DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract does not describe the invention to which the claims are directed.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Frequency-Adjustable Cross-Field Device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 5,798,613).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a cross-field device (magnetron; figures 4 and 5) comprising: a cavity (The cavity/space within anode 42 can be seen in figures 4 and 5.) having an aperture (portion of cavity where vanes 41 are present) and changes to said aperture (changing number and size of vanes; abstract) of said cavity change the capacitance of the cavity (Similar to the instant application, the capacitance of a magnetron cavity is changed by changing a number/size of vanes within the magnetron cavity. Abstract of Lee.).
As for claim 10, Lee teaches wherein changes to said aperture of said cavity change both the capacitance of said cavity and the fundamental or resonant frequency of said cavity (Similar to the instant application, the capacitance and frequency of a magnetron cavity is changed by changing a number/size of vanes within the magnetron cavity. Abstract of Lee.).
As for claim 11, Lee teaches one or more spaced apart vanes (41) located in said cavity wherein changing the dimensions of said one or more of said vanes changes the aperture of said cross field device (Lee teaches adjusting the frequency of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes and dimensions of vanes in the magnetron. Abstract of Lee.).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches one or more spaced apart vanes (41) located in said cavity wherein changing the width of said one or more of said vanes changes the aperture of said cross field device (Lee teaches adjusting the frequency of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes and dimensions of vanes in the magnetron. Abstract of Lee. The terms height and width are relative terms that are a matter of perspective.).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches one or more spaced apart vanes (41) located in said cavity wherein changing the number of vanes in said cavity changes the aperture of said cross field device (Lee teaches adjusting the frequency of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes and dimensions of vanes in the magnetron. Abstract of Lee.).
Claims 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by La Rue et al. (US 2,983,843; “La Rue”).
Regarding claim 9, La Rue teaches a cross-field device (magnetron; figures 3 and 4) comprising: a cavity (The cavity/space within anode 18 can be seen in figures 3 and 4.) having an aperture (portion of cavity where vanes 14 are present) and changes to said aperture (changing number of vanes; col. 3, lines 3-15, 46-49, 67-73) of said cavity change the capacitance of the cavity (La Rue teaches adjusting the frequency and capacitance of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes in the magnetron. Col. 3, lines 3-15, 46-49, 67-73).
As for claim 10, La Rue teaches wherein changes to said aperture of said cavity change both the capacitance of said cavity and the fundamental or resonant frequency of said cavity (La Rue teaches adjusting the frequency and capacitance of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes in the magnetron. Col. 3, lines 3-15, 46-49, 67-73).
As for claim 13, La Rue teaches one or more spaced apart vanes (41) located in said cavity wherein changing the number of vanes in said cavity changes the aperture of said cross field device (La Rue teaches adjusting the frequency and capacitance of a magnetron by adjusting the number of vanes in the magnetron. Col. 3, lines 3-15, 46-49, 67-73).
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach frequency-adjustable cross-field devices, comprising: adjusting sizes, positions, spacings, and shapes of vanes and cavities.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 January 30, 2026