DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “interior of each of the plurality of nipple access holes is threaded” as set forth in claim 6 and “the exterior of each nipple…comprises threading that corresponds with the interior threading on the interior of each of the plurality of nipple access holes” as set forth in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 2 of the specification should be updated to include the number of the U.S. Patent granted from U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 16/947,225.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The specification should describe the subject matter of claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Each occurrence of the term “then” should be replaced with the term -- than -- for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, there is no support in the original disclosure for “the interior of each of the plurality of nipple access holes is threaded”.
Regarding claim 7, there is no support in the original disclosure for “the exterior of each nipple on the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies further comprises threading that corresponds with the interior threading on the interior of each of the plurality of nipple access holes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
9. Claims 1-5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 102(e) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2011/02415636 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a wheel comprising: a plurality of flexible spoke assemblies 30, each having an anchor 32 on a proximal end of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies and a nipple 34 on the distal end of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies (Figs. 1 and 4); a hub 20 that is configured to have a plurality of flange holes 21 to secure the anchor of the plurality of the flexible spoke assemblies (Fig. 4; paragraphs [0022-0024]); and a rim 10 that is configured to have a plurality of nipple access holes 11 to secure the nipple of the plurality of the flexible spoke assemblies (Fig. 4; paragraphs [0020] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang further discloses each of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies is capable of bending without a decrease in strength (evident from the spoke construction described in at least paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang further discloses each of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies further comprises a tube 33.
Regarding claim 4, Huang further discloses each of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies further comprise a plurality of non-rigid fiber (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang further discloses each of the plurality of flange holes have a diameter that is wider than a width of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies (Fig. 4) but is narrower than the anchor on each of the plurality of flexible spoke assemblies (Fig. 4; paragraph [0024]).
Double Patenting
11. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,682,596 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,682,596 B2. In other words, claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,682,596 B2 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1.
12. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,201,999 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,201,999 B2. In other words, claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,201,999 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1.
13. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,696,093 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,696,093 B2. In other words, claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,696,093 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1.
14. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,985,708 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,985,708 B2. In other words, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,985,708 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 1 and therefore anticipates claim 1.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615