DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received on January 7, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Specification submitted on January 7, 2025 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Drawings submitted on January 7, 2025 have been accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites the phrase “the cryptographical operations” (plural) where the claim previously recites a “cryptographic operation” (singular). It is suggested the phrase be amended to “the cryptographical operation[[s]]” for clarity and consistency. Claim 15 is objected to for similar reasons to claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,197,627. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-20 are disclosed by claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,197,627.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,100,254. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-20 are disclosed by claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,100,254.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaplan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0248357 and hereinafter referred to as Kaplan).
As to claim 1, Kaplan discloses a method, comprising:
configuring a processor in a first mode to perform cryptographical operations to recover data in the clear within the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data);
executing, by the processor in the first mode, instructions of a first program (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches executing a program where encryption is not bypassed);
configuring the processor in a second mode to skip the cryptographical operations within the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches setting the security mode register to bypass an encryption module); and
executing, by the processor in the second mode, instructions of a second program (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches executing a program where encryption is bypassed.).
As to claim 2, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptographical operations include decryption, unscrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data.).
As to claim 4, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a data item is not in the clear when loaded to the processor from a memory that is external to the processor (paragraphs [0020], [0021], [0024], and [0031]-[0033] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches retrieving encrypted data from a separate memory not part of the processor.).
As to claim 5, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured in the first mode via setting a first value in a register in the processor; and the processor is configured in the second mode via setting a second value in the register in the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033] and Fig.1, Kaplan teaches a security mode register in the processor to control encryption/decryption in the processor.).
As to claim 7, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the data is recovered in the clear within a zone in the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data); and when in the first mode, data leaving the zone is protected via encryption, scrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024], [0031]-[0033] and [0058], Kaplan teaches data leaving from inside the processor may be encrypted depending on the mode.).
As to claim 8, Kaplan discloses a processor, comprising:
a circuit configured to perform cryptographical operation (paragraphs [0024], [0029]-[0030] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches an encryption circuit); and
at least one execution unit configured to execute instructions (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches a processor with cores);
wherein the processor is configurable in a first mode to perform the cryptographical operations to recover data in the clear within the processor during execution of instructions of a first program (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data while executing a program); and
wherein the processor is configurable in a second mode to skip the cryptographical operations within the processor during execution of instructions of a second program (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches setting the security mode register to bypass an encryption module while executing a program.).
As to claim 9, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 8, wherein the cryptographical operations include decryption, unscrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data.).
As to claim 11, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 9, wherein a data item is not in the clear when loaded to the processor from a memory that is external to the processor (paragraphs [0020], [0021], [0024], and [0031]-[0033] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches retrieving encrypted data from a separate memory not part of the processor.).
As to claim 12, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 9, further comprising: a register, wherein the processor is configurable in the first mode via setting a first value in the register, and configurable in the second mode via setting a second value in the register (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033] and Fig.1, Kaplan teaches a security mode register in the processor to control encryption/decryption in the processor.).
As to claim 14, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 12, wherein the circuit is operable to recover the data in the clear within a zone in the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data); and when in the first mode, protect data leaving the zone via encryption, scrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024], [0031]-[0033] and [0058], Kaplan teaches data leaving from inside the processor may be encrypted depending on the mode.).
As to claim 15, Kaplan discloses system, comprising:
a memory (paragraphs [0024], [0029]-[0030] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches memory); and
a processor (paragraphs [0024], [0029]-[0030] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches a processor), including:
a circuit configured to perform cryptographical operation (paragraphs [0024], [0029]-[0030] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches an encryption circuit); and
at least one execution unit configured to execute instructions (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches a processor with cores);
wherein the processor is configurable in a first mode to perform the cryptographical operations to recover data in the clear within the processor during execution of instructions of a first program loaded from the memory (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data while executing a program); and
wherein the processor is configurable in a second mode to skip the cryptographical operations within the processor during execution of instructions of a second program loaded from the memory (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0034] and [0037], Kaplan teaches setting the security mode register to bypass an encryption module while executing a program.).
As to claim 16, Kaplan discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the cryptographical operations include decryption, unscrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data.).
As to claim 18, Kaplan discloses the system of claim 16, wherein a data item is not in the clear when loaded to the processor from the memory that is external to the processor (paragraphs [0020], [0021], [0024], and [0031]-[0033] and Fig. 1, Kaplan teaches retrieving encrypted data from a separate memory not part of the processor.).
As to claim 19, Kaplan discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the processor further comprises: a register, wherein the processor is configurable in the first mode via setting a first value in the register, and configurable in the second mode via setting a second value in the register (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033] and Fig.1, Kaplan teaches a security mode register in the processor to control encryption/decryption in the processor.).
As to claim 20, Kaplan discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the circuit is operable to recover the data in the clear within a zone in the processor (paragraphs [0024] and [0031]-[0033], Kaplan teaches a security mode register to control encryption/decryption in a processor where one mode performs decryption to obtain data); and when in the first mode, protect data leaving the zone via encryption, scrambling, or inversion, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0024], [0031]-[0033] and [0058], Kaplan teaches data leaving from inside the processor may be encrypted depending on the mode.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan as applied to claims 2, 9 and 16 above, and further in view of Muff et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0191649 and hereinafter referred to as Muff).
As to claim 3, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 2. Kaplan does not specifically disclose wherein a data item is not in the clear in a cache of the processor as claimed. However, Muff does disclose
wherein a data item is not in the clear in a cache of the processor (paragraphs [0075] and [0109], Muff teaches data is encrypted inside a L1 cache of a processing core.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaplan with the teachings of Muff for having a data item not be in the clear in a cache because this would improve security.
As to claim 10, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 9. Kaplan does not specifically disclose further comprising: a cache, wherein a data item is not in the clear in the cache as claimed. However, Muff does disclose
further comprising: a cache, wherein a data item is not in the clear in the cache (paragraphs [0075] and [0109], Muff teaches data is encrypted inside a L1 cache of a processing core.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaplan with the teachings of Muff for having a data item not be in the clear in a cache because this would improve security.
As to claim 17, Kaplan discloses the system of claim 16. Kaplan does not specifically disclose wherein the processor further comprises: a cache, wherein a data item is not in the clear in the cache as claimed. However, Muff does disclose
wherein the processor further comprises: a cache, wherein a data item is not in the clear in the cache (paragraphs [0075] and [0109], Muff teaches data is encrypted inside a L1 cache of a processing core.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kaplan with the teachings of Muff for having a data item not be in the clear in a cache because this would improve security.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Courtney (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362105) Muff et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0191649 and hereinafter referred to as Muff).
As to claim 6, Kaplan discloses the method of claim 5. Kaplan does not specifically disclose wherein the processor includes a scrambler and an unscrambler configured between a scrambled zone in the processor and an unscrambled zone in the processor as claimed. However, Courtney does disclose
wherein the processor includes a scrambler and an unscrambler in the processor (paragraphs [0024]-[0028], Courtney teaches a scrambling and unscrambling processor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cortney for having a scrambler and an unscrambler because this would improve security.
The combination of teachings between Kaplan and Courtney is not explicitly clear on disclosing the scrambler/unscrambler having different zones as claimed. However, Muff does disclose the different zones (paragraphs [0029], [0104], [0108] and [0109], Muff teaches a protected area to hold encrypted data and another area to hold clear data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Kaplan with the teachings of Muff for having the different zones because this would improve security.
As to claim 13, Kaplan discloses the processor of claim 12. Kaplan does not specifically disclose wherein the circuit includes a scrambler and an unscrambler configured between a scrambled zone in the processor and an unscrambled zone in the processor as claimed. However, Courtney does disclose
wherein the circuit includes a scrambler and an unscrambler (paragraphs [0024]-[0028], Courtney teaches a scrambling and unscrambling processor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cortney for having a scrambler and an unscrambler because this would improve security.
The combination of teachings between Kaplan and Courtney is not explicitly clear on disclosing the scrambler/unscrambler having different zones as claimed. However, Muff does disclose the different zones (paragraphs [0029], [0104], [0108] and [0109], Muff teaches a protected area to hold encrypted data and another area to hold clear data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Kaplan with the teachings of Muff for having the different zones because this would improve security.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438