DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 06/25/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 17-19 have been amended; no claims have been added, canceled, or withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are now pending and under consideration.
The previous objections to the drawings have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to claims 3, 11, and 18.
The previous objection to claim 5 has been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the claim.
The previous rejections of claims 3, 11, 14, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to claims 3, 11, 14, and 18.
The previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the claim.
The previous rejections of claim 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to claim 15.
Applicant’s assertion on page 10 of the remarks that the amendment to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are sufficient to overcome the previous interpretations and rationales of the prior art rejections of claims 1, 8, and 15, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/125652 A1 to Oh in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0054758 to Bae et al. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection of amened claims 1, 8, and 15 is now made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0237699 to Boden et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0090928 to Roll et al., and in view of Bae.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0237699 to Boden et al. (hereinafter: “Boden”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0090928 to Roll et al. (hereinafter: “Roll”), and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0054758 to Bae et al. (hereinafter: “Bae”).
With respect to claim 1, Boden teaches a vehicle (100) (apparent from at least Fig. 1) comprising: a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle (for example, as depicted by at least Fig. 1 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0023, a first one of a left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and a right rear wheel brake actuator 120 is associated with a respective first one of a left rear wheel 110 and a right rear wheel 112 of the vehicle 100); a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle (for example, in a first interpretation, as depicted by at least Fig. 1 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0023, a second one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 is associated with a respective second one of the left rear wheel 110 and the right rear wheel 112 of the vehicle 100; alternatively, for example, in a second interpretation, as depicted by at least Fig. 1 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0023, a first one of a left front wheel brake actuator 114 and a right front wheel brake actuator 116 is associated with a respective first one of the left front wheel 106 and a right front wheel 108 of the vehicle 100); memory (via 130; as depicted by at least Fig. 1 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0029 & 0044); and a brake controller (130) (as depicted by at least Fig. 1 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0029-0030 & 0044) to execute instructions to: in response to determining that brake operation conditions are satisfied: engage the first brake for a first predetermined duration; disengage the first brake after the first predetermined duration; and engage the second brake for a second predetermined duration [for example, in an interpretation A: as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0039-0057, the processor 130 is structured to perform functions to temporarily operate each of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 and the second one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 for a first rear braking period 405 (e.g., “first predetermined duration” & “second predetermined duration”) in a second braking pattern, where the temporarily operating of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 ceases when the first rear braking period 405 ends; alternatively, for example, in an interpretation B: as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0039-0057, the processor 130 is structured to perform functions to temporarily operate the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 for a first rear braking period 405 (e.g., “first predetermined duration”) in a second braking pattern, and temporarily operate the second one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 for a second rear braking period 409 (e.g., “second predetermined duration”) in the second braking pattern, where the temporarily operating of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 ceases when the first rear braking period 405 ends; alternatively, for example, in an interpretation C: as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0039-0057, the processor 130 is structured to perform functions to temporarily operate the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 for a first rear braking period 405 (e.g., “first predetermined duration”) in a second braking pattern, and temporarily operate the first one of the left front wheel brake actuator 114 and the right front wheel brake actuator 116 for a first front braking period 407 (e.g., “second predetermined duration”) in a first braking pattern, where the temporarily operating of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 ceases when the first rear braking period 405 ends].
Boden appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the brake controller is to execute further instruction(s) to detect a parking event.
Roll teaches an analogous vehicle (140) (apparent from at least Figs. 2 & 3) comprising a brake controller (e.g., 90) to execute instructions to detect a parking event [as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0010, 0016, 0033, 0041-0043 & 0050-0051, the control device 90 is programmed to execute functions to detect a stationary state of the motor vehicle 140 (e.g., “parking event”) and/or activation of a parking brake control element 130 (e.g., “parking event”) by a driver to activate a parking brake (or a parking brake function)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle of Boden with the teachings of Bae such that the brake controller, at least at times, executes instruction(s) to detect a parking event to beneficially control activation of a parking brake (or a parking brake function) responsive to a parking brake request by a driver of the vehicle for parking (or arresting) the vehicle in a reliable way, including on a steep slope or a precipitous underlying surface, and to meet a modern vehicle safety requirement, while preventing undesired sudden and hazardous braking of the vehicle in cases where the vehicle is moving by restricting the activation of the parking brake (or the parking brake function) to the stationary sate of the vehicle.
Boden also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the brake controller is to execute further instruction(s) to compare a temperature of at least one of the first brake or the second brake to a temperature threshold (note: because compare a temperature of the first brake to a temperature threshold and compare a temperature of the second brake to a temperature threshold are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives). Therefore, Boden also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the brake controller executes the instructions to engage the first brake for the first predetermined duration, disengage the first brake after the first predetermined duration, and engage the second brake for the second predetermined duration, in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold (note: no comparison result of “comparing a temperature of at least one of a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle or a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle to a temperature threshold” necessarily includes, or results in, executing a further instruction, or function, of the “brake controller,” and no comparison result of “comparing a temperature of at least one of a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle or a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle to a temperature threshold” necessarily includes, or results in, “determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold”; also, note: “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold” does not establish a requirement for a particular type of “temperature threshold” and does not establish a requirement for a particular type of relationship between the “temperature” and the “temperature threshold”).
Bae teaches a vehicle (20) comprising: a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle; a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0012-0014, rear wheels 22 (e.g., “first wheel,” “second wheel”) of the vehicle 20 each include a respective disc braking system 24 (e.g., “first brake,” “second brake”)]; memory (e.g., 38); and a brake controller (e.g., 34) to execute instructions (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 3 in view of at least ¶ 0005, 0015 & 0017-0028) to: compare a temperature of at least the first brake to a temperature threshold [as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0004-0006 & 0016-0029, the computer 34 is structured to perform functions to compare an actual temperature of a brake rotor 26 (e.g., “temperature”) of a first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 to a defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 (e.g., “temperature threshold”), such as in a first instance of executing the flowchart of Fig. 6]; in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold: engage the first brake for a first duration; disengage the first brake after the first duration; and engage the second brake for the second duration [as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0004-0006 & 0016-0029 (especially ¶ 0020-0021), the computer 34 is structured to perform functions including any of: (a) temporarily operate each of the two rear disc braking systems 24 for respective definable first and second durations to apply a corrected braking torque to the rear wheels 22 of the vehicle 20 (e.g., engage the first brake for a first duration; disengage the first brake after the first duration; and engage the second brake for the second duration), including to apply a relatively reduced braking torque via the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24, in response to determining that the actual temperature of the brake rotor 26 of the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 exceeds the defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 (e.g., “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold”); (b) temporarily operate each of the two rear disc braking systems 24 for respective definable first and second durations to apply a non-corrected braking torque to the rear wheels 22 of the vehicle 20 (e.g., engage the first brake for a first duration; disengage the first brake after the first duration; and engage the second brake for the second duration) in response to determining that the actual temperature of the brake rotor 26 of the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 does not exceed the defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 (e.g., “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold”); and (c) temporarily operate the second one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 for a respective definable second duration to apply a corrected braking torque to the respective one of the rear wheels 22 of the vehicle 20 without operating the first one of the rear disc braking systems 24 (e.g., engage the second brake for the second duration) in response to determining that the actual temperature of the brake rotor 26 of the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 exceeds the defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 (e.g., “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold”), and temporarily operate the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 for a respective definable first duration to apply a non-corrected braking torque to the respective other one of the rear wheels 22 of the vehicle 20 subsequent to the actual temperature of the brake rotor 26 of the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 no longer exceeding the defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 (e.g., engage the first brake for a first duration; disengage the first brake after the first duration)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle of Boden with the teachings of Bae such that the brake controller, at least at times, executes instruction(s) to compare a temperature of at least one of the first brake or the second brake to a temperature threshold and to further executes the instructions to engage the first brake for the first duration, disengage the first brake after the first duration, and engage the second brake for the second duration, in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold, because Bae further teaches that such operations beneficially provide determination as to whether an actual temperature of a brake rotor of the at least one of the first brake or the second brake exceeds a critical temperature of the brake rotor, such as a warping temperature of the brake rotor, thereby enabling further corrective brake control operations (e.g., “engage the first brake for the first predetermined duration, disengage the first brake after the first predetermined duration, and engage the second brake for the second predetermined duration”) responsive to exceeding of the critical temperature of the brake rotor [e.g., “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold” (emphasis added)] to directly lead to decreasing of the actual temperature of the brake rotor of the at least one of the first brake or the second brake to beneficially prevent damage to the brake rotor of the at least one of the first brake or the second brake, and/or also preventing implementation of the corrective brake control operations (e.g., “engage the first brake for the first predetermined duration, disengage the first brake after the first predetermined duration, and engage the second brake for the second predetermined duration”) in situations where the critical temperature of the brake rotor is not exceeded [e.g., “in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold” (emphasis added)] to beneficially avoid unnecessary corrective brake control operations when it is unnecessary to prevent damage to the brake rotor of the at least one of the first brake or the second brake.
With respect to claim 2, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the second predetermined duration begins before the first predetermined duration ends (for example, apparent from at least Fig. 4 of Boden with respect to at least any of the interpretations A or C as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 3, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the temperature is a first temperature (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1), the brake controller is to execute instructions to: compare a second temperature of at least one of the first brake or the second brake to the temperature threshold, the at least one of the first brake or the second brake having the second temperature after the second predetermined duration [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0004-0006 & 0016-0029 of Bae, the computer 34 is structured to perform functions to compare a second actual temperature of a brake rotor 26 (e.g., “second temperature”) of the first one of the two rear disc braking systems 24 to the defined critical temperature of the brake rotor 26 in a second instance of executing the flowchart of Fig. 6 performed subsequent to the first instance of executing the flowchart of Fig. 6 as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1, such as during a definable second execution of the brake control operations of Fig. 4 of Boden which occurs at a different time as compared to the execution (e.g., first execution) of the brake control operations of Fig. 4 of Boden corresponding to both of the “first predetermined duration” and the “second predetermined duration” as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1]; engage the first brake for a third predetermined duration; disengage the first brake after the third predetermined duration; and engage the second brake for a fourth predetermined duration, the fourth predetermined duration beginning before the third predetermined duration ends [for example, in the interpretation C: as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0039-0057 of Boden, at times including during the definable second execution of the brake control operations of Fig. 4 of Boden, the processor 130 is structured to perform functions to temporarily operate the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 for a third rear braking period 405 (e.g., “third predetermined duration”) in the second braking pattern, and temporarily operate the first one of the left front wheel brake actuator 114 and the right front wheel brake actuator 116 for a fourth front braking period 407 (e.g., “fourth predetermined duration”) in the first braking pattern, where the temporarily operating of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120 ceases when the third rear braking period 405 ends, and where the temporarily operating of the first one of the left front wheel brake actuator 114 and the right front wheel brake actuator 116 for the fourth front braking period 407 begins prior to the ceasing of the temporarily operating of the first one of the left rear wheel brake actuator 118 and the right rear wheel brake actuator 120, such that the fourth front braking period 407 beings before the third rear braking period 405 ends].
With respect to claim 4, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first wheel is a driver-side wheel and the second wheel is a passenger-side wheel (for example, apparent from at least Fig. 1 in view of at least ¶ 0022 of Boden with respect to at least any of the first or second interpretations as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the brake controller is to execute instructions to, in response to determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold, engage the first brake and the second brake (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 6, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the temperature threshold corresponds to a warping temperature of a rotor of the first brake (as discussed by at least ¶ 0003-0006, 0014, 0018, 0020-0022 & 0027-0028 of Bae).
With respect to claim 7, Boden modified supra teaches the vehicle of claim 1; however, Boden appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the vehicle includes an electric parking brake system, the electric parking brake system including the first brake and the second brake.
Roll further teaches that the analogous vehicle includes an electric parking brake system including the first brake and the second brake (apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0032 & 0038-0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle of Boden with the teachings of Bae such that the vehicle includes an electric parking brake system, the electric parking brake system including the first brake and the second brake, to beneficially each of a service brake function and a parking brake function via a braking system of the vehicle, with said braking system being definable as an “electric parking brake system” by virtue of including the structure to execute the parking brake function via electrical power.
With respect to claim 8, Boden modified supra teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g., via 130; as discussed by at least ¶ 0029 & 0044) comprising instructions, which, when executed cause a processor to: detect a parking event of a vehicle; compare a temperature of at least one of a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle or a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle to a temperature threshold; and in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold: engage the first brake for a first predetermined duration; disengage the first brake after the first predetermined duration; and engage the second brake for a second predetermined duration (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 9, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to detect the parking event by detecting a user input, the user input including at least one of (1) activating a parking brake of the vehicle or (2) shifting a transmission of the vehicle into park (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 8; because the user input including activating a parking brake of the vehicle and the user input including shifting a transmission of the vehicle into park are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives).
With respect to claim 10, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the second predetermined duration begins before the first predetermined duration ends (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 2 and 8).
With respect to claim 11, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the temperature is a first temperature and the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to: compare a second temperature of at least one of the first brake or the second brake to the temperature threshold, the at least one of the first brake or the second brake having the second temperature after the second predetermined duration; engage the first brake for a third predetermined duration; disengage the first brake after the third predetermined duration; and engage the second brake for a fourth predetermined duration, the fourth predetermined duration beginning before the third predetermined duration ends (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 3 and 8).
With respect to claim 12, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to, in response to determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold, engage the first brake and the second brake (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 5 and 8).
With respect to claim 13, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the temperature threshold corresponds to a warping temperature of a rotor of the first brake (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 6 and 8).
With respect to claim 14, Boden modified supra teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the first brake and the second brake are electric parking brakes (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 7 and 8).
With respect to claim 15, Boden modified supra teaches a method comprising: detecting a parking event of a vehicle; comparing a temperature of at least one of a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle or a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle to a temperature threshold; determining, based on the comparison, that the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold; and in response to determining the temperature satisfies the temperature threshold: engaging the first brake for a first predetermined duration; disengaging the first brake after the first predetermined duration; and engaging the second brake for a second predetermined duration (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 8).
With respect to claim 16, Boden modified supra teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the detecting the parking event includes detecting a user input, the user input including at least one of (1) activating a parking brake of the vehicle or (2) shifting a transmission of the vehicle into park (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 9 and 15).
With respect to claim 17, Boden modified supra teaches method of claim 15, wherein the second predetermined duration begins before the first predetermined duration ends (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 2, 10, and 15).
With respect to claim 18, Boden modified supra teaches method of claim 15, wherein the temperature is a first temperature and the method further includes: comparing a second temperature of at least one of the first brake or the second brake to the temperature threshold, the at least one of the first brake or the second brake having the second temperature after the second predetermined duration; engaging the first brake for a third predetermined duration; disengaging the first brake after the third predetermined duration; and engaging the second brake for a fourth predetermined duration, the fourth predetermined duration beginning before the third predetermined duration ends (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 3, 11, and 15).
With respect to claim 19, Boden modified supra teaches method of claim 15, further including, in response to determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold, engage the first brake and the second brake [the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_II), and claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and “engage the first brake and the second brake” would not necessarily be performed as part of the claimed method at times including when the condition “determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold” is not met during performing of the claimed method, such that “in response to determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold, engage the first brake and the second brake” does not necessarily further limit the claimed method under a broadest reasonable interpretation; also, note: a comparison result of “comparing a temperature of at least one of a first brake associated with a first wheel of the vehicle or a second brake associated with a second wheel of the vehicle to a temperature threshold” would not necessarily include, or result in, “determining the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold,” especially in view of “determining, based on the comparison, that the temperature does not satisfy the temperature threshold” in claim 15; even so, as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 5, 12, and 15].
With respect to claim 20, Oh modified supra teaches method of claim 15, wherein the temperature threshold corresponds to a warping temperature of a rotor of the first brake (as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 6, 13, and 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747