DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/07/2026 has been entered, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/04/2026, 09/25/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: “US12204314 teaches the bolded limitations”.
A robotic cell calibration method comprising:
providing a robotic cell system having elements comprising: one or more
cameras, one or more sensors, components, and a robotic arm, the robotic cell system defining a holistic work area including the elements;
while the patent does not explicitly disclose defining a holistic work area including the elements, EP3705239 discloses the holistic work area including the elements ([0004]-[0008], [0023]-[0025], [0030]-[0039], [0049]-[0050] disclosing the work area as a virtual representation interpreted as holistic work area including the elements).
The combination of the teaching of the EP3705239 is obvious in order to model to determine a deviation between modeled values and measured real values thus improving robotic calibration.
localizing positions of the one or more cameras and components relative to a position of the robotic arm within the robotic cell using a common coordinate frame;
moving the robotic arm in a prescribed movement pattern and collecting data from the cameras and the sensors to determine a determined position of the robotic arm at a plurality of different times and different locations, during the movement; the plurality of different times is equivalent to the robot position at multiple times.
identifying a discrepancy in robotic arm position between a predicted position
based on the prescribed movement pattern and the determined robotic arm position based on the data from the cameras and the sensors;
computing, by an auto-calibrator, a compensation for the identified discrepancy,
the auto-calibrator solving for the elements in the robotic cell system as a system; and
modifying actions of the robotic arm in real time during subsequent movements
based on the compensation to reduce the identified discrepancy in the robotic arm position.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: “US12204314 teaches the bolded limitations”.
The robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
moving the robotic arm at a first speed through the prescribed movement pattern (claim 16 of US12204314 discloses varying speeds as part of a prescribed movement pattern for the robot, thus including a first speed and second speed and identifying discrepancies);
moving the robotic arm at a second speed through the prescribed movement
pattern (claim 16 of US12204314 discloses varying speeds as part of a prescribed movement pattern for the robot, thus including a first speed and second speed and identifying discrepancies);
and identifying the discrepancies for each of the first speed and the second speed (claim 16 of US12204314 discloses varying speeds as part of a prescribed movement pattern for the robot, thus including a first speed and second speed and identifying discrepancies);
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons: “US12204314 teaches the bolded limitations”.
The robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
moving the robotic arm through a first movement pattern (Claim 16 discloses varying paths, i.e., first path and second path patterns as movement pattern);
moving the robotic arm through a second movement pattern (Claim 16 discloses varying paths, i.e., first path and second path patterns as movement pattern); and
identifying the discrepancies for each of the first movement pattern and the
second movement pattern (Claim 16 discloses varying paths, i.e., first path and second path patterns as movement pattern and identifying discrepancies);
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. claim 12 of US12204314 discloses all the limitations of claim 13 of current application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No.US12204314. the limitations are identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Buzynin (EP3705239) in view of Corkum (US20180126553).
Regarding claim 1, Buzynin teaches a robotic cell calibration method comprising:
providing a robotic cell system having elements comprising: one or more cameras, components, and a robotic arm, the robotic cell system defining a holistic work area including the elements ([0008]-[0010] disclosing a calibration of position of robots in a robot cell including a robotic arm, camera, objects and conveyer belts “components”, from [0023]-[0025], [0030]-[0039], [0049]-[0050] discloses these elements define a holistic virtual work area that defines corrective movements for the robots based on all the elements);
localizing positions of the one or more cameras and components within the robotic cell using a common coordinate frame ([0008] disclosing defining a world coordinate system “common coordinate frame” at the base of the robot, and matching position and orientation of the robotic cell components, see [0022] disclosing the components include the camera and the object, i.e., the positions of the camera, robotic arm and objects “components” are localized in relation to the common coordinate frame);
moving the robotic arm in a prescribed movement pattern and collecting data from the cameras to determine a determined position of the robotic arm at a plurality of different times and different locations, during the movement ([0014] disclosing a program code for robotic arm movement. [0023]-[0024] disclosing using the camera to determine multiple positions, i.e., at different times of the robotic arm during movement based on a code of control commands. See also the abstract disclosing taking a plurality of snapshots in plurality of robotic poses to determine the position of the robot);
identifying a discrepancy in robotic arm position between a predicted position based on the prescribed movement pattern and the determined robotic arm position based on the data from the cameras ([0023]-[0024] disclosing determining deviation “discrepancy” between simulated positions “predicted” and real robot cell positions “real time”);
computing, by an auto-calibrator, a compensation for the identified discrepancy, the auto-calibrator solving for the elements in the robotic cell system as a system ([0014] disclosing a program code to control the arm movement. [0025] disclosing applying the difference to correct the program code of the real robot to calibrate the robot based on the deviation. At least [0030]-[0039] disclosing a system of solving for the autocalibration for the elements in the robotic cell. See also abstract disclosing adjust the calibration to reduce error based upon the position and orientation errors between the virtual and real robot movements); and
modifying actions of the robotic arm in real time during subsequent movements based on the compensation to reduce the identified discrepancy in the robotic arm position ([0014] disclosing the program code is to control the arm movement. [0020] disclosing the corrected position is used by the robotic controller. [0025] disclosing applying the difference to correct the program of the robot in real time to calibrate the robot based on the target precision of the calibration, i.e., to reduce the discrepancy. See also abstract disclosing adjust the calibration to reduce error based upon the position and orientation errors between the virtual and real robot movements, i.e., the subsequent movements are compensated based on the corrected robotic program).
Buzynin does not teach one or more sensors. Collecting data from the sensors to determine a robotic arm position. Using the camera and sensors to determine a robotic arm position. Identifying a discrepancy based on data from the sensors.
While Buzynin does not teach determining the position of the camera and components relative to a position of the robotic arm. It would have been obvious to try to solve the problem of determine the position of components and cameras by determining the position relative to a position of the robotic arm with reasonable expectation of success.
Corkum teaches one or more sensors ([0010] disclosing the positions of end effector based on position sensors)
Collecting data from the sensors to determine a robotic arm position ([0010], [0014], [0021] disclosing the pose of the robotic arm determined by the position sensor).
Identifying a discrepancy based on data from the sensors ([0010], [0014], [0021] disclosing the correcting an error of the sensor position based on discrepancy of the position values obtained by the sensors).
Corkum and Buzynin both teach calibration of robots for accuracy of robot control, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of the sensors calibration of Corkum is obvious yielding predictable results in order to recalibrate the sensors improving the accuracy thus also improving the calculation of positions of the effector when the camera is occluded.
Regarding claim 3. Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising determining if robotic arm position is within a determined accuracy range (Buzynin [0025] disclosing determining an acceptable accuracy which is for example within 0-50 mm to be reached);
and initiating a recalibration by the auto-calibrator when the robotic arm is outside the determined accuracy range (Buzynin [0025] disclosing determining an acceptable accuracy range and performing the calibration until the accuracy is reached, i.e., if the robotic arm is outside the determined accuracy range, initializing recalibration).
Regarding claim 4, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising providing continuous calibration of robotic arm position as the robotic arm moves through movement patterns (Buzynin, abstract discloses the calibration is continues at different poses of the robot. [0014] disclosing a program code for the arm movements. [0023]-[0025] disclosing different robotic positions based on the program code wherein the calibration is carried on based on the difference between the virtual positions and real positions at multiple positions, i.e., continuous calibration of arm position as arm moves through a movement pattern).
Regarding claim 5, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
Moving the robotic arm at a first speed through the prescribed movement pattern (Fig. 4 shows the program which is in whole interpreted as a movement pattern including a first speed);
Moving the robotic arm at a second speed through the prescribed movement pattern (Fig. 4 shows the program which is in whole interpreted as the movement pattern including a second speed);
Identifying the discrepancies for each of the first speed and second speed (Buzynin see figure 4 disclosing the different pattern movements. See [0023]-[0024], [0013], [0050], [0030]-[0039] disclosing the determining of the errors at each position the robot moves at a first speed and a second speed).
Regarding claim 6, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising
Moving the robotic arm through a first movement pattern (Buzynin [0023]-[0024] disclosing the determined multiple positions, [0013] disclosing calibrating the difference in positions is done on an ongoing basis, which is interpreted to be done at when robot moved a first pattern or second pattern. Figure 4 further disclosing different movement pattern including a first movement pattern from to an x and y of zero at a first speed, wherein the calibration is done for the movement patterns);
Moving the robotic arm through a second movement pattern (Buzynin [0023]-[0024] disclosing the determined multiple positions, [0013] disclosing calibrating the difference in positions is done on an ongoing basis, which is interpreted to be done at when robot moved a first pattern or second pattern. Figure 4 further disclosing different movement pattern including a first movement pattern from to a z value at a second speed, wherein the calibration is done for the movement patterns);
Identifying the discrepancies for each of the first movement pattern and the second movement pattern (Buzynin see figure 4 disclosing the different pattern movements. See [0023]-[0024], [0013], [0050], [0030]-[0039] disclosing the determining of the errors at each position the robot moves to).
Regarding claim 7, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising performing a pre-use calibration comprising:
selecting robotic arm movement patterns to improve position localization of components visible in an observable volume of the robotic cell (Buzynin [0011] disclosing the markers attached to the robot in order to determine the position of the robot system through vision by the cameras, figure 2 shows a marker on the arm. [0023]-[0025] disclosing adjusting the program code for the movement of the robot based on the difference between the real position of the arm, i.e., it is interpreted that the movement pattern is selected “updated by the program code” to improve the localization of the arm based on the visible component in an observable volume by the camera of the robotic cell); and
performing the selected robotic arm movement patterns while an object including one or more fiducials is attached to the robotic arm ([0011] disclosing fiducial markers to determine the position of the robotic arm, see figure 2 as well. [0023]-[0025] disclosing adjusting the program code for the movement of the robot based on the difference in real position and a virtual position. It is interpreted from the citation that the robot performs selected movement pattern while the fiducial marker is attached to the robotic arm, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, wherein the computing comprises modelling dynamic and static components in the robotic cell system (Buzynin [0013] disclosing the components compared between the virtual model and the real components, wherein the components include the robot, the conveyer belt, object, the robotic arm is a dynamic component wherein the robotic base at least is a static component, see figure 1 for industrial robot).
Regarding claim 11, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises an initial calibration when the robotic cell is not in use ([0022] disclosing the calibration is done for the software in the simulator and the program is updated, this is interpreted as the initial calibration when the robotic cell is not in use).
Regarding claim 12, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 11, wherein the method comprises an in-use calibration, applied while the robotic cell is in use, to update calibration to address changes in the robotic cell during the use ([0013] disclosing an ongoing calibration, which is interpreted as updating the calibration based on the changes while the robotic cell is in use).
Regarding claim 17, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell system of claim 13, further comprising:
Robotic controls configured to move the robotic arm under varying loads, at varying speeds, and moving along varying paths identify the discrepancy (Buzynin [0023]-[0024] disclosing using the camera to determine multiple positions of the robotic arm during movement based on a code of control commands. [0013] also discloses the calibration based on the difference in positions is done on an ongoing basis, which is interpreted to be done at varying paths based on the codes. It is also noted that a program code to move to different positions includes multiple varying paths. Figure 4 disclosing different paths moving at different speeds and pushing loads or not pushing loads, i.e., different loads).
Regarding claim 18, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell system of claim 13, further comprising:
Selecting robotic movement patterns to improve position localization of components visible in an observable volume of the robotic cell ([0011] disclosing the markers attached to the robot in order to track the positions of the robot by vision camera. [0023]-[0025] disclosing the program code for movement of the robot based on difference of real position of the arm, i.e., it is interpreted that the movement pattern is selected to improve localization of the arm based on visible component in an observable volume by the camera of the robotic cell).
And performing the selected robotic arm movement patterns while an object including one or more fiducials is attached to the robotic arm ([0011] disclosing the markers attached to the robot in order to track the positions of the robot by vision camera. [0023]-[0025] disclosing the program code for movement of the robot based on difference of real position of the arm, i.e., it is interpreted that the movement pattern is selected to improve localization of the arm based on visible component in an observable volume by the camera of the robotic cell).
Claims 13, 15, 16 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 1, 3, 4, see above rejection.
Claims 2, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Buzynin (EP3705239) in view of Corkum (US20180126553) and Lin (US20200171668).
Regarding claim 2, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
forming a virtual representation of the robotic cell system that tracks at least some actions of the robotic cell using the localized position of the cameras, and the robotic arm, the virtual representation used by the auto-calibrator (Buzynin [0004]-[0006] disclosing a virtual robot cell that defines a virtual camera and robot and object and modifies the position of the virtual camera to match “track” the real position of the object and camera which is used to calibrate the robot automatically).
Buzynin as modified by Corkum does not teach using sensor data in the virtual representation.
Lin teaches using sensor data in the virtual representation ([0037] disclosing sensor data to determine the camera position which is used in the simulation of the model environment).
Buzynin as modified by Corkum already teaches the position sensors as joint encoders determining the position of the robot, thus It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Buzynin as modified by Corkum to incorporate the teaching of Lin of using sensor data in the virtual representation in order to obtain the correct model a robotic arm using sensor data to correct a posture of the robotic arm as taught by Lin [0037].
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2, see above rejection.
Claims 8, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Buzynin (EP3705239) in view of Corkum (US20180126553) and Saghatchi (US20190350685).
Regarding claim 8, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1. Buzynin as modified by Corkum does not teach further comprising performing a pre-calibration comprising: building a position accuracy map with position metrics for the robotic arm; and adjusting the movement patterns based on the position accuracy map.
Saghatchi teaches performing a pre-calibration comprising:
building a position accuracy map with position metrics for the robotic arm ([0043] disclosing a field generator with a positioning arm. [0059]-[0060] the tracking errors for the field generator within a predetermined metric threshold “0.5 mm and 0.7 mm. disclosing [0065] disclosing generating an accuracy map with for the calibration process which defines regions with maximum accuracy where tracking errors are less than a threshold); and
adjusting a movement patterns based on the position accuracy map ([0058] disclosing a handpiece reference sensor to track the handpiece position and orientation. [0065] discloses the navigation system maintaining the handpiece reference sensor within the accuracy region. It is interpreted that the accuracy region is dependent on an accuracy map as taught in [0065] and the movement is adjusted based on the accuracy map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Buzynin as modified by Corkum to incorporate the teaching of Saghatchi of generating an accuracy map and adjusting a movement patterns based on the position accuracy map in order to maintain the handpiece within a region of maximum accuracy as taught by Saghatchi [0065].
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8, see above rejection.
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Buzynin (EP3705239) in view of Corkum (US20180126553) and Islam (US20200306977).
Regarding claim 10, Buzynin as modified by Corkum teaches the robotic cell calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
Buzynin as modified by Corkum does not teach performing calibration refinement steps on idle cycles of a processor while the robotic cell is in use, the idle time calibration determining whether the robotic cell remains calibrated.
Islam teaches performing calibration refinement steps on idle cycles of a processor while the robotic cell is in use, the idle time calibration determining whether the robotic cell remains calibrated ([0005] discloses calibration during an idle period).
Buzynin as modified by Corkum and Nakayama are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, Robotic localization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Buzynin as modified by Corkum to incorporate the teaching of Islam of performing calibration refinement steps on idle cycles of a processor while the robotic cell is in use, the idle time calibration determining whether the robotic cell remains calibrated in order to update calibration information as taught by Islam [0005].
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 10, see above rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 that Buzynin does not teach a prescribed movement pattern, examiner respectfully disagrees. Buzynin teaches in [0014]-[0018] prescribed movement patterns including moving the arm to prescribed positions and a sequence of movements defining movement patterns for the robot and the virtual robot.
With respect to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 that Buzynin does not teach determining the discrepancy based on the prescribed movement pattern and the determined robotic position based on data from the cameras and sensors, examiner respectfully disagrees, the claim only requires the prescribed movement to be based on pattern, Buzynin [0022]-[0050] teaches discrepancy based on the difference between the positions determined by the snapshots corresponding to the movement patterns as taught in [0014]-[0018].
With respect to applicant’s argument that Buzynin teaches “comparing poses in the simulator virtual robot and real robot cell, in contrast the present claims describe that the predicted position is based on the prescribed movement pattern and the real position is based on data from camera and sensors”, while Buzynin teaches the comparison based on snapshots, the virtual and real movements are both based on the movement pattern and both based on cameras in reality and virtual simulation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in PTO-892 and not mentioned above disclose related devices and methods.
US20200147799 disclosing moving at high speed and low speed for calibrating the high speed using the low speed trajectory.
US6822412 disclosing the calibration of two different paths.
US8135208 disclosing calibration based on offset of tool and camera attached to robot arm using a detached camera.
US20210229290 disclosing based on image determine a pose of robot and calibrate based on the determined pose.
/MOHAMAD O EL SAYAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658B