DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connection element” in claim 1. A review of Applicant’s specification discloses that the connection element to be a suture, cable and equivalents thereof. See Page 3, lines 21-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant recites “A method of passing a suture through a channel in a bone comprising; providing a suture transfer device…at least once.” The claim in its current construction fails to provide an active steps of passing a suture through a channel in a bone. The only “step” is a step of “providing” which is not an active step of a method of passing a suture through a channel in a bone.
Additionally, Claim 1 recites the limitation "said connection device" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, has been interpreted to read “said connection element” as this provides proper antecedence.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they depend from a rejected base claim and do not rectify the issues at hand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garlock et al. (US 2018/0042631).
Examiner’s Note: The claims as currently constructed only functionally recite the drill bit, bone and connection element and as a result these structures are being treated as such.
Regarding claim 1, Garlock et al. disclose a method of passing a suture through a channel in a bone comprising; providing a suture transfer device (12) adapted for use with a drill bit (e.g. 14 can act as a drill bit) having a drill stem and a bone cutting head comprising, said suture transfer device having a semi-cylindrical portion (figure 2) having a first end (see figure below) and a second end (see figure below), an inner surface (see figure below) and an exterior convex surface (see figure below), and said inner surface being sized to define a trough (figure 2, see figure below) within the semi-cylindrical portion (figures 11-12), and said inner surface being sized to accept said drill bit seated within the semi-cylindrical portion said exterior convex surface sized to match the bore produced by the bone cutting head of the drill bit (figures 9-12), and said suture transfer device having an overall length greater than the length of the channel drilled through a bone (figure 9, if one so chooses), and said inner surface providing a passageway for a connection element when the device is within the channel drilled through a bone (figures 9-10, if one so chooses), and a collar (30) on said first end of the device, said collar having a central bore (35), and said collar further defines an open slot (see figure below) from the central bore to the outer perimeter of the collar, and said second end of the device defining an insertion end (figures 10-12), and said second end adapted to seat against the bone cutting head of the drill bit (figures 11-12, if one so chooses), and said connection device being sized to be able to be passed through the suture transfer device at least once (if one so chooses).
Regarding claim 2, Garlock et al. disclose the first end of the suture transfer device is collinearly fused to the stem of the drill bit (if one so chooses as the stem of the drill bit is only functionally recited and the suture transfer device could be collinearly fused to it) and the semi-cylindrical portion is adapted to accept a drill bit bone cutting head within the semi-cylindrical portion.
Regarding claim 3, Garlock et al. disclose the connection element is attached to an anatomical feature that is a tendon or ligament before or after it is passed through the first channel (if one so chooses as the connection element is not positively recited). Regarding claim 4, Garlock et al. disclose the connection element is passed through the first channel more than once (if one so chooses as the connection element is not positively recited).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619