the requestor, the dynamic transportation matching system continues to perform updated estimated time of arrival (ETA) calculations; the provider interface 132 may update a provider information data store 136B with provider information received and/or sent to the provider, a status of the provider, a provider computing device location, and/or any other relevant information; the provider interface 132 updates a provider information data store 136B with provider information received and/or sent to the provider, a status of the provider, a provider computing device location, and/or any other relevant information; if the provider makes a wrong turn and/or follows a different route than that calculated by the travel time estimation module 134B, the travel time estimation module 134E may obtain the updated location of the provider computing device and recalculate the possible routes and estimated arrival times. As such, the estimated travel times may be updated as travel and road conditions, weather, etc. are updated),
detecting that the task is complete before the first service provider arrives at the drop off location of the first service request ([0088]; the historical ride data 136C may include a result of the transport request (e.g., canceled, completed, etc.); Farmer indicates that cancellation and completion have equivalent status),
and (ii) transmitting, over the one or more networks, information about the progress to the first computing device of the corresponding requester, the information about the progress being updated when detecting that the task is complete ([0053], [0054], [0063], [0088]; FIG. 4A; FIG. 4B; in the example interface 410, a request location 402 is displayed on a requester computing device at a particular location within the layout of roads. A representation of a provider 404 (e.g., that has accepted a transport request associated with the request location) is displayed at a location corresponding to the provider's current location, and a route 406 of the provider 404 to the request location is illustrated, along with a route 408 to the request destination (not pictured) that will be taken after the requestor is picked up at the request location 402; the requestor interface 131 sends ride match messages, location information for the provider computing device, provider information, travel routes, pick-up estimates, traffic information, requestor updates/notifications, and/or any other relevant information to the requestor application 121 of the requestor computing device 120; [0088] a location scoring module 612 may utilize various data stores that may be part of the location scoring system 610 and/or communicatively coupled with the location scoring system 610, such as historical ride data 136C; the historical ride data 136C may include a result of the transport request (e.g., canceled, completed, etc.)).
Farmer suggests but does not explicitly disclose:
monitoring the progress includes determining whether the first service provider is progressing towards the pickup location of the first service request in accordance with a set of progress conditions.
Wei, in the same field of network computer systems, teaches a fleet management system and method for managing a fleet of vehicles ([0003]). We does not explicitly disclose:
monitoring the progress includes determining whether the first service provider is progressing towards the pickup location of the first service request in accordance with a set of progress conditions,
but Wei does disclose tracking the real-time location of the vehicle ([0041]) and Wei does disclose determining whether a driver has been delayed for various reasons ([0050], [0052]); all of which suggests that the system of Wei comprises that monitoring the progress includes determining whether the first service provider is progressing towards the pickup location of the first service request in accordance with a set of progress conditions for the benefit of enabling the system to determine whether a driver has been delayed for various reasons.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Wei with the system of Farmer because that would have enabled the system to determine whether a driver has been delayed for various reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Farmer discloses that the monitoring includes monitoring performance of a task associated with the first service request by the first service provider. ([0021], [0065], [0078])
Regarding claim 3, Farmer discloses that the task is a pickup task, and wherein monitoring the state of the task includes detecting one or multiple conditions regarding completion of the task. ([0021], [0065], [0078])
Regarding claim 4, Farmer discloses that detecting one or multiple conditions includes detecting that the first service provider is moving closer towards the pickup location. ([0021], [0025], [0065], [0078])
Regarding claim 5, Farmer discloses that detecting one or multiple conditions includes detecting that the first service provider has arrived at the pickup location. ([0088], [0089])
Regarding claim 6, Farmer discloses that monitoring the state of the task includes detecting that the first service provider has completed the task ([0088], [0089]).
Farmer does not explicitly disclose that in response to detecting the task is complete, the operations further comprise transmitting information about the task having been completed to the computing device of the first requestor, but Farmer does disclose that while a provider has yet to “pick up” the requestor, the dynamic transportation matching system continues to perform updated estimated time of arrival (ETA) calculations, determinations of whether the provider is not going to pick up the requestor (e.g., a “bailout”), overall system ETA determinations, and supply and demand determinations, among other activities ([0021]); Farmer does disclose that the provider interface 132 may update a provider information data store 136B with provider information received and/or sent to the provider, a status of the provider, a provider computing device location, and/or any other relevant information ([0065]); Farmer does disclose that if the provider makes a wrong turn and/or follows a different route than that calculated by the travel time estimation module 134B, the travel time estimation module 134E may obtain the updated location of the provider computing device and recalculate the possible routes and estimated arrival times; as such, the estimated travel times may be updated as travel and road conditions, weather, etc. are updated) ([0078]); Farmer does disclose that the requestor interface 131 sends ride match messages, location information for the provider computing device, provider information, travel routes, pick-up estimates, traffic information, requestor updates/notifications, and/or any other relevant information to the requestor application 121 of the requestor computing device 120 ([0063]); Farmer does disclose tracking a current location of the provider and requester as the ride matching process progresses ([0088]); Farmer does disclose tracking the time between provider arrival and actual requester pickup ([0089]); and Farmer does disclose that the dynamic transportation matching system sends an arrival message before the provider has arrived at the location to allow the requestor more time to find the provider and/or alert the requestor that the location is associated with delays and advise particular ways that the requestor can minimize those delays (e.g., leave early, contact the provider, etc.) to minimize delay and/or unfavorable conditions of the original request location ([0110]); all of which suggest that the system of Farmer comprises that in response to detecting the task is complete, the operations further comprise transmitting information about the task having been completed to the computing device of the first requester for the benefit of notifying the requester that the provider has arrived at the “pick up” location, so that the requester will minimize delay by looking for the provider vehicle when it arrives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Farmer in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to notify the requester that the provider has arrived at the “pick up” location, so that the requester will minimize delay by looking for the provider vehicle when it arrives.
Regarding claim 7, Farmer discloses that the plurality of service requests include a plurality of delivery requests. ([0035])
Regarding claim 8, Farmer discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations ([0140], [0143]; FIG. 14: 1408, 1422) comprising: the remainder of claim 8 is rejected as claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected as claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected as claim 4.
Claim 12 is rejected as claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected as claim 6.
Claim 14 is rejected as claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Farmer discloses a computer-implemented method for managing network services ([0034], [0091], [0136]; FIG. 1: 170; FIG. 7; FIG. 14; FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary flow diagram of a method for using curb segment data to provide an optimized pickup location; FIG. 14 shows an example computer system 1400, in accordance with various embodiments, that is used to implement any of the systems, devices, or methods of the invention; the method operates through communication network 170), the method comprising: the remainder of claim 15 is rejected as claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected as claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected as claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 5.
Claim 20 is rejected as claim 7.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0121994 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689