DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-12, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilic (US 11734103 B2), in view of Lim (US 20180101424 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Ilic teaches:
An error determining method performed by a processor in an error determining system, (Ilic, Fig. 1, 110, Col. 3, line 42-44, The time series data thus provides a signal that can be analyzed by a supervisory node to identify the behavior of an associated die. Col. 8, line 4-8, Supervisory node 531 may be implemented on suitable computing device having an architecture the same as or similar to that of computing device 901 in FIG. 9. Examiner's note: Computer device 901 includes a processing system 908, also, analyzing data requires processing)
the method comprising: obtaining, by the processor, error information that indicates a medium particle in which an error occurs in a plurality of medium particles of the error determining system (Ilic, Col. 5, line 51-56, In operation, the supervisory node collects telemetry data from one or more drives (step 301). The telemetry data includes, for example, times series data indicative of the accumulation of bad blocks on one or more dies over time. The supervisory node then processes the data to identify one or more behaviors of one or more of the dies (step 303).)
and determining, by the processor based on the error information, the medium particle in which the error occurs. (Ilic, Col. 6, line 8-10, Regardless of how the behavior of a given die is determined, the supervisory node next determines to retire a given die based on its identified behavior (step 305))
Ilic does not explicitly teach:
and that comprises a plurality of bits in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of medium particles
However, Lim teaches:
and that comprises a plurality of bits in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of medium particles (Lim, [0051] According to an embodiment, a case where M fail bits Fail [1:M] are generated from the semiconductor memory device 120 as one fail bit is generated from each of the DRAM chips 121_1 to 121_M according to an embodiment has been described.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ilic with fail bit generation from each DRAM chip as taught by Lim, allow to indicate a position of a failed memory chip among the plurality of memory chips; and recovering data of the failed memory chip by using the fail bit and the parity code. (Lim, [0009])
Regarding Claim 2, Ilic in view of Lim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the error determining system further comprises a control interface circuit coupled to the processor through a line; (Ilic, Fig. 1, 101, Col. 4, line 14-18, Operational environment 100 includes controller 101 and supervisory node 110. Controller 101 interfaces with supervisory node 110 to manage one or more of a set of dies represented by die 103, die 105, and die 107.)
and wherein the obtaining, by the processor, the error information comprises: receiving, by the processor through the line, the error information sent by the control interface circuit. (Ilic, Fig. 1, 101->110, Col. 5, line 19-20, The controller then communicates the telemetry data to a supervisory node (step 203).)
Regarding Claim 10, Ilic in view of Lim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the error information comprises an identifier of the medium particle in which the error occurs. (Ilic, Col. 5, line 52-54, the telemetry data includes, for example, times series data indicative of the accumulation of bad blocks on one or more dies over time. )
Regarding Claim 11, Ilic in view of Lim teaches:
An error determining system, comprising a processor (Ilic, Fig. 5A, 531) and a non-transitory memory (Ilic, Fig. 5A, 501), the processor,
wherein the non-transitory memory comprises a plurality of medium particles (Ilic, Col. 8, line 12-15, flash devices 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 516, 517, and 518 each include a set of dies represented by die groups 521, 522, 523, 524, 525, 526, 527, and 528 respectively.)
and the processor is configured to: obtain error information that indicates a medium particle in which an error occurs in the plurality of medium particles and comprises a plurality of bits in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of medium particles; (Ilic, Col. 5, line 51-52, In operation, the supervisory node collects telemetry data from one or more drives (step 301). Lim, [0051] According to an embodiment, a case where M fail bits Fail [1:M] are generated from the semiconductor memory device 120 as one fail bit is generated from each of the DRAM chips 121_1 to 121_M according to an embodiment has been described.) )
and determine, based on the error information, the medium particle in which the error occurs. (Ilic, Col. 6, line 8-10, Regardless of how the behavior of a given die is determined, the supervisory node next determines to retire a given die based on its identified behavior (step 305))
Regarding Claim 12,
The system of claim 12 performs the same method steps as the method of claim 2, and claim 12 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 2
Regarding Claim 16,
The system of claim 16 performs the same method steps as the method of claim 10, and claim 16 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 10
Regarding Claim 17,
The system of claim 17 performs the same method steps as the method of claim 2, and claim 17 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilic (US 11734103 B2), in view of Lim (US 20180101424 A1) and HU (US 20160055052 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Ilic in view of Lim teaches:
and the line comprises a first bus. (Ilic, Fig. 5A, 530, Col. 8, line 3-4, Examples of connection 530 include SAS, SATA, PCIe, and Ethernet connections.)
Ilic in view of Lim does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the processor comprises a processing core,
the control interface circuit comprises a registering clock driver (RCD),
However, HU teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the processor comprises a processing core, (Hu, [0050] For example, the processor 104 may be a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an application specific integrated circuit, a programmable logic device, or the like. Examiner's note: a GPU always has cores)
the control interface circuit comprises a registering clock driver (RCD), (HU, Fig. 12, 1228, [0086] FIG. 12 is a schematic view of a system with a memory system architecture with a correctible error module and a serial presence detect/registering clock driver module sharing an interface according to an embodiment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ilic in view of Lim with GPU and RCD as taught by HU, because the processor 104 may be any device configured to be operatively coupled to the memory 102 and capable of executing instructions. (HU, [0050]), and the SPD/RCD module 1228 is configured to access information related to a serial presence detect system and/or a registering clock driver system. (HU, [0087])
Regarding Claim 14,
The system of claim 14 performs the same method steps as the method of claim 4, and claim 14 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 4
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilic (US 11734103 B2), in view of Lim (US 20180101424 A1) and Lambert (US 20210081286 A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Ilic in view of Lim does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the processor comprises a processing core,
the control interface circuit comprises a complex programmable logic device (CPLD),
and the line comprises a second bus.
However, Lambert teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the processor comprises a processing core, (Lambert, Fig. 4, 110. Examiner's note: a CPU always has cores)
the control interface circuit comprises a complex programmable logic device (CPLD), (Lambert, Fig. 4, 140)
and the line comprises a second bus. (Lambert, Fig. 4, 470 and 472+160, [0022] Here, information handling system 100 is illustrated as including a data connection 470 between CPU 110 and CPLD 140, and an I2C sense connection 472 to sense transactions on I2C bus 160.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Ilic in view of Lim with CPU, CPLD and second bus as taught by Lambert, so when CPU 110 issues a command to enable or disable the voltage regulator on a DIMM, CPLD 140 snoops the transaction associated with the command on I2C bus 160 via sense connection 472... (Lambert, [0023])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 13, 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10-12, 14, 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art (see 103 rejection section above).
Conclusion
/XINYUAN YU/Examiner, Art Unit 2113
/PHILIP GUYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113