DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 44, the claim recites “wherein the evaporation vessel comprises a plurality of evaporation vessels.” It is unclear how a singular “vessel” can comprise a “plurality of vessels.”
As per claim 44, the claim recites “the orifice comprises a plurality of orifices.” Similarly, it is unclear how a singular “orifice” can comprise a “plurality of orifices.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42, 45, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schibbye et al. (US 4084405).
As per claim 42, Schibbye et al. disclose a cooling system, comprising: a coolant transmitter (line portion 5) configured to transmit a subcooled liquid (liquid refrigerant at receiver 4 – col. 3, lines 20-23; etc.) a pressure above atmospheric pressure (refrigerant is pressurized by compressor 1 above atmospheric pressure as is standard in refrigeration cycles); an evaporation vessel (evaporator 6) configured to be maintained at a pressure lower than a pressure of the coolant transmitter (evaporator is at the low side of the refrigerant cycle); and an orifice (throttle V3) configured to receive at least a portion of the subcooled liquid and expose the subcooled liquid to a region of reduced pressure (entire space of the evaporator is at a reduced pressure) within the evaporation vessel to produce vapor therein (vapor is produced as the reduced pressure refrigerant passes across the heat exchanger), the evaporation vessel configured to contain vapor of the subcooled liquid (evaporator at least partially contains vapor as illustrated in Fig. 1). For the record, it is noted that the terms “throttle” and “orifice” are deemed generally interchangeable. See for example Schreiber (US 2014/0363311 A1) wherein equivalent valve 126 is called an orifice valve (para. 0006; etc.).
As per claim 45, Schibbye et al. disclose wherein the evaporation vessel is at least partially embedded within the coolant transmitter (evaporator 6 is integrally embedded within the refrigeration path).
As per claim 47, Schibbye et al. disclose wherein the subcooled liquid includes a coolant (refrigerant is a coolant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schibbye et al.
As per claim 44, Schibbye et al. do not teach wherein the evaporation vessel comprises a plurality of evaporation vessels, and the orifice comprises a plurality of orifices, each of the plurality evaporation vessels configured to receive the at least a portion of the subcooled liquid through a respective orifice. However, providing a plurality of orifice/evaporator arrangements in parallel within the system of Schibbye et al. is considered a simple duplication of parts that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of using the refrigeration cycle to cool more than one space.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24 and 26-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11540419 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The limitations of pending independent claim 25 are taught by patented claim 24. Pending claim 25 is a general broadening of the patented claim.
The limitations of pending dependent claims 26-27 and 30-31 are taught by corresponding patented claims 26-27, 30, and 29, respectively.
The limitations of pending claims 28-29 are taught by patented claim 28.
Claims 32-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11540419 B2 in view of claims 1, 3, 12, and 13 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11363741 B2. Claim 24 of patent 11540419 B2 discloses the limitations of base claim 25 as discussed above, but does not teach the further details of dependent claims 32-35.
As per pending claim 32, claim 1 of patent 11363741 B2 teaches a level sensor disposed in the evaporation vessel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide a level sensor to claim 25 of patent 11540419 B2 for the general purpose of monitoring the operation of the system.
As per pending claim 33, claim 1 of patent 11363741 B2 teaches a ball-float level sensor coupled to the pressure regulator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly apply such a level sensor to claim 25 of patent 11540419 B2 for the same general purpose of monitoring the operation of the system.
As per pending claim 34, claim 12 of patent 11363741 B2 teaches a thermally insulated jacket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to dispose a thermally insulated jacket around the evaporation vessel for the basic purpose of preventing unwanted cooling loss from the system.
As per pending claim 35, claim 13 of patent 11363741 B2 teaches a power transmission line electrically coupled to the coolant transmitter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide a power transmission line electrically coupled to the coolant transmitter for the purpose of cooling the power line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-41, 43, 46, and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claims 36-39, there is no teaching or motivation to further modify the system of claims of US patent 11540419 B2 to include the respective limitations recited. Claims 40-41 would also be allowable since they depend from claim 39.
As per claims 43, 46, and 48, there is no teaching or motivation to further modify Schibbye et al. to include the respective limitations recited. Note for the record regarding claim 48, while these are all generally known coolants, there is no motivation in the art to utilize them within the vapor compression system of Schibbye et al.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763